Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tug at Your Heart Life Lessons
Despite the useful lesson that Americans enjoy the holiday season differently, the true gem of this story is the soothing way things can work out, even when they are not going the way you had hoped. ARTHUR'S PERFECT CHRISTMAS is really a story about how all of us get wound up for this time of the year, fantasize about it and become crushed when it's not so picture...
Published on December 10, 2000 by W. E. Fleming

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arthur's Perfect Christmas
Marc Brown's Arthur is very popular with young people. It is usually well written. However, I found Arthur's Christmas lacking. I thought at first a page was missing. The story did not flow well and felt like he was trying to cram everything about the winter holiday season into a 32 page book. I found it much too busy. It seemed rushed and not well thought out.
Published on December 10, 2000 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arthur's Perfect Christmas, December 10, 2000
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
Marc Brown's Arthur is very popular with young people. It is usually well written. However, I found Arthur's Christmas lacking. I thought at first a page was missing. The story did not flow well and felt like he was trying to cram everything about the winter holiday season into a 32 page book. I found it much too busy. It seemed rushed and not well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tug at Your Heart Life Lessons, December 10, 2000
By 
W. E. Fleming (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
Despite the useful lesson that Americans enjoy the holiday season differently, the true gem of this story is the soothing way things can work out, even when they are not going the way you had hoped. ARTHUR'S PERFECT CHRISTMAS is really a story about how all of us get wound up for this time of the year, fantasize about it and become crushed when it's not so picture perfect. Our children, ages 8 and almost 4, shuddered when Arthur accidently broke the beautiful gift he had chosen for his mom--only to be buoyed by his Uncle's surprise gesture. They also watched intently as the typically spoiled Muffy finds that despite having received many Christmas gifts, what she wants most is a resurrection of her fractured friendship with Francine.
This story spends much energy on getting kids to understand that different families celebrate the holiday in different ways, from Hanukkah to Kwanzaa. Because Arthur fans never knew before that Arthur was a Christian, Francine a Jew and the Brain an African-American, it at first seems "stretched-to-fit", a little forced. The lesson, however, is invaluable because human beings even in similiar faiths and cultures do not necessarily celebrate in similiar ways. While this is an vital lesson of its own, it is ultimately trumped by one that all us can recognize and share, that is friendship and compassion towards others can prevail. It can make any holiday disappointment seem "perfect."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly cut down from TV script, January 16, 2004
By 
C. Virtue (Chelmsford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
It's clear that the book is an attempt to fit a whole TV special into a book. It's done poorly, and there even are characters who appear without explaination in the last few pages! I'd skip this book and buy others from the Arthur series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT MARC BROWN'S BEST WORK, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
my 3 year old is the biggest arthur fan and we have way too many of the books. we bought him this book for christmas and i was so disappointed in the way it was written. it jumps from character to character and there isn't a very good plot. why can't christmas be christmas, i felt that marc brown spent way to much time trying to cram every other winter holiday into a christmas book that he missed the "marc"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very colorful book, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
This book is a lot of fun to read, the pictures are colorfully drawn and the story line is basically the same as the TV show. My kids take along time reading this book because of the detail in the pictures. Yes, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Christmas Story Featuring Arthur, November 26, 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's three days until Christmas, and Arthur doesn't see how he could possibly be happy. For one, there's no snow, and you can't possibly have a perfect Christmas without snowmen, snow angels, and snowflakes falling from the sky. Two, his Father has decided to cook a Middle Eastern meal, instead of the traditional turkey dinner that almost everyone eats on Christmas. And three, the wonderful present he bought for his Mother is now broken, all because Arthur was too careless when bringing it downstairs. Now, the one holiday that's supposed to be perfect, is going down in flames, and Arthur can't do anything to stop it.

I have never seen the ARTHUR'S PERFECT CHRISTMAS television special on PBS, but I found that the book was quite enjoyable. Especially for those who want their children to learn about Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa, as there are mentions of all of these holidays wrapped up in this short holiday story. Filled with lovely illustrations, this book is sure to capture everyone's heart around the holidays. A must-have!

Erika Sorocco

Book Review Columnist for The Community Bugle Newspaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly transcribed from the movie, January 9, 2014
By 
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
This book has the potential to be a wonderful story with lovely illustrations however the book seems more like a poorly transcribed movie and not a story. It jumps from one character to another more like scenes of a movie, it doesn't flow smoothly like a story for young children should. There is no focus making it difficult for younger kids to follow. "Grandpa Dave" randomly shows up without introduction/explanation towards the end of the book. I think it would be much nicer if it was divided into several books so we could explore some of the different character's stories more deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
I bought this for my classroom to read to them at the holiday season and it was great. I even got the movie to go along with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Christmas, March 11, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a great book about Christmas! In the book Arthur wanted everything to be
perfect. Arthur decorated the tree. He also got a present for his mom and
dad. Unfortunately, the present broke. Arthur learned what the best thing about
Christmas really is. Read this book to find out what the best thing about Christmas is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, November 3, 2006
By 
This review is from: Arthur's Perfect Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a family favorite! I just ordered this book for the second time since the littlest sister in our family did some damage!! I would recommend it to anyone who is an Arthur fan!! You can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arthur's Perfect Christmas
Arthur's Perfect Christmas by Marc Brown (Hardcover - Oct. 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.