Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2009
Two industry heavyweights spell out how great wine is made, keying on the critical decisions - and their ramifications - made at every step. The specific how's and why's of grape growing: fertilizing, canopy management, crop thinning, soil types, climate differences, etc., and then on to winemaking: sulfur additions, cold soaking, fermentation vessels and temperatures, extended maceration, aging, racking, filtering, etc., right up to and including bottling, and how each decision affects the final product. The differences in growing/making light vs. full bodied whites, reds, sparklers and dessert wines. Excellent sections on the use of oak, wine faults and more. Good stuff. Read it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2008
This is a beautiful, steal of a book (some independent sellers are offering <30% of the price Barnes and Noble wanted when I originally bought it the first time!). If you're like me and really want to know the intricacies of wine production (not just tasting notes, etc.--which this book also contains), this is a handy and educating book to have. Yes, it is paperback, but the front cover is a thick, glossy card stock and the pages inside are glossy as well. Nice for a coffee table or a bookshelf, but even better for your brain!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
If you are a wine enthusiast, this book does not have new interesting information. There are some interesting pictures and comments but the book never gets into many details.
If you are a beginner, this is a good book for you as it gives an overview of the wine making process and the different type of wines available.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
This book is good as far as it goes, but it's very biased against New World wines. The author's repeated Eurocentric views on fine wine and winemaking are outdated. The book is good as part of a broader library of information, but you'll need other sources for a comprehensive look at the world of fine wine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
What a pleasure to read, great for study from. Easy to read accessible for layman to professional. Used it to study for My Certified Specialist of Wine Exam. Makes a lot of the subjects clear in concise writing. Put it at the top of your general+ information on wine books. Great delivery time-very happy overall with purchase, reading material, and information provide. Well worth the investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2010
One of the best books I know that easily explains the wheres, whys and hows of winemaking. As a tasting room manager, I often use and show this books explanations on the various facets of wine generation process. I highly recommend this book to all novice and industry professional.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The information on all growing regions was very appreciated. I also gained from the collective viewpoints of the authors. I gained more insight into the why of many factors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
This book is recommended for studying for the sommelier exam by several threads online. Standard textbook-ish format, good margins for taking notes, great large pictures throughout and a very readable writing style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
This is the book I use as a textbook when I teach my introductory wine course for university programs. It is good, comprehensive book, that will provide the reader with clear indications on many key aspects of basic wine culture.
No arrogance or stuffiness. Just a good, remarkably dense wine book. A great one for anyone wanting to get serious about wine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
One of the most absorbing and complete volumes about the influences and skills in modern winemaking .Improved my abilities all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse