Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: As The World Turns - Christmas In Oakdale
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
5 star
80%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
20%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2011
With the great success of the first DVD release of ATWT "20 Classic Episodes" comes the new released DVD "Christmas in Oakdale." 5 Christmas episodes in one DVD. Another treasure to have or to buy for someone as stocking stuffer. Spend Christmas/Holidays with the Snyders, Hughes, Walshs, Andropolouss and Stewarts.

Here is what is included in the DVD:

EPISODE 1

Christmas Eve, and a Birthday
The Hughes family celebrates Christmas and Frannie's birthday. Dec 24, 1985

EPISODE 2

Margo's Memorable Christmas
Margo Hughes receives tidings of comfort and joy on Christmas day. Dec 24, 1992

EPISODE 3

Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree
The families of Oakdale gather to celebrate Christmas. Dec 25, 1995

EPISODE 4

Family Reunions
Penny and Lyla return to Oakdale to visit their families. Dec 26, 2000

EPISODE 5

The Dollhouse
Oakdale's stories are represented by the lives of dolls in this special episode. Dec 21, 2007
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
For anyone who remembers ATWT when Douglas Marland was the head writer - this is a real treat, especially the episode that celebrates Christmas and Frannie's birthday at Bob and Kim's house. How long has it been since we saw almost the entire cast together at a party? The house was beautifully decorated, the tree was covered with presents and there was a hint of mystery as Kim had received an anonymous Christmas card that made her uneasy (as well it should have since it was from Douglas!). I used to LIVE for the Christmas episodes, which unfortunately, as budgets dwindled became less memorable.

The additional 4 episodes are also winners, but the first one made the entire purchase worthwhile. This is a cannot miss for ATWT fans.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
After the huge success of the first box set of "As the World Turns" which featured 20 classic episodes Proctor and Gamble has come out with this beautiful single disc set of 5 Holiday-themed shows from the serials run. This will make soap opera fans extremely happy as obviously the studio knows there is a market for classic soaps on DVD.

The episodes have been beautifully restored, cleaned and come complete without commercials.

We can expect, in the fututre, box set releases of "Guiding Light", "Another World", "Search for Tomorrow", Texas", and the classic murder serial "The Edge of Night". With the demise of the ABC serials hopefully the network will delve into their archive and release sets on "All My Children", "One Life to Live" and "General Hospital".

UPDATE: On January 17, 2012 "Guiding Light" came to DVD in a 20 episode, 4 disc set!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
Many happy holidays are remembered with the Hughes family and their friends. These DVD'S make it possible to enjoy some of them. Great actresses like Colleen Zenk and Eileen Fulton glue you to the story. I am thankful these fine shows will be remembered !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
I purchased this for my niece who is a huge ATWT fan. She had been so upset about it being cancelled. So, when I saw this collection, it was a no-brainer. She got so excited when she unwrapped it and settled in to watch it on her next day off from work.
She enjoyed watching these holiday episodes and said it brought back alot of memories of her watching the show when she was a kid.
This is a must-have for any ATWT fans.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
One of my greatest joys is researching the celebration of Christmas, and how it has been reflected in the culture of television. CBS's "Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman" and "Touched By An Angel" have brought some wonderfully inspiring Christmas stories to our tv screens. And now, Procter and Gamble in association with[...] have released this set "As the World Turns: Christmas in Oakdale". All five episodes contain some great reflections on this outstanding daytime drama, but "The Doll House" episode is an example of quality television in its truest sense. I'd like to say that "The Doll House" is to the classic daytime drama "As the World Turns", as "Time Heals" is to the classic primetime drama "St. Elsewhere". Bravo!!!! to those who conceptualised this dvd set. I hope some future sets will include "Guiding Light: Christmas in Springfield"; "Search for Tomorrow: Christmas in Henderson"; and "Another World: Christmas in Bay City".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2012
I watched this show most of my life. I was a teenager when I started. sick days and summer. Lili had a birthday around the same time as mine. But hers went on for about a week each year. My favorite couple are Margo and Tom. I loved the show when Her son was born and Tom had to descide what to do. I cried and cried when he left her alone on the Island and than came back. I know why the show ended. They forgot about the tried and true fans and went for the shocking stories. I stopped watching about four years before it ended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2012
With all of the classic soaps going off the air, it's fun to have a collection of some of the big moments in soap opera viewing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Way overpriced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
THESE ARE THE WORST YOU CAN BUY. THE DVDS DON'T SHOW ALL THAT WELL. I AM TALKING ABOUT BAD PICTURES AND BAD COLOR. IT IS NOT RELEASED BY CBS AND THAT IS WHY YOU CAN'T BUY THEM HERE ANYMORE. THEY SHOULD NEVER BE SOLD ON THIS SIGHT AGAIN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse