Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now DOTD

Format: MP3 MusicChange
Price:$9.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 1, 2000
Deftones killed with this one!
Deftones improve on this album from their 1995 adrenaline release. If you just recently started listening to the Deftones, especially White Pony, this has some of White Pony's similarities but basically has a much, much harder edge. In fact, the entire CD is pretty much edgy. Here are my opinions on each song on a scale of 1 to 10:
1. My Own Summer (Shove It) - 10. No, this isn't basically Chino yelling "shove it" just for the hell of it, the words are artistic. Chino does possibly his best vocally on this track. As their most known single, it's definitely a great mood setter for the upcoming tracks.
2. Lhabia - 10. Wow! I have no idea why they didn't release this one! (Actually they could have released the entire first 8 songs for singles!) The verse is mumbled with Chino's rage, but the Chorus is extremely pleasurable to the listeners ears, wow!
3. Mascara - 10. Gorgeous. Ballad-esque. Sultry yet edgy. Chino sings the verses beautifully. But the Choruses are what stand out. "There's something about her", OH, VERY MUSICAL!
4. Around the Fur - 10. Heavy. TITLE TRACK ROCKS! Chino sings and yells just great. The riffs are catchy (damn, they always are!). Could've definitely become a major, major hit.
5. Rickets - 10. Excellent. Tool-style beats here (YES!), the chorus is so catchy that it's most memorable of the entire CD. Guitars are heavy, y'all!
6. Be Quiet and Drive Far Away - 10. Another Ballad-esque, but this time with probably the best song structure. The hookiest song on this CD, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT.
7. Lotion - 10. Probably the heaviest. The chorus is again catchy! Will these hooks ever end? LOL!
8. Dai the Flu - 7. It's good. Don't get me wrong. It just drags a tiny bit and it might sound too similar to the other songs. The chorus is okay also.
9. Headup - 10. Another Tool-sound, but then Chino raps in (Maynard doesn't rap).
10. MX - 8. I didn't like the cameo of the girl, sorry. It's annoying. Otherwise it's okay. I love the chorus, man!
The sophomore jinx isn't even considered, great job Deftones. GET THE ALBUM IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY. ORDER IN THIS ORDER, AROUND THE FUR or WHITE PONY, THEN ADRENALINE!
0Comment49 of 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2005
This Album "Around The Fur" by the Deftones, i regard as their absolute best. I doubt they will ever top this truly classic CD. Classic mainly, in the genre it's in. But like the title of this review says, you really don't have to be a straight-forward fan of Nu-Metal or Alternative to get something out of this CD. It's a CD that does lean alot towards Nu-Metal and Alternative, but even so it's still a very enjoyable and pretty unique Album by all means.

The main thing about the Deftones, i feel, is the vocalist Chino Moreno. Many people have tried hard to sound like him, but failed. In that regard he's really very influential i think. And so is this band as a whole. But Chino Moreno totally adds so much to this music. If he left and they decided to bring in a new vocalist, i doubt it'd work. the Deftones would surely be over. Not that i think he's the greatest vocalist in the world, because i don't, i just feel he's the center of this band and i also feel he's one of the main reasons for their popularity.

the Deftones are influenced by bands such as Helmet, The Cure, Killing Joke and Joy Division, just to name a few. You can almost get the Helmet influence, but as for the others it's hard to tell. That's how unique i believe the Deftones really are. I've even heard that guitarist Stephen Carpenter is a big fan of the technical, ultra-heavy death-metal band, Meshuggah..Although the Deftones sound NOTHING like them, obviously because they are in a totally different genre, it's interesting and pretty cool to see how open-minded the Deftones seem to be about music. (More so than most other Nu-Metal/Alternative bands i know of anyway..)

There really isn't any filler songs on this CD either. That's one of the main reasons, obviously, that i give this 5/5. The standout tracks from an Album of standout tracks (If that makes sense..) would be "My Own Summer (Shove It)", "lhabia", "Around The Fur", "Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)", "Lotion", "Dai The Flu" and "Head Up (Feat. Max Cavalera)"..I think i left out 3 songs there. Which goes to show how great this Album really is, as "Mascara", "Rickets" and "MX" are still top-quality Deftones songs.

My two personal favourite songs are both "Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)" and "Head Up". "Head Up" features Max Cavalera of Soulfly/ex-Sepultura, and inevitably ends up sounding a lot like Soulfly (With the riff and then the long outro..) except for Chino Moreno's vocals. Max Cavalera actually doesn't seem to contribute much except for a few words here and there. All in all, those are the two most catchy songs i think. "My Own Summer (Shove It)" is also a very catchy song, that they also shot a Video for. "Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)" to me, is the Deftones most stunning song off this Album though. (They shot a Video for that as well..)

I think every metal fan in general has either heard, or heard about, the Deftones by now. And if you've thought about getting into them, but weren't sure and still not sure of which Album of theirs to start with, i'd start with this definitely. This is very highly recommended to fans of Alternative Metal, and to all fans of metal in general as well.

Without question "Around the Fur" is 5/5
11 comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2004
The Deftones' debut album, the aptly titled 'Adrenaline', was a heavy onslaught of raw metal. It had a rather lo-fi feel, but that worked to its advantage, as the album relied solely on the band's aggression, not slick studio production. My main complaint with the album is that Chino Moreno's vocals were a bit incomprehensible throughout, especially during the verses, in which he delivered them in more of a rapid fire, spoken word type thing. On 'Around the Fur', he improves greatly, going from soft spoken word singing to his trademark piercing scream. The album is also more diverse, musically, as it contains moody/atmospheric elements from the bands 80's influences (The Cure, The Smiths, etc.)

1. My Own Summer

The first single is a classic Deftones song. It opens with a killer riff from Stef Carpenter, which is echoed by Chi Cheng's omnious bass work. Chino delivers the verses in a soft, near-whisper..then lets out a series of deafening screams in the pre-chorus ('SHOVE IT SHOVE IT SHOVE IT!!!'). The chorus is melodic and catchy.

2. Lhabia

A heavy song in which pounding riffs in the verses lead into a slightly more melodic chorus.

3. Mascara

The most radical thing they had done at this point in their career. Very Cure-influenced, especially in the slow, haunting verses (the chorus is heavier, but still somewhat subdued compared to typical Deftones songs). The bridge is also creepy, in which Chino sings 'It's too bad..you're married...to me..'. Amazing vocal delivery.

4. Around the Fur

The title track kicks off with a hypnotic drum pattern from Abe Cunningham. The verses contain Chino's 'normal' singing, which is a soft, almost eerie delivery..then, heavy screaming in the pre-chorus, and a heavy but melodic chorus.

5. Rickets

Possibly the heaviest song the Deftones ever recorded (although there's a few other contenders). Chino's vocals range from a gutteral whisper to downright screaming, and the guitar riffs never let up.

6. Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)

Widely regarded as the greatest Deftones song ever. Not my overall favorite, but it's right up there. It's heavy, but Chino's soaring vocals are gorgeous and captivating. It has one of the best main guitar riffs ever (which Chevelle blatantly ripped off not too long ago). Proves that music can be heavy but still harmonious and beautiful.

7. Lotion

The clearest link back to 'Adrenaline', as Chino sort of speak/sings the vocals in an indecipherable manner. The chorus is another heavy but catchy one. A great song, another really heavy one that doesn't let up.

8. Dai the Flu

Possibly my favorite Deftones song ever..an underrated gem. The verses are mid-tempo, and feature creepy, with ambient touches from turntablist Frank Delgado. The chorus is heavy, gripping and totally memorable. The bridge is also awesome, featuring some layered vocal effects.

9. Headup

Another 'Adrenaline' type song, which features guest vocals from Max Cavalera (from Sepultura, and later, Soulfly, the latter of which is name dropped in the song). It's really intense throughout..really no touches of melody, but it's an awesome song, another favorite of mine. I still have no clue what Chino is barking in the chorus, but cool nonetheless.

10. Mx

Yet another favorite Deftones song of mine. They really placed the best stuff last. This one is pretty slow for Deftones standards, but still has some pretty heavy riffs and what not. In the verses, Chino trades off vocals with a female (who I believe was Abe or Chi's wife), in a conversation like manner. The chorus is another soaring performance from Chino.

If you fastforward about 30 minutes, you get to a hidden track called 'Damone'. It's a pain to get to..but it's a great song worth listening to. Loud and scorching.

On their next album, 'White Pony', they added even more atmospheric elements, creating a rather subdued effort (but still heavy for music in general). It's another excellent album (regarded by many as their masterpiece), as is the sonic, layered metal assault of their most recent eponymous album. But I still think 'Around the Fur' is their best listen from start to finish, as it finds the perfect medium between the raw power of their 'Adrenaline' era and the theatrical moodiness of their later work.

Best Songs: Dai the Flu, Headup, Mx, Be Quiet and Drive, Mascara.
22 comments16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2004
I'm a very large deftones fan, in my opinion they are one of the best bands ever to grace this earth. I have all four of their albums, from Adrenaline to the Self-Titled. They all have their charms, but this album tops them all. Not that their other releases are anything near bad! Not too many tracks, but the feel of the album and quality of the songs make up for it. Songs:

My Own Summer (shove it) - Great song, first heard this a few years ago on the matrix soundtrack (and hated it...) but listened to it recently, now i love it, but i admit to skipping over it sometimes. Not the best song on the album, but a killer intro track. Steph's (Guitarist) intro piece is absolutely awesome. I heard it was written when the singer put aluminium foil over the windows in his boiling hot hotel room and make-beleived he was in an apocalytic world where the sun was gone - and called it his own summer.

Lhabia - Pretty good too, very catchy chorus, great interlude piece. one of the better songs on the album. (Yes, the name is almost spelt like a part of the female anatomy - don't really see how it relates to the song, but it probably does in some way...)

Mascara - DEFTINITELY one of their best songs ever. It has this weird quiet charm, not something you'd expect from the Deftones, not really nice and sweet like Teenager but with a darker almost gothic feel, a dreary but beautiful song that I love listening to. Beautiful lyrics, sounds almost like he's talking about looking at all the faults of the girl he's with but, but feeling something about her just drives him insane with passion (her long shady eyes?), and can't help but make this night all about her.

Around the Fur - HELL YESSSSS!!!! excellent heavy song. I love the screaming, i used to listen to this song alone over and over again. fabulous. Talks about the underground people (as in prostitutes and stuff), and seems to take a stab at the high society and fasions.

Rickets - ehhh... I like this (its deftones!!) but it definitely pales next to all the other songs. Still cool though.

Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away) - Holy flurking shnit. This song is de bomb. I'm not suprised it's been called the best deftones song ever by many. Wow. Long, but heaven every second. A great soothing song, I could fall asleep to it, and i'm sure i'd have dreams of being driven away into the night at unbeleivable speeds by a gorgeous woman.

Lotion - This is probably my favourite damn song on this whole damn album. damn! Heavy in the verses where chino (vocalist) sounds like he's having an angry outburst of temporary insanity which slides into an amazingly adrenaline-pumping chorus that shows off chino's awesome vocal talents - and abe's drumming sounds awesome in the chorus, the transition between verse/chorus just clicks for me... wow...

Dai the Flu - Cool bass, Chi!!! I heard somewhere that "Dai" is part of Chi's name too, one of his middle names or something. Groovy song, i like it heaps (my sister loves it too, its her favourite on this album). Sweet-ass.

Rickets - This song is cool, but it took a little getting used to for me. Its rather heavy and seems to show off the classical deftones sort of sound, like in Engine #9 off adrenaline. I admit to skipping over it though, because the tune in deftones is the thing that wins me over, and this song doesn't have that much tuneful stuff... still good.

MX - Veeeeeery good song. Has this weird verse part where chino talks to this chick, it sounds really cool, especially when you listen to what he's saying. This song is kinda scary, the chorus is "hahahaha... Come over here, over here, Closer to Lung, hahaha... So I can, So I can, Shove her over railing.".... whoah dude.... SWEET AS!

I love the amazing pictures deftones songs build, and the subject matter of their music. Its harsh real beauty. Besides the fact they make cool-ass music, the lyrics send you on these crazy mind trips... they do to me anyway. When I listen to MX i connect it with the image on the front of the album, that rather attractive woman with her legs in the water, especially since at the start of the song you hear some water-like sounds, and some of the vocals sound all bubbly like they're underwater... Lotion is such a great angry-sounding song, and the chorus sounds sarcastic and almost mocking... "Mascara" has this weirdly romantic feel to it, but its not fake-sounding or overly sappy... i think chino (and whoever else contributes to the lyrics) understands that words are just words, that there are many ways to express feelings... and that life isn't as black-and-white as its perceived in many other bands and songs ("I love you, you're perfect, let's come together and live together forever happily ever after...."). The guys in the deftones seem so honest and genuine with their music and thats why they hold about number 1 in my list of favourite bands (tied with 36 Crazyfists & System of a Down). Buy this CD now, its worth it dudes.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2003
Deftones- Around the Fur
This is a very good album. I wouldn't say it's better than Deftones' others, but it's good. It takes a little getting used to. It isn't conventional metal. Everything- the guitar riffs, the singer's voice, the lyrics, and drumbeats- everything is out of the ordinary. The first thought that came to mind when I first heard it was 'What were they thinking?'. I thought it screamed too much, and that it wasn't catchy enough. Now it's one of my favorite albums. Here's my review of each track-
1) My Own Summer (Shove it) 13/15
Music: This song gets stuck in your head and will most likely be one of your favorites when you first listen to it, but it gets old fast because it only has one real hook, which is the guitar riff that runs through the song. The best part is in the bridge of the song where the guitar stops and all you can hear is the bass and the soft sounds of Chino's singing.
Best Lyric: The shade is a tool, a device, a savior.
2) Lhabia 14/15
Music: Completely devoid of any catchiness. The screaming at the end is kind of pointless. The fast guitar and frantic vocals gives it a kind of chaotic edge. Has a mellow, singing chorus. Really doesn't use the normal verse-chorus-verse song structure.
Best Lyric: Somewhere outside there are tricks and evil.
3) Mascara 10/15
Music: The slowest, quietest song on the album. It's a love song about Chino's wife. Peaceful atmosphere. A little bit boring. Usual song structure. Good chorus.
Best Lyric: There's something about her long shady eyes.
4) Around the Fur 14/15
Music: Opens with a memorable drumbeat. Real heavy screaming chorus. This is a good example of what the album is like. The lyrics are strange and metaphorical. This was one of my favorites, but I listened to it too much and started listening to the other songs on the album. Goes crazy at the end and ends abruptly.
Best Lyric: Hey vanity, this vile is empty, and so are you.
5) Rickets 12/15
Music: The heaviest track on the album along with Lotion and Headup. Metal fans will like the guilt filled lyrics. All the vocals in the song are either whispering or screaming. No singing here. It just cycles between the chorus and the verse a few times then ends, so it's only about 2 minutes long.
Best Lyric: You're probably right this time but I don't want to listen.
6) Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away) 15/15
Music: Very emotional, with few lyrics because he sings them slowly. The song itself, however, isn't slow. Features an ingenious riff that plays through the song. This song has a groove to it. Another peaceful sounding track. The way it sounds, the lyrics, and the title, make you feel like you're driving in a car on an open road. It has a music video, but it's not so great.
Best Lyric: Now drive me far away. I don't care where just far away...
7) Lotion 15/15
Music: When I first heard this, I hated it. Eventually, I heard it enough that I realized how much it rocks. It's insanely heavy and the tune changes every couple seconds. Tons of screaming that suddenly breaks into singing during the chorus. The best part is when he's yelling "I FEEL SICK!" over and over. Guitar work is AWESOME.
Best Lyric: I feel sickened, and who the ---- are you anyway? You suck.
8) Dai the Flu 20/15
Music: The opening tune will run over and over in your head for hours. This song has creepy distorted verses with an awesome chorus. Lyrics are more easily decipherable than usual. Kind of a ballad, at least until the end, when he starts screaming. Great example of what this album is like.
Best Lyric: Fifteen stitches and a soft parody to make my eyes be like deceit.
9) Headup 12/15
Music: A real kick in the face. Not as chaotic as Lotion, but even more screaming. It even has a little of that classic Deftones choking noise...you'd know what I meant if you heard. Has something resembling rap in the verses. Pretty cool chorus, with lyrics that impossible to figure out.. This is even more heavy than most of Adrenaline... It's also interesting how he chants "Soulfly, fly high, soufly, fly free" because that's the kind thing the band Soulfly is known for singing...Chino is even in one of their songs..check out "Pain" and "First commandment" by them (with Chino).
Best Lyric: The spirit's so low it's coming over you.
10) MX 15/15
Music: Awesome, simple riff with a slow tempo. Has a girl saying something in the background during the verses, and some distorted laughing in the chorus. Doesn't take as long to get used to as the others. There's plenty of heaviness here, but no screaming. An awesome finish to an awesome album. The song is about five minutes, but the track is 37, because there's a hidden track (Damone).
Best Lyric: You're a bore, but you move me like a movie that you love.
11) Damone 15/15
Music: This is the hidden track to MX. Scary edge. Very heavy with lots of screaming. Moves faster than most on the CD; doesn't sound like he's stuck in something sticky and getting pissed and trying to get out, which is the overall atmosphere of the CD. Mellow verses with emphasis on the drums. Like a fast version of "Battle-axe" from their new album. This is just as good as anything else on the album, I don't know why this isn't one of the normal tracks, although I do like how you get more than you plan for when you buy the CD. Fast forwarding all the way to it is annoying.
Best Lyric: Just smile, stand still while you look right back at me.
Go buy this and then pick up all the Deftones other albums (Adrenaline, White Pony, Deftones s/t).
Then go check out Mudvayne (the best band in the world), Korn, Static-X, Slipknot, System of a Down, Tool, and anyone else like any of those.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2005
This is the first cd that I ever purchased when I got my first job(with my own money that is), and I believe that there is no other album on which my money would've been better spent. The deftones single-handedly changed the way I listen to music, and continue to do so to this day. With that being said, I really do believe this is their finest work. Some would say that white pony is their best, and all of the big three (adrenaline, around the fur, white pony) are absolutely amazing in different ways. Adrenaline has raw, somewhat unfocused power (that a debuting badn should have). Around the fur is more focused, and the album just flows a little bit better than adrenaline. White pony is easily their most experimental work (coincidentally their best selling also), but still doesn't fail to have the trademark deftones "feel" (and if you listen to the deftones, you know what I'm talking about). Around the fur just stands above the other two to me just by having songs that stick out more in my head. The entire album is phenomenal, and I honestly don't think it has a bad track or "filler". Some are stronger than others of course. My favorites are Dai the flu, damone, lhabia, my own summer, and lotion. Can't wait for their new album! (supposedly due out this fall)
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2005
I first heard this album in the middle of a visual arts class at high school in '97. I had actually repeated my last senior year because i stuffed it the first time round by drinking too much alcohol and going to too many gigs. I wanted to be a rock star, and yadda yadda yadda, anyway that's a different story. Back to high school. So yeh, i had repeated and all the kids in my new classes thought i was some kind of freak because i was really moody and depressed and hated everybody and everything and here i was in the middle of this class listening to the Deftones and i thought it totally rocked.

I asked one of the other guys who it was and they said, funnily enough, 'It's the Deftones, dude". And i said, "Dude, these guys are like, totally awesome". All of a sudden i had a whole new bunch of friends and we all proceeded to screw up school by drinking too much, going to too many gigs, and wanting to be rock stars. Yeh okay, ive digressed again...

The absolute ultimate experience for me was seeing The Deftones live at the Iron Duke Hotel in Alexandria. This place is just a small little hole of a pub but it was the coolest place on earth. It had fantastic acoustics and the best vibe. I couldn't beleive the Deftones were going to play there though, it was just way too small a venue. But play they did. Chino had such presence on stage.

I remember joking with some small chick that she shouldnt be up front because when the 'tones come on she was going to get crushed. But she said No way dude your the one who is going to get crushed by all us teeny bopper girls cause Chino is so sexy we are all going to rush the stage. She wasn't too far wrong. hehe. Memories.

RIP Iron Duke Hotel, now it is just a small little pub where old people drink away their pension cheques.

Anyway i guess this hasnt been much of a review, more of a nostalgia trip. This was an awesome album, right there at the birth of the whole nu-metal thing but i think unlike all the other bands like KoRn and Limp Bizkit which will become dated, The Deftones will transcend above the rest and find its niche in genuine music history. It was nu-metal but it was also authentic. Original but grounded in true musical feeling.

Ahh this all sounds like crappy, wanna be intellectual babble. Just listen to the album you will know what i mean.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2001
From start to finish "Around the Fur" demonstrates the sheer brilliance and genius of the Deftones. In my opinion no other rock album in history has been as explosive and artistic. The Deftones create their own genre of music with "Around the Fur", one which is so incredibly unique it's often immitated but never replicated. Stef and Chi produce some of music's hardest and edgiest riffs known to date, and Chino's angelical and raw vocals combined with Abe's beat produce the heavy-groove-metal style that the Deftones have invented! Every song on the album leaves the listener hungry for more. 'My Own Summer' opens the album with such intensity and emotion, one can't stop listening. The natural ability of Chino to express beauty and ruthlessness in his vocals is unprecedented. Meanwhile, Stef, Chi and Abe crank out monumental riffs and beats. Top tracks include 'My Own Summer', 'Around the Fur', 'Lotion', and 'Headup', but they're all awesome. The album is overlooked as "hardcore", however I would boast it as one of the heaviest albums ever. The bottomline is that "Around the Fur" is one of the few truely unique and elite rock albums ever released. A must have cd!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 1999
An amazing album and one of my few personal favorites.Every song on here is great including "Damone" which is f'n awesome!"Be quiet and drive" and "My own summer" rule.A great metal band that has my respect for there talent and just cuz they don't care for the mainstream all that much.Chino said on Amazon thanks to the fans,well Chino, thank you.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2004
This cd is perfect. Every second of this audio masterpiece (except maybe the division between "Mx" and the secret track "Damone") is golden. The Deftones never cease to amaze. This one is a major step-up from Adrenaline, because the noise is now more controlled, but still just as raw. These guys know what they're doing, and they still don't care about what anyone thinks of it. It's aggressive, yet melodic in parts, but mainly aggressive. Tracks like "Headup" and "Lotion" point to Adrenaline most obviously in the sheer intensity they exihibt, while other songs like "My Own Summer" and "Lhabia" show a more progressive rock style emerging. Chino really displays tons of emotion on this disc, whether on the heart-broken "Be Quiet and Drive" (in my opinion, the greatest Deftones song ever written), or when he's growling his way through the bridge on the creepy, heavy "Dai the Flu". The lyrics, as with all Deftones songs, are very interesting to read and you will most likely never figure out the true meanings! If they have true meanings...anyways, Chino is a true poet with his words and it shows here brilliantly. "Around the Fur" is a classic cd. Buy it now or you're missing out.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.