Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great low budget film
This is a film that isn't for everyone,if you don't like blue collar type sports comedies..you may want to skip this.Surprisingly well acted this comedy really gives you a glimpse into softball beer leagues all around the Tristate(NJ,NY,Conn.) area..some people here seem to rate this movie negatively because they dont like Howard Stern(or Artie Lange on the Stern show) or...
Published on January 3, 2007 by Black Cat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Minor Beer League
Pending who your trust for movie reviews, similar tastes and interests, sense of humor, my response that
it wasn't as good story or humor wise as it was lead up to be. Purchased and viewed it, traded it in at my
local movie store 2 days later.....
Published 13 months ago by Markie Mark


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great low budget film, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
This is a film that isn't for everyone,if you don't like blue collar type sports comedies..you may want to skip this.Surprisingly well acted this comedy really gives you a glimpse into softball beer leagues all around the Tristate(NJ,NY,Conn.) area..some people here seem to rate this movie negatively because they dont like Howard Stern(or Artie Lange on the Stern show) or they follow other lame morning radio shows but you can always rent this film and judge it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh-Out-Loud, Side-Splitting Funny, January 3, 2007
By 
Nicole Turner "Nikolai2000" (Claymont, DE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
I'm a huge Stern fan and saw this opening weekend. I laughed so much that I was in tears and my face and stomach hurt. This movie's not for everyone, but if you love raunchy, politically incorrect, nothing is sacred comedy, then you'll love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw it at the theater, bought it yesterday, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
I went to see this film, and laughed all the way through it. I took a friend who had never heard of Artie, and he laughed harder than I did. The writing is sharp, the jokes are cruel but effective, and portions of the film are so true-to-life that they look almost like a documentary.

This movie took a lot of flak from certain critics... who wouldn't know a good time if it bounced a ping pong ball off their head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy Nobody Saw, January 2, 2007
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
This movie didn't get the wide release it deserved. Horrible comedies are released nationally every month and very few have more laughs than Beer League. It just may end up gaining some post-DVD release notoriety, such as "Office Space" did a few years ago. This movie needs to be judged *as a comedy*. That is to say, it really isn't fair to criticize the intricacies of the plot. Take it for what it is: A good, raunchy, R-Rated comedy with enough great one liners and sight gags to entertain you for 90 minutes.

When Ralph Macchio's character orders an overly healthy lunch in front of his regular-guy Jersey buddies, who wouldn't laugh when Artie says, "In Massachusetts that order could marry a dude."?

By the way, it's easy to spot the Opie And Anthony losers that have come here to crap on this. They're the ones speaking broken English and have "Hoo Hoo" somewhere in their name or message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lewd, crude, offensive, and downright hilarious, June 24, 2007
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
For the purposes of my review of Beer League, I want you to forget about Howard Stern - more to the point, don't judge your potential enjoyment of this movie based on your dislike of the infamous shock jock. I for one do not care for Stern (and I had no idea Artie Lange was ever involved with the radio show), but I pretty much loved this movie. Sure, it's tasteless and juvenile and has to rank near the top in terms of its curse words per minute average (the MPAA's R rating is based on "non-stop language" among other things), but you know what? I say this is all about boys being boys - Jersey boys being Jersey boys, to be more exact. As a proud Southerner, I'm not naturally drawn to full-fledged Yankees, but you can't help but feel a kinship with real, 100% men like Artie and his gang who concentrate on the three B's: brewskis, baseball (or softball), and babes.

You know how some guys never grow up? Well, that's Artie DeVanzo in a nutshell. He's a thirty-something, beer-guzzling, unemployed lazy slob who lives with his mother (Roseanne's Laurie Metcalf) and is still all caught up in a high school rivalry with the slick and slimy Dennis Mangenelli (Anthony DeSando). Things get especially heated between their respective softball teams. This year, the police chief has had enough of breaking up the annual fisticuffs, so he decrees that whichever team finishes behind the other one will be thrown out of the beer league. This puts Artie and his buddies at quite a disadvantage, as they really aren't very good. Artie himself likes to smoke and drink out on the field. After an 0-5 start, though, the guys decide they might need to actually practice if they want to make a miracle comeback and give themselves a chance to knock out Mangenelli's team in the championship game.

Artie Lange is pretty funny, but he could never have carried this movie on his back; luckily, the supporting cast is very funny. Johnny Trinno (Jimmy Palumbo) always made me laugh with his play-by-play of his .700-chasing at bats, Cara Buono is great as Artie's used-goods but improbably attractive girlfriend, and Ralph Macchio proves he has put his annoying Karate Kid character completely behind him as he plays Artie's best friend Maz (who, in the spirit of the Jersey beer league, postponed his wedding until the end of the season).

Beer League is clearly a guys' movie; unless your girl likes to engage in belching contests and actually understands the basics of professional baseball, she probably ain't going to like this movie one single bit. It's not like Artie is a noble hero in disguise; he's a jerk for the most part (except when compared with Mangenelli), he's offensive in just about every way possible, and he's basically everything a woman isn't looking for in a man. For us guys, though, Artie's crude gestures and words, not to mention the give-and-take and acerbic dialogue that defines this movie, are oftentimes as funny as all get out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like beer or Howard Stern, you're not going to like this movie, January 3, 2007
By 
A. Berman "andybisme" (Long Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
Grab your bottle of Jack and box of Devil Dogs. This soon to be "cult-classic" will make you crack up and roll on the floor laughing. This movie is not going to win any awards. Yet it will be a movie that you will cherrish when you are drunk or just need a good lighthearted movie. Special bonus for the "pitching machine". This is a MUST SEE for Howard Stern fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Minor Beer League, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
Pending who your trust for movie reviews, similar tastes and interests, sense of humor, my response that
it wasn't as good story or humor wise as it was lead up to be. Purchased and viewed it, traded it in at my
local movie store 2 days later.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A REAL SURPRISE - Beer League is GREAT!, March 12, 2007
By 
W. Beck "Wil B." (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
If you're in the mood for a raunchy bad-language film about a bunch of softball-playing guidos from New Joisey, you can't do better than this little gem! Artie Lange wrote this movie and every 4th or 5th line is a joke. Who needs a complicated plot, when you've got this many jokes! There's got to be at least 30-40 laugh-out-loud lines in the movie....I stopped counting and just enjoyed it!

It looks like everyone had a good time making this one including veteran actor and Oscar nominee Seymour Cassel who is one of several scene stealers present.

The movie despite re-creating the actual raunchy language these athlete wannabes use, is quite sweet at heart...congrats to Artie and his director.

Beer League is not for the easily offended due to its constant adult language and situations. Nonetheless, if you have a good sense of humor and love a good raunchy joke.....this one is a Home Run & due to become some kind of comedy cult classic! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware Stern Fans...., May 16, 2007
By 
Michael A Rinaldi (APO, AP United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Howard Stern's radio show. Even though I am not particularly fond of Artie Lang's contribution to the radio show I wanted to see this film due to Stern's saying he laughed alot of lot when he watched it. I really wanted to like this film but unfortunately it was pretty bad. It has been 2 weeks and I still wonder how is it such a bad film gets made and break even.

I give it 2 stars because I was able to endure the film but I was not enjoying it and the end could not come soon enough. It wasn't so bad that I had to turn it off before the end BUT I definitely wouldn't have been oppossed to it.

Bottomline- If you are "curious" about this film and would like to see the film as I did, sure, that's fine...but if you are looking for more than fulfillment of your curiosity then don't bother. Then on the other hand if you are a Lange fan you will see it no matter what I say so hope you like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy...., September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio (DVD)
Boy, I'm from Jersey so I could appreciate the language. I sat there and laughed my butt off. Beside the crude bar scene this movie is funny...... A real Jerseyian will appreciate the humor..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Artie Lange's Beer League featuring Artie Lange & Ralph Macchio
$6.99 $5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.