Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have Rock Poster Goodness...
As I have been looking forward to the release of this book for two years now, when the package first arrived at my house I was a little afraid to open it. Would this book live up to my high expectations?

I quickly got over my fears, ripped open the box and pulled out this gorgeous, colorful, HEAVY piece of art history in the making.

Every single...
Published on November 11, 2004 by Leia Bell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy
Have yet to read it, but it was a good buy. It is really heavy and would make a good coffee table book...something to think about.
Published on September 3, 2012 by Commando Big


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have Rock Poster Goodness..., November 11, 2004
By 
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
As I have been looking forward to the release of this book for two years now, when the package first arrived at my house I was a little afraid to open it. Would this book live up to my high expectations?

I quickly got over my fears, ripped open the box and pulled out this gorgeous, colorful, HEAVY piece of art history in the making.

Every single page is filled with amazing full-color posters, interviews, and photographs. My favorite thing about the book is the photos of the actual artists-- seeing what these talented folks look like, and getting glimpses into how they actually work in their respective environments.

Impress your friends, show how hip you are and buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately The New Testament,..., December 16, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
... to the Old Testament, 'The Art of Rock: From Presley to Punk'! Paul & Dennis manage to top the last book, which, to many of us in the indy 'low brow' art field, was nothing short of a Bible, or at the very least one of the Lost Dead Sea Scrolls. The scope of art contained within is sheerly mindboggling, spanning a few decades & crossing the globe, introducing even the well seasoned, like myself, to new faces, & chronicalling the extent of undiscovered talent in the scene. The design is breathtaking, easy to navigate, well researched & chronicled, printed & bound beautifully, & will make a must have addition to anyone's library, whether die hard art fan, music lover, or anyone whose ever considered rock & roll as part of their life. The only real question I have is, who the heck is that ugly brute stinking up the whole project on page 099? !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be STUNNED, November 10, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
This treasure of work from all over the world povides a mind-blowing experience in rock art. No way could this book be any better than Paul Grushkin and Dennis King meant for it to be. These guys know and love this stuff, and it shows. From cover to cover the viewer will be in awe.

One of the finest published pieces of work, EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, November 17, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
Even the best review just wouldn't do this book justice. It must be experienced. Each time I look through it I discover something new.

On a side note, make sure your coffee table is good and sturdy, this book might just crush it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, November 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
For anyone who is a fan of rock music, art or design needs this book. It is THE AUTHORITY on the modern rock poster renaissance.

The amount of work is amazing. It'll keep your eyes busy/happy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail The Art of Modern Rock!, November 12, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
I'd like to offer up a big salute to paul Grushkin & Dennis King, as well as all the poster artists represented in this book. It is an extreme honor to be considered a peer of those whose work is shown here. On one level, you're taken back by the shear beauty and presentation. On another level, the multitude of stylistic approaches is mind boggling. The thing that keeps smacking me is the honesty and the sense of craft portrayed in each of the works.

The poster is a temple where we fortunate souls obviously worship, and the release of this book will definitely add to the congregation. Amen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, February 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
This book is simply the best collection of artwork I've come across - there is a tendency with "coffee table" books, to flick through and miss a few pages out. Do that at your peril with this tome - it's enlightening and artistically inspiring from first to last. Although fairly expensive in the UK, it's a must have if you like your art - never mind your poster art. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Rock Art!, November 10, 2004
By 
gregg gordon (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
As a huge fan of rock art and the many talented artists featured in this book, I could not wait to get my hands on one. This book is my kind of book...full of the most colorful, random, exciting images for many of my favorite bands by some of my favorite artists...it will take me forever to get through the whole thing...

I picked up a few for my friends and family...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIND & LID BLOWING, November 10, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
Paul Grushkin and Dennis King blow the lid off today's youth culture and expose the world to the underground music genre in this colorful high quality heavy duty super deluxe 500 page tome. If you're under 75 you won't be able to get along without it so you might as well order now. For those who can't read the highly researched and informative text, who cares? The art tells the whole story and can be seen as a documentary on the visual expression of the decline of western civilization and maybe the world in general. Feed your head and charge your batteries as the whole mess spins out of control and slides down the tubes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Undisputed Heavyweight Champ of Rock Art, November 10, 2004
This review is from: Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion (Hardcover)
Years in the making, this 492-page monster will send your all other "coffee table" books running to hide under the couch in shame. Simply amazing! Jam-packed with eye-popping visuals, THE BOOK chronicles the last 20 years or so of Rock Posters and the artists responsible in insane detail. I haven't left the house since this book arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion
Art of Modern Rock: The Poster Explosion by Paul Grushkin (Hardcover - November 4, 2004)
$75.00 $45.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.