Trade in your item
Get a $0.44
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Ashen Victor: Motorball Diaries From The World Of Battle Angel Alita (Viz Graphic Novel) Paperback – January 31, 1999


Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$21.99 $11.77

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on the current pick, "Landline" by Rainbow Rowell.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 136 pages
  • Publisher: VIZ Media LLC; Original edition (January 31, 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1569313431
  • ISBN-13: 978-1569313435
  • Product Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.6 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.1 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,484,990 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

When he was only seventeen, Yukito Kishiro was nominated for Japanese publisher Shogakukan's Best New Comic award. Creator of other popular VIZ Media series Aqua Knight, Ashen Victor, and Battle Angel Alita, Kishiro is known for his strong characters, original settings, and intricate, lifelike artwork.

More About the Author

When he was only seventeen, Yukito Kishiro was nominated for Japanese publisher Shogakukan's Best New Comic award. Creator of other popular VIZ Media series Aqua Knight, Ashen Victor, and Battle Angel Alita, Kishiro is known for his strong characters, original settings, and intricate, lifelike artwork.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 23, 1999
Format: Paperback
Some don't like the art as much, but Kishiro is simply using a more monochromatic style in this book, and I personally feel it fits the mood of the story much better. The story, theme and characters are once again top notch, and it was nice to see Kishiro work with a smaller scale of story telling. The odd mixture of mechanical violence, technology and humanity works just as well as it did in the far more epic Alita series. This guy should really be making sci-fi films with enormous budgets. ;-)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By SohLain@aol.com on December 30, 1999
Format: Paperback
I quickly fell in love with the Gunnm (Battle Angel Alita) manga, and had to pick this up as well. After reading Ashen Victor, I was by no means disappointed with it as some were; in fact, I was pleased to see the versatility of Kishiro's style. Although I do feel that the manga could have been longer, the reader still gets a good feel for the characters and the plot is well-executed. While it may not live up to the art and beauty of Gunnm, it is a good, solid story and a great addition to any Kishiro fan's collection.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 23, 1999
Format: Paperback
Being an Alita fan, I bought this title because I loved Yukito Kishiros story line, Art, and just the overall feel you get from the future punk setting. After I read it, I was rather Disapointed. Mainly because [having Previously read all of the Alita novels] the art wasn't as good as I have seen him do. It was a real fast read and just didn't live up to his previous work. -Ravick-
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Yukito Kishiro did epic cyberpunk grit and gladiatorial combat with the classic Battle Angel Alita. Ashen Victor is set in the same world of gritty futuristic death sports but tells a more concise, noir-influenced story of mystery and murder strongly reminiscent of Frank Miller's Sin City comics rather than the epic heroine's journey of that earlier work.

But Kishiro's got about one hundred times the raw illustration chops that Miller ever did, and with Ashen Victor the manga master out does Sin City with more heart, even more outrageous characters, and some astonishingly fantastic levels of brutality.

My only gripe is that Ashen Victor left me wanting more. It's too short, and supposedly Kishiro has done some more work in the same Frank Miller influenced style that has never been officially localized for the English language market.

I guess I gotta go learn to read Japanese to get more of this high-end product.

Ah, well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
In Ashen Victor author and artist Yukito Kishiro stretches his creative muscles with a noir detective story.

If you're new to the world, there's not much you need to know, it's the future, it's dark, and cyborgs compete in a deadly game called motorball.

This book centers on Snev, the 'Crash King' of motorball. A gifted player who nonetheless had never finished a race. Every match ends with his cyborg body in peices scattered across the track. In fact this has made him a hit with some fans who come to the races just to experince his crashes through a virtual reality rig. he soon become tangled up in a murder mystery and must face his own inner demons.

The art is darker and more abstract than in Alita. Yukito is definitely experimenting with his style and the results are pretty good.

This is not essential readinig for fans of Alita and Last Order, but it's an interesting experiment and worth checking out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?