Customer Reviews


724 Reviews
5 star:
 (501)
4 star:
 (146)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Christmas classic
What a great film. This will become a Christmas classic that gets played on tv at Christmas time for decades. It is a shame it did not do better at the American box office as this film is a classic. Me and my daughter have been waiting impatiently for this to come out on Blu Ray ever since we saw it last November in the theater. If you are looking for a new Christmas...
Published 24 months ago by Seb311

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average
the animation is good...the story lacks humor or fun...not a keeper...should've just rented...much cheaper in itunes or amazon online video..
Published 11 months ago by psp gamer


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Christmas classic, September 29, 2012
By 
Seb311 (Dothan, Alabama) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (Three Discs: Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
What a great film. This will become a Christmas classic that gets played on tv at Christmas time for decades. It is a shame it did not do better at the American box office as this film is a classic. Me and my daughter have been waiting impatiently for this to come out on Blu Ray ever since we saw it last November in the theater. If you are looking for a new Christmas classic to enjoy with your family and make apart of your family tradition, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Christmas Magic, October 25, 2012
By 
I took the kids to see this in the theater. They absolutely loved it. The colors and animation are wonderful. It's a heartfelt, modern family story that takes a look at how we can lose sight of what's important when computer gadgetry takes over society. The clever writing answers all those pesky questions about how Santa gets around the world in one night, keeps track of all the kids' letters, and how the toys are packed into the sleigh. This really brings the magic of Christmas alive. I highly recommend it to kids of all ages who love Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Delivers Christmas, October 29, 2012
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD)
The story is smart and the character animation is stellar. I can usually find something to quibble with in any movie but not this one. It's fun from start to heart-tugging finish. This one goes in the permanent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas is Good with Arthur CHristmas!, November 20, 2011
MOVIE NOTE #11: ARTHUR CHRISTMAS I went to see an Academy screening of this new Sony Pictures/Ardmen Production of "Arthur Christmas".

Directed by first time animated feaure film director Sarah Smith (mainly noted for her writing and producing of British TV) and co-written by her and her long-time writing partner Peter Baynham (noted for his writting of such films like the new Authur, and the two BORAT films) - they embark on a very very old tale with a very new and exciting twist! Arthur (Voiced by X-Men:First Class's and Gnomeo & Juliet's James McAvoy) is the youngest child of what is now the Santa 'Dynasty'. For generations Santa Claus's yearly duties have been passed down, apparently, from son to son. The next son in line for the current Santa (Voiced by Harry Potter's own Jim Broadbent) is supposed to be Steve (Voiced by the always surprising 'House' star Hugh Laurie who also played Dr. Cockroach in the animated Monster'Vs.'Aliens) - but both Steve and Santa has some real issues - the meaning of Christmas and what Santa really is all about!

The basic plot - SPOILER ALERT - one child is 'missed' - quite by accident - on Christmas Eve. The movie has an excelletly clever opening with the S-1 Santa Sleigh showing you how Santa presently deliveries 2 Billion presents in one night all over the world. The gags, the jokes, the stunts these elves perform are amazingly clever and funny. The traveling concepts from the new ship to the reindeer are also inventive. Then the film does slows down a bit for the first third and was a little thick in Britishisms....but by the 2nd act and completely through the end the film gains a momentous heart! We learn the true meaning of Santa through Arhur and his grumpy yet strainght-to-the-point 'GrandSanta' (his Grandfather voiced by the ever changing voices of Pirates of the Carabbean's own Bill Nighy) There are some great magical dust gags and some hysterical pet moments as well as an incredible heart warming feeling build up that Christmas is not just Santa and presents but that it all comes from the heart - even Santa's.

Also you should note some of the talents voices that also appear as the many Elves in the movie - they include Michael Palin, Robbie Coltrane, Joan Cusack, Andy Serkis and even Eva Longoria as the chief of the Military (yes the world wants to attack Santa because they think he's an alien invasion - that sequence is hysterical) and Laura Linney as the North Pole Computer Voice. An amazingly fun, family and entertaining film - especially for the kids - but adults will walk out with a tear in their eye. Really. In speaking with the production designer Soviet born Evgeni Tomov (who also did the animated film The Tales of Despereaux') and the director - this movie was not intended to be in 3D, but the Studio loved its process and it's production and decided this would be a good 3D addition to their film library. This should definately become a Holiday favorite for DVD families everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent and timeless movie, October 27, 2012
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD)
I haven't seen such a great movie in a long time. This movie made me cry and laugh at the same time. This is bound to be a new Christmas classic. A must see for adults and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Gwen ... There Is A Santa Claus., November 10, 2012
By 
Sheryl Fechter (Northern Illinois, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Operation: Santa Claus Is Coming To Town"... Is beautifully directed by Sarah Smith. She spins out a whole new animated theme of the Christmas scene, headed-up at and coming out of the North Pole. What's first asked is: Just who is actually in charge up there? It would be either the current Santa Claus (Jim Broadbent), who comes down through the generations with each Claus portrait hung on the wall, or the up-and-coming, heir-apparent, eldest son, Steve (Hugh Laurie).

While the current Santa (usually awaiting a nap) is more of a position-holder up-north, Steve is in complete control with a militarily disciplined style. With the elves, and everything that needs doing, he's hyped for "efficiency and productivity". The younger and kinder son, Arthur (James McAvoy), obviously operates from the heart. He's in charge of receiving all the letters to Santa and making sure the children are getting what they need; he believes that Santa is the "Greatest Man Ever".

In a quaint town in England, little apple-cheeked Gwen slips her annual letter to Santa Claus into the post box with the highest of hopes. She begins an opening monologue asking a whole lot of questions about, and of, Santa Claus: "Why?"-this and "Why?"-that, including her doubts of whether or not he is even real. Her friend told her otherwise while Gwen... Still Believes!

We see an entirely orchestrated Christmas Eve night enfold... Steve is at the helm and in the complete direction of all 'operations'. His father is Santa, and he's delivering the toys along with the new, high-tech elves ('1st. Field Elves Battalion'). Steve is choreographing everything behind the scenes, to the most minute of detail. Upon Santa's return to the North Pole, following so much action, the counts are tallied and everything stands as... "Mission Accomplished".

This is with the one exception. We soon discover, after Santa's family finishes their Christmas meal around the table, that a child was forgotten. That child just happens to be Gwen. She didn't receive her toy and she is still fast asleep. Arthur is deeply disturbed by this, as he is the one who read her letter, and Santa's own father is also as upset with this situation. Wisecracking Grandsanta (Bill Nighy) is old-school and came before this new, ultra-controlled way of handling Christmas and handling the children. He may be a lot of things, although he genuinely cares and also for Arthur's position as the 'Number Two Son' in the family. He misses the old ways and traditions held throughout his own generation of being the Head Claus.

Arthur and Grandsanta join forces and switch back to the old sleigh (endeared "Evie") and reindeer team in favor of this new, high-flying, techno-ride that Santa is using now. The two of them, along with an elf friend, take off to find the sleeping, and still believing, Gwen. The race is on...

There is plenty to see in this film with the animation and picture quality vividly done. The Christmas Eve scene at the very beginning is Hyperactive; with the elves in unison performing their tasks, jumping off of suspended ropes that seemingly hang from the sky, skiing all over, and viewing through green-glowing, night vision goggles. The North Pole is so well represented by color, light and hustling and bustling everywhere. Even the dark blue night skies are blanketed in grand style, with a gorgeous mantle of shimmering stars. A truly happy Christmas movie that we enjoyed immensely! Merry Arthur Christmas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie for family!, February 7, 2012
This movie was so much fun to watch with my 2 children! My autistic son absolutely LOVED the movie!! Arthur Christmas was well written and very well presented to the audience. Only problem I have is that my son has been asking for the DVD since November! :) When will it come out!!??? Enjoy the movie families!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie! Love that British humor.., October 22, 2012
Loved this movie, I saw it with my young Daugher at the theater. When my Daughter saw the scene with the space ship and all the elves dropping from the ropes to deliver the toys, she turned to me and said "so that's how they do it".. I almost had tears in my eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yup that's right, October 27, 2012
By 
Gamer and reviewer (los angeles california) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD)
I agree with all these 5 star reviews ,this is one of the greatest Christmas movies i have ever seen ,don't miss out on this one it is extremely well made .haven't seen a wonderful movie like this in a very long time ,wow what a treat ,i wish more movies would be like this one ,this stands head and shoulders above the rest ,watch it now!get it rent it buy it on dvd or blu ray as soon as it comes out to watch in time for Christmas ,you won't regret it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, December 8, 2011
i watch loads of children movies and with my twin sons, and this has to be one of the best i have seen yet, next to The lion King, Ratatouille and Kung Fu Panda. LOL moments through the whole movie, happy-sad moments brought tears to my wife and my eyes

a must see movie cant wait to get on DVD

Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arthur Christmas (Three Discs: Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
$55.99 $35.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.