Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing & Challenging Puzzle
A fantastic and beautifully constructed puzzle. The puzzle pieces themselves are works of art. Think you simply put the border together? Think again! This is not your mom's old jigsaw puzzle. Very impressive artwork and quality. This was the first wood puzzle I'd ever seen and it is very cool. A very creative and imaginative piece of work.
Published on June 1, 2009 by Viewfinder

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but lower quality than expected.
I love doing puzzles. When I discovered Artifact Puzzles I could not wait to order one. They are expensive, but I got an Amazon gift card and gave it a shot. It came in a nice wooden box. When taking the pieces out of the box I realized that some of the more jagged pieces were splintering and splitting between the layers of compressed board. This made some edges raise a...
Published on April 24, 2012 by bob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing & Challenging Puzzle, June 1, 2009
By 
Viewfinder (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
A fantastic and beautifully constructed puzzle. The puzzle pieces themselves are works of art. Think you simply put the border together? Think again! This is not your mom's old jigsaw puzzle. Very impressive artwork and quality. This was the first wood puzzle I'd ever seen and it is very cool. A very creative and imaginative piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but lower quality than expected., April 24, 2012
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
I love doing puzzles. When I discovered Artifact Puzzles I could not wait to order one. They are expensive, but I got an Amazon gift card and gave it a shot. It came in a nice wooden box. When taking the pieces out of the box I realized that some of the more jagged pieces were splintering and splitting between the layers of compressed board. This made some edges raise a little bit making the puzzle not look completely even when completed. When putting the puzzle away one of the splintering pieces had a chunk break off quite easily. The artwork is awesome, but the glossy coat really takes away form the beauty of the puzzle. The pieces are very interesting shapes and it was a blast putting it together (without looking at the picture of course). At the end, however, I was disappointed in the build quality of a relatively small puzzle that cost $70. I guess I was naively hoping for solid wood, or at least finished edges, knowing it would be compressed wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Vaux puzzle is awesome!!!!, July 12, 2009
By 
Bev C. Chapman (La Crescenta, Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
This is an amazing puzzle by an exceptional artist!! Not only is the artwork amazing, but the puzzle pieces are in very cool shapes! The puzzle itself is of thick,sturdy quality and comes in a cool wooden box. Very happy with the quality. Worth every penny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Gift. Ever!, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
I just won Christmas! I did it by getting this puzzel for my husband, the guy who has everything.

I've actually seen a few of these wooden puzzles, with whimsy pieces, and this one is particularly cool, first because it has a picture of a giant octopus, which is awesome, and second (and more importantly) because the artist himself designed the whimsy pieces. They are adorable, and THEY ARE LEGION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful puzzle!, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
This product shipped very quickly and as described. The art itself is beautiful, and the puzzle pieces add a layer of beauty on top of that. It didn't take very long to complete this puzzle (a handful of hours), but it was fun to put together and definitely enjoyed the experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great first Artifact purchase!, February 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
If you can't decide which Artifact puzzle to do first, go ahead and get this one. It's a fun funky piece of art that has nice colors and good contrast. The puzzle pieces wildly vary in size and cut with lots of funky sea creature shapes designed by the artist. If the pieces don't slide together the usual way try sliding from the opposite direction. This puzzle is hard enough to satisfy any jigsaw addict especially if you don't refer to the picture on the lid. It's full of surprises and you will find yourself wanting to dip into the candy bowl again and again. The puzzles are very high quality and word every penny. And you get free shipping on most of them. Compare to cardboard premium puzzles on any online auction. These are treasures you will pass on to your grandchildren! And what a great gift for any occasion. Longer lasting than flowers and about the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, June 23, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
Great fun and good for the problem solving portion of your brain! I had such a good time working on this with my son and watching this surreal scene come together. I would like to ride around in the artist's brain for a day to see what he is seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweetest Puzzle Ever!!!, July 13, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Artifact Puzzles - Joe Vaux Fishing Village Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle (Toy)
wow! I bought this puzzle as a gift and am glad to say that it was a HUGE success!!! Aside from the awesome art work, the puzzle piece shapes that correspond to the painting were the icing on top!! Keep 'em coming!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.