Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by hank3283
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Daily shipment via USPS 1st class with tracking. The playing side of the disc(s) is(are) scratch free. Minor wears on the case/inserts.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.80
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Ascending to Superlatives
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Ascending to Superlatives

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, August 24, 1996
"Please retry"
$10.79 $7.95

Frequently Bought Together

Ascending to Superlatives + Eclecticism + 20th Century Music for English Horn and Oboe
Price for all three: $48.17

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 24, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Crystal Records
  • ASIN: B00004ZDVT
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #211,720 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Eclogues, Op.206: Andantino Quieto - Carolyn Hove/Mary Stolper/Paul Viapiano
2. Eclogues, Op.206: Allegro Con Spirito (Tempo Di Saltarello) - Carolyn Hove/Mary Stolper/Paul Viapiano
3. Eclogues, Op.206: Lento-Elegiaco - Carolyn Hove/Mary Stolper/Paul Viapiano
4. Eclogues, Op.206: Allegretto Vivace, Con Spirito - Carolyn Hove/Mary Stolper/Paul Viapiano
5. Encounters XI: The Demise Of Suriyodhaya: Tactics - Carolyn Hove/Raynor Carroll
6. Encounters XI: The Demise Of Suriyodhaya: Suriyodhaya's Dream - Carolyn Hove/Raynor Carroll
7. Encounters XI: The Demise Of Suriyodhaya: Peace Of God - Carolyn Hove/Raynor Carroll
8. Encounters XI: The Demise Of Suriyodhaya: Strategy - Carolyn Hove/Raynor Carroll
9. Improvisations, Op.67 #1 - Carolyn Hove/Camille Avellano/Gloria Cheng
10. Lyric Scene - Carolyn Hove/Camille Avellano/Ingrid Chun/Daniel Rothmuller
11. Ste, Op.21: Adagio Espressivo - Carolyn Hove/David Breidenthal
12. Ste, Op.21: Allegro Grazioso - Carolyn Hove/David Breidenthal
13. Ste, Op.21: Andante Espressivo - Carolyn Hove/David Breidenthal

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By rodboomboom HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on November 26, 2002
Verified Purchase
One of the premier English horn players combines with outstanding instrumentalists such as percussion, strings and winds to provide a masterpiece eclectic demonstration of the rich, syrupty, sumptuous sounds of this double-reed.
Hove interacts with classic guitar and flute on great chasing rythmatic piece by Mario Castenuovo-Tedesco, followed by magnificent percussion and english horn piece by William Kraft.
You'll find yourself mesmorized and pleased with the delightful talent and magic of this recording. The Gerhard Samuel piece with two violins, cello and Hove is just exquisite and full of passionate playing.
The finale, a basson/english horn suite from Alan Hovhaness is fitting end. Briedenthal on the bassoon is fantastic!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category