Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love colorwork sock patterns!
With so much focus on books for beginner knitters, I'm very grateful there are still a few publishers producing books that appeal to experienced knitters. I am passionate about stranded color knitting so I'm thrilled 16 of the 26 designs in this book are colorwork socks. Around the World in Knitted Socks includes patterns from traditional knitting locales like Scotland...
Published on March 3, 2011 by nanetteb

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not inspired
I found the patterns misleading. The author left out or made too many mistakes in the instructions. I have been knitting socks for 40 years and was disappointed with this book. Although beautifully illustrated, just too many errors.
Published 23 months ago by patricia c. crimmin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
All of the designs are so lovely, I can't make up my mind which one to start with first. Each design has it's own intro on where they come from. Gorgeous pics, easy instructions, and how to in the back pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique designs, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
These patterns all use double pointed needles. I probably would not have purchased the book if I had known that. However , the patterns are beautiful and I am going to try and adapt them to one long circular needle when I have more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
I purchased this specifically for a couple of designers represented in this volume. A nice addition to one's library if you like knitting socks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, great variety., April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not my favorite book, since the patterns require using a tiny size O needle to accommodate the large number of stitches. I may try one or two, but that is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars many wonderful sock patterns, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
full of patterns for fun socks. looking forward to getting started on a fun pair. Would suggest it so someone looking for a sock adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for winter, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
very excited about this book. The patterns look fantastic. I do enjoy knitting socks. They seem to be well and clearly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great experience, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
Love the book, very good condition. Thanks for the good experience.
Love all the beautiful designs from around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, beautiful sock patterns, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm ready for the next level of socks. This book has everything I am ready to try; lace, colors, different styles. Started making Christmas presents already. The whole family wants socks and everyone can choose their favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great designs, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really well done. Even tho I only occasionally knit socks, the designs in this book were so lovely I had to buy it for a future project. It takes a lot for me to buy a book after previewing it at the library. Btw, you could easily adapt the colorwork designs for hats, mittens and another accessories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting socks but minimal history, January 20, 2011
By 
Kimberly Aronstam (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs (Paperback)
This is the only sock knitting book I've ever bought. Most stink. This one has stunning patterns with a variety of lace, stranded, and textured socks. Each sock is inspired by the traditional knitting in a particular part of the world. Learning about and knitting traditional pieces from around the world and throughout history is wonderful. It's taking a trip without leaving your knitting chair or even taking your entire knitting group along for the trip. As wonderful as the sock patterns in this book are, the book as a whole falls short. The thrill of so many international socks is learning about the history of those techniques and how those techniques were created for functional use in that environment, not just to meet the aesthetic desires of that culture. Each sock pattern in this book as a VERY short blurb about the part of the world and the design of the sock, but it's just no where near enough information for inquiring minds! If you're looking for fun socks to knit, this is a great book. If you're looking for more information on the history and global traditions in knitting, you'll probably end up in the library researching each sock in the book. Isn't it more fun to know the whole history of your socks and not just the short tourist-type gift shop spiel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs
Around the World in Knitted Socks: 26 Inspired Designs by Stephanie van der Linden (Paperback - September 14, 2010)
Used & New from: $7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.