Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 steps forward, 1 large step back
my opinion is definitly a little slanted because I LOVED the first army of two. and i overall really enjoyed this one. it's alot of fun and the shooter mechanics and general third person interface work really well. they're not spectacular but they are functional, not flashy but good. however in making the sequal here it seems a little design by comitee comenced and the...
Published on January 16, 2010 by Poshu Oshu

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming game + a horrible marketing gimmick
I must admit I was quite excited for The 40th Day. I enjoyed the previous installment in the series and had fairly high expectations for the second. So I sat down and put the game in and waited to be wowed. And then I waited. And waited. And waited some more. And then the credits rolled.

The 40th Day isn't an awful game but all the things that made the first...
Published on January 26, 2010 by T. Caughey


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 steps forward, 1 large step back, January 16, 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
my opinion is definitly a little slanted because I LOVED the first army of two. and i overall really enjoyed this one. it's alot of fun and the shooter mechanics and general third person interface work really well. they're not spectacular but they are functional, not flashy but good. however in making the sequal here it seems a little design by comitee comenced and the things that made me love the first AOT were determined to be the reason for the mediocre reaction to it. apparently in the era of gears of war and halo AOT of all things was deemed "too meathead" in it's humor and the characters were blasted as over macho idiots. i loved the humor and the characters. so the humor was toned down, Rios and salem are alot more subdued now and they really don't seem to enjoy their work like in the first one. seems to me if your gonna be a mercenary you might as well like doing it. and because it is the flavor of the month they added morality choices, i'm guessing to give depth to rios and salem. the moral choices are kind of interesting and give you some options as what jobs you want to accept but the choices tend to be rather crap.

The "new" humor i have to admit is not a step forward, the game is still funny but one stage is set in a zoo where all the animals have been murdered. it's suposed to set the tone and make you dislike the leader of the 40th day initiative as a maniac. but to me it's just morbid and the morality choice of killing a tiger to get the gun from his pen is really not cool. you can just buy the gun anyway so its not like you have to kill the tiger ever for completion purposes but honestly it's just kinda unnesisary.

for a co-op game the co-op has been toned down alot. i liked that AOT was all about two people, lots of step jumps and back to back moments and situations where you HAD to rely on your partner. in this game they took out the co-op snipe feature, not a big deal when playing with two people but it's just symptomatic of the design changes. there are two back-to-back moments in the whole game, and while one is totally awsome the other is just basic. i wasn't the biggest fan of the back-to-back mode in AOT but mostly because you had no control over it. if they made it so you could back-to-back under the right circumstances anytime. it'd be a great feature. also there are like 5 step jumps in the game and only 1 of them enables you to kill enemies while being held aloft to make it easier when you advance. the most glaring omission in the sequel is the really awsome rescue mechanics. in AOT you had to rescue injured npcs from time to time by slinging them over your shoulder and having your partner gun down enemies clearing a path for you since you could only use a pistol like this. it got annoying at times but that was the idea. and it was far and away better than any other escort mechanics i'd ever seen in a game. instead we have the equivalant of "puzzles" in the form of civilian rescues where you have to reach a highly ranked enemy and take him hostage to disarm the other soldiers. i do like this new feature it's pretty cool but with the ecception of one or two they're pretty straightforward.

now for the good
Rios's new voice actor is pretty bad ass, gives a real body to how he sounds, since he's a big guy it's a good thing. salems new voice actor is a pretty good guy, but not one i woulda chose for salem. the interactions between the two affects the dialoge and if you really piss each other off they more or less decide to go their seperate ways after they escape china. the supporting characters are good in this one, this game coulda used alot more alice murray in it but she is in it enough to make me happy. the new supporting characters are pretty good too, the crazy russian while not nearly as much fun as clyde is a nice addition to the cast list.

the weapon customisation is alot better in this one. once you buy a gun you get all the peices of it to use on any other gun that is similar enough to use it. i have the clip from an ak-47 jammed into an m4 with the barrel from another gun on the end of that. the customisable guns really affect the gameplay. in AOT my friend and i were so agressive the agro meter teetered back and forth and neither of us benefitted from it. in this game by putting silencers and the proper paint jobs on my guns, i build almost no agro and my friend goes in guns blazing with shotguns and hand cannons and i get to pick off guys left and right with my scoped assault rifle or even just run around busting heads with melee attacks. and the melee attacks are just wonderful, with or without the bayonette attachments you really put people in a hurt locker

overall the game has been improved, but i miss the old salem charm and while i enjoyed the story overall, it's the kind of story you'd find in a spin off. the first game was all about completeing paid jobs but since you worked at a company you had no choice over the jobs but you went around the world doing some great stuff. now you have your own company, you get to choose the jobs, you can go anywhere. so they chose to lock the second game with a short job and a long trek home. i really want them to do a true mercenaryish game where you get to choose from a long list of jobs and complete them in whatever order you decide or even in a preset order but have them be actual mercenary work. this is a story of two mercenary bad asses caught in a bad situation not two mercenaries doing their jobs. which is fine, but like i said, would make a nice sidestory.

i can't recomend or not recomend this game because it's got a very specific audience and i just happen to be a part of it. so the best advice i can give you is to rent it and try it for yourself, it's not as bad as people say it is but it's not as good as i say it is either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming game + a horrible marketing gimmick, January 26, 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I must admit I was quite excited for The 40th Day. I enjoyed the previous installment in the series and had fairly high expectations for the second. So I sat down and put the game in and waited to be wowed. And then I waited. And waited. And waited some more. And then the credits rolled.

The 40th Day isn't an awful game but all the things that made the first game memorable like the co-op mechanisms, the tongue in cheek bromance, the ambiguous morality and the hard fighting brutality were completely underdeveloped here. The strength of a sequel over a new title is that a dev team can take all the popular aspects of a previous game and with that previous experience up the ante and redeliver a superior product based on those known strengths and weaknesses. Instead with the 40th Day you get exactly the same thing as before with an even thinner story (which I didn't thing possible) and a less engaging aesthetic. There is basically nothing here that makes me believe that a single lesson was learned from the previous title.

The controls are wonky but not intrusively bad. I did have an unexplainable bug where after I came back from turning off the game the Y-axis reset to un-inverted and I couldn't change it back. So if you're a freak of nature like me and play with an inverted Y-Axis be on your guard. The bug might make this game unplayable.

Also be warned: if you're looking for single player play time then don't put down your money on buying this game. I finished this game in less than six hours on Hard. There are a few unlockables but nothing to make it worth really playing through the campaign again. My recommendation would be to rent it and based off how much you enjoy the multi-player consider buying a copy then.

As far as the actual game play is concerned I was never once really engaged. The enemies have a very limited number of very jerky animations and their AI is unsatisfying. Like many poorly designed games that place an emphasis on the use of cover you'll often find yourself feeling like you're playing a game of wack-a-mole where you sit behind your cover and they sit behind theirs as you wait for them to lean out to ineffectually spray bullets at you. The enemies are not challenging and most of the episodes were you find yourself being challenged is when due to the design of the spawn points and the poor camera angles a half dozen opponents appear behind you. They're mostly carbon copies of each other, some with helmets and some with body armor but it's all the same deal. This is mixed up by having the occasional mini-boss which is decked out in heavy armor and has a special weapon like a Gatling gun or a grenade launcher. Between the combat cover mechanic and the cheesy pseudo-anime looking enemies I felt like I had traveled back in time fifteen years and was playing Time Crisis at the arcade again and not in a good way.

This is all interrupted by situations where you can take hostages and/or rescue civilians. While that sounds fun, and it is at first, it wears off about an hour into the game due to the fact that it's the same situation every time and you're never presented with a reason or a reward that makes you care. This brings me to the "moral choices" in the game. One of the great ideas in the game that had simply terrible execution the moral choices have almost no affect on the storyline or the game play. There are some items and weapon parts you can get one way as opposed to the other but they're not really a big deal and don't much alter the way you play the game or the manner in which it is or isn't enjoyed. You could be totally good or totally bad without significant alteration in the basic experience.

The second incredibly disappointing aspect of the game was the weapon modification. This is another idea that just never really seemed to get off the ground which is bizarre considering the attention and marketing it got as a component of the game. While you can change out barrels and add new sights or stocks, etc there is very little substantial difference in the weapon platforms. Once you buy one modification or the other it makes little difference what your "base" weapon is. Also the modifications themselves are limited and uninspired. With all the focus placed on attaining money in the game you'll find little reason to actually spend it as none of the mods have a real "fun" factor to them and their effect on your game play is minimal.

The multi-player is adequate but I don't see any shooter fan who owns a copy of Modern Warfare 2 spending enough time play The 40th Day to justify a purchase. You'll also notice that since you didn't pre-order a copy you don't yet have access to the Extraction feature of the game for a month. Note to EA: put a $10 mail in rebate or a poster or the such in your pre-orderers boxes. Leaving out an entire portion of your game for one of the most critical time periods for the sale of your product is incredibly stupid. Basically what EA has done is create the illusion of pre-orderers getting "extra material" by taking it away from everyone else. What a clever way to screw over your customers. Fire the guy that came up with that.

Bottomline: The game is a decent but not impressive 6 hours duck and shoot exercise. Unless you simply loved the multi-player portion of the first game I wouldn't recommend paying retail for this one. A rental isn't out of the question for a lazy weekend but with Bioshock 2, Mass Effect 2 and Modern Warfare 2, all vastly superior sequels, out or soon to be I'm not sure I'd argue you'll have more fun with this in your 360.

Pros:
*Good looking graphics, nice textures.
*Not too hard, not too easy.
*Curb stomping.

Subjective qualities:
*Simple combat mechanics.
*Check point save system.
*Not overly tactical, very shoot 'em up.

Cons:
*Terrible story.
*Very short.
*Undeveloped core concepts (weapon mods and moral choices).
*Painfully cliche aesthetics.
*Simple AI.
*Goofy Achievements.
*Little variation in play.
*Wonky Controls.
*You don't get the whole game you pay for on release (Extraction).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Should Have Been a Spin-Off..., January 28, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
My Shared-Screen Gaming Buddy & I have a very special place in our hearts for the Army Of Two (the first game), and we were waiting anxiously for the sequel.

For the co-op play specifically, they really did quite well for the most part in bringing a similar "tied-together/Depending-on-eachother" feeleing as the first game. Plenty of oportunities for co-op sniping, flush and ambush, and flanking tactics. Overall I would recomend it only for the co-op experience.

As Far as the Story and other design aspects go, its an entirely different matter, and the only reason I can't actually recomend the game. There were three main issues that prevailed for us.

First and the only real "Mechanics: issue; the A button "Hold-to-run" being the same as the "revive-partner" button, leading to quite a few mishaps and deaths.

Second; Most of the games story is revealed in audio clips found in Radios that you need to find and pick up in order to get the full story and make the "right" or "Wrong" decision when it comes time to make your choice in the game's "Morality Plays"; points in the game when you or your partner must make a choice that affects both of you. If you just want to run the game and have fun, the decisions that you make at these points are out of context and have seemingly unexpected results, basically leaving you at a loss as far as story goes.

(***POSSIBLE SPOILERS***)

And finally, at least for us, the game seemed to roll like a square tire. To explain what I mean, when the first game came out I remember all of the complaints centering about a "Lack of Morality", the collegeboyesque "Bro-mance", and the hot-button (at the time) issue of Private contracters making cracks while they kill people. What most Co-Op gamers found out after actually playing the game with a partner, was that is was fun, because it was basically Gun Porn, it was a fun romp, where every bullet was a blast, and you got to high five your parter for making a good kill. Things were dropped out to rush release, which they tried to cover with the three new levels release for free later, and to a certain extent, they succeded.

The problems that I had with AOT: 40th Day is that it seems like they overcorrected, and then to top it off, they left in elements from the Fun Romp first game that now make the Overcorrections they made for the second game stand out even more, and seem out of place. In the new game, you seem to pause every few minutes of gameplay, and you are forced to make a "morality call" as described aboved, or an all to often "save the hostages" scene, both of which bring a halting staggering step to gameplay that should be almost kinetic. The sections in-between where you are able to run-and-gun as with the first game are very fun, and you can still engage in the "Bro-mance", and for-christ-sake you can use a soda can as a silencer or put together the stupidest fun gun you can think of, but these things don't feel like they belong in same game as the morality plays and the very dark-toned cut-scenes, and (*****BIG SPOILERS NEXT!!!*****) not one, but two downer game endings.

It feels like, in all honesty, this should have been a completly different property, and had nothing to do with Salem & Rios, or at the least involved other charachter merely in their world.

P.S. - A whole lot of very customizable guns, yes... but three pistols! Only three pistols! And you can't even do much with 'em. For Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Army of... who?, September 15, 2011
By 
Greg (SEATTLE, WA, US) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Well... This is a bit different, isn't it?

Those who show up to this party expecting a simple sequel to Army of Two are going to be a little surprised. Sure the mechanics are basically the same: over the shoulder, 1st person shoot-em-up where your level of aggression (or 'Aggro', ugh) determines how much enemy fire you'll take. But... that's about it. The easy flowing, fast killing, light-hearted, meat-headed nature of the 1st has been thrown out and what's left feels a lot more like an AoT 'reboot': the Nolan remake of the previous titles Schumacher treatment, if you will.

Things are darker, the characters take themselves much more seriously. War isn't light-hearted anymore and your choices have reprecussions you can feel. Rios and Salem seem war weary and, while they have some fun out there, are much more aware of total cost of bullets and blood (the new voice actors are infinetly more talented, by-the-by). The side characters you meet are tired, sweaty, hurt and a lot more memorable. The settings are dirty, smokey and... mostly on fire. Gameplay wise, your avatars are slower and heavier, the physics are much more real world and you've got much tighter control over-all. One the one hand, it's a much more compelling and cleanly made game. On the other hand, it feels almost exactly like everything else going. The paralles between this and Gears of War are now undeniable and it's even more clear how much it doesn't measure up. It's a superior game to the 1st AoT in almost everyway... but that doesn't mean it's more fun. If you loved, loved, loved the 1st one; if the atmosphere spoke to you, if the Rios and Salem made you chuckle, well... you might just hate The 40th Day with a passion.

I didn't, I liked it much better, but I think it just shifted more in line with things I like: stronger (much, much stronger) voice acting, memorable characters, interesting level design, elements of planning and thinking and strategy -- all stuff that requires more of an overall investment (which, understandably, not everyone is looking for). The story is still weak-sauce (even less focused than the original), so much so I'm not even going to bother recapping it because, seriously, who cares? Not the writers, that's for sure. "Shanghai's exploding. From... mercenaries or something. Good luck!" Seriously, it might as well have been zombies with guns at that point, it's the same exact feel.

That is what it is, but I would be a total fool to bother writing all this an NOT mention the new and improved weapon customization system. It. Is. AWESOME! A few dozen guns are available and when you buy/unlock one it becomes more like you just got a bunch of new spare-parts to mix and match with. Open the weapons menu and suddenly you're playing 'Sim: Arms Dealer' (a game that NEEDS to exist, now that I mention it). And it's not simply about building one 'better' gun -- everything, every accessory, every adjustment, has a place depending on what kind of enemy you're fighting and in what situation. Tight quarters? Shotguns are great if they're heavily armored, but noisy and slow -- maybe an SMG with a sturdy silencer instead? Open spaces are good for assault rifles and sniper rifles, but do you want damage or stability? Will you be laying down cover fire or closing the gap? Oh and hey, why not color them in many, many different ways just for the hell of it? For maybe the first time ever, I'm playing a game without an 'ultimate' weapon. Yeah, the mini-gun spews a billion bullets, but good luck hitting anything. That grenade launcher sure is sexy, but what're you gonna do when the bad guys get up close and personal or pick at you from a distance? With only a few exceptions, every weapon has a place and any one of them can be tricked out with stocks and silencers and scopes and shields into a serviceable, bad-guy killing, tool of death. It's a revelation and it MUST be expanded on someday... maybe into something all it's own? I joked about a weapons SIM but, seriously? Would you NOT play that freaking game?

Oh, and there are morality choices now. Sure, why not.

Enough of that, I'm off to await The SIMs: Locked and Loaded with held breath...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good,not as good as the first, September 13, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is great!There are alot of guns and a ton of customization.They have barrels you can change,scopes,camos,shields,grenade launchers,ect.Also its quite long.There are 7chapters and each chapter takes about 45min-1hour to beat so about 7hours combined to beat the game.That the same amount as cod so don't complain.They also have online so thats cool.The graphics are good as well.A must buy for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Rental ! Game has freeze issues and EA's horrible server support, February 3, 2010
By 
W. Newberry "agent_47" (st.simons.isl., GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I rented the game and feel I got my money's worth although I would love to try the "exclusive" horde-like co-op mode, it will be unlocked in another couple weeks.

The gameplay is solid for what it is , although even on the hardest game difficulty I finished solo with little challenge.

The real challenge was keeping my AI team mate from running headlong into a heavy enemy armed to the teeth with ballistic armor and grenade launcher.

But this game really isn't designed as a solo game , its best ordered up to play with a buddy online via matchmaking random or someone from your buddy list.

The game for as short as it was , was exciting , I really liked the moral choices , depending on which choice you made your given a mini-cutscene that looks like a graphic novel based upon your choice.

Sometimes someone you save who looks innocent turns out to be not so innocent. I enjoyed these little breaks from the action.

At its core AO2 is a 3rd person cover based game and it does it very well, if only the enemy AI were a little tougher .

The real beauty of the game is its online component but therein lies the problem with EA's finicky servers and the need to have an EA account separate from your XboxLive account to play MP.

Still the co-op campaign although really short can be finished easily in a weekend rental and then goof off in the MP modes for the remainder of the rental.

I REALLY wanted to try the exclusive horde mode but its still locked so I guess I'll try that out when its released to the public.

Overall great rental the graphics do look quite good overall ambiance is great with attention to detail , seeing a jumbo jet crash into the building your standing on is a sight to behold.

Would I buy it? Not yet maybe when it hits the $20 price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Do Not Waste Ur Money, January 16, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Let's just get to the problems with this game. The EA servers are BAD....real bad. I have several friends who have problems even connecting to the EA server, and when they do it lasts about 5 minutes before being randomly disconnected. I have had problems staying with a connection for more than about 30 minutes. I have been both host and client, so it is not the other persons connection, it is not my connection....it is EA. Next there is the fact you need a special code to engage in Extraction mode, which is similiar to Horde mode in Gears. Nice job EA, take a lousy game and exclude some people from engaging in what may be the only decent mode in the game. Next there is the Campaign Continue. It is already difficult to find people to play with, but if you try to continue where you left off, and want to play with a random (non friends list) player....good luck. The only way for someone to find you is for them to choose to start at the exact same checkpoint that you are attempting to start from. Oh, and another thing (maybe some people would not care), the achievements are BUNK. Example 1, a 50 pt achievement for playing all 16 rounds of Extraction Mode (which is extremely time consuming, but worse yet EXTRACTION IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR ALL PLAYERS!), there is also the case (which has just affected me), where you complete the entire game on the hardest difficulty (contractor) and do not get the achievment for it. I can only assume I did not get it because at one point someone did join my game at Normal Difficulty for 2 chapters (while I stayed on Contractor). I will go back and play chapters 4/5 and see if that gives it to me, but nonetheless, what a pain.

All this and I have not even gotten to the clunky controls, the fact that you try to revive your partner and end up rolling past him, or sprinting past him. The fact enemies often Phantom Spawm from places you cleared out or checked is also great. Better yet, you try and spring up to cover and end up flying over it completely exposed and dead in less than 5 seconds.

One last thing is the other Multiplayer modes. They really are not terrible, they actually grow on you a bit, but again you have roughly a 40% chance of getting in a game with ridiculous, uncontrollable, unplayable lag. I was lucky enough to rent this game as I have several friends that are pissed off about spending their money on this garbage, I recommend you do not make the same mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a learning curve involved..., January 17, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
So I enjoyed the first Army of Two game, it was pretty good all around. I heard all the banter about how it ripped off Gears of War or what not. But for EA, and what seems to be a MAJOR boost in quality games they have pushed over the past few years, it was impressive.

Fast forward a couple years, and now we have the anticipated sequel "The 40th day". Got the demo as soon as it hit Live/PSN, and I was happy about some of the improvements that were made. I end up purchasing this based off my experience of the previous installment. I still feel like the aiming system needs some small tweaks here and there, it's a bit annoying diving away from your partner because you miscalculated your timing reviving him. But other than a few small nagging bugs, some needed control improvements, the OCCASIONAL graphical tearing, and in some cases, I feel like the characters cloud up too much of the screen at certain times. Namely when I have an enemy somewhere in front of Salem or Rios, and my line of sight is blocked by the character, even when I go to aim, usually im dropped by the time I line up the shot. But again, all these complaints are minor at best.

The story is a bit deeper than its predecessor, but still shallow in the "I giant grunt, must kill all" cliche we have seen in nearly all 3PS nowadays. The banter between the two seems less repetitive. I still like playing Rock/Paper/Scissors with the NPC/other player online. I did notice a lot of complaints about the online co-op, well, I just gotta say this, it's EA, they are riding the coat-tails of Modern Warfare 2, believe it or not, I am sure they don't want to dump all their money into improvements if COD is going to trump them anyway. Like the last game, this will probably pick up steam here soon when people finally decide to shy from their beloved MW2.

The EA accounts are a minor issue at best, EA chooses to keep accountability of people who play their games online. I have received early demos before, so entering your information could benefit you. Also, I am sure it helps them take accountability of cheaters and so forth. Besides, being in Japan, I have a hard enough time finding another player period. Stationed out here, it is near impossible to find another player, and playing with another person on base is hit or miss. (some/most of us have identical IP's) Just be grateful, I have a feeling I will never get to take this game online, and have to deal with split screen or the retarded NPC who is a bullet magnet.

In conclusion, it's a good game, not great, but good, I hope EA takes this franchise forth, and truly makes it amazing, the sequel comes just a bit closer, but even EA has to learn from their mistakes sometimes. I am just grateful that they reduced the amount of shovelware, and started really QC'ing their software. Yeah, it costs money, consumes time, delays things, but I would rather have quality over quantity any day. Keep it up EA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 40th dayyyyyy, July 23, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Graphics are way better and I love how they added that you can crawl when you're down, run, and a few other things but then when it comes to the story mode I really had no idea what was going on. It just seemed like a bunch of scenes were thrown together. The first army of two kept me entertained for awhile but the 2nd one disappointed me. Overall, I'd say it's probably a $20 game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review: Army of Two: The 40th Day, February 10, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The "Army of Two" series could be best describe as the perfect "frat boy" shooter. Everything about the series is absolutely over the top ridiculous, but let's all be honest that's also 90% of the reason many of us have played the two titles. (the other 8% is of course co-op and then 2% because they have nothing else to play) The problem with "Army of Two: The 40th Day" is that EA decided to try to make the game a more serious affair and left the Bromace/Comedy/Action on the sidelines in this installment, which in my opinion put this game on the same level as many other generic military shooters.

Graphically I feel this version took a step forward in character design, animation and art. One of my favorite moments in The 40th Day is a scene where you are making your way to a mall and a heavily oppressed enemy zone in which most everything is shades of gray while red propaganda pours from the sky from airplanes over the city. Salem and Rios are in top form and have both received a boost in the graphic department. The moral choice cutscene's play out very well and even though I felt they did not belong in this game, the art in the comic compliments the game very well.

I have always enjoyed the Army of Two series as a co-op story experience, of course others do it better (Gears of War) but nothing like having your best friend as the other guys sharing a cold one and yelling at each other for not taking the proper cover as your dragging his ass back from being mowed down by a stationary gun. Great moments (I have actually had a "stressed" friendship when my real life friend couldn't comprehend "safe cover" is both games) but those moments are lost in The 40th Day due to the nature of the story, it's no longer a story of revenge and betrayal but a story of survival and cowardice as your only mission while the city is being blow to bits is to get the hell out of dodge.

Few things annoy me more these days than pre-order bonus modes. Extraction mode should have been available to everyone from the start, because the online component of either Army of Two has been mediocre at best. I pre-ordered two copies of The 40th Day from amazon for me and my brother-in-law, only to find the only issued me one code for extraction. We decided he would use the code but as I played his account two things became obvious, 1) In a co-op mode like Gears of War's Horde, Modern Warfare 2's Spec Ops or Halo's Firefight you never want 75% of your games population to not have access to that mode for over a month as many will not be interested by then, and 2) If your going to have a modem like Gears of War's Horde, Modern Warfare 2's Spec Ops or Halo's Firefight then you need to at least make it as good as they did.

My biggest issue with this game is the serious nature of the story. I enjoyed the game and I am proud to say I love the series, but the one thing that set this series apart from many other modern shooters was the humor and over the top bro-love. Which for the most part was not even in The 40th Day. (I am convinced the bromance writer was absent during the production). Army of Two filled the gap between cheesy military shooters and serious military shooters very well, trying to put it in the serious side of shooters will do nothing but harm to the title as it in no way can compete with the the much stronger titles in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360
Army of Two: The 40th Day - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$19.99 $19.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.