Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $7.50 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Art: A World History has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very Good: Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $5.82
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Art: A World History Paperback – November 1, 2007

4.5 out of 5 stars 50 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$17.45
$13.92 $10.78

Anna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War - perfect for readers of "The Book Thief". Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for Teen and Young Adult readers
$17.45 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Art: A World History
  • +
  • Art That Changed the World
  • +
  • Art: Over 2,500 Works from Cave to Contemporary
Total price: $81.27
Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Abrams (November 1, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0810994429
  • ISBN-13: 978-0810994423
  • Product Dimensions: 4.5 x 1.8 x 6.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #39,026 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This book was just what I had been searching for: a well-illustrated, thorough - yet concise - "all-encompassing" book of world art. This work covers individuals/creations from ancient times to present, and provides timelines and interesting facts like brief artist bios, the current locations of the featured masterpieces, and the official names of each artistic "period." Each artist gets his/her own few pages, describing his/her style/history, and there are tons of images, including one of the artist him/herself. It's quite substantial, and the pages have a high-quality shine. This is a great reference book and a jumping-off point for more in-depth exploration into art history and the people who shaped it.
Comment 175 of 178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is a good book for those who slept through high school or college art history and now wish they had a bit more background for enjoying their local museum of art. The book is VERY concise and provides relevant historical perspectives. The page size is small (it is really a very thick handbook) so the photos of the various pieces are hard to appreciate. I have enjoyed going through it, however, and it has provided the foundation I was looking for.
Comment 74 of 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I should start by saying that the book itself as a reference is great. It covers a wide expanse of time. The chapters begin with an introduction about the era being covered. The artist profiles include facts about the artist like their birth and death dates, locations and influences.

I was surprised when I pulled the book out of the shipping box at how small it was. I expected the book to be slightly larger and neglected to check the dimensions before ordering. This is normally not something anybody considers before ordering a book online. The book it slightly larger than a typical CD case and about as thick as five cd cases.

Norman Rockwell was omitted from the text. I'd thought for sure that such a well known artist would have been included. I understand that the text cannot reasonably cover EVERY artist from history, however, There were a handfull of other artists that were omitted as well.

Overall, the book is great to have around and a pleasure to flip through. I was surprised at how many of the pieces I recognized. I purchased this as a reference to just have around and add a little more subject matter to the book case.
2 Comments 32 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I was looking for an interesting historical world view of art to teach a small group of 5 8th/9th graders. Having searched Google I found the book on Amazon which gave me the pertinent information I needed. It was great and a relief to find the book having done a lot of searching and I thank you for the prompt delivery. The students are fascinated by the book and the pictures are a great help and make the history very interesting.

Thanks again

R.T. Atherton
Comment 25 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a superb survey of art, mostly painting and sculpture, from ancient to modern times - mostly Western, with a brief excursion into Japanese prints. The reproductions, most in brilliant color, are extraordinarily good. There are brief biographies of the artists with informative captions with the works. Perhaps most surprising and welcome in so small a book, the print is strong and unusually clear and easy to read. 500 pages with an index, but no bibliography. Highly recommended.
Comment 15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Easy to read (and fun as well) with most everything you would expect to find in a comprehensive history of art. Nothing new, no radical perspectives, but in depth enough to inspire further reading.
I wish it was bigger for the sake of the illustrations.
Comment 13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By cyd on December 14, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The content is nice but the size of the book is really small, so it is really hard to read.
Comment 15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was very happy with this purchase. For a compact book, it is full of info and photos on both the artist and his paintings and you can't beat the price of it.
Comment 9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Art: A World History
This item: Art: A World History
Price: $17.45
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: history of art book, history of the world art, arts world, art textbook