Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly Recommended, September 22, 2008
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
This book isn't just for college students. Any teenager will benefit from reading it. Writing as Profesor Theophilus J. Budziszewski, he hands out common sene advice about some very serious questions. Several times I found myself nodding in agreement, and he brought out some things I'd not considered. He answers questions about personal relationships, about God, and learning to think for ourelves, particularly important in this age of spoon-fed information. He also deals with stem cell research, running from God, dealing with punishment, and so much more. Strongly recommended, not just for college students, but for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
I ordered this book along with the first volume to give my son as a graduation present when he received his Bachelor's degree. He has read them over and over and they have a lot of good information for young people trying to make sense out of life situations in a Biblical way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book and Author, September 17, 2008
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
This book and the one before it was great. As a college student, I enjoyed this book very much because it asked questions that require biblical answers. I am a loyal reader of Prof. Theophilus's articles on Boundless.org and TrueU.org and he never lets me down! He is a great and godly man. I recommend it to anyone headed to college or anyone already involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, thoughtful book, January 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who deals with folk who aren't Christians and have questions. It's also a great book for those who want to begin to think about the intersection of faith and reason and life in a diverse community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ask Me Anything, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
This was purchased for my college daughter, and she has loved it. It is written in a straightforward, conversational style, full of wisdom and clear understanding of the young adult. I have enjoyed reading bits of it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, April 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent book; well written, entertaining, relavent to today's college student, and packed with useful advice! It should be required reading for any Christian entering college. The author provides solid advice for many different types of issues that today's college student will face, from a Christian worldview. Topics range from roommate and relationship issues to dealing with anti-Christian bias and finding God's will. His style is highly engaging and whitty. I found it a joy to read and have referred back to it several times since finishing it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for college students, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As in the first book, Ask Me Anything by J. Budziszewski (aka Professor Theophilus) gives reasoned, direct, thoughtful Christian answers to the most difficult questions students (and all of us) face in today's world. Four sections in the book are Learning to Think Stuff, College Relationships Stuff, Fleeing From God Stuff and Fleeing Toward God Stuff.

In the first section he details how to handle "angry and opinionated" professors. He suggests responses such as "Professor, filthiness is not an argument." And "How do sarcastic remarks prove your case?" and "An insult is not an argument." P38

As in the first book he tackles the difficult relationships this time dealing with issues of college room mates, living with the opposite sex and remaining chaste (not a good idea) and breaking up.

In the fleeing from God section he demonstrates and states "there is no such thing as neutrality... You live either as though there were a God, or as though there weren't." p113 Every chapter will speak to students about the issues they face and the questions they have and will help them think logically and Christianly about their own life and circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 30, 2013
By 
Pastor GR (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
Our young adult ministry is going to use this book for their bible study after they finish the first one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! A must read for teens/young adults, December 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
Great book! A must read for teens/young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone!, February 25, 2009
This review is from: Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students (Paperback)
I really enjoy this author's style and benefitted greatly from his Biblical wisdom! Although I am long past college age, I read this to keep up with the issues facing our young adults and the answers the Bible has for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students
Ask Me Anything 2: More Provocative Answers for College Students by J. Budziszewski (Paperback - June 29, 2008)
$11.99 $10.28
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.