Customer Reviews


1,119 Reviews
5 star:
 (816)
4 star:
 (202)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


259 of 277 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow. I Am Impressed
I had low expectations when I decided to download the pilot episode. After the utter failure of 'The Cape' and other superhero TV shows ruined with poor acting, poor action and plots that could have been written by a 10 year old, who can blame me for expecting Arrow to be another loser. However, I actually came away impressed ... and I am not that easily impressed...
Published on October 18, 2012 by Ol' Sci-Fi Guy

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moderately entertaining, but not worth paying for.
Moderately entertaining, but not worth paying for. The concept is decent, but it rapidly falls into the same mediocrity of the usual made for TV action shows. Plot holes you can drive a truck through, casting picked from modeling agencies instead of acting ability, ridiculous medical situations. Sorry, you do not recover from a gunshot to the chest in one day. The Arrow...
Published 5 months ago by Bernhard H. Klinder


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

259 of 277 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow. I Am Impressed, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had low expectations when I decided to download the pilot episode. After the utter failure of 'The Cape' and other superhero TV shows ruined with poor acting, poor action and plots that could have been written by a 10 year old, who can blame me for expecting Arrow to be another loser. However, I actually came away impressed ... and I am not that easily impressed.

First, the selection of Stephen Amell as Green Arrow was excellent. I was worried the role would go to a male model more concerned with being pretty than being a hardened man on a mission. With Stephen Amell as Green Arrow you get a guy who comes off more as an MMA fighter, which makes Arrow so much more believable. The action scenes are crisp and effective. Arrow starts out with grit and has an edgy quality that keeps you interested. The plot contains plenty of room for mystery and the dialogue/acting is pretty good. It makes no difference if you are a Green Arrow fan or not, this show is about enjoying a unique action hero. Maybe a bit too much glorification of 'taking the law into your own hands' but, OK, maybe we'll see if the main character grows beyond this.

This appears to be a Canadian production. That may explain why the producers of Arrow seems to be taking more risks in making a DC comic action hero into an actual action hero (and showing a bit more respect for the intelligence of superhero fans young and old).

I look forward to seeing more from this series. One thing the producers could add - a touch of humor. Nothing sets up an audience for action and dramatic twists than a touch of humor (the Firefly TV show first comes to mind as well and the most recent Avengers film). And, that's why I went with 4 stars instead of 5.

Like superheros? Check out Arrow. Let's see if we can keep this on the air a few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average superhero fan, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First let me say, I probably skew the demographics on superhero TV and movies. I am a 52 year-old woman, and have loved the science fiction and superhero genres since I was 12. I love the X-men movies (all of them), most of the Batman movies, the first Iron Man movie,not crazy about Superman (too goody-goody for me, I like 'em dark!). I'm a faithful fan of the excellent Grimm, and the sometimes over-the-top Once Upon A Time. I even enjoy watching some of the animated Spiderman and others with my grandson (LOVE the Di-gata Defenders!). The best ones are archetypes, resonating in the soul.

That said, my review:

This series is really well-done, the cast is exceptionally strong considering their lack of fame, the acting is well above average for the genre, and particularly for a television series. It's dark, often creepy (but not so much that I wouldn't let a nine- or ten-year-old watch it), plenty of action, with a wonderfully believable set of characters. Stephen Amell is quite good, charming and gritty by turns, Katie Cassidy (Lauren) is quite talented and I really hope she gets a chance to show what she can do. Susanna Thompson (Oliver's mother), is a long-time favorite of mine (truly wonderful in NCIS as Lt.Col. Mann and Gibbs' brief love interest) has a character who is suitably deep and challenging for her. David Ramsey as John Diggle is prickly, distrusting and just cynical enough. His character is the one I am most concerned about, as it would be far too easy for the writers to allow him to become to prototypical "convert to the cause".

The show gets a little moralistic, but that may serve as a caution to the intended audience to mitigate the violence. I like the way the producers/writers are filling in Oliver's 5-year absence while he was shipwrecked a little at a time, and can't wait to see where this goes.

No, there isn't anything very original about the series, but it's so compelling that it hardly matters. I sincerely hope this stays on for a long time, provided the writing and the stories maintain their present quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show justs gets better and better!, October 25, 2012
By 
Chinabug "chinabug" (Middle of no where and loving it.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love, love, love this show. Such a nice change from the usual mostly meh kind of shows many of the networks are churning out like the mindless so called "reality" shows that I refuse to watch. Way to go CW-this is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 114 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight as an arrow!, October 25, 2012
Ok, you all know that citan does not play it safe with his reviews. He just goes out there and gives his opinion to anyone who may be interested. So, I will just come out and boldly predict that this show will make it. And it will get a second season.

Straight as an arrow is how I would describe the plot. Young man comes back from an isolated island, wiser and more mature than when he first got there. Not only that, he has learned some pretty extreme survival skills. He comes back to his city, vowing to set old wrongs to rights. He systematically tracks down the predators who continue to victimize the weak and the poor. Throw along a whole lot of drama brought on by a dysfunctional family, obscene wealth, and some intriguing mystery to add to the spice. And what you have here is a show that might fill the vacuum left behind by Smallville.

Stephen Amell plays the role of Oliver Queen, the Arrow. Formerly a playboy who has failed at everything he has ever done right up until he gets shipwrecked off the coast of a mysterious island. Paul Blackthorne is the policeman who wants to track down the Arrow. Both play their parts very well. Amell's hooded archer is certainly a different personality from the one played by Justin Hartley. Amell's Oliver Queen comes across as a brooding, moody, and abrasive person.

Surrounded by his manipulative mother, bratty little sister, and ambitious step-father, Oliver sacrifices his public image in order to hide his true identity. Going out of his way to appear like the same immature playboy that got shipwrecked five years ago has costed him the respect of the people around him. Methodically and systematically tracking down the bad guys on his father's list, he catches the attention of Detective Lance. Lance sees the Arrow as some uncontrolled vigilante who needs to be apprehended. To make his identity changing activities more challenging, Oliver is shadowed by a personal bodyguard, John Diggle, assigned to him by his mother. At this point, we do not yet know where Diggle's loyalties are. Nor do we know exactly what happened to Oliver on that pacific island. For the moment, Diggle and Tommy form Oliver's entourage. Neither of the two know of his night-time, covert activities. Whose side will they take when do eventually find out?

In any case, this show is good. I suspect it will hang around for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! An incredible show, with high production standards, a compelling theme, great storylines, and spectacular action sequences, April 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arrow: Season 1 (DVD)
I had no idea what to expect from this series.

I had seen some bits and pieces of Season 2 in closed captioning, while at a gym (of all things! :) ), and my curiosity was piqued. The few sporadic 'partial scenes' I'd watched (albeit with somewhat screwed up closed captioning) left me wondering what the show was about.

When the Season 1 price was slashed, in conjunction with a Black Friday special, I jumped at the opportunity to grab a copy of the set, for later viewing.

Well, that time ultimately came, and I ended up watching the series in 'marathon' fashion. After viewing an episode, I couldn't wait to see the next, and was/am bummed to have reached the end of the season.

While I've never been someone who gravitated to the print version of comics, I nonetheless have always loved a good story, compelling action, and characters who are 'brought to life' in an indelible manner. This show is not the first appealing-to-me television or film creation whose origin ultimately rests with print comics -- and in particular, involving a primary character with hero qualities which were 'forged' by difficult and/or mysterious circumstances, and whose 'other life' and 'alter ego' (so to speak) is kept a secret from nearly everyone.

This is a fantastic show, and I am astonished at its high production value -- and the martial arts sequences blow my mind with respect to how skillfully they're 'choreographed' and so very well actioned and acted (to have such set-the-bar-high -like quality associated with such, week after week, and which would most often be reserved for expensive-to-create blockbuster movies, is not only noteworthy, but SO impressive).

Additionally, the fact that this show involves -- in a sense -- 'two shows in one' (with the what-happened-while-shipwrecked-on-an-island-for-5-years storyline journey, along with the post-evolution-in-the-wake-of-trauma, back-in-civilization version of the character), makes for an unexpectedly 'rich' viewing experience, and is a remarkable feat to pull off, when it comes to the (great) writing and non-'disruptive' 'interweaving' of such, and the terrific producing, acting, and directing associated with the 'concurrently elapsing' timelines portrayed in the one-technically-precedes-the-other storylines.

The lead actor in this show has a most unusual set of different-timeframe -based storylines to convincingly 'bring' to the audience (and quite different 'versions' of the same character to portray -- before, during, and 'after' the character's 'transformation' from a spoiled rich son-of-a-billionaire playboy, to a determined and devoted 'righter of wrongs', whose willingness to risk his life to protect others, and to expose the wrongdoings of the 'powerful and corrupt' (and often rich), involves a skillset, mindset, and 'riskset' highly different than what he possessed prior to being shipwrecked and subsequently surviving 5 years of hell).

The question ultimately asked (many times) of the character, after he is home, post-rescue, of, "what happened to you on that island?" (when pondered by those who notice any of various 'differences', from the guy they knew prior to his having embarked on the doomed yacht voyage), has an answer that is complex, stunning, and involves multiple circumstances which would change any individual, and would tend not to be experienced even singly, in anyone's life, let alone to have all of them affect one person.

And the famous line uttered by Jack Nicholson's character, in "A Few Good Men", of, "you can't handle the truth", would be (I suspect) a largely accurate assessment of the difficulty any of his loved ones would have in 'processing' the "what happened on that island" information, were he to reveal it to them. There is a limited subset of said information that does ultimately get revealed, albeit selectively, and to specific individuals... and one aspect would seemingly be 'inevitable' for him to 'have' to reveal, given that his body (if/when exposed, in conjunction with clothing being removed) is covered by many physical scars (and none of which appear to be 'accidental scrapes').

To portray all of this, and to convincingly act in many archery-'infused' martial arts sequences (which are also filled with impressive hand-to-hand combat, acrobatic maneuvers, and at times, involve some parkour, and altogether, render fight sequences which are considered "epic", in the words of another reviewer (and justifiably so, in my opinion), and are considered by various major media outlets as being the best fight scenes and stunts found in any show currently on television (and I'm in agreement)), is a tall order to expect of any actor -- and the actor ultimately chosen for the lead role would seem to have been the perfect one to select. He does a *fantastic* job in all facets of this emotionally and physically demanding role.

What I've also found so refreshingly welcome about this show is the occasional levity thrown in, especially that via the IT specialist (and interestingly, this was a role that was initially slated to be a relatively brief presence in the show, but the audience response was so positive, that the actress who does such a great job in the role then found "Felicity" to have been promoted to 'recurring character', before ultimately being 'made a series regular', and her character became a main character... she convincingly portrays a terrific combination of tech savvy and youthful, social 'awkwardness' (as well as skillfully delivering some accidental-for-the-character double entendre -esque utterances (which the character quickly backpedals on, comically :) ))). Various scenes involving this character can bring a quick smile and laugh to the viewer, before the show then resumes the tenor it more consistently involves.

I'll leave any additional specifics and any potential spoiler-based comments to other reviewers.

This is a terrific show, with a great ensemble cast, and involves a spectacular modern day imagining of the original comic book character. I loved the first season, look forward to viewing the second season, and am delighted to learn that the show has been renewed for a third season. And as difficult as it is to accomplish, this show just keeps getting better!

I can't recall the last time I was so impressed by the high production standards and overall quality of a television show. The standards that the writers, producers, directors, set designers, actors, stunt doubles, and martial arts action sequence choreographers bring to this show is altogether fantastic, SO impressive, and makes for a great (and absorbing) viewing experience.

This is one of those rare shows which leaves one reflecting on the great artistic accomplishment its creation and production represent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected, September 22, 2013
By 
Mike S. (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arrow: Season 1 (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I was one that did not have high expectations for the series, but am very impressed at how it has turned out so far. The character (and overall storyline) is very dark. Much darker even than version of the Green Arrow played by Justin Heartly on Smallville. This version of the character made that one look like a boy scout. To say he is morally ambiguous is an understatement.

The series starts with Oliver Queen being rescued from an island he had been marooned on for 5 years. The show actually tells two stories. In flashbacks we learn what happened after the shipwreck and the events that unfold on the island. In the present we see his transformation into "The Hood" a vigilante on a mission to take down the criminal elite in Starling City. He is also re-integrating into "normal" life, reconnecting with his friends and family, while having to lead a double life to protect those he cares about. Throughout the first season they introduce many of the DC comic characters along the way

The key to the series is the wonderful acting. There are really no "A list" actors in the group, but many of them are recognizable from other shows. Stephen Amell does a great job playing the brooding role, and yet having to incorporate some of Oliver's past playboy attitude. All of the supporting actors, both series regulars and recurring, bring a lot to the show, and the writers do a good job of giving good stories to all the characters, so it is not just about Arrow out chasing down bad guys. Some of the stories in the first season get resolved, others are left open. So there is a lot to work with going into season 2.

As far as this set goes, it comes both on Blu Ray and for some reason DVD. There are 4 blu ray discs and 5 DVDs. The show looks and sounds great on blu ray as you would expect. My only complaint about the blu rays is there there is no season mode. So even if you use the play all option, if you stop in the middle of an episode it does not pick back up where you stopped it. As far as extras go, there are commentary tracks on select episodes, deleted scenes for many of the episodes, a 30 min "making of" feature, an 18 min feature on the stunts, a panel discussion and gag reel. Definitely enough to keep those who like the bonus material happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DC's New 52 Comes toTelevision, November 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What happens to a millionaire playboy stranded on a remote island for five years? Ben Gunn from Treasure Island was completely mad in a little over two, Chuck Noland in Cast Away developed a profound relationship with a volleyball in three and Gilligan did almost everything imaginable in less than four. But five years of playing survivor, throw in some dangerous adversaries and even torture and you just might get a superhero.

During his time on the island Oliver Queen had only one article from his past life: a ledger of his father's pointing to a family legacy built on corruption and exploitation which provides the driving force for survival as he feels an obligation to rectify the wrongs he believes his family has perpetrated on the citizens of Starling City. Oliver has also learned to hold on to the memories dearest to him in order to survive but after rescue from the living nightmare in episode one, he returns to find that the family he idealized has moved on; his mother has remarried and the attitude that his baby sister now possesses could probably be best described as ambivalence. His mother unknowingly hires a bodyguard for her less than helpless son that ends up quitting when he discovers the secret identity of his charge. But the ethical nature of this character provides a counter to Oliver's single-minded pursuit of justice as he later convinces him to assist in the logistics of his mission although I believe he needs him more as a conscience and a compass to what should be done as opposed to what the Green Arrow is capable of.

At times this series may digress a bit towards inter-personal drama but it's buoyed by action and to be completely honest that's what keeps me coming back to this show. Anyone can do well-choreographed fight scenes but in this case it's all about filming in such a way as to maintain a certain level of believability as well as making the viewer actually "feel" the action. Additionally, the violence is subtle and tastefully done; how many shows can say that? At the writing of this review I'm still not very impressed with any of the female characters but it's still early and there's lots of potential and I'm sure they will continue to introduce new heroes and villains. Speaking of which, the addition of the character that will eventually become the Huntress provides a sort of polemic to the heroic vigilantism of the Green Arrow as he demonstrates respect for the inherent value of human life while the latter is motivated by end justifying the means.

I just wish the critics would stop comparing this excellent television series with prolly one of the most exceptional super-hero film series currently around (i.e. Batman). As another member of the DC superhero universe, of course there's gonna be similarities in some of their characters... get over it. I suppose if you can't then just keep watching those films over and over again but for all of us lovers of creative/fantasy/super-hero, television-entertainment.... there's Arrow. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series is Now Considered One of my Favorites!!, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After Smallville ended, I limited my television viewing to a few programs, notably The Walking Dead. However, when I heard about Arrow, I was intrigued! Was this going to have Justin Hartley (Smallville) in it or were the TV producers using someone else? Well, after watching the first episode, my question was answered and I was hooked. The Arrow TV series takes the same approach as the recent Batman-franchise by using probable scenarios to add realism. The selection of Stephen Amell was a good choice, because he's action hero material! If you like super hero movies, I suggest you watch this series. It provides good drama, plot twists, tons of action, and great references to the DC Universe. So far, I've seen the Huntress, Deathstroke, China White, Dark Archer (?), and Deadshot! Hey, just go watch this series!!!

Update (6/6/13): I'm still loving this series! They are currently working up a Red Arrow storyline for the second season and I see Oliver Queen potentially taking over his family's corporation in the near future. Great show with plenty of drama, cliff-hangers, and action! I really hope this series continues for a very long time, because I'm hooked! Again, just go watch this series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moderately entertaining, but not worth paying for., June 2, 2014
By 
Bernhard H. Klinder (Cleveland, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Moderately entertaining, but not worth paying for. The concept is decent, but it rapidly falls into the same mediocrity of the usual made for TV action shows. Plot holes you can drive a truck through, casting picked from modeling agencies instead of acting ability, ridiculous medical situations. Sorry, you do not recover from a gunshot to the chest in one day. The Arrow is in some serious fights every episode, but never has to hid a bruise, or fix his teeth. The technology is absurd. The girl in the IT department who can hack anything instantly, and doubles as a CSi, chemist, electronics expert. The cops and bad guys can't hit anything firing hundreds of rounds. The character is hiding from the enemy on an island but talks out loud and shouts openly to his mentor.

That said, the fight choreography is excellent, the overall story arch is decent even though it tends to become absurd. And the sheer fitness level and athletic ability of Steve Arnell is amazing to watch.

It seems a shame that it would take such little effort to make this a first rate show if the writers and producers tried a little harder, and had a little more respect for the story, instead of being content to dish out the usual made for TV Drabble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow: "A serious comic show", November 15, 2013
By 
Greg (Beaverton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arrow: Season 1 (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
When the announcement came out for an origin story of Arrow I was a bit skeptical. Mostly because Smallville, started strong but quickly became a love triangle and soap opera for quite a few seasons. Before the formula changed for the show and it became a better interpretation of the character.

Luckily for me these writers got the formula right, they deliver two congruent stories simultaneously which adds extra complexity and characterization to the character. They built individual episodes that latter into one giant story throughout the season. This makes the fun a blast to watch, even the episodes that are designed to introduce and build out the story a bit more (those slow, painful episodes) Arrow makes pretty enjoyable.

The pace of the show is quick, which keeps most who watch it entertained and wanting more. I would highly recommend this show, it is designed to be a darker drama and story which make it a great show to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arrow: Season 1 (Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
$49.96 $39.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.