Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book with great insights into Textile Art
The book is divided into 9 sections by topic: Flowers, Birds, Water, Animals, Leaves, insects, Flowers II, Trees and Textures. Each section begins with an in-depth introduction to two or three artists, then goes into a gallery where many artists works are shown, just as if it were in an exhibition with labels identifying artist, title, date, size and method. The book...
Published on April 3, 2012 by Lisa B. Quintana

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Artsy
Reviewed and perused it for a few weeks and decided there are a lot of different techniques but the book lacked cues on how these techniques can be accomplished.
Published 21 months ago by Arlette


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book with great insights into Textile Art, April 3, 2012
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
The book is divided into 9 sections by topic: Flowers, Birds, Water, Animals, Leaves, insects, Flowers II, Trees and Textures. Each section begins with an in-depth introduction to two or three artists, then goes into a gallery where many artists works are shown, just as if it were in an exhibition with labels identifying artist, title, date, size and method. The book is well indexed with the table of contents guiding you to the featured artists and the subject matter, as well as a featured artist index and gallery artist index at the back of the book.

Martha's introduction is a must read as it gives you insights into the book as well as includes some information on the artists not repeated elsewhere.

Each of the featured artists described their method of work and were asked questions. Everyone was asked "Why fiber?" and the responses were quite telling. Asking ourselves this, I think is an important activity. Why DO we work in fiber or textiles? Why don't we stop at taking a photograph, rendering a drawing, or whatever. Reading each of the featured artist's answers was illuminating as well as one which pleased me as I think it is important for us as artists to consider as well as enabling the general public to understand where fiber/textile artists are coming from. In addition, Martha queried them on technique when she thought that that was important.
When I first came to Ohio from Connecticut in 2005, I hadn't been exposed to large doses of textile art. I had been to a few shows which had some art quilts in them (The Odyssey show) and the Shoreline Quilter's Guild and Clamshell Quilters (one of which Barbara Barrick McKie belonged to), but I hadn't been exposed to work by many art quilters. Moving to Ohio opened my eyes. I will never forget visiting the Fitton Art Center in Hamilton, Ohio and seeing Katherine K. Allen's work. I was enamored. I haven't been able to see a lot of her pieces, but she was one of the featured artists, along with Dominie Nash....and to top it off, many artists whose work I had seen either at the Aullwood Nature Center show in Englewood, Ohio or online with the groups I belong to--such as Melani Kane Brewer, Ginny Eckley and Nancy Cook are also among the featured artists.

Martha once again laid out the book as if it were an exhibition. The images flow nicely with each other and leave you inspired and wanting to return again and again to look more closely at the images. I read the book from cover to cover in a matter of three hours, and will probably re-read it. I did laugh at myself... Nancy Erickson's "Easter Cougar" made me wonder if there had been a typographical error...I enjoy Nancy's work which bears resemblance to cave art, and I suspected that this particular piece, one of a series of "cut out" works she's been doing was named as a joke ("Easter" rather than "Eastern") as the colors were bright and included some dashes of blue, aqua as well as yellow ochre and red. Just to make sure, I contacted Nancy and she verified that she did indeed name "Easter Cougar" that because of the colors. Nancy did say that the image came out much darker than the actual piece is.

In addition to the featured artists and the general gallery, Martha included the Fiber Artist's Coalition (FAC) themed exhibition "Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird." I hadn't heard of this group, but was interested to see how they handled the common theme.

I can see myself turning to this book again and again for insight, inspiration as well as to share with other quilters and explain the world of art quilts based on nature. Definitely, this book is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art book, April 3, 2012
By 
Clairan Ferrono (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
This is a beautifully produced art book full of large, sharp images of fantastic art. All the works are art quilts, but this is not a book just for quilters -- it is for everyone who enjoys fine art. Several top artists are introduced in depth, and the galleries contain fine work by many others. This book rewards the careful and diligent peruser as well as the more casual reader. A real joy for the art lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World, April 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
An amazing collection of art quilts. Puts quilts firmly into the art world sphere. A must have not only for quilters and art lovers as it also makes a lovely coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Feast for the Eye...Joy for the Artistic soul!, May 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
A recent new release by Martha Sielman is more than beautiful photography of fabulous art quilts. The themes are timeless examples of our world in which we share space with plants, animals, insects, and the elements of nature.
Art Quilt Portfolio - The Natural World, proves the talent Martha has for bringing forth the best of art quilting and creativity in her books. Not only are the quilts impressive, but the narratives of the artists add a depth of understanding which enhances the artwork. Each quilt holds a hidden emotion which was captured or dreamed by an artist and then transferred into a tangible work of art with fiber and various textiles.
The art styles have a wide range. Many times it is possible to recognize a particular artist when you see several of the pieces due to a certain style of artistic expression. Maybe it is the `branding' of an artist which sets their work apart. Some of the textile artists enjoy working in a realistic style while others are more abstract. As you peruse this edition of Martha's art quilt series, you will find underneath all the beautiful works from the hands of the artist, a subtle influence of traditional quilting. Factors such as size, scale, proportion, and color values are prominent in these quilts. This should make even the most traditional of quilters feel some pride.
No matter where you reside on this planet, you can relate to the beauty and soul of this book. For me, springtime in the south, (USA) is a perfect time to be immersed in this very inspiring new book by Martha Sielman.
It's Fabulous!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration!, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
This book is subtitled "Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works" which pretty much sums up the 192 page book. Martha Seilman, who grew up not that far from me on Long Island, is a self-professed nature girl. She began the book with a call for entries and received more than 1,200 images from 450 fiber artists. She is planning the next volume of the book to be "People and Portraits," with additional books on abstract work and landscapes to follow. This book is divided into subsections of flowers, birds, water, animals, leaves, insects, trees and textures.

My first comment on this book is that the photographs are beautiful. No question that this is major eye candy for quilters.

Two or three quilt artists are profiled in each section. There is substantial information on each artist, including their background, working methods, and goals. Each of these chapters contains several photos of the artist's work. Following the artist profile, there is a gallery of work from various artists.

There is a huge range of subjects and styles in this book. Some of the artists are scientists. Many (I'd say most) had a significant art background before they started quilting. I found their stories fascinating and it definitely complimented their work.

I had a couple of frustrations/suggestions. First of all, I would have loved to have seen a photo of each profiled artist to accompany their first-person narrative. Secondly, many of the pictures were in the 3" x 4" size range. While this let me see the totality of the work, it did not let me see any of the quilting. I realize that this is a space tradeoff, but the quilting is an integral part of each piece and I was hungry for more details. Some of these pieces were very large -- for example 52" x 104" -- and shown on a half-page of the book.

Overall, this book is fantastic and would be a great addition to any art quilter's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Martha Sielman, May 24, 2012
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
Very snazzy design, generous inner margins, great images! Nineteen featured artists get an in-depth treatment, with several works illustrated and an interview about their inspirations and methods. Gallery sections feature the work of seventy additional artists, whose studio quilts celebrate flowers, birds, trees, animals, and insects. This book would be an excellent addition to any art lover's library. (The book would have had five stars from me if the text had been printed a bit darker.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Excellent, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
The organization of this book allows the reader an opportunity to get more deeply acquainted with a few artists as well as seeing a broad overview of work in the field. There is something for everyone in images including humor, realism, abstraction, intensity of color, and monochromatic art work. The quality of the paper is excellent and the reproductions vibrant. This is a book that one can return to many times always finding something new to study or stimulate the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art books, April 23, 2012
By 
Karen (COLUMBUS, WI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
This book is stunning. They variety of each of the artists is amazing. Their descriptions about what motivates them to create their particular style is helpful in determining if this is a style to incorporte in your own work. The book was also a good read about artists and their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Natural World - a lovely book. Eye candy., May 17, 2012
By 
Patricia Gould (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
This is the first in a new series by Martha Sielman, executive director of Studio Art Quilt Associates, author of 2 previous books, Masters and Masters 2. The book is very nicely arranged by subject matter with several artists and then there are featured artists, of which I am one, with several pages devoted to bodies of work they have done that focus on both landscapes and creatures, realistically portrayed and abstracted. The work is stunning and the photography is of the highest quality. The featured artists have each written essays about their work; what inspires them, their processes, and how they relate to the natural world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works (Paperback)
I am delighted with this latest portfolio of art quilts edited by Martha Sielman for Lark Crafts. Each of the previous volumes were wonderful, but this one is special. Martha has created a comprehensive collection of the best nature inspired art quilts I've seen. Each artist has combined their unique vision with superb craftmanship, making these pages a treat to explore. The interviews share insight into the creative process and the underlying inspirations. Jane Sassaman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art Quilt Portfolio: The Natural World: Profiles of Major Artists, Galleries of Inspiring Works
$24.95 $16.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.