Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly electronic, better quality, worth a listen
Track 1 Are You Gonna Waste My Time by Zeus. Lively strong Indie feel, nice production, nice song.

Go Ego by Eight And A Half. Electro beat over shrill dream vocal over synthesizer noises and repeated predicable lyrics. Not bad.

Time To Kill by Gold & Youth. Strong controlled synthesizer looped with drums and bass allows band to make some cool noises...
Published on June 3, 2012 by ukcolin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Music
I am glad this was free. It was not to my taste. Thanks for the chance to listen to this anyway.
Published 23 months ago by P. Fitzsimmons


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly electronic, better quality, worth a listen, June 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
Track 1 Are You Gonna Waste My Time by Zeus. Lively strong Indie feel, nice production, nice song.

Go Ego by Eight And A Half. Electro beat over shrill dream vocal over synthesizer noises and repeated predicable lyrics. Not bad.

Time To Kill by Gold & Youth. Strong controlled synthesizer looped with drums and bass allows band to make some cool noises and nice song. Like it.

Black & White Mountains by Snowblink. Clean female vocal ahead of repeated synthesizer themes, drums and backing vocals. Cool, like it.

Don't Bleed Me by The Darcys. Messy vocals, band & synthesizers combine to give us ride to nowhere, song seemingly ends before the band have got their sound together. huh?

Track 6 Post War Blues by Dan Mangan. Male vocal starts telling his story, allows band to make noise, they step it up sounding a little Folk-on-caffeine as they battle the vocalist and everyone rushes to the finish. Kinda cool.

Silver Tongue by Zulu Winter. Classic dreamy alternative opening leading clear vocal over increasingly busy sound. Simple lyric, stronger backing band keep song interesting nice chorus like it.

Bleeds by Bishop Morocco. Cool electro beat with great sounds layered on top, dreamy, listenable male vocal, busy synthesizers w/shots of new noise like it.

Sulk (single edit) by The Trust. Another electro syth-pop dance house sound song with more unique lead vocal and interesting noises. Nothing special still very nice.

No chart hits, very listenable mostly electro based songs. Good production, better quality than many of this Genre with at least a couple of gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually, these *are* chart hits. And *not* all electronic! Sheesh., July 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
This is a pretty nice collection of some of Arts & Crafts' bands getting a lot of airplay on indie and alternative rock radio in Canada. And it's FREE! We're so lucky! Saying that the production is decent is kinda insulting, considering that Arts & Crafts is no dinky indie label--they started with Broken Social Scene and regularly turn out JUNO-winning records. Canada's music scene just doesn't get enough credit...although if you live in the States, you'll be familiar with quite a few of these songs that get plenty of airplay on SiriusXM's The Verge channel.

RECOMMENDED: For people looking for rocknroll in particular is the brilliant "Don't Bleed Me"--the best track off The Darcys' self-titled record (which I believe you can still get for free from their website--crazy!) and Dan Mangan's "Post War Blues." If you dig more indie college radio type synth-heavy bands (?!), Eight and a Half's "Go Ego" is nice n catchy, as is Zulu Winter's "Silver Tongue."

And if you want to add more free current/charting altrock to your Free! Canadian! Music! collection today...there's more! Right now Amazon's offering "The House That Heaven Built" by Japandroids and "Lightshow" by Plants and Animals. Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
I got this sampler because it was free, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good the music on it was. I actually was able to discover some talented musicians that I would've never heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MMXII, A Sample Platter of Sounds, May 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
A nice mix of the artists on this label. Good sounds all around. Highly recommended, especially since it's a free album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a sample, March 4, 2014
By 
Llama Sherpa "Llama Sherpa" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
If you're into what the guys in Broken Social Scene are doing, then you'll find some gems worth listening to here. (This is their label)

And if you don't know BSS, but like alt rock, you're missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great ablum, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
I like this varitey of music not bad for a free album great artists and the tracks have great audio quaity Great variety of electorinc, trance and rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Music, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
I am glad this was free. It was not to my taste. Thanks for the chance to listen to this anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
I enjoy the variety of free music styles Amazon offers. They expose me to genres I wouldn't normally think to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mix, July 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
Interesting mix of music.
Not exactly what I expected when I downloaded it. I was not disapointed.
If you like fresh tunes you will like this collection.
It's a good sample of good artists. I'll be looking for more by these artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Music Samplers, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arts & Crafts Label Sampler - Mmxii (MP3 Music)
Bought this since it was offers for free. As usual I am highly impressed with the music randomly served up for free from amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.