Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artie Lange - without the dump button
If John Belushi's character in Animal House had become a comedian, he would have been Artie Lange.

Artie Lange had been on both television (MAD TV) and in movies (most notably DIRTY WORK) before joining the Howard Stern show as Jackie the Jokeman's official replacement. It was Stern's show that has given him the most exposure.

The concert on this...
Published on February 11, 2005 by The Rocketman

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain At Under $10
Artie Lang certainly gives bang for the buck here. You get very good stand up, a short film of his, and behind the scenes footage. That's better than most DVDs.

This is typical Artie, he's usually pretty bombed, witty, and funny. During a skit where he expalins how he is the only white guy playing basket ball with blacks and uses a racial slur when asking one...
Published on July 18, 2005 by Raymond A. Mardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artie Lange - without the dump button, February 11, 2005
By 
The Rocketman (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
If John Belushi's character in Animal House had become a comedian, he would have been Artie Lange.

Artie Lange had been on both television (MAD TV) and in movies (most notably DIRTY WORK) before joining the Howard Stern show as Jackie the Jokeman's official replacement. It was Stern's show that has given him the most exposure.

The concert on this DVD was shot in April 2004 in Tempe, AZ and contains many inside references that Stern fans will recognize (including imitations of Jeff the Drunk and Artie's trademark AC/DC scream "FIRE!"). The show is fair and balanced and will equally offend both extremes on the political left and right. And while some of Artie's schtick here has already been on the Stern show, there are some great moments including his discussion of a street basketball game and his analysis of a classic Warner Bros. cartoon character. What's amazing is how many people in Arizona are tuned into Artie's distinct brand of New Jersey humor, right down to detailed descriptions of New York sports teams.

The DVD also contains 2 special features:

a) GAMEDAY, a short 17 minute film, made in 2000 and written by Artie. Artie's ease in front of the camera is apparent and really the only reason to watch this short. I think Artie included this on the DVD for sentimental reasons, it's the weak portion of the disc.

b) BACKSTAGE PASS, a 24 minute documentary following Artie to two of his concerts in New Jersey. The first show was in May 2004, the second show is June 2004 and was a benefit for the Rev. Bob Levy to raise money for his divorce expenses. Watching Artie here is like watching a train wreck: from shoveling down truckloads of processed meat to washing it down with his trademark Jack and water, the man is clearly in a lot of pain. And yet, the film is strangely compelling as you see that, despite years of living in Los Angeles and having become a national celebrity to Stern fans, Artie is the same guy who used to work the piers in New Jersey.

If you enjoy Artie on the Howard Stern show, you will enjoy this DVD. Maybe this will be more like the Artie we hear when Stern moves his show to "eh, eh, eh."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artie is hilarious!!, January 20, 2005
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
Fans of the Stern show will love this DVD, but it's definitely not for the faint of heart or for those easily offended. It is a way to enjoy Artie's uncensored stand up act in the comfort of home. You get the feeling that Artie might say or do anything after downing several shots, so actually going to a show might be a risk. You might get a great set or you may just get to watch a drunk act stupid. However, you can't go wrong for the price of this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artie Lange - Funnier Than Ever, August 28, 2005
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
This is an awesome DVD! Well worth it at any price. Amazon had it for less than anybody. Artie at his drunken funniest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain At Under $10, July 18, 2005
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
Artie Lang certainly gives bang for the buck here. You get very good stand up, a short film of his, and behind the scenes footage. That's better than most DVDs.

This is typical Artie, he's usually pretty bombed, witty, and funny. During a skit where he expalins how he is the only white guy playing basket ball with blacks and uses a racial slur when asking one of the other players to throw him the ball, I had to rewind several times until I finished laughing. Very funny stuff.

The overall feel of the DVD is somewhat amatuerish. It is not a high quality production, but it doesn't skimp on humor. If you're looking for a slick DVD made by a huge film crew, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a few good laughs at an affordable price, pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Artie, June 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
I'm not sure why this DVD has gotten some bad reviews. It was everything I expected it to be which was HILARIOUS and OFFENSIVE. That is the main reason Artie has a fan following. I haven't checked out the special features yet but the stand up set alone was well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok, January 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
He is much better to listen to on Howard Stern. I was not impressed by his standup, but I bet seeing him in real life would completely change my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artie Lange Rules, January 26, 2005
By 
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
I saw this - got it through a friend of the Stern show. Artie rules. This is the dvd you bring out the bong, shot glass and mushrooms and watch with your mom and dad. Its well worth the $11 - you'll watch it over and over. I don't understand how this guy isnt in a sitcom....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier Than Expected, May 25, 2005
By 
Reviewer X (Las Vegas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
I have been a fan of Artie Lange's since he was on MadTV. His appearences on the Conan O'Brien show were hysterical. So, when he took over the "Jackie Chair" on the Howard Stern Show I was thrilled. Of course with his success on the show it was obvious to all the regular listeners that Artie was going market something eventually. When word of the DVD first came out on the air I knew I would buy it, but I didn't hold out hopes that this would be a great stand-up act. I was wrong.

Artie's stand up was not only funny enough to make you laugh until you cried, but it was extremely original. The vast majortity of the act was funny, well-paced and at times even a little insightful. When it failed it is not for lack of trying, but some of the material isn't worked out very well. A classic bit is Artie's observations on Harry Carry.

Is it the best stand-up ever, no. Is it great, yes. Is it worth the money? Absolutely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Artie needs better material, May 31, 2005
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
Artie is a likable chap. He runs circles around JACKIE THE BROKE MAN MARTLING,and was a perfect addition to the Howard Stern crew. But, if this is his best standup stuff; He's not much of a comic. He is a funny feller, but alot of his bits drag. Lange is pretty fearless, saying the N-word, talking trash about gays, and admitting(as well as exploring) his many demons(problem gambling, problem drinking, problem coke snorting, problem crapping one's pants on smack). Great comics do have big ugly Demons-Maybe this DVD caught him on a crap night. He seems to be stalling many times...his pacing is wobbly. The crowd hoot and hollor, because they're a bunch of those "YEAAAH!!!!PARTY!!!!!LOOK AT ARTIE DRINK!!!!WHEEEW!!!!-type of turkeys. Maybe you should be drunk in order to fully appreciate this seemingly mediocre set. I like this DVD, but I think Artie has better stuff up his sleeve. Maybe im just a jerk. I dunno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for Howard fans, October 11, 2006
By 
Anthony DeVoe (Simi Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking (DVD)
I gotta admit, if I didn't know Artie from the Howard Stern show, I probably wouldn't like this as much as I do. But hearing Artie every day for the last five years, this pretty much exemplifies his greatest quality- being able to tell a funny story about his life.

He's not the best comedian around... not by a long shot... But he's a damn funny guy, and he is very open with himself- almost too open, like a flesh wound that you can't take your eyes off of sometimes.

I haven't watched the special features yet, but the standup video itself is easily worth the nine bucks that Amazon is asking for, especially if you already a fan of the guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking
Artie Lange - It's the Whiskey Talking by Artie Lange (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.