Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwball Comedy at its Best
When Arthur came out in 1981, I thought the trailers looked stupid. But I finally broke down and saw the film. I was not in the best of moods walking into the theatre but was smiling from ear to ear walking out. This is one of the funniest films ever.

Arthur Bock (Dudley Moore) is the quintessential spoiled second generation millionaire. He has never had to...
Published on December 6, 2005 by Movie Mania

versus
49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Poor DVD
This is a nice DVD, if you don't mind that 27.9 percent of the original theatrical image has been removed for the DVD exhibition, so that the DVD image fills your entire 4:3 television screen (theatrical aspect ratio - 1.85:1; DVD aspect ratio - 4:3). If you're okay with that, enjoy!
Published on January 31, 2005 by RW


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwball Comedy at its Best, December 6, 2005
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
When Arthur came out in 1981, I thought the trailers looked stupid. But I finally broke down and saw the film. I was not in the best of moods walking into the theatre but was smiling from ear to ear walking out. This is one of the funniest films ever.

Arthur Bock (Dudley Moore) is the quintessential spoiled second generation millionaire. He has never had to work a day in his life. He has his own penthouse suite complete with running trains and butler. Arthur's favorite pastime is getting drunk and embarrassing the upper-class.

We first see Arthur as he is being chauffeured through the red light district. He picks up a profession (her friend gets $50 for coming in second). He takes her to a fancy restaurant, saying she is a princess from a small country (so small that last year the recarpeted the entire country!). The next morning enter Hobson (John Gielguld), an acerbic British butler. He has the perfect one line response to any situation.

Arthur is summoned by his father. The edict is given that Arthur must marry the daughter of dad's business rival or be cut off from his inheritance. Arthur's answer to that is to go shopping and spend more of dad's money. There he spies a quirky shoplifter, Linda Marolla (Liza Minnelli). Something about her interests Arthur and he pursues her.

Eventually, reality wins out and Arthur must come to terms with his pending nuptials. Now this leads to the funniest scenes of the film. First is when Hobson realizes that Arthur really loves Linda and goes to her apartment to tell to go to the engagement party. (Best Line: "Please get me two aspirin. You will find them on the second shelf of the medicine cabinet behind the unused shave cream.") Next is when Linda shows up at the engagement party. (Best Line: "I was in the neighborhood, it took two taxi's, a bus and a train. But I was in the neighborhood") Finally, is the wedding that completely falls apart.

This was one of the best written comedies with one liners that are still being repeated. Dudley Moore gives his best performance ever. Unfortunately, it was too good and most people thought that he was like Arthur. Liza showed she inherited her mother's comic timing. But the film was stolen by John Gielguld. Gielguld deservedly won an Oscar for his perfect performance. Also notable is Ted Ross (Tony winner as the Cowardly Lion in The Wiz) as the chauffer and Geraldine Fitzgerald as Arthur's hard as nails grandmother. Oh and don't forget the great theme song!!

The only negative of the DVD is it is only available in full frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Charming, Witty, and Wonderful, March 27, 2002
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
Nope, I'm not talking merely about Arthur, the hapless drunk millionaire playboy played so perfectly by Dudley Moore, but ARTHUR, the wonderful 1981 film directed by Steve Gordon. Although I eventually got tired of hearing the overplayed "Arthur's Theme" on the radio back in the early '80's, I really have not tired of watching this movie. It has aged surprisingly well for a film that makes such good use of the New York City locations that existed at that time (not to mention the quaint old taxicabs). This is a film with a basic romantic plot that deals primarily with how love wins over money; however, this film never takes its own plot too seriously. Instead, it has much more fun with the assorted *characters*, like Arthur Bach (Dudley Moore), Linda Marolla (Liza Minnelli), the wisecracking butler Hobson (hilariously played by the wonderful Sir John Gielgud, who deservedly won a Best Supporting Actor Oscar for this), Arthur's dominating mother Martha Bach (Geraldine Fitzgerald), Arthur's WASP-y bride-to-be Susan Johnson (a pre-L.A. Law Jill Eikenberry), Susan's brutish father Burt Johnson (Stephen Elliott), and, of course, Bitterman, Arthur's Chauffer (Ted Ross, in a much better role than the Cowardly Lion he played in the big-budget 1978 misfire THE WIZ). Some of dialogue is classic, especially between Arthur and Hobson! Also, this is arguably the last great movie that Liza has ever starred in.
ARTHUR is one of the great comedies that most of the family can enjoy. However, it's not really for kids under age 10, as the language is fairly racy and major plot points involve prostitutes, shoplifting, and in the case of the perpetually inebriated Arthur, alcoholism. In fact, when it was released, many people criticized this film for turning alcoholism into one big running joke, as well as glamorizing it. This is what prompted the much-later sequel, ARTHUR 2: ON THE ROCKS, in which Arthur finally gets to experience the dark side of his habit. Despite its sober theme, it was actually quite funny in its own right. Still, the original is better, and is one of the great films of the 1980's. MOST RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Poor DVD, January 31, 2005
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
This is a nice DVD, if you don't mind that 27.9 percent of the original theatrical image has been removed for the DVD exhibition, so that the DVD image fills your entire 4:3 television screen (theatrical aspect ratio - 1.85:1; DVD aspect ratio - 4:3). If you're okay with that, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, but...., July 19, 2004
By 
Jesus Garza (Hidalgo, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
Why is it that such a great movie, it was made only in full screen and horrible sound?
I had my home theater at its loudest and I could barely hear it.
Great movie, wrong format, horrible sound!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Bad It's Full Screen, November 20, 2003
By 
lio (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
Although the cinematography is not the best part of this movie, I guess most people would still want to see it in its entirety, not in its modified full screen format, which happens to this US release. To get this movie in widescreen, buy the UK release instead, and this is really too bad for a movie which is American. 2 stars deducted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flippin' Sweet!, November 16, 2005
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
No one doesn't love this movie. Classic. A lot of fun quotes, you'll be repeating lines from this movie for the rest of your life, and it gets funnier the more you watch it. Here are a few of my personal favorites:

"He's taking the knife out of the cheese! You think he wants some cheese?!"

"Arthur take my hand."

"But that would leave you with one."

"A real woman could get you to stop drinking."

"It'd have to be a real big woman."

"Don't you hate Perry's wife?"

"Pardon me miss... Oh, you're a hedge!"

Sometimes I wonder how much was improvised. It's a very fun movie, and "isn't fun the best thing to have?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I wish I had a dime for every dime I have...", September 21, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
How could anyone NOT love this movie? The first time I was introduced to Arthur, was in 1984. I was 9 years old & I absolutely loved it. Hobson's one liners alone are worth the price of the DVD. "Steal something casual..." It is still just as funny today as the first time I've watched it. More so has I've grown older considering I was able to comprehend the jokes that had originally gone over my head. Barney Martin was HILARIOUS as Linda's father, Dudley Moore was excellent as Arthur but Sir John Gielgud absolutely took the cake as Hobson. This is the kind of movie that is impossible to pass up if you are channel surfing. I have seen it dozens of times & it never fails to make me laugh hysterically every time. 5 stars are just not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy, October 31, 2007
By 
D. Lucas (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
The one movie that deserves a 25th anniversary, widescreen, special features, out-takes and commentary....and where is it? One of the funniest comedies of all time. Come on whoever owns this copyright. Make it happen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Message to all of you Moron DVD Companies, March 14, 2009
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
When it is in the Original 1.85:1 Aspect Ratio, I'll buy it

Till then, KEEP IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Chemistry, November 17, 2000
By 
Gaby Moore (Bronx, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur (DVD)
The chemistry between Dudley Moore and Sir John Gielgud is superb. Both veterans of the British stage, their timing is impeccable. One would never think that a Shakespearian-trained performer like Gielgud could do comedy on this style. I don't believe that actors should compete for awards, but Sir John definatly deserved his Oscar for this one. The only regrets I have with the DVD version is that it's not in widescreen. I wonder why? I hope it one day does come out in this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arthur
Arthur by Steve Gordon (DVD - 1997)
$5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.