Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Gift for a Child
This is truly a beautiful book that makes an excellent gift for a child who enjoys reading and / or who enjoys being read to. It is also an interesting choice for a baby shower present--giving the gift of future storytelling and imagination. It should be included in every home library, in our opinion.

The inside covers contain a wonderfully illustrated map...
Published on April 15, 2009 by Arcturus70

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many stories about marriage, husbands & wives= for older kids
There is alot of stories about husbands, wives and marriages in this book. Might suit older kids, but not younger ones. Found it a bit inappropriate for young ones. Wish I had not purchased.
Published 20 months ago by Think twice


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Gift for a Child, April 15, 2009
By 
Arcturus70 "Arcturus70" (In the Orion Spur of the Milky Way Galaxy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
This is truly a beautiful book that makes an excellent gift for a child who enjoys reading and / or who enjoys being read to. It is also an interesting choice for a baby shower present--giving the gift of future storytelling and imagination. It should be included in every home library, in our opinion.

The inside covers contain a wonderfully illustrated map depicting the continents, truly emphasizing that this is a book of world stories. The pages are richly decorated with appropriate, story-related images that capture the interest of young minds, and the font is easy to read for those of us who have glasses. The book is organized well, which makes finding stories fun and easy. The stories, which are of reasonable length and scope, always contain life lessons that can be discussed with youngsters; storytelling and story-hearing evoke character and develop critical thinking, observation, and imagination.

Our favorite tales are Anansi and the Plantains; The Half Chick; The Golden Horseshoe; The Rainbow Snake; Wish Upon A Star; The Man in the Moon; The Giant's Causeway; Thirsty are the Reeds; Green Figs, Purple Figs; The Silver Goose; The Parrot's Problem.

The book seems to honor world cultures and promote diversity. All cultures have endearing stories, and universal themes bind humanity together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful storybook, October 23, 2008
This book arrived by mail from Grandma and joined our bedtime routine until each of the 80 stories were shared. We've since returned to it again and again. Each story is short enough that both my 5 and 3 year old can enjoy it. A colorful map on the inside cover helps match tale with place. Beautiful illustrations and a diverse selection of stories, some old and many new to us. It seems sure to become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book to have in your collection!, November 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
The stories are really cool. There is a great variety. This is a great book for homeschoolers. There are stories from each part of the world, so as you study history or geography, it's fun to have a book like this on hand to read with the kids as you study different countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, April 12, 2009
This is a wonderful book that has tales from countries around the world. Most are short, just one or 2 pages, so it makes a great bedtime story for little ones with short attention spans. Highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful book!!!, June 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
I am a teacher for a small private school. I was looking for a more interesting way to have the children learn about countries, rather than just questions and maps. This book is perfect!!! It has a beautiful cover and beautiful pictures inside! The stories are the perfect length and covers countries from across the world. I will use it in the upcoming school year, and am positive it will be a great hit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great night time story book, December 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
This book has been great for bedtime stories for both my 4 yr old and my 7 yr old. The stories are the perfect length ( pretty short) and are interesting and somewhat diverse. We have been doing a story per night and it works out really well. I also think that the artwork is really nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, July 7, 2012
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
Beautiful book. Each story is about 2 pgs. Illustrations are not story specific so not great for younger kids. recommend 5+ yrs.old. Arrived on time in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
Terrific book of stories I had never heard before. Love the artwork and the true international flavor of this book. A must for families!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful. The stories are short and interesting and the artwork inside the book is colorful and fun. Every night I take my children to a different part of the world's culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a book of tales where the lessons make sense!, March 17, 2014
By 
T. Cobbs "T Cobbs" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Around the World in 80 Tales (Hardcover)
Too often in my search for folk and fairy tales, the lessons in the stories tended to be the exact opposite of anything I would want to teach my children. This book was such a relief to find, as the stories generally had the good guys behaving well and winning, and the lazy or dishonest people not coming out ahead. One reviewer criticized how the stories arent content appropriate for young kids - I didnt find this to be the case. A fair number of them ended in marriage, but there was no jealousy or violence or themes inappropriate for young kids.

I bought this book for my second grader for homeschooling and meeting CCS for literature. Its worked out well - he reads the stories then is able to retell the stories and give opinions on what happened. Each of the stories are 2-3 pages, which seems about right for keeping my sons attention and interest.

Both of us really enjoyed reading the stories in this book, and that the tales have stayed in our minds and discussions speaks to their effect. :) We really recommend this as a folktale book, especially to anyone whos been discouraged by reading anthologies of stories that dont make a lot of sense to our modern zeitgeist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Around the World in 80 Tales
Around the World in 80 Tales by Saviour Pirotta (Hardcover - October 15, 2007)
Used & New from: $28.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.