Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a keeper
This is the third video multi media player I have ordered in 6 weeks. The first two were a Brite-view and WD live. They didn't cut my picky standards. The Argosy is a solid bug free unit. I have had it for 5 days and really like everything about it except the remote is very directional. It takes a little more hands on but I like that. Install your hard drive in it if you...
Published on April 26, 2010 by KC

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but needs some work
I purchased 3 of these to replace my Iomega Screenplay TV Link and my 2 Argosy HV675 MediaPlay units. I wanted something that would play .flv files and also be
capable of a network connection so I could stream home videos from my PC.

Overall, it's not a bad player but does have some issues that hopefully will be addressed very soon in future firmware...
Published on June 24, 2010 by avguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a keeper, April 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
This is the third video multi media player I have ordered in 6 weeks. The first two were a Brite-view and WD live. They didn't cut my picky standards. The Argosy is a solid bug free unit. I have had it for 5 days and really like everything about it except the remote is very directional. It takes a little more hands on but I like that. Install your hard drive in it if you like and its a nice compact unit. To update at the time you copy the firmware off the website onto a flash drive. It doesn't update on it's own off the net maybe that will change but no big deal. This unit can see all the video files you need. It also has a built in cooling fan. I think this will increase the life of the unit. The remote works a lot like a standard DVD player remote if you push stop once on a playback it will resume the next time you hit play. If you hit stop twice it will start from the beginning on next play. It plays all the formates you can throw at it ,yes MKV. There web site has a good PDF manual [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than all other media players COMBINED, June 11, 2010
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
I did over 3 months of research on Argosy's HV335T so I knew what I was getting. But when I got it I was even more amazed at what a fine product this is. The only Con I would have to say about the HV335T is the scrolling. But unlike all other media players Argosy is open source and they update their products with firmware. I have talked to Argosy and they know that the scrolling is an issue to their customers so they plan on speeding it up for the next firmware release. Below I have included what has been updated in each firmware release. I have not installed an internal hdd for my HV335T but do plan on it. The option of the internal hdd was actually why I bought the HV335T since all other media players do not have this option.

V1.01 20100203:
1. Improve the subtitle support for .ISO and .mkv movie
2. Improve the network login policy.
3. Play BD ISO file. But BD menu can not yet be supported.
(Can only play the movie files. But menu such as the subtitle, chapter, audio track etc can not yet be
supported)
4. Speed up photo-thumb-view.
5. Add Arabic language support.

V2.0 20100406
1. Support Blu-ray ISO subtitle
2. Support PSB/SUB subtitle files
3. Add IMS (support Picasa, Flickr and Weather)
4. Add BitTorrent download (default setting: OFF)
5. Add UPnP (UPnP player function)
6. Add Network Sharing switch under Setup > Network > Network Sharing. (Default setting is OFF)
7. Add "pause" function at Music Slideshow. (press the play button again)
8. Improved HDMI connection for Toshiba TV
9. When HDD is not present, HDD, BitTorrent, Copy/Paste/Delete and Add to Playlist options will be hidden
10. Improved Blu-ray movie playback
11. Improved DHCP/Manual IP settings
12. Improved file reading of movie, pictures and music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but needs some work, June 24, 2010
By 
avguy (Northeast OH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
I purchased 3 of these to replace my Iomega Screenplay TV Link and my 2 Argosy HV675 MediaPlay units. I wanted something that would play .flv files and also be
capable of a network connection so I could stream home videos from my PC.

Overall, it's not a bad player but does have some issues that hopefully will be addressed very soon in future firmware updates. First, while it does recongnize a large number of video formats, including DVD .vob files with chapters, it only recognized about 30-40% of the .flv files I've tried to play on it. The others merely say "invalid file". Also, if you plan on using it via HDMI and have a Toshiba flat panel TV, make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware update. Otherwise, all you will see is "no signal detected". Apparently there was a detction issue that was addressed in the most recent update. When playing mp3's on my old MediaPlay, you could merely hit the chapter forward button to advance to the next song. Unfortunately, not with the HV335. You have to use the up or down arrow, select the next song, and then hit "play". Two actions instead of the previous 1. The power button issue really stumps me. With almost all other players I've seen or used, including my previous MediaPlay, the power button on the remote is all you need to power the unit on or off. With the HV335, the power button on the unit has to be pressed first to put it into standby mode...THEN you have to press the power button on the remote to actually turn the unit on. When the unit is completely off, the blue LED on the unit's power button is off. After pressing the power button on the unit to turn it "on" however, it the LED stays on continuously regardless of whether you are in standby mode or on. Unless the TV is on, you have no way of knowing the status of the unit. When you hit the power button on the remote, the blue LED does flash a few times between modes but then goes back to steady on......it's a poor design and is VERY CONFUSING! I've left my unit on a number of times already without knowing. If they had to do it this way a multi-color LED setup would have been the way to go....say red or amber for standby, and blue or green for on. The only other negative I'll mention is the size of the text in the menu. I find it a little small and would like to see an option added so the user can choose the font size they prefer.

Now, on the positive side....
The HV335 does have 2 USB connections (1 front-1 back) and although the manual says not to hook to external devices up at the same time, I was informed by Argosy's tech support that you can as long as the USB drives have there own DC power supply and aren't pulling USB power from the unit. I've tried it and it works well. In fact unlike the old MediaPlay which would only recognize the primary partition on an external drive, the HV335 recognizes multiple partitions and displays them as separate USB drives. (USB1, USB2 etc.) I also installed a 1TB WD Caviar green internal hard drive in one of my units (it will support up to a 2TB SATA drive) and another nice feature, is the copy, paste, delete option. If you choose to install an internal hard drive in the HV335, you can copy files from your network, or one of the external USB drives and copy them to the internal drive. You can also delete files as well, but only from the internal drive. The process is slower than a direct USB connection to your PC, but still nice to have. The included instructions to install the internal drive are very poor. (Illustrations only with no text) But the actual procedure is quite simple and I had mine installed in under 5 minutes.

Like any new device, the HV335 does have some hurdles to overcome. Hopefully these will be addressed with future firmware updates. It is however, a very nice
little player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Argosys HV335T, August 4, 2010
By 
N. Cooke (Cedar Park, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
It currently does not allow random playback of images or video but I have yet to find a video type it does not play. Utilizing a wired network (Power Over Ethernet) it can smoothly play, fast forward and rewind a 7 GB High-Def video file (.mkv). Tried pushing an 11 GB file through and it was fine until complex scenes (trees and fast movement), then it stammered a little on playback. Updating the firmware to 2.0 was easy with the USB port.

Update 2/2/2011:
It's still going strong. Still have not found a video file it won't play. I still have not put a hard drive inside of it and am enjoying streaming directly to it. Now with Playon installed on my PC server I can watch Hulu and Netflix content directly on my TV. This has led to my canceling my satellite subscription, saving $40 a month. I love this thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One very important technical detail, July 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
I can't actually rate the unit correctly, as I haven't used it yet (it seems to be well-built, hence my 4 star rating not to offend the manufacturer for no reason). There is one very important fact that you need to know to save yourself a lot of time and aggravation. Amazon suggests the most popular hard drive to work with this unit as WD Caviar Green. Nothing wrong with this hard drive, but some model sub-types are not compatible (the models ending with B0 are not, the ones ending with B1 are OK). You can find these numbers only on the hard drive itself, not in its description anywhere. There is a table of the compatible hard drives you need to check before you choose an HDD for the unit. It can be found here[...]
Just in case I am copying it here, as of 07/22/11 (it might get updated, of course)

Brand Size Model Part Number FW/Config. Test Result
HGST 500GB HDP725050GLA360 0A35415 Pass
HGST 1TB HDT721010SLA360 0A38016 Pass
HGST 1TB H3D10003272S 0F10383 Pass
HGST 2TB HDS722020ALA330 0F10311 28A Pass
WD 500GB WD5000AAJS Pass
WD 500GB WD5000AAKS Pass
WD 1.0TB WD10EAD(R)S-xxxxB0 0 Failed (-xxxxB1 OK)
WD 1.5TB WD15EAD(R)S-xxxxB0 0 Failed (-xxxxB1 OK)
WD 2.0TB WD20EAD(R)S-xxxxB0 0 Failed (-xxxxB1 OK)
Seagate 1TB ST31000333AS 9FZ136-500 SD15 Pass
Seagate 1.5TB ST31500541AS 9TN15R-301 CC34 Pass
Seagate 1.5TB ST31500341AS 9JU138-302 CC1H Pass
Seagate 2TB ST32000542AS Pass
Samsung 1.5TB HD154UI A Pass
Samsung 2TB HD204UI Pass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done and more, July 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
Background of review:
- Have had it for a few weeks, tinkering with it on/off
- Have not owned others, cannot compare directly
- Had low expectations going into this

Summary:
As the title says, this gets the job done. If you are tired of collecting DVDs which get scratched and need to be stored somewhere, moving them all onto one of these saves time and hassle. I'll break down things one by one.

Operation:
As others have commented, it is annoying that the front blue light is always on, irrespective of whether the unit is actually on or not. Beyond that, the menu system and operating the box is pretty good. The user interface is functional but won't win any awards (buy hey, I was about to wait for the popbox whose designers *did* win awards and the initial reviews on that one are way down).

Remote Control:
This is a bit underwhelming. Again, functional but nothing fancy. For instance, no ability to go to a certain point in a movie by entering hours::minutes. But can fast forward at different speeds and stop it once you get there. Have not had problems with reception

Hard disk installation:
This is where I erred initially. I was about to dismantle the whole thing. Opening it can be a bit tricky but once you figure it out it's simple. Expect a few minutes of head scratching over this one. If it seems hard, you're probably trying to dismantle the whole thing like I did.

Network operation:
You have to be careful to choose a wireless device that is compatible with this box. Argosy USA homepage address this issue now and provide suggestions. I spent quite a bit of time browsing pages and sweating this one (because the Argosy USA detailed homepage didn't yet exist), ended up getting one from eBay recommended by others that is working for me. Haven't yet tried uPnP or Samba fileserver sharing, but verified network connection is OK and was able to pull images from Picasa and local weather. Speaking of weather, it works for international locations too.

File formats:
Have been throwing it various AVI's and MKV's with no issues. Plays them all happily.

Overall:
So far I'm a satisfied customer. Would recommend to others. My only qualm is longevity but if this thing continues to operate as is, it'll have been worth my $99 easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great media player, Gets better with every firmware update, November 13, 2010
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
This is great unit. I have had mine for about 6 weeks now. Even my wife and kids like to use it. Media players just work great. This on especially because of the internal hard drive(bought separately)and the ability for two external hard drives. By itself it is very small and takes up very little space which makes it easy to move room to room or house to house. Before purchasing I had intended on buying another unit. But, I decided on this unit because the user interface looked better than the other unit I was researching.
This unit will play almost any file you throw it's way. I have only had a few it would not play and that was due to the files having bugs and not the media player having problems. The only file type that works really well are VOB, ISO(vob), MPEG 2, well basically any direct from dvd files. These work the best because they can be separated into chapters and they fast forward and rewind just like DVD's. No other file type on this unit can fast forward and rewind like a real DVD, it is just partial to VOB format. Picture quality is great and so is the sound quality. The best way to maintain your video files is to have each file in it's own folder. If they are not in a folder, files other that VOB's will skip to the next movie/show when you hit the chapter skip button. It's really annoying and the only way around that is to have them in separate folders. When they are in separate folders the will simply skip to the end the movie/show and go back to the menu screen. Scrolling through the files is not fast enough for me. So to help this out I had to place things in folder like "A-F movies" and place all the corresponding movies in that folder. That way you are not running through a 500 title list looking for #499 and getting annoyed. It would just take to long to do that so the folder option works a lot better.
The music player has no play list ability or shuffle ability. Start at a song and it will continue in alphabetical order. Photos are kind of slow to load and to skip the next photo. But, hey I bought this media player for movies and TV shows and not for music and photos anyway.
This unit works on all TV's that have HDMI, component OR RCA connections. The sound output must be set correctly from the main menu. If you want sound from the HDMI cable you choose that option or from RCA audio choose that option. I have one TV that uses HDMI sound and the other TV uses RCA sound, so I have to set it correctly depending on the TV I am using. TV picture format is the same, if your TV is a widescreen or normal TV you have to set it as such from the main menu. File transfer is fastest when hooked up to a computer with a USB cable, do not bother with network transfer(it's slow). When it is networked you can change around the files like any hard drive and even play files from the media player on your computer.
Either way you look at it these types of systems are still new to the market and they all have quirks and you just get used to them. Overall I am very happy with my media player. I just wish that AVI, FLV and other formats would fast forward and rewind like a DVD does. NETFILX capabilty would be nice also, which this unit does not have the ability to play yet. I hope a firmware update will include that in the future.

Here is a quick update. I have recently installed the newest firmware updates. The best update was increased scrolling speed in movie menu lists. The other nice addition is a progress bar during the movies. When you turn on the progress bar you can fast forward and rewind AVI and other type of movies with ease now. The last update was the addition of streaming TV, it is not easy to use and I have yet to find a use for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best media player, full of features, June 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
I had an older versions and loved it, needed more space so I had to move to a SATA based media player, and just like my old one is a solid device and it has played pretty much everything I've put on it, fantastic way to backup your movies, music and pictures; I actually purchased 2 of this devices and added the Western Digital 2 TB Caviar Green hard drives, I have a differential backup schedule that copies my music and pictures to it through the network from 2 laptops and one desktop to both devices, so far I love this device and is very small so you can take it anywhere if need to like if car trips or when visiting family, I don't know what else to say on it, is a fantastic device I currently have over 100 kids movies on one and about 60 of my favorite movies on the other one, some DIVX, full DVD rips and mkv's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need, May 18, 2010
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
The Argosy HV335T is the gadget I've been waiting the last 3 years for, wired and wireless (albeit via a USB dongle) network access, uPNP compatibility (following a necessary upgrade to firmware v2.0), RMVB playback (my chosen codec for my video collection, and no I don't have the abomination that is realplayer installed on any of my machines but I do like the codec). All of this coupled with a local HD, USB ports and HDMI output = must buy. So I did, and I can't recommend it more. Would like to be able to localize the weather a bit more and the Picasa and Flickr sections are a bit clunky but these IMHO are extras. The core functions of this little player, music/video/pictures it does very well, both locally, via uPNP or by Network addresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, December 1, 2010
This review is from: Argosy HV335T 3.5-Inch HDD 1080P HDMI Mobile Video Media Player (Electronics)
I bought this couple days ago and I love it. I use the PS3 to play all my files and problem with it is doesn't play some files and cannot use the subtitles. I was amazed that it play .vob files and also can use .srt files for subtitles. Picture is not great as PS3 but it still good. Already tried the uPnP and it works great with PS3one or TVersity. I already upgrade the firmware but it still need some work like a preview file when finding movie scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.