Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read.
I am retired and read constantly. I have read everyone, and really enjoy it when I discover someone new.
Victor Methos is one of those people. I am highly critical. I will stop reading a novel if it doesn't
"capture" me in the first few chapters, preferably the first chapter. No problem here. Hard to put down.
The book had several typos, and a couple...
Published on June 18, 2012 by The Reader

versus
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars love this author but a new editor for the kindle version is needed
His books are a little addicting. Interesting crimes investidated by a detective the likes you've not met before in a crime novel. How could I complain? Awful editing that could have been cleaned up with one run of spell check. Painful read.
Published on August 4, 2012 by NJA


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., June 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I am retired and read constantly. I have read everyone, and really enjoy it when I discover someone new.
Victor Methos is one of those people. I am highly critical. I will stop reading a novel if it doesn't
"capture" me in the first few chapters, preferably the first chapter. No problem here. Hard to put down.
The book had several typos, and a couple of omissions, but nothing that changed the flavor of the novel.
An excellent story with well thought out characters, and action from start to finish. Especially appreciated
the fact that Methos did not need to use "filler" to complete this work. Really getting tired of other authors
droning on for pages about some minor thing that has no bearing on the story, except to make it longer.
A great read that is right up there with the leading writers in the field, and well ahead of some of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars love this author but a new editor for the kindle version is needed, August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
His books are a little addicting. Interesting crimes investidated by a detective the likes you've not met before in a crime novel. How could I complain? Awful editing that could have been cleaned up with one run of spell check. Painful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read., November 1, 2012
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This was a good read. It was not quite a procedural and not quite a mystery. There were definite good and bad guys. The story was fast paced but I was sometimes distracted by spelling and grammer errors. Spell checkers are great tools. Good airplane or beach read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The arsonist...not enough detail in the mind of a serial killer, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist (Paperback)
I normally love this kind of story line, however I was disappointed with this book. It starts of well and grabs our attention. A young killer who laughs when he tortures someone promises to make us scared and uneasy. When he is declared to be rehabilitated by the shrinks of the psychiatric hospital,we know what will happen. Later on, the character reveals he did not talk while being detained for over 10 years......so highly unrealistic that he would be let go. There is no character development or insight of why he kills.

Stanton is tiresome mentioning his religion at every opportunity, explaining why he does not drink, work on Sundays etc

Stanton's love relationship is quite unrealistic, as the author never goes deeper than saying. "she is hot". We do not feel any chemistry between them. It becomes of no interest whether he will get the girl or not.

The reason she does not want to be involved in helping solve the crime is not explained in depth, and the way Stanton triks her into helping is way too simplistic. The end is foreseeable, the arsonist is caught too easily.

It had the promises of being a great book, but it fell short of our expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner by Victor Menthos, December 24, 2012
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
So far, this is my favorite Jon Stanton mystery. Victor Menthos is a writer who delivers mystery, excitement and keeps you reading until the end. Stanton is a strange detective who is as much of a mystery to me as the story itself. If you have not read Victor Menthos and you like mysteries - let yourself in for a riviting ride through one of his Jon Stanton books. Suzanne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Petty decent story, but not very well written. A lot of cheesy dialogue. Don't think I'll be reading any more of his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stanton is a terrific lead character, September 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all Victor Methos,, Stanton novels and I find him to be the equal of any of his more famous counterparts, The plots are both well thought out and well executed. If you give these books a try you won,t be disappointed,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Jon Stanton thriller!, August 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I'm very quickly working my way through all of the Jon Stanton mysteries. Read this one in just two days. This one was really good, so it got four stars. The last one, "Sin City Homicide", was the best that I've read; that was a five star entry.

Victor Methos' characters, both good guys and bad guys, are deep and sometimes very dark characters. The arsonist here is a psychopath thru and thru, killing just because he enjoys killing. Detective Jon Stanton, devout Mormon and part psychic, is on his trail, sometimes against the direct command of his supervising officer. The action is fast and furious, the characters deep and flawed, the plot twists numerous, and in the end, Jon is racing to save his girlfriend from a horrible death by fire. Deep and dark as it is, it was hard to put this novel down. I highly recommend this novel, as I do all of Methos's Jon Stanton series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes, ashes, we all fall down, July 31, 2013
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written mystery that leads the reader along the journey of a psychopath. Innocent victims are being killed in blazing infernos while the murderer plays mind games with the cops who are on his trail. The good cop- bad cop roles are evident throughout the book, as the story revolves around their lives, both personally and professionally. The descriptive images the author provides gives clear insight into the mind of an arsonist. This is more than your average mystery, it's a psychological thriller. It is quick and easy to read and follow the story and definitely a book you don't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arsonist - A Thriller (Jon Stanton Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The story starts out with a harrowing attack by one student on another. The attacker is sent to a mental hospital and released years later to go on a crime spree.
However, we never learn what happened to the child who was attacked, why the attacker did what he did or any of his back story.

Also, the crimes he commits are very interesting but the story sidetracks itself on a lot of other things and does not wrap up a lot of it at the end.

I liked it and will try another boook by this author but am on the fence about this story.

Its good but could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.