Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch shows the rest how it's done...
I have been a Killswitch fan since the first time I heard "The End Of Heartche" on the radio...it gave me chills. I'm an old-school metal chick who grew up on bands like Iron Maiden, Metallica, Judas Priest, Queensryche and, yes, Def Leppard but I had lost my faith and passion for the music. Killswitch Engage brought it back...THANKS GUYS!!! :-) I own all their CDs and...
Published on March 8, 2008 by D'Ann

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for what it is...
I bought the last release (The End Of Heartache) after seeing the video of the title track on Headbanger's Ball. Howard Jone's screaming, pinched harmonic squeals, pummeling guitar riffs, breakdowns, and slow and heavy rhythms were commmon throughout the album. Overall, I thought Heartache was a decent if not stellar effort from the band...

That brings me to...
Published on December 3, 2006 by H. Yu


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch shows the rest how it's done..., March 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
I have been a Killswitch fan since the first time I heard "The End Of Heartche" on the radio...it gave me chills. I'm an old-school metal chick who grew up on bands like Iron Maiden, Metallica, Judas Priest, Queensryche and, yes, Def Leppard but I had lost my faith and passion for the music. Killswitch Engage brought it back...THANKS GUYS!!! :-) I own all their CDs and their DVD and through them discovered a whole new generation of bands like Shadows Fall, Lamb Of God, Unearth, Chimaria, All That Remains, Underoath, Trivium, As I Lay Dying, Stone Sour and even Slipknot, all of whom are now favorites as well.

I brought a copy of this Special Edition CD mostly to get Killswitch's cover version of "Holy Diver" by Dio. It is truly a rare feat when a band can cover another band's song and remain true to the style and integrity of the original while still making it their own. Killswitch Engage pulls it off with ease. The CD contains three other songs not included on the original version of "Daylight Dies;" "Let The Bridges Burn" and "Be One" are strong enough to have been included on the original album--"Bridges Burn" has the sort of dynamics that could make it an opening track--but "This Fire Burns," written for a WWE pay-per-view special, sounds like the band mailed it in and could have been left off.

This package features a DVD with all three videos from "Daylight Dies": "My Curse," "The Arms of Sorrow" and "Holy Diver." It also includes "making of" documentaries for "Curse" and "Sorrow" but not for "Holy Diver," which is too bad, because that video is by far the best of the three. It's a very funny throwback to the elaborate mini-movies that music videos used to be, and it's worth seeing just for the sight of Adam D in drag. ;-)

All in all, the "Daylight Dies" special edition is a great package for both new and old Killswitch fans alike; my only complaint is why do record labels put out a CD and then come out with "Special Editions" much later? Maybe if more new releases were packaged with special features in the first place, CD sales wouldn't be in the massive slump they are now, even with the digital revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 part melodic metalcore, 1 part melodic death metal, May 17, 2007
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
Killswitch Engage has always incorporated melodic death into their music, but on their latest release, the melodic death really dominates. here and there there are metalcore breakdowns. they still rock though. I disagree with the one who says metalcore is about ex-girlfriends. I own several metalcore CD's and not one of them mentions relationships gone bad. somebody better reread the lyrics on all their CD's. other metalcore bands to consider are Himsa, Zao, Demon Hunter, Still Remains, the Showdown, A Life Once Lost, Underoath, As I Lay Dying, Underoath, Watch Them Die, Hedfirst, Cataract, and Winter Solstice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet, January 11, 2007
By 
Jake (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
Killswitch has come along way since their first album. This album is bar far the greatest achievement to date. First of all, this album's lyrical content is a much more earnest and thought provoking then the other three albums. Songs like "Reject Yourself", "Break The Silence", and "The Arms Of Sorrow", portray a reflective and contemplative view on war; as well as the horrible atrocities that have been eminent in the world.

As Daylight Dies also holds some of the hardest hitting, riff driven rock anthems to date. Songs like "For You", "Still Beats Your Name", "As Daylight Dies", and "This Fire Burns" drive this point home, with heavy laden drums, resonant bass, and earsplitting guitar riffs. "For You" might be one of the most well-rounded songs on the album, every part of the song shows the unique talents of the band.

Finally, when most people decide whether or not they like a band in this genre they usually discuss whether or not the screaming or groan is necessary or annoying. However, on As Daylight Dies and The End Of Heartache Howard Jones vocals are non-the-less incendiary; his tone is a welcome change from the shreiks of bands like As I Lay Dying and Atreyu. His groans and screams tie together so well with the instrumentals that it never becomes dull or too abrasive. But what stands out the most is his versatility, one verse he will be in your face and in total control of his screaming, while in most chorus' he comes out with this epic singing that is totally unexpected.

Here's how the album breaks down (Best out of 10):

1. Daylight Dies - 8.5 - Great intro, but feels like an intro or even an outro more than a complete song.

2. This Is Absolution - 9 - This song should have opened the album, great chorus, and great use of acoustic guitars.

3. The Arms of Sorrow - 9.5 - Probably the albums saddest song, but very well written and the production is top-notch as well as with the rest of the album. The chorus is quite tear-jerking, but transitions perfectly into the bridge.

4. Unbroken - 8.5 - One of the albums hardest hitting tracks, at points it may seem like the most lack-luster and repetitive song on the album, but that isn't really saying much, considering this is KSE's best album by far.

5. My Curse - 10 - Beautiful song, through all it's clean instrumentals, to it's earsplitting riffs, this song has everything you need.

6. For You - 10 - In contrast to My Curse, this may be the definitive KSE's piece, has everything this band has to offer in one tightly composed song. (((GIVE IT MORE THAN A COUPLE LISTENS)))

7. Still Beats Your Name - 9.5 - Hard hitting, riff-driven... but also one of the most beautiful chorus' and bridges KSE has to offer.

8. Eye of the Storm - 9.5 - Some what predictable, but non-the-less heartpounding and amazing riffs.

9. Break the Silence - 9.5 - One of the best tracks on the album, but it might have the greatest and most thought-provoking chorus' in the KSE catalog.

10. Desperate Times - 8 - Might be the albums dullest tracks, but is a great song to check out once and a while when the rest of the album has been listened to too much.

11. Reject Yourself - 10 - B-E-A-utiful, great way to close the album, tie-ing with "For You" this might be the best, most definitive, and purely intimate songs Killswitch has ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal Modern Metal, November 27, 2006
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
Killswitch Engage fist came to my attention as part of the soundtrack to a video game; believe it or not. I was playing the PS2 game "Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel" with my girlfriend, and I kept noticing the incredibly heavy riffs in the background music during boss fights...after finishing the game, I learned from the credits that Killswitch Engage were one of the bands involved in the soundtrack for the game. I picked up "Alive or Just Breathing", and the rest is history for me; they have become one of my favorites in today's burgeoning metal scene.

With the resurgence of metal's popularity these days, there are many different styles or sub-genres, Killswitch have been defined as one of the important "metalcore" bands. It's interesting for me to see how much hairsplitting is done with the younger, new metal fans, since I have been a metalhead (and metal guitar player) since the early '80s. As far as I can tell, being metalcore means that you have heavy riffs, both death metal-style growling vocals and clean, anthemic choruses, and lots of "breakdowns", where the song shifts into a slow, heavy riff (by the way, it's called a bridge, dudes)- and if that defines a style, than Killswitch are surely the apotheosis of metalcore.

Definitions aside, Killswitch play tight, ultra-heavy metal riffs that shake the walls- and the almighty riff is what metal is all about. The alternating vocal style is effective and actually adds a lot to the dynamics of the music; I have really grown to appreciate it, and both are very well done- the death metal growl sounds ferocious, and the clean (sometimes harmonized) vocals sound absolutely epic. What I have enjoyed about this album even more is the addition of a more progressive playing style, both from a drumming/time-signature standpoint and from the added guitar complexity of this release when compared to the band's previous efforts. Even better than I had hoped for...not a change in style for this band in any way shape or form; just a distillation of the band's strengths. Recommended for any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, but That's a Good Thing! (4.5 Stars), January 10, 2007
By 
RJ45 (Central Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
I credit Killswitch Engage for being one of the bands that "saved my life" and push me towards the faith system that I live by till this day. My teenage years were experienced during the Nu-Metal era, whose genre's song lyrics and themes put whiny EMO crap to shame. However, there is only so many times you can listen to songs about suicide, homicide, and sexual deviancy.

This is where Killswitch Engage came in with my life. It was a big breath of fresh air for myself. Their first lead singer, Jesse Leach, is a heavy follower of Christianity and he brought it out in his lyrics on the self-titled album and "Alive or Just Breathing." When Howard Jones took the reigns, he, thankfully, kept the spiritual theme going on "End of Heartache."

So, three fantastic albums and one fun DVD later, we are now met with Killswitch Engage's latest effort, "As Daylight Dies." The biggest fear amongst fans of any band is the big follow-up to a classic album. Your fears can be put at ease, KSE delivers another great album again with As Daylight Dies, albeit a bit formulatic.

I guess the only negative thing I can say about this album is that the guys don't really do anything new on the album aside from Adam D taking on some more vocals, especially on "This is Absolution." This isn't anything bad because everything that KSE does is great.

The album begins off actually with one of my least favorite tracks on the whole album, "Daylight Dies." It just lacks the punch of an album opener. However, the album picks up with "This is Absolution" and "The Arms of Sorrow" and it proceeds to never let up. Between the hit single, "My Curse," "Still Beats Your Name" and "Eye of the Storm," this album will definitely get some serious replay value on your play list. The closer, "Reject Yourself," has a nice epic feel to it and really rounds out the album altogether.

My favorite song on the entire album is definitely "This is Absolution." Other strong tracks include: Arms of Sorrow, My Curse, Eye of the Storm, For You, Still Beats Your Name, and Reject Yourself. The skip-able tracks are Daylight Dies, Unbroken, and Break the Silence. The weakest track is Desperate Times.

The Good

+ Same great established Killswitch Engage sound

+ "My Curse" was a great selection for the first single and "This is Absolution" and "Arms of Sorrow" are sure hits.

+ Adam D. takes on bigger vocal role on some of the tracks, and it works.

The Bad

- No big breakthroughs musically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Daylight Dies, December 29, 2006
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
As Daylight Dies

Killswitch Engage

At this point we pretty much know what to expect from a new Killswitch album, and "As Daylight Dies" is no exception. Upbeat, energized and aggressive, Killswitch continue to deliver meaty, hook-laced metal for the millennial masses. That being said, that very same consistency could quickly become a curse rather than a blessing.

"As Daylight Dies" is a slightly more focused album than "The End of Heartache," and has a more balanced feel throughout thanks to more carefully arranged dynamics. The pace and textures of the songs are varied enough to keep the record from ever wearing out, but at the same time it seems to lack some of that intangible element that makes good the songs great and the memorable albums classics. "As Daylight Dies" has plenty of big hits, but no real head-smashing knockouts.

That's not to say there's nothing good here; indeed, there are a number of smoking new tracks on display. Album highlights such as `The Arms of Sorrow,' `My Curse' and `Break the Silence' all demonstrate that Killswitch have lost nothing of their melody, riffiness or ability to write inspiring and uplifting emotional crescendos within a modern metal context.

The riffs all sound more-or-less familiar but feel a bit different. Emphasis continues the example laid out by "The End of Heartache" on faster guitar work with suitably deft frills and fills, but this leaves one wondering where all the impact of the more moderately paced chug riffs of "Alive or just Breathing" has gone. Even with a moshcore breakdown in nearly every song, these tunes simply don't hit quite as hard as past material. Vocals and drumming remain impressive, but deliver nothing new and lack much of the tenacity and vigor that got these guys where they are today.

Even though the album has a slightly different feel, you won't mistake it for anything other than a Killswitch record. "As Daylight Dies" will tide over rabid fans looking for new Killswitch songs, but won't blow away casual listeners.

Bottom line, it's a step in the right direction for a band that's great at what they do but are beginning to run the risk of burying themselves beneath a wealth of similar sounding material. The next step is to come back and deliver an amazing record which will surprise and shake up the existing fan base. "As Daylight Dies" is a solid rocker that sees Killswitch remaining near the top of the modern metal pile - but in a genre that thrives on passion and renewal don't expect them to stay there for long if the next album doesn't drop jaws and kick balls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch Engage Are More Than Just Breathing, November 27, 2006
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
For Killswitch Engage's fourth album, being the second with Howard Jones on vocals, "As Daylight Dies," the band adheres to old rule: If it ain't broke, don't fix it. When you are a band like Killswitch Engage, who have an unique and massive sound, that's not such a bad idea. However, when you are competing with dozens of similar sounding bands in the same genre, it can be a problem. "As Daylight Dies" will not disappoint fans of the band's last effort, "The End Of Heartache," but for those seeking an expansion of that sound or any real growth, you might be disappointed.

Sounds Like: Good old reliable Killswitch Engage.

The Good:

- The riffs, oh my god, the riffs.

- Howard Jones' vocals are just as engaging as they were on the last album, and he gets plenty of time to show off his melodic side.

- The album never lets up. Pure, non-stop energy and intensity.

The Bad:

- Overall, the album feels extremely rushed.

- The bulk of the songs don't quite 'stick' like the material on "Alive Or Just Breathing" and "The End Of Heartache."

Future: Killswitch Engage are always gonna be around. Even if metalcore is on it's way out (as suggested by Jones in a recent interview), they will more than likely be one of the few bands left standing. "As Daylight Dies" is a solid testament to a band that truly shines and stands from the pack.

Personally: Although "As Daylight Dies" doesn't cover much new territory, it was still an instant hit for me. I feel they could have taken more time and put out some material that maybe stuck out a bit more, but what's the point in complaining? These guys do what they do, better than anyone else on the scene.

Best Listened To When: Daylight is dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is my favorite Release from these guys, February 27, 2007
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
This is an excellent release from an up and coming modern metal band. I've always thought that Killswitch Engage were pretty good, in fact I found them to be one of the better modern metal bands out there today.

With "As Daylight Dies" the band is ready to take things to the next level. They continue to bludgeon the listener with monstrous and aggressive riffs, but also incorporate even more melody than they have in the past. They've managed to write songs that are catchy as hell, but still brutal enough that metal fans will be able to mosh to their heart's content.

Killswitch Engage is able to play songs at breakneck speed, but also dial back the tempo and show their melodic side. The whole band has progressed on this CD, but no one as much as vocalist Howard Jones. His hardcore screams, shrieks and yells have always been excellent, but he has taken his melodic singing to a new level.

With the improved vocals and songwriting, the added diversity and the combination of catchy songs that are also really aggressive, As Daylight Dies is Killswitch Engage's best album so far.

Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars for As Daylight Dies, May 1, 2007
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
Killswitch Engage is my favorite band at this moment. I own all their albums, but this one takes the cake in my opinion. I really like how Howard can scream high and low and melodically, yet still maintain his nice singing voice. This is shown in most of the songs on this album. I don't think there is any song I skip while listening to this CD. I really like "Eye of the Storm," "My Curse," "Daylight Dies" and "Unbroken." These 4 songs really stand out and show Killswitch's true talent. They write good lyrics and, again, Howard's voice is what makes these songs great. I gave it 4.5 stars because there was just something it was lacking, I was left wanting more from the album. If you like this album, you should definately check out their other albums, esepcially Alive Or Just Breathing, which has my favorite song, My Last Serenade on it. The End of Heartache is another great album by them, with songs such as "Rose of Sharyn," "Breathe Life," "The End of Heartache" and "When Darkness Falls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very complete album!, March 5, 2007
By 
slap nuts (Piza,Italy, at heart TEXAS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Daylight Dies (Audio CD)
First off killswitch is that metal/metalcore/hard rock band that most consider to bridge the likes of hardcore fans with those guys who just like good old fashion rock. Second this cd is more complete than the previous records, personally if i listen to this cd its all the way threw or nothing. And third billy boy's review is kinda harsh, i mean my dad actually likes some of killswitch's music and he listens to mostly classic rock and country. So all you guys out there dont take his/her review to heart, plus if you like bands that sound just as good live this is one of those bands. I've seen them twice and they know how to rock a crowd of 500 or a crowd of 20,000. You should definitly buy the killswitch dvd as well (set this) world ablaze. this will show you how amazingly diferent everyone in the band really is from each other. And how they lost there original vocalist and still found a way to make it back to make some awesome music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

As Daylight Dies
As Daylight Dies by Killswitch Engage
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.