Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue book on understanding the art market
Art of the Deal is an inspiring excavation of the many building blocks of the art market, weaving a succinct walkthrough of art historical insights with clever perspectives on contemporary practice. I finished the book astonished that something similar had not been written long ago--after all we live in a world where understanding market behaviour is no longer desirable...
Published on October 26, 2011 by catsor

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor
This is not a book as much as it is an incomplete academic research paper. First of all the "book" has only 3 chapters, Video Art, Experimental Art and Investment Funds. More than 1/3 of the entire text(pages 215-361) is simply reference material(i.e. appendix, citations, bibliography etc.)

This book reads like an academic paper and is not very useful or...
Published on April 24, 2012 by Yachtmaster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue book on understanding the art market, October 26, 2011
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
Art of the Deal is an inspiring excavation of the many building blocks of the art market, weaving a succinct walkthrough of art historical insights with clever perspectives on contemporary practice. I finished the book astonished that something similar had not been written long ago--after all we live in a world where understanding market behaviour is no longer desirable but a must! Although the book cannot be said to be easy reading to the layman reader, testing our understanding of both cutting-edge art historical theories and complex financial factors, it is nonetheless a highly enjoyable read. I especially found myself amused when reading the chapter on experiential art: Indeed, how does one price an art work consisting of the artist cooking a meal and leaving the messy kitchen behind!? Having read Noah Horowitz' book, I can now say that I better understand the Art of the Deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
This is not a book as much as it is an incomplete academic research paper. First of all the "book" has only 3 chapters, Video Art, Experimental Art and Investment Funds. More than 1/3 of the entire text(pages 215-361) is simply reference material(i.e. appendix, citations, bibliography etc.)

This book reads like an academic paper and is not very useful or interesting. For a much better read on the insights into Contemporary Art Market I would suggest the The $12 Million Stuffed Shark: The Curious Economics of Contemporary Art by Don Thomson.The $12 Million Stuffed Shark: The Curious Economics of Contemporary Art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, August 8, 2012
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
An accessible, informative and highly enjoyable read. It's a great look at the conteporary art market with enough story-telling and background that I felt like an insider by the end, despite being just a casual art observor. I received as a gift and it's been a hit for everyone I've done the same for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent industry overview, March 15, 2011
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
As someone from outside the industry I found Horowitz's book a very insightful and well researched piece. The discussion of the evolution of video and experimental art and how that related to the changing dynamic of the art buyer's market was excellent. A must-read for industry insiders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
This book discusses the Deal in Art - great work, and a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read!, August 16, 2012
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
Noah Horowitz is a brilliant scholar of the art market. His incisive commentary and keen understanding of what appears to be a largely unregulated market with a labyrinth-like structure makes this an excellent read! I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Rorotoko List, October 12, 2011
By 
ROROTOKO (New York, NY 10274) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market (Hardcover)
This book is on the Rorotoko list. Dr. Horowitz's interview on "Art of the Deal" ran as the Rorotoko Cover Feature on October 3, 2011 (and can be read in the Rorotoko archive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market
Art of the Deal: Contemporary Art in a Global Financial Market by Noah Horowitz (Hardcover - January 23, 2011)
$57.50 $45.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.