Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melancholic road movie with great performances
Imagine my surprise when out of the blue and without any pre-release buzz or ads this movie showed on a single screen for all of Greater Cincinnati this weekend. I figured that this will not stick around very long and hence I went to see it right away.

"Arthur Newman" (2013 release; 100 min.) brings the story of a man (played by Colin Firth) who is in the...
Published 19 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie with great acting that is worth watching but be prepared. It's a little depressing. I do recommend though. I say B
"So you just ditched Wallace Avery for a total strangers half baked promise?" Wallace Avery (Firth) is a divorced man who hates his job and his life. Wanting to start fresh he decides to stage his own death and head to Indiana to become a golf teacher. Changing his name to Arthur Newman he is on his way when he meets a woman named Mike (Blunt). Both on the run from their...
Published 15 months ago by Tony Heck


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melancholic road movie with great performances, April 27, 2013
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
Imagine my surprise when out of the blue and without any pre-release buzz or ads this movie showed on a single screen for all of Greater Cincinnati this weekend. I figured that this will not stick around very long and hence I went to see it right away.

"Arthur Newman" (2013 release; 100 min.) brings the story of a man (played by Colin Firth) who is in the dumps: he just got fired from his job, his ex-wife does not care for him, and his 13 yr. old son hates the mere sight of him. As the movie opens, we see Colin Firth acquiring a new identity, actually someone who passed away a few years ago named Arthur Newman. He then fakes his own death and takes off, as a "new man". Arthur plans on driving from Florida to Terre Haute, IN, where a job as a golf instructor awaits. But on his first night on the road, he makes the acquaintance of a young woman (played by Emily Blunt), who herself is running away from her own troubles, and using her twin sister's identity ("Mike") along the way. Mike decides to join Arthur on the trip to Indiana. To tell you much more of the plot would ruin your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Several comments: first, this is a road movie for the most part, as we follow the two main characters from motel to hotel, and from town to town, on their way to Indiana. Second, the main characters are engulfed in melancholy as on the one hand they are running away from something, yet at the same time are pining for love and someone who understands their problems. Both performances from Colin Firth and Emily Blunt are ace from start to finish. Blunt has been on an incredible run recently (just last year alone I saw her in Your Sister's Sister, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, Looper and the Five Year Engagement, and she shone in just about all of them), and she continues that hot streak in this movie.

This movie gathered positive buzz last Fall when it premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival, and I had been waiting eagerly to see it. The screening I saw this at here in Cincinnati was not particularly well attended, and so I doubt this will stick around long in the theaters. That said, I enjoyed this movie quite a bit, and if you are in the mood for something where things don't blow up every 5 minutes, I would readily recommend "Arthur Newman".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fake Your Death; Hit the Road, April 25, 2013
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
Be careful what you wish for! Sometimes the dream is far better than the reality, but it is the dream that drives our eponymous hero to plan and execute some drastic action. This R-rated dramedy is more drama than comedy; furthermore, if you have any trouble hearing dialogue, you might want to consider closed captions, either in a theater, or wait for the DVD. You don't want to miss the finer points in this plot.

We watch:
* Colin Firth ("A Single Man" and "The King's Speech") speaking American (!), is Arthur Newman, a frustrated wanna-be golf pro who, after a down-hill slide, has decided to reinvent himself. "New man," get it? He cleverly fakes his own death and hits the road.
* Emily Blunt ("Your Sister's Sister") also speaking American, is Mike, a young woman with nothing to lose. She encounters our hero on the road and they proceed to go adventuring...
* Anne Heche ("Cedar Rapids") is Mena, the girl he left behind. She knows he's boring, but she loves him anyway.
* Lucas Hedges ("Moonrise Kingdom") is Grant, our hero's son. It turns out that he is the most compelling reason for Arthur Newman to re-think his decision.

As our couple journeys on, they break into people's houses and take on the personalities (and clothes!) of the occupants. They are far more comfortable being someone else than being themselves. The tagline is: "If you don't have a life, get someone else's." They find this great...until it isn't.

This is no light-hearted romp, but we are in the hands of pros. Both Firth and Blunt are wonderful actors, so there is no quibble about the quality of their work. I would like... Maybe... Oh, I don't know WHAT I would like... Maybe the DVD from Amazon will help me decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie with great acting that is worth watching but be prepared. It's a little depressing. I do recommend though. I say B, August 27, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
"So you just ditched Wallace Avery for a total strangers half baked promise?" Wallace Avery (Firth) is a divorced man who hates his job and his life. Wanting to start fresh he decides to stage his own death and head to Indiana to become a golf teacher. Changing his name to Arthur Newman he is on his way when he meets a woman named Mike (Blunt). Both on the run from their own lives the begin to assume other people's identities but memories of their old lives begin to creep back up. This movie first and foremost has great acting and is very interesting and worth watching. On the other hand though it is a little slow in parts and seems repetitive. This is a movie of fiction but has the feel of a true story. I do recommend this movie but it isn't really a movie you can watch over and over because it is pretty depressing. It's hard to talk about this movie with out giving anything away and it really is a pretty good movie but don't expect a happy movie. Overall, a good movie with great acting that is worth watching but be prepared. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A roller coaster of emotions, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
When I saw the preview of this film I decided there and then I had to see it. Although a little downbeat in the beginning as it goes along it becomes a great film with a roller coaster of emotions. Both leads Colin Firth and Emily Blunt are British and they transform themselves into being Americans. The casting is inspired and although I do not think this film will get the viewing it deserves it is in my library and I will watch it again. It is a a gem of a film and am sure that when you have seen it you will enjoy. So go on get it and take the trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully acted human drama, October 15, 2013
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
The story is fairly simple: two wounded souls connect in an unexpected way and take a road trip together. They are opposites: he is middle aged, middle class, moralistic and boring. She is young, an accomplished lock-picker and occasional kleptomaniac. What they have in common is that both are running away from their true identities. They have adventures, some of which are quite funny and of course they fall in love. I won't tell any more.

Colin Firth is superb, as usual. Some of his facial expressions break your heart. Emily Blunt is wonderful and every bit his match. The film is low-key, not a comedy and if you want a lot of action you'll be disappointed. But if you want a carefully told, sensitively acted human story, this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cast Can't Rescue an Uninspired Script, January 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
In this film, Colin Firth plays a man who flees his life in Florida and takes on a new identity, that of Arthur Newman. On his way to Indiana, "Arthur" meets another person living under an assumed name, "Michaela" Fitzgerald (Emily Blunt), and the two become involved. The premise behind the film was interesting and I wanted to like "Arthur Newman," but was disappointed.

I gave it a chance because Firth and Blunt are A-listers who have been great in everything they've been in--both of them did a creditable job considering the script, which I thought was just slow-moving with an underdeveloped plot. Even the key scenes, exchanges, and attempts at humor fell flat, and it just seemed as though this was only about 60 or 70 percent of a movie. This wasn't the worst film I've ever seen, but is certainly forgettable. Rated R for adult content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Furth can pull anything off, September 29, 2013
By 
Monhegan Monarch (Coastal Maine USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I took a chance on this film because of the actors. Interesting story line - pulled me into it. Enjoyed it, despite some misgivings midway.
Not the usual Hollywood nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Newman review, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie involving a journey of self discovery on the important aspects of life. As always Colin Firth provides his superb acting skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great acting with an interesting plot. Colin Firth and Emily Blunt were well cast. Definitely not a comedy, heavy drama at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem of a Movie, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur Newman (DVD)
Quiet, thoughtful little gem of a movie. Colin Firth and Emily Blunt deliver solid performances.
Finding each other helped them find themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arthur Newman
Arthur Newman by Dante Ariola
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.