Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Artistic Poses
I love this edition of Art Models because it shows the detailed beauty of the human figure within the depths of shadow and light. This is perfect for reference and artist education. I have a few previous editions and love this the most; the others lack the shadow which I needed for study. Also, I do not think that taking the photos with a lot of shadow contrast, as in...
Published on August 22, 2011 by Joanna R.

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Kindle version does not contain all the poses of the various models. Would not buy another kindle version of these books.
Published 22 months ago by J Bink


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Artistic Poses, August 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
I love this edition of Art Models because it shows the detailed beauty of the human figure within the depths of shadow and light. This is perfect for reference and artist education. I have a few previous editions and love this the most; the others lack the shadow which I needed for study. Also, I do not think that taking the photos with a lot of shadow contrast, as in this book, takes away from other types of artists like graphic designers, cartoonists, etc. I think it adds to everyone's work and lacks NO detail. I can't wait for future editions using shadow and light as in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Model 6, September 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
Art Model 6 is the very best of the Art Model series. In the earlier books, the models are infused with light with very little shadows. There is a substantial amount of shadows on each figure in Art Model 6, and that is desirable. Shadows are wonderful and helps in expressing form. I think a bit more environmental elements would be good, for example; simple plant on a table, a book on a chair, model siting on various interesting chairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD is excellent, January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
The included DVD is has numerous angles of the same pose. Outstanding. The book is ok, but the digital images are what make this product worth the money. Being able to open them up on a large monitor, versus a small page in a book.

Good product. The individual poses on their website are considerably more expensive than everything you get on the DVD. I own the previous book too, and its good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Out There., February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
This is one of the best reference books out there. I wish the lighting was a little more dramatic. There is more "shadow" than there is "light" and very little strong highlights. It would have been nice if a greater variety of ages were represented and perhaps a series of draped poses. That being said, I really liked the inclusion of head shots with different facial expressions.

I wish they would add a "Male Figure in Shadow and Light" to this series. I also purchased Vol. 2 which does have some male models but it would be nice to have an entire volume dedicated to the male form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source, September 10, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
This is a great book to add to your image sources. I do comics and graphic stories, so the models images work well for me as a resource. I can use the pose as-is of modify as needed, then dress them to fit the story. It is a real win-win. The images are clear and the book includes a good variety of body types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, August 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kindle version does not contain all the poses of the various models. Would not buy another kindle version of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars figure sculpture, January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
As a figure sculptor this book has proven to be a great one. Not only there is quite a variety in models (shapes and sizes) but the accompanying CD is a fantastic tool to capture every angle of the pose, essential in figure sculpture. I am a bit disappointed that there are no thumbnails for the cd, or can't figure out how to get them, so I have to open every folder to see what pose I need. All in all a great resource and I am very pleased with the book/cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book in the series, September 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) (Hardcover)
If you are an artist that likes to work with the figure then this is the series of books for you. Lots of interesting poses and attractive models, shot in rotation, to fit your project or inspire new work. This latest installment, volume 6, dealing with shadow and light is particularly nice for painters who want to create mood and depth in their work. Along with the additional poses and downloads of modeling sessions available on their website makes this a resource every figurative artist can use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for both model and artist, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book gives new ideas to the artist/photographar and is of great help to the inexperienced model (and artist).
I have used a few of the poses for my photographs and I am happy with the result
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gives great exercise time, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is great for daily practice exercises and working out anatomy quick work. Some of the poses are shadowed well to give different work ups, better than the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series)
Art Models 6: The Female Figure in Shadow and Light (Art Models series) by Douglas A. Johnson (Hardcover - September 1, 2011)
$36.95 $24.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.