Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it blink-182 Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars121
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$8.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2013
This review is from my son Daniel. Unlike the other books, Art2-D2's Guide to Folding and Doodling has much more things to fold including Art 2-D2, C-3PO, General Grievous, Admiral Akbar, Origami Yoda, and another Darth Paper whose helmet can come off and reveal Anikan. It teaches you how to draw origami Yoda (from The strange Case of Origami Yoda), Darth Paper (from Darth Paper Strikes Back), the fortune wookie (from The Secret of the Fortune Wookie), and Art2-D2 (from this book). It also teaches you how to draw a basic person. Also included in the book are taking pictures of your origami, games like trench run and pencil pod race, how to make eraser prints, and how to fake crack your knuckles. It also comes with origami paper and a cut out for an origami Yoda t-shirt. Beep (translation: the end).
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
We got this book yesterday. By dinner time, the kids had already made a ton of origami finger puppets.

**I uploaded a photo of some of their folding to Customer Images. CHeck them out! **

I have regular kids, no extraordinary talents or abilities, and this book gets them going.

You may want to buy multiples, so more than 1 kid can get busy at the same time!
review image
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
My Aspie boy loves, loves, loves Star Wars, reading and origami. He has every book in the "Origami Yoda" series: both physical versions and Kindle versions. He enjoys the stories and the origami is a wonderfully, sneaky way to strengthen his fine motor skills.

Bonus: Tom Angleberger, the author, is also an Aspie - and a kind man, to boot. He commented on an Instagram picture of my boy with his Origami Yoda creations, causing much squealing, hand-flapping hero-worshiping joy.
review image review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
My 9 year old niece loves this author's books! I continue to buy her a few at a time and she gobbles them up with big smiles and is very happy to read the next and the next....so far she's read 4 and counting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
Keeps creativity flowing, helps with fine motor skills and following directions. Great for sharing with friends-at the afterschool program he goes to they actually let him teach a class on how to make star wars origami!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
My son loves this book/series. He had seen these at school at the beginning of the year and could not wait to get one of his own. He loves to doodle and this has combined his love of Star Wars and drawing. As a mom I am very happy to see him reading and drawing, two things he truly loves. We plan to purchase the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Perfect gift for a teen boy with a lot of time on his hands...
After receiving the book, I skimmed through it before donating it to the Seattle Children's hospital. It seems to be a fun and entertaining gift to help occupy bored hands and a busy mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
Love the series of these books- we actually got an autograph from the author when he wrote the first one! VERY good writing! Keep it up, Mr. Angleberger! (George Lucas, I hope you're paying attention! :) )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
My 9 year old daughter got hooked on these after Origami Yoda. This book is not a novel as it is more a graphic novel/how to doodle book that keeps her busy doodling and reading along with the same story line of these great characters. She loves to read and it was refreshing to happen upon this series that has more realistic (pretty hilarious) drama.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
Excellent book that inspires artistic practice. My 9 year old son spent hours reading this, trying out the activities and it even inspired him to make characters of his own. We have boxes full of origami characters, and he prefers to play with them rather than his store-bought toys.
And, of course, like all Tom Angleberger's books, it's a blast to read. His characters all a little nutty, yet totally relatable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse