Customer Reviews


943 Reviews
5 star:
 (577)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (103)
2 star:
 (65)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track-by-Track review
I've gotta say, I'm getting a little sick of this "hate on Lady Gaga" bandwagon that seems to be all the rage right now. Sure, I had my doubts going into this album, as Applause didn't really hit me over the head the way I wanted it to, but Gaga has completely won me over with this album. I can't say I was knocked over on the first listen, but when Artpop clicked...
Published 8 months ago by ElectricMelody

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self-indulgent, self-righteous and pretentious
This is in no way "art." It's just one trashy euro beat after another. She is just trying too hard and gets lost in all the confusion. There is not one song that is a stand out track.
Pretty much every song is about how she wants to roll around in bed naked, incredibly shallow lyrics. She could be forgiven for this in "The Fame" as it far less flashy,...
Published 2 months ago by emma ayling


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track-by-Track review, November 15, 2013
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
I've gotta say, I'm getting a little sick of this "hate on Lady Gaga" bandwagon that seems to be all the rage right now. Sure, I had my doubts going into this album, as Applause didn't really hit me over the head the way I wanted it to, but Gaga has completely won me over with this album. I can't say I was knocked over on the first listen, but when Artpop clicked with me, it clicked big time. And now, it might just be my favorite album she's released. As time goes by, we'll see how that holds up. For now, it's sounding better with every listen.

1. Aura - The album kicks off with what almost sounds like an extended intro. The vocal delivery isn't so much singing as it is spitting the lyrics with the type of full-on theatricality and bizzaro-ness we expect from Gaga. It leaves you want just a bit more, which is always a good thing. 9/10

2. Venus - This is the album at its most self-referential campiness. I realized from the beginning that this is not going to resonate with all fans, in particular those who want their music a little more "serious." But really who the hell cares when a track is as fun and interesting as this. A perfect pop song, though I'd advise against making it a single. 10/10

3. G.U.Y. - Of the three tracks so far, this sounds the most like a classic Gaga dance track. It definitely shares pieces of past classics like Bad Romance and Poker Face, but the sledgehammer beat, gorgeously anthemic middle eight, and aggressive outro make this an instant standout. The gender politics on display in the lyrics are also refreshingly blunt. It'd make a great single. 10/10

4. Sexxx Dreams - Another winner, this piece of plastic funk sounds like it would have been right at home in the 80's. It's one of the breezier pop tracks she's come up with in awhile -- devoid of the artier self-indulgent tendencies that get her in trouble with some listeners. Simply a great chorus, wonderfully delivered verses, and hook upon hook. 10/10

5. Jewels n' Drugs - The real oddball of the album, and something that I consider more of a palette cleanser than a real song. Part of the problem is that Gaga herself really isn't on the track as much as her rapper collaborators are. It feels more like a feature, and as such, it's an album lowpoint. What it does do well, though, is split the first suite of four tracks from the three that come next. 7/10

6. Manicure - And we're back! Manicure is some kind of weird rock/cheerleader chant hybrid that totally works. I'd say it's the most instantly catchy thing on the album, though I'm not sure it holds up quite as well as the best tracks on here. Still, a total triumph. 9/10

7. Do What U Want - The second single, and an excellent choice. What first seems like a kind of dull midtempo r&b track, it took me a few days until this clicked with me. Now, it's one of my favorites. Gaga and R. Kelly's voices blend so well together and the whole thing is so funky and sleek. Brilliant. 10/10

8. Artpop - A spacey, dreamy sort of track. It's got a real futuristic, electronic sound to it, I find that, among the bigger moments in the album, it kind of gets lost in the shuffle, but it's definitely a pleasant listen and a nice change of pace. 8/10

9. Swine - One of the more experimental tracks on the album, this EDM-influenced hissy-fit of a song took me awhile to get used to (mostly because of those long industrial instrumental breaks), but then I started looking at it as another palette cleanser before the next of the album's song suites and I really appreciated its place in the running order. And Iloved those rocky verses and hiccupy production from the first listen. 9/10

10. Donatella - This is where the "fashion" portion of the album kicks in, and of the two tracks referencing this side of Gaga (not my favorite side, btw), this is the weirder and sillier. I'm not in love with the lyrics, which are a sort of obvious satire, but the production's nice enough. 8/10

11. Fashion! - This reminds me of 80's era Bowie, and it's all the better for it. I wouldn't have suspected Will-i-Am and David Guetta as producers, as this sounds little like their music. It's laidback, summery and simple. 9/10

12. Mary Jane Holland - This is where the album enters its darker, more personal portion, with the first of two tracks concerning drug use. This is a dramatic rock/pop hybrid that reminds me heavily of the late 90's in its alt-pop sound. It's like a mini rock opera, with an amazing breakdown at the middle eight that may just be the album's highest (pun intended) moment. 10/10

13. Dope - The album's only real ballad, this Rick Rubin-produced dirge is a haunting, dramatic diary piece theatrical enough to be operatic. Instead of going for precision, though, the production ensures that this is every bit as rough and gritty as the subject matter. 10/10

14. Gypsy - My favorite track on the album. I'm a huge fan of Edge Of Glory-style Gaga, mostly because I live for anthemic, driving rock/electronic tracks with a sense of euphoria and bombast. This ticks all those boxes, and adds on top of that some fantastic personal lyrics chronicling the nomadic life of today's popstar. I don't see how anyone could dislike this. 10/10

15. Applause - The first single, and oddly enough, not one of the stronger tracks on here. Its sound just kind of feels out of place. Despite its success, I'm not sure it ever really worked as a fully-formed single in its own right, and sounds jarring coming out of the much-bigger Gypsy. Still a great pop song. Just not my favorite. 9/10

Album Grade: 9.2/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Metal fan gives perspective on Gaga, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
So, I am a total metalhead. I listen to Death Metal and mostly extreme metal. However, I have my guilty pleasures in Lady Gaga. I have been a fan since the Fame.

In short I think Artpop is a fantastic album. A good variety of tunes and all are high quality for this type of music.
Gaga's albums usually have a song or two I don't enjoy. This one is no exception and the song is like usual one that most others go gaga over. It is Dope.

I will still give it full marks because I like the album overall and feel it is a great addition to her discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing pains., December 4, 2013
By 
DAJ (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
This is a clear step forward for Lady Gaga--but it is a step away from the strict commercial formula that made her famous, and that has caused some backlash in the media. Other than "Do What You Want" (which is a canny choice for a second single), the songs don't really fit the pop mold of what is on the radio, though they certainly operate within that medium. But the beats are harder. I think "Aura" is really the best thing on the album--inventive, challenging, still with a hook in the chorus. Like a lot of other songs on the album, it owes a lot to the late 80s/early 90s Industrial Dance movement. I hear Front 242, Ministry and Nitzer Ebb as influences on a lot of the tracks here--and that's a good thing. It follows on from songs like "Government Hooker" from BTW. I think there are missteps here--"Jewels-n-drugs" is not good, and neither are "Donatella" nor "Fashion," really. But "Venus" successfully updates the wackiness of the B-52s, as does "Sexx Dreams" for the sultry side of Prince. Lady Gaga is challenging herself, and that is interesting in a sea of pop music that usually aims for the lowest common denominator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
GaGa is on to something here. The whole concept is about putting ART into mainstream culture, a reverse Warholian concept: making Marilyn the canvas vs. putting her on it, putting the soup can back on the shelf. Hence ARTPOP. Something our culture needs as it seems art is slowly dying and people are quick to judge what is right and what is wrong. And the best part is, she doesn't care what anybody thinks. She's following her heart.

Now, some say the music's lyrics aren't very artistic. I agree, but the album is also a celebration for her and her fans. Life after Born This Way. But there are a few songs that are magical with their lyrics (Aura, Venus, ARTPOP, and Applause).

Defanitily purchase this album of you're looking for amazing dance music and a hell of a good time. Start the music, stop the drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaga does it again., November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
ARTPOP is a revolutionary twist in the pop music world. A clash of old and new world charm, sarcastic undertones, love, and plenty of references to cannabis. Whether you want to listen to an uplifting record, or a fun and wild tune, this is the number one album of this year by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great record to put in the car with your friends, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
All these songs are fantastic. The album itself is very beautiful! i got the foiled version and it looks so cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thankful for new Gaga, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
At this point - you're either a Gaga fan or not. Fans won't be disappointed. Just like Born This Way had less mass-appeal than The Fame Monster, this one is probably even less radio-friendly than that. But it's wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
her best album by far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self-indulgent, self-righteous and pretentious, May 15, 2014
This review is from: Artpop (Audio CD)
This is in no way "art." It's just one trashy euro beat after another. She is just trying too hard and gets lost in all the confusion. There is not one song that is a stand out track.
Pretty much every song is about how she wants to roll around in bed naked, incredibly shallow lyrics. She could be forgiven for this in "The Fame" as it far less flashy, much more simplistic and pure pop. This just screams "look at me! I'm naked and weird and outrageous!" Nothing original. Nothing to shout about.
It's hard to take her seriously as an artist and I won't be listening to this again. I'm glad my cars CD player scratched it up so bad that it just won't play anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ArtPop - A palette of sounds and concepts, November 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I must admit that while I love Applause I wasn't sure what to expect from this highly anticipated album. But once I was able to stream it I fell in love with a few song to start but the more I spun it the more I liked the songs. Like some of the reviewers have stated there are songs that are earworms and you fins yourself singuing the songs in your heard over and over. Make no mistake I love Gaga but without fanatism. I just find it odd how many people are trashing ther album based on it not being similar to her previous records. Personally I want the artist as well as the music to E V O L V E. I would have hated a Fame Monster or Born This Way 2. I love both records but I'm the type that yearns and craves new music and sounds. The only sonce I would have not included in this body of work would be Jewels N' Drugs. Is just not good. From the lyrics to the sound is out of place and Gaga come across (Like Mariah Carey lately) as a guest artist rather than THE artist on the song. She barely sings on it!

In the end is a personal choice. Depends what type of consumer you are.Do not over analize and just press play and see where the journey takes you. IF this isn't your cup of Tea then now you know for next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Artpop
Artpop by Lady Gaga (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.