Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Bible
I'm a gun owner and a gun rights advocate. I'm very fair-minded, consequently I've always wondered if my interest in gun ownership led me to be biased against gun control advocacy (i.e. "I like 'em, they don't. Therefore, they must be wrong."). Now that I've read "Armed" I no longer have any doubts that I've made the right choice on this topic. I...
Published on November 18, 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Duplicates a better book
This book is almost the same as The Great American Gun Debate by the same primary authors (Kleck and Kates). You probably don't need both (and I prefer The Great American Gun Debate).
Published 19 months ago by Jeffrey Chamberlain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Bible, November 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
I'm a gun owner and a gun rights advocate. I'm very fair-minded, consequently I've always wondered if my interest in gun ownership led me to be biased against gun control advocacy (i.e. "I like 'em, they don't. Therefore, they must be wrong."). Now that I've read "Armed" I no longer have any doubts that I've made the right choice on this topic. I found myself getting very angry with the medical society and the media while reading this book.
This is the fifth and best book on this topic I've read. I only wish that everyone in a position of power, from government to the media, would read it. If you buy it and read it, maybe they will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly Research on Gun Control, March 26, 2005
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
Kleck is a professor at Florida State University, Kates is a partner of a national law firm. The 'Introduction' says they want to present the findings from scholarly journals to contradict the propaganda in the corporate media (p.14). Concealed handgun carry resulted in a reduction of violent crimes (p.17). This fact is censored from the corporate media, even though thousands of lives could be saved. The corporate media portrays gun owners as subhumans, but exempts the Rockefellers, the DuPonts, and the publisher of the 'New York Times' (p.18). This is just bigotry. The availability of guns does not cause murders; murderers mostly have criminal records (p.21). Most murders are drug-related. Gun Prohibition only disarms honest people, just as locks only bar honest people. Historians and scholars say the Second Amendment is an individual right, and this was well recognized prior to World War II.

Chapter 2 tells of the propaganda campaign that uses various medical groups as pawns. Their studies ignore any facts that don't agree with their desired conclusion (p.33). These Gun Prohibitionists assert falsehoods, fabricate statistics, and falsify references, to forge evidence for their views (p.34). Page 38 gives examples where Dr. Tanay and Kr. Kellermann quote references which disprove their opinions! Such articles show intellectual confusion, ignorance of facts, omission of facts, and emotions that suggest a need for therapy (p.39). Freud said fear and loathing of guns is a sign of sexual immaturity and neuroticism (p.38). A neurosis is a mental disorder characterized by anxieties, compulsions, obsessions, or phobias. The criminological evidence refutes the claims of the medical advocates (p.51). The dishonesty of the "health advocates" on gun control is shown by their disregard of falling accidental gun deaths while the numbers of guns owned were rising (p.57). Are they using the idea of dying children just for its emotional impact (p.58)? The Gun Prohibitionists suppress facts, and falsify data and statistics, in order to prove their case (p.63). The CDC admitted to assuming a conclusion then creating evidence to prove it (p.69). This chapter documents the emotional anti-gun agenda in some medical and public health literature. They generally ignore the large amount of sociological and criminological research (p.83). Violence could be reduced when poverty is reduced.

Chapter 3 explains why "gun control" proposals are aimed to prohibit the right to own firearms. Gun prohibitionists can't be trusted. Freud said the fear and loathing of firearms was sexual hysterics (p.109). Their strident advocacy of gun prohibition reflects their neuroses. Their emotional diatribes are the reason for their failures.

Chapter 5 discusses distortion of gun issues in the mass media which provides most information to people. This information is shaped or biased to provide a conclusion by excluding certain information. This results from the policies of the "owners of media corporations" (p.174). But most consumers can recognize these slants. Page 192 tells how CBS' "48 Hours" faked a story. The evidence of news media bias for "gun control" is that gun control advocates never complain about the play (p.203)! No national news corporations are against "gun control" (p.204). Media manipulation of information in general has been documented in books (p.205). This message is widespread and one-sided (pp.206-7). This results in a poorly informed public.

Chapters 6 & 7 reference other articles that are not included in this book. They are not for the average reader. Chapter 8 explains why the Second Amendment in the Bill of Rights refers to a right to personal self-protection (p.343). The need for an armed citizenry was explained by Aristotle, Machiavelli, Locke, Montesquieu, and Blackstone. Self-defense is the most basic of rights (p.345). The general possession of arms is a positive social good (p.348). Blackstone said the subjects of England had the right to petition for redress of grievances, and, lastly, the right to have and use arms for self-preservation and defense (p.349). Possessing arms is a sign of a free citizen. A republic needs armed property-owner, said Machiavelli (p.350). Despots disarm people to render them helpless, and morally degraded (p.351). No twentieth-century military can suppress an armed popular national insurgency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for all in the media!, January 27, 2002
By 
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
I've read thousands of words, and watched hours of video over the years on the issues of firearms and gun control, and have helplessly gnashed my teeth at the plain lack of knowledge of the subject displayed by the vast majority of commentators and writers about guns, the gun culture, and the reality of the role guns play in American life.
This book, "Armed", is an extraordinary piece of work that should be mandatory reading for EVERYONE in the media! None of them should be allowed to write or utter one more word on the issues of "gun violence", child mortality rates or gun ownership until they've read this and passed a written comprehension test on it!
A superb book! Our organization will be passing out copies of this to all our local media personalities and editors just as soon as we can manage it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor man's Point Blank, April 25, 2002
By 
"lee_at_war" (Hudson, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
Considering the fact that "Point Blank" is out of print and the used book is generally in the $100 range, this is a very nice alternative.
Generally a concise evaluation and explanation of studies dealing with Gun use and ownership. Kleck, a gun control advocate, reasonably evaluates data from studies to show that defensive gun use is beneficial and justifies the right to bear arms. Evaluations of other studies and commentaries also show the flaws of results reported and explains why they are flawed.
Kates discussions of why the gun prohibitionists (specifically the AMA and News services as well as specific gun control advocacy groups) are not to be trusted. The willingness of these groups to distort and openly lie about data makes a person frightened that they are actually believed (especially our alleged "News" services). Discussions also point out gun control groups tactics and where they have won and lost in the past (as well as where some of thier wins back fired on them)(Pun intended).
Phrasing is at times difficult and wordy. You have to read some statements several times to figure out what they are trying to say. Evaluation procedures are explained with details on error analysis for such studies and how even the error analysis is used in a distorted manner by gun control groups. All sources and source materials are listed ad nauseum.
A Required reading for anyone that tries to argue the gun control topic. Definitely NOT an NRA supported study. Kleck is held in disfavor by the leadership of the NRA because of his pro-control standing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this for yourself, and for any students you know!, November 21, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
-
This compilation is perhaps the single best book one could read in order to have a working knowledge of the many facets of gun regulation. If we are going to treat gun control as a "serious" issue, then we must move beyond the sound-byte polemics which so often characterize the debate. That most certainly does NOT mean however, that we must water down the rhetoric to the point that we sound like a bunch of politicians. Kates carefully documents "overt mendacity" ...and that is just the sort of thing needed to clear the air for rational debate. Otherwise, well-intended but television-dependent voters keep being swayed by the same sound-bytes from an intellectually bankrupt media, and our morally bankrupt politicians spur us on to enact the same tried-and-failed public policies, to solve "crisis" which are either nonexistant, or created by the last symbolic and counterproductive gun law passed. Here (from Tennessee Law Review Spring 1995 62:3) is but one example of what gun prohibitionists have been up to:
"Even more unfortunately, CDC and other health advocate sages build their case not only by suppressing facts, but by overt fraud, fabricating statistics, and falsifying references to support them.[261] The following are but a few of the many examples documented..."
The only way out of that cycle is for the public to become informed, and this book is one of the best starting points for the sincerely motivated reader.
Get it for anyone in high school or college, as an antidote to the politically distorted stuff they may be exposed to.
Also check out Zelman and Stevens' "Death by Gun Control" (ISBN 0-9642304-6-1) after reading both these books, you will understand why the gun control issue is more important than ANY other social or political issue, and why true opponents of gun control (as opposed to firearms hobbyists only wanting to avoid inconvenience) are so unwilling to "compromise" on the issue, even on matters as seemingly innocent as "registration" - because on this issue, being "reasonable" is an invitation to genocide, and more crime.
Andrew Johnstone, RPh/MD
Doctors for Sensible Gun Laws
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the truth shall set you free, September 13, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is willing to question their beliefs, anyone who cares about our society, and anyone who believes in the importance of empirical study over irrational dogma.
I once was lost, but now I'm found, was blind, but now I see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On target., December 13, 2001
By 
"gunsarefreedom" (Mountain View, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
Exposing the emotional rhetoric of the anti-gun crowd
for what it is -- unscientific claptrap, Kleck and Kates
open up with "both barrels". Most gun owners have some idea
that the "mainstream media" is biased against the individual
freedom to keep and bear arms but the extent of this
"conspiracy of dunces", as exposed in this book, will astound
even the most jaded reader.
To the members of the anti gun cabal who will want to
brush off Kleck as "yet another right wing NRA type"
suprise -- Kleck is a liberal -- one of the few with
enough scientific and academic integrity to remain
detached and unbiased. His research methods and
conclusions are unassalable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Duplicates a better book, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
This book is almost the same as The Great American Gun Debate by the same primary authors (Kleck and Kates). You probably don't need both (and I prefer The Great American Gun Debate).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read how much we are misled, August 25, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
It was shocking to find out how much we are misled on gun control issues. This book contains a lot of very thorough analysis of misleading gun control propaganda. I would have dropped one star because the text is very tense and dry and requires a lot of concentration to read, but the issues are too important to let that be an obstacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Analyzes how gun issues are reported in this country, January 13, 2002
This review is from: Armed (Hardcover)
Any studying social issues involved in gun control will find Gary Kleck and Don Kates' Armed to be a significant title which examines the criminological and legal evidence on the right to bear arms and its effects upon gun-related crimes. From the latest research on guns and violence to topics of media bias in the coverage of gun issues, this analyzes how gun issues are reported in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Armed
Armed by Gary Kleck (Hardcover - November 1, 2001)
$30.99 $22.26
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.