Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a victim!
I just finished reading Paxton Quigley's Armed and Female. It is a well-written, easy to read book, written by a woman for women about firearm usage, safety, and training. I learned a great deal from this informative book and I would highly recommend it to other women who may be thinking of obtaining a firearm for self and family protection (even for women whose...
Published on May 1, 2000 by Dr. Miguel Faria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, yes. It was used... BUT...
The book was rather worn-looking, but I don't mind that. I didn't expect it to look brand new. But the first pages were missing -- so it opens on page 81. I don't feel it was worth the money -- I bought it for the CONTENT not for the appearance.
Published 16 months ago by Peggy Brewington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a victim!, May 1, 2000
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading Paxton Quigley's Armed and Female. It is a well-written, easy to read book, written by a woman for women about firearm usage, safety, and training. I learned a great deal from this informative book and I would highly recommend it to other women who may be thinking of obtaining a firearm for self and family protection (even for women whose husbands already have firearms in the home but have never handled them), and for women interested in target shooting.
In this age where gun safety is correctly emphasized for the initiate. You will learn the rules of self-defense as well as safety from both a legal and philosophic perspective. I think this is a must read for all women who have made the decision to take responsibility for their and/or their family's protection with a firearm. The reality is that the police cannot be everywhere at all times to protect everyone, particularly women, the elderly, and the disabled---all of whom are viewed as special targets by criminal predators. Contrary to conventional wisdom the police do not have a duty to protect an individual citizen, but only respond once a criminal act has been committed. Police protection, legally, is only owed to the community as a whole, but not to single individuals. The book is an eye opener and I highly recommend it.
Helen E. Faria Managing Editor, Medical Sentinel of the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons (AAPS)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Men and Women, June 23, 2000
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
I, too, bought this book for my wife, who has at times mentioned getting a gun. I decided to read it before I gave it to her. I learned a lot. Every man with a wife and/or daughters should read this book. It makes a powerful case for women to carry guns. As a relative beginner, I also learned a great deal about shooting for accuracy and self-defense. I am even going to have my 13 year old daughter read it. I debated that, because there is a brutal section on rape, but I decide that it is better to have her know what really can happen out there, and how to prevent it (even without a gun), than to leave her ignorant and increase the chance that it will happen to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly excellent, a few dated references, March 16, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent introduction to firearms, self-defense concepts, and attitude. Instruction on what kind of weapons are suitable for a woman, how they function, and how to practice with then.
I frankly skipped the chapters on the dangers of rape, the inefficacy of fingernail files against a determined assailant, and a few others because I was more interested in the practical material, not in deciding whether self-defense is appropriate.
My one caveat is that there is no indication that any information has been revised since the paperback was published in 1990. Consequently, information about specific products and possibly some laws is outdated. The pistol the author prefers, for example, was replaced in its manufacturer's lineup with a new model in 1997.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Informative, July 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book originally for my wife. We are both taking firearm classes and I thought it might ease her mind a little bit about carrying a firearm. However, I got the book and read the whole thing in about 3 days. I could not put it down. If you are a man or woman considering purchasing a handgun for the 1st time, this book is a "must read". It walks you thru calibers, holsters,and types of handguns, and includes many statistics that would encourage a person to want to stay armed on the street and in their house.Whether you are a man or woman, this book is great reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paxton Quigley is great, August 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
Every person, man and woman, who wishes to live as an honest, peaceful citizen, has a right to do just that...to go about their business and live their lives in freedom. Paxton, and many other people, thankfully, has refused to be a victim. In an age when the criminal justice system is little more than a laughing stock, and atrocious criminal behavior results in the victimization of the innocent, Paxton has recognized and exercized her right to live as a free citizen with the means to defend herself. This book could, and should, make many converts of many who have an aversion to firearms. The simple fact is that firearms in the hands of good people is the best means of defense against would be evil-doers in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent commentary on gun control/personal defense, August 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
I was so impressed with this book that I ordered multiple copies to give/loan to friends and family. This is a must read for everyone! Male, female, pro or anti gun control. Not readily available from my local library. Purchase an extra copy to loan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction..., September 16, 2002
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a great introduction to guns, regardless, if you are an expirenced shooter or do not have idea how to use a gun. It points all the different types of self-defense that you can use - with their pro's and con's. This book helps women realize the dangers and how to deal with them (with a use of a gun). I am always aware of the dangers if I am biking, hiking,kayaking, or walking to my car. I am in control of my safety and I refuse to be a victim! This book, though, does leave beginners with a lot of questions but the book wasn't written to give you a quiz with what type of gun is good for you - that is were you pick up at a gun range and/or a gun store. There is a lot of support for beginners - you just have to ask for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARMED & FEMALE, March 12, 2002
By 
JimB "jimxrt" (Gaithersburg, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
Paxton Quigley's book "Armed and Female" is a well presented and is an eye-opening view of the world. I feel this book is a must for all women and men who have little or no experience in Fire-arms who is considering purchasing one for self protection. This is a great book and just does not apply just for women. Men should read this as well. A great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any beginner, January 2, 2001
By 
Big Ed "ed4rkba" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
Not just for women only and don't let the publication date fool you either. The book is still very informative and an excellant guide for anyone curious about handguns and their lawful use in self defense. Geared towards women and therefore very informative leaving nothing to chance. Though it wouldn't hurt to be updated to include some of new calibers out in the market now, e.g. 357 SIG, 10mm, etc., it still provides all the necessary basics for anyone interested in handgun selection, safety, ownership, and lawful use. A good reference book in anyone's library on this subject. Definitely worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gun control racist and sexist, Quigley says, October 6, 1997
This review is from: Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Quigley, writer and firearms trainer for women, makes a case I've seen nowhere else that gun control has its most pernicious effect on women and poor blacks. Poor blacks are disproportionately affected by violent crime since bad neighborhoods are the only ones they can afford to live in, and they are least able to recover from property or violent crime. Women in unfortunate relationships with unstable men are likely to suffer assault or murder owing to being physically less able to repel an attacker -- unless they have an equalizer.
These, Quigley writes, are two population groups desperately in need of access to firearms, yet gun-control laws work to systematically deny them this kind of emergency protection.

Much of the rest of the book covers the basics of firearms, their use, and their ownership. Some of the basics are very basic indeed, so I recommend this book to firearms novices of _any_ gender, not just women!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You?
Armed and Female: Twelve Million American Women Own Guns, Should You? by Paxton Quigley (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 1990)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.