Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost World Fun
This is very loosely based on "The Lost World" written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. So loose that if you took away the character names it would pretty much lose all resemblance. That however does not take away from the wonderful stories and characters. The acting is quite good and the sets, special effects, and music are better than adequate. The dinosaurs may not be up to...
Published on February 29, 2004 by C. A. Luster

versus
83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be FOREWARNED
Buyers beware: The versions of The Lost World on DVD are NOT the original pay-per-view versions that aired on DirecTV before they aired in syndication on WGN and local stations. The original DTV versions contained nudity and other extended content, while the scenes were obviously edited down or replaced for syndication. The DVD producers should have used the original...
Published on November 21, 2008 by Moski1213


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost World Fun, February 29, 2004
This review is from: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Lost World - Season One (DVD)
This is very loosely based on "The Lost World" written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. So loose that if you took away the character names it would pretty much lose all resemblance. That however does not take away from the wonderful stories and characters. The acting is quite good and the sets, special effects, and music are better than adequate. The dinosaurs may not be up to Jurassic Park standards, but they are fairly good. My whole family enjoys this series. Devout fans of the book may find it a let down, but anyone that enjoys light TV series like Hercules with Kevin Sorbo, Zena, or Mutant-X should find it fun. Even fans of more in depth series like Stargate SG-1 will probably like it.

The set includes six slender cased DVDs with twenty-two episodes. It is 16 hours and 8 minutes of entertainment. The first two seasons have all the original cast. The cast includes Peter McCauley as Professor George Challenger, Rachel Blakely as Marguerite Krux, Will Snow as Lord John Roxton, David Orth as Ned Malone, Jennifer O'Dell as Veronica, and Michael Sinelnikoff as Dr. Summerlee. After that the Australian TV industry intervened with tax laws at the the end of the second season, both Ned and Veronica had to be guest stars and the series started to go down hill after that. I highly recommend the first two seasons. The picture and sound quality is good and although the set does not includes any extras it is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be FOREWARNED, November 21, 2008
By 
Moski1213 "Ray" (Western Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Lost World - Season One (DVD)
Buyers beware: The versions of The Lost World on DVD are NOT the original pay-per-view versions that aired on DirecTV before they aired in syndication on WGN and local stations. The original DTV versions contained nudity and other extended content, while the scenes were obviously edited down or replaced for syndication. The DVD producers should have used the original episodes instead of the edited ones, in order to create more value for the DVDs. In fact, this point is never even mentioned on the box or packaging.

There's nothing worse than a DVD of a TV series that does not include uncut episodes, and that goes for network TV DVDs too. I'd rather have had the choice of seeing TLW uncut than to be stuck with ONLY the syndicated versions that most people saw. There's a huge audience of people that never saw the show as it was originally intended, and the show is unlikely to ever be released again, and that's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertaining loose adaptation of Conan Doyle work, September 1, 2004
This review is from: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Lost World - Season One (DVD)
I had no idea what to expect from this show when I first programmed it into my TiVo as a Season Pass. The inclusion of one of my favorite filmmakers John Landis and the alluring physical beauty of Jennifer O'Dell (as Veronica) had attracted me to the title at my local video store. But I had resisted purchasing it, unsure of the quality and if the premise from the Conan Doyle story (which I read years ago) could sustain a full-blown weekly adventure series.

I need not have worried. Currently in syndication on the cable channel TNT, `The Lost World' is well acted and features some of the best dialogue written for the genre on television and although Peter McCauley receives top billing on the show, nearly every episode is stolen by William Snow as the adventurer Lord John Roxton and his interplay with Rachel Blakely as Marguerite.

Indeed Blakely's character goes through a transformation as the series continues. In the initial episodes she is a clearly motivated by self interest - she trades Veronica's freedom for her own in the second episode `Stranded' - yet later she becomes more of a team player and more sympathetic.

Of course the presentation of the impossibly beautiful Jennifer O'Dell on the cover of the DVD set (and down the spine of both the first and second season sets) highlights another attraction the show holds. Playing a character searching for lost parents she displays physical prowess and a defiant charm all the while skimpily clad - I don't recall such a character appearing in the work of Conan Doyle.

Another crowd pleaser is the dinosaurs and special effects which are quite well done by television standards. The team are menaced by everything from ape men to raptors to human eating plants and the occasional t-rex.

The story - for those that are unfamiliar with either the show, movies or Conan Doyle novel - concerns a group at the turn of the 20th century who travel to a mysterious plateau deep in the Amazon jungle. There they discover dinosaurs and embark on all manner of adventures.

Handsomely produced and endlessly entertaining this is a fun series and should please fans of the genre (and fans of Jennifer O'Dell).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An opinion from northern CA, October 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
This is an excellent series popular with viewers of all ages, varied backgrounds, and all over the world. Loyal fans have been waiting a long time for these DVDs. If you like strong characterization, attractive characters, great action and adventure, this is a good fit for you. A convention was recently held for the show, and fans were privileged to meet three of the actors and two of the writers--wonderful people. The show is NOT officially cancelled, by the way, as of this date. The term is "delayed," as there are people working to bring it back to television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lover of "The Lost World" tv series, December 20, 2003
By 
Carol L. Murdock (West Bloomfield, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Lost World - Season One (DVD)
How do you encapsulate a great series like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's: The Lost World?
I will certainly give it my best try.
This series has it all - action, adventure, romance, comedy and drama.
Season One starts things off with the aptly named episode "The Journey Begins". Our explorers Prof. George Challenger, Lord John Roxton, Ned Malone, Prof. Arthur Summerlee and Marguerite Krux are taken in by Veronica Layton (a young woman whose parents disappeared 11 yrs before and grew up alone on the mysterious plateau). The stranded group realizes getting off the plateau and back to London is no easy task (luckily for us). You'd think dinosaurs would be their biggest problem - think again. They encounter slavers, ape-men, cannibals, headhunters and raiders, just to name a few. I think all the episodes have something to offer but here are a few of my choices as standouts.
"Cave of Fear" delves into Roxton's guilt over his brothers' death by his own hand.
"Out of Time" sheds some light on Marguerite's destiny.
"Prodigal Father" Veronica is confronted with the possible return of her father.
"Absolute Power" Challenger is transferred extraordinary powers and the consequences are devastating.
"Birthright" finds Summerlee hunted by an angry T-rex.
"Camelot" takes you back to the days of jousting and dragon slaying or should I say dinosaur slaying.
"The Beast Within" Malone tries to rectify an error in judgment.
"More Than Human" introduces one of the more charismatic recurring characters named Tribune (he also shows up in "Barbarians at the Gate" and again in Season Two).

From "The Journey Begins" where they are still getting a feel for one another to "Barbarians at the Gate" where they would die for each other - you'll follow these characters through many trials of courage and strength. It's a journey you'll be glad you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD to add to your Collection: The Lost World, October 12, 2003
By 
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
I have been watching this show for a year now and have seen them all and love it. The dvd is going to be something you'll want to get if you love dinosaurs, babes, and guns. with the whole first series here you'll get lots of everything. The show about explorers stuck in a world of dinosaurs and supernatural forces started in 1999 and has yet to be canceled. it is currently in a wierd hiatus..but could still come back. Get this dvd right away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raves about The Lost World, October 12, 2003
By 
"cap1021" (Minnetonka, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
This is the series that could(it's in a delayed mode and not cancelled). The episodes are a combination of fiction/fantasy -- old fashioned adventures and singular fun. Did I mention great acting, too. The second Annual Convention with guest stars David Orth(Ned Malone), Jennifer O'Dell(Veronica Layton) and William Snow(Lord John Roxton) just took place(and the Creative Consultants to the Show Judy and Gar Reeves-Stevens)also were in attendance. What a following this show has and it gets bigger each week. The word is out...this is Drama...this is Grand Entertainment...this is afterall "The Lost World"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific sci-fi/fantasy series, October 14, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
The Lost World, loosely based on Conan Doyle's novel of the same name, is a terrific action/adventure sci fi show. It's the characters and the relationships that really set this show apart from others of its genre, though. It features excellent stories and a great cast. As of this writing, a fourth season of the show is still a possibility. I highly recommend these DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure, Drama, Comedy & Romance in TLW!, October 13, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
This is a great show currently awaiting a 4rth Season!! True fans are keeping fingers, toes and other appendages crossed. And we shall continue to do so until we hear word. This show is NOT cancelled so don't even think it. The "fat dino" (sorry) has not yet sung.
We were told lots of "extras", including footage from 2003 TLW convention will be in this DVD package. Also -- bloopers! Just can't resist those!! And MORE.
However, the true thrill is in getting the first season of The Lost World TV series, with all the great regular characters including Challenger, Roxton, Marguerite, Malone, Veronica and Prof. Summerlee ... and seeing how it all started!!
This is a don't miss!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving The Lost World, October 14, 2003
This review is from: LOST WORLD SEASON 1 (DVD)
This fantastic series is a combination of action,adventure &romance with an incredibly talented cast and crew. It has breathtakingly beautiful scenery shot on location on Australia's Gold Coast and has something for everyone of all ages. It is a great show to watch with the entire family. I highly recommend it, not only for the superb acting and talented writing, but
because this show is just plain fun to watch. The characters draw you in to the story and leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Lost World - Season One
Used & New from: $53.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.