Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Art Songs of the British ... has been added to your Cart
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.75
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Art Songs of the British Romantics: Frank Bridge, Edward Elgar, Roger Quilter and Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Art Songs of the British Romantics: Frank Bridge, Edward Elgar, Roger Quilter and Ralph Vaughan Williams

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, January 25, 2011
"Please retry"
$7.48 $14.45

Product Details

1. Frank Bridge: Blow, Blow Thou Winter Wind
2. Frank Bridge: Adoration
3. Frank Bridge: The Last Invocation
4. Frank Bridge: Love Went A-Riding
5. Edward Elgar: Is She Not Passing Fair?
6. Edward Elgar: Rondel
7. Edward Elgar: The Poet s Life
8. Edward Elgar: The Wind at Dawn
9. Roger Quilter: Go, Lovely Rose
10. Roger Quilter: Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal
11. Roger Quilter: Love s Philosophy
12. Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Vagabond
13. Ralph Vaughan Williams: Let Beauty Awake
14. Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Roadside Fire
15. Ralph Vaughan Williams: Youth and Love
16. Ralph Vaughan Williams: In Dreams
17. Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Infinite Shining Heavens
18. Ralph Vaughan Williams: Whither Must I Wander?
19. Ralph Vaughan Williams: Bright Is the Ring of Words
20. Ralph Vaughan Williams: I Have Trod the Upward and the Downward Slope

Editorial Reviews

I believe those of us born in the United States have an affinity towards the music of our fathers and mothers. I also believe that a vocalist finds it easiest to sing the music from the lands of his or her heritage. My father s father was born in the British Isles, and I feel strongly that I have had a connection to these songs by Elgar, Bridge, Quilter and Vaughn Williams from the first moment I met them. I hope you enjoy the songs as much as Malcolm and I have enjoyed learning and recording them for you.

Most of today s outstanding artists started young and Stanley Wilson is no exception. His first solo performance was at age six, singing I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus at a Christmas party, which kindled his interest in music, leading him to pursue a life-long study of singing and performance. He received his Master of Music from the Longy School of Music in Cambridge, Massachusetts in Opera Performance and continues to learn by keeping up his studies in New York City with William Hicks, formerly of the Metropolitan Opera. Mr. Wilson has amassed an extensive list of oratorio and opera credits which include presentations of Handel's Messiah, Mozart's Requiem, Mendelssohn's Elijah, and Schubert's Mass in B-flat as well as Basilio and Don Curzio in The Marriage of Figaro, Kaspar in Amahl and the Night Visitors, and Bardolfo in Falstaff and Gastone in La Traviata. As a recital soloist, Mr. Wilson has performed with pianist Malcolm Halliday the works of Elgar, Bridge, Quilter, Vaughan Williams, Schumann and many others. Mr. Wilson teaches voice privately in Worcester, Massachusetts. His philosophy of singing is: Whether one is singing classical, musical theater, jazz, pop or rock, a sound technique must come first. From there, a singer can begin to develop the ability to communicate with the listener and to explore what music is truly about.

Malcolm Halliday has performed in the United States and Europe, both as a soloist and in collaboration with singers, instrumentalists and orchestra. He has performed with historical pianos and period instruments in concerts at Jordan Hall and Faneuil Hall in Boston, Mechanics Hall in Worcester and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. He was also the resident pianist for the American Schubert Institute in Boston. A champion of more recent and contemporary music, Halliday can also be heard on two recordings of the music of the American composer Leo Sowerby, released through Albany Records. Malcolm Halliday is Minister of Music at the First Congregational Church in Shrewsbury, with one of the largest mainline church music ministries in New England. He is Artistic Director and Conductor of the Master Singers of Worcester in Worcester, Massachusetts, since the fall of 1998. He resides in Worcester, and serves on the music faculty at Clark University. Halliday received degrees in piano performance from Oberlin Conservatory (BA) and Boston University (MM).

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category