Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suprising gem of a game!
I bought this on a whim, and I am SO glad I did. My boyfriend plays a lot of tabletop strategy games, and I can't really keep up with him, so I wanted something a little less miniature based. This game is full of strategy, but also simple and FUN!

In a nutshell, Mr. Jack is a two-player game wherein one player is Jack the Ripper, trying to escape White Chapel...
Published on December 7, 2009 by anashenwrath

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious strategies, watered down by luck, must play twice
In each game of Mr.Jack, one person is Jack (the Ripper) who is trying to escape off the board; while the other person is the Inspector who is trying to figure out which on-the-board character is Mr.Jack before Jack escapes.

Each game consists of approx 8-10 rounds, where a round is a reshuffle of the character cards. At the end of each round, the board...
Published on February 20, 2010 by Eugene D. Milener


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suprising gem of a game!, December 7, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
I bought this on a whim, and I am SO glad I did. My boyfriend plays a lot of tabletop strategy games, and I can't really keep up with him, so I wanted something a little less miniature based. This game is full of strategy, but also simple and FUN!

In a nutshell, Mr. Jack is a two-player game wherein one player is Jack the Ripper, trying to escape White Chapel (ie, the board) and the other player is the investigator chasing him. There are 8 pieces on the board, and the player who is Jack knows that one of those pieces is actually Jack the Ripper in disguise. However, both players get to play all of the pieces, so there are times that the investigator may unknowingly move the Jack the Ripper piece, perhaps to Jack's benefit, perhaps not! What seems like such a simple concept at first becomes many layers of stealth, strategy, and bluffing very quickly!

This game is tons of fun! My boyfriend and I switch off who is Jack and who is the inspector. Although gameplay is incredibly balanced, it's actually quite hard for Jack to get away, so the inspector has so far won most of the games. I was worried, bcs I get competitive and can be a sore loser sometimes, but we're both tied for wins and losses so far. And we have so much fun playing, that I never feel bad when I lose.

Mr. Jack, in addition to being well-designed gamewise, is also well-designed constructionwise. The pieces are of high quality, and the cards are thick cardboard, so the chances of accidental rips, etc, are slim. The artwork/characters are fun and cartoony; even though this is about a... well... serial killer, it's totally a good game for older kids, especially if you're trying to teach strategy or thinking ahead. It's kind of like a goofy, simple chess in that sense. :P

The only criticisms I would give this game would have to do with replayability concerns. So far, every game has been fun, but I wonder how many times I'll play before certain elements start becoming predictable. I could be totally wrong though; certainly the games I've played so far have been exciting and fun, usually lasting about an hour on average. Also, be aware that it is very easy to get lost in a cyclical, strategical inner dialogue with this game, where you'll start obsessing over, "if I do this, he can do this, but then i can do this, but what if he does this?" kind of thing, and that can make the turns last way longer than expected!

Overall though, this is a great game for an indoor couple's date, a one-on-one game night with a friend, or an afternoon with your (older) child. Easy to teach, easy to play, and a lot more fun than you'll expect. You'll be hooked after round 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent two player game! Simple to learn, but keeps you on edge with nearly every move!, December 4, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
Most in-depth board games seem to be designed with 3 or more players in mind. Sure, you can play some of them with 2 players but the overall flow of the game really breaks down. My wife and I have defiitely noticed this and commented that while we have plenty of board games, we really can't pull most of them out and play a game together. On a quest to find good 2-player games I discovered Mr. Jack. Mr. Jack is specifically designed to be played by two players and reminds me somewhat of a cat and mouse version of Clue.

The premise of Mr. Jack is that one player is Jack the Ripper and the other player is a detective trying to track down the infamous fiend. During the 8 rounds of gameplay (typically lasting less than 30 minutes) the detective is trying to determine which of the 8 in-game characters is Jack. Meanwhile, Jack is trying to prevent himself (or herself) from being discovered and to escape the Whitechapel district where the murders took place. This cat and mouse gameplay allows for an engrossing and fun gameplay experience for two players that keeps you both on your toes. There is no deadtime between turns, as analyzing the moves your opponent makes could be key to accomplishing your goal.

At the beginning of the game, the player portraying Jack randomly determines which of the 8 playable characters is Jack the Ripper. The gameplay takes place over 8 rounds while during each round players take turns moving 4 of the 8 playable characters, each character having their own unique abilities which can help or hinder the investigation. Each character gets used once every other round so no characters are neglected. Both players get the chance to "play" all characters and alternate rounds as to whom gets first pick (1st player gets first choice, 2nd player gets next two choices, 1st player gets last choice). The characters are based on both real and fictional characters linked to the Jack the Ripper murders, including individuals like Sir William Gull and characters such as Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.

To determine who the killer is, at the end of each round players will take note as to which characters' tokens are positioned either next to a street lamp, next to another character, or in the spotlight of one character's lantern. A character in one of these three positions is "visible". Only the Jack player knows which character is Jack, so Jack must tell the detective if Jack is in a position where he is visible or not, called in-game "witnessed" or "unwitnessed." This allows the detective to narrow down some suspects, as if Jack is witnessed, any character who is not visible can be declared innocent.

The excitement of the game is in determining strategy as you play. Deciding how you want to position characters under your control, using the abilities of the characters you play, and deciding as Jack whether you want to simply remain anonymous for 8 rounds or attempt escape all factor into the gameplay. While the game might seem simple after just a game or two, my wife and I have both commented that as you continue to play you'll begin to notice how one wrong move can mess you up. You have to remain on your toes! I think luck factors into this game very little. Other than randomly determining whihc character is Jack and determining which 4 characters get chosen during a round (the other 4 will be played the next round) most of the game is purely about how you and your opponent play it.

The gameboard and tokens are charming, caricatures of the characters portrayed. While the game deals with catching Jack the Ripper, the game features no blood or violence and in fact only refers to Jack as "the Ripper" once in the rules. It is more difficult to play as Jack (but more fun) so it might be best to take turns with each other. Some games end quickly, some games last the entire 8 rounds. If you're looking for a fun 2 player game with some nice strategy and depth but simple play mechanics, give Mr. Jack a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great murder / mystery 2-player game, August 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
Mr. Jack is a 2-player only game. It's a murder / mystery centered around one player playing Jack the Ripper, and the other playing the detective trying to find him. Both players will move, and manage the same characters on the board, but one of the characters will be "Jack", and only the player playing "Jack" will know who that is, and it's the detective's goal to try and find "Jack" before either the number of specified turns ends or Jack escapes.

This game does get some criticism for being a little bland, and it is, but it really works if you have a spouse who is not very boardgame-minded. I really enjoy it because this is really just an area control / management game, with the winner usually being the one who arranges the pieces on the board so it benefits them the most. However, my wife really enjoys it because she gets to try and "read" me, and try and guess who "Jack" is, which is really fun for her.

I've heard good things about the expansion, and the mini version of this game. I'd recommend this to anyone who (obviously has a good partner to play it with first of all) has an SO who's not very much into board games, but enjoys games like CLUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tense cat and mouse game for two!, October 10, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
I don't give five stars to many board games. I give a lot of four stars, even to games that I personally don't interest me that much because I can see the inherent value in the game for others with different tastes or needs (e.g. children).

Mr. Jack is the rare exception. No, it's not the best game I've played. But it's good. VERY good. I think of it as a combination of Scotland Yard and Chess. I personally find Chess boring even though I recognize its supremacy in the gaming world. In Mr. Jack you're confronted with some of the same limitations of pawn movement, but there's a palatable tension that doesn't exist in Chess. If you're playing Jack you really are tense as you try to escape. If you're an investigator you're straining to figure out who Jack is before he escapes or time runs out (8 full turns gone by).

I won't repeat the rules as others have already done so in other reviews. Just a few points.

If you are Jack and you are new to this game you will lose. You will lose A LOT. On boardgamegeek users have estimated that Jack only wins 40% of the time. If you're new to the game it's probably no better than 25%. It's a game that rewards repeated plays as you get better. Over time the tactics and strategies to win as Jack become more clear. The sign of a great game is that it and the players evolve over time. That's what you get with Mr. Jack.

I think you almost have to get the Mr. Jack Extension (which adds a few more additional roles/pawns) to fully enjoy the game. That's the only drawback. The Extension evens the field a bit and makes the odds of winning for Jack a bit closer to 50%. So I recommend buying this, playing it say ten times, and then getting the Extension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Find, December 29, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
I play a lot of board games (strategy, Euro, rail, and other), and hadn't heard any buzz on this when I purchased it for my wife as a holiday present. Of course, Amazon recommended it for me based on my own preferences, so it was a pretty convenient to give us both a gift.

I am stunned (in a good way) by the layered complexity of this well-designed game. As described in more detail in other reviews, a number of binary options combine each turn to either reveal or conceal crucial information. Each of the eight characters in the game has unique abilities, many of which HAVE to be used when that character takes a turn. While there is an element of luck, it's the kind of luck that clever players can leverage to their advantage--there should almost always be a way for you to play the options available to you on a turn. The game appears to be pretty well-balanced, although it may appear to beginners that the detective player has an advantage. That should even out with more play.

The game is good for developing and applying deductive reasoning skills at several levels. There's no lurid content (the box cover is about the raciest thing about the game), so it's appropriate for any child who's developed the patience to work through deductive reasoning--and while we haven't tested this theory on our 11-year-old yet, I strongly suspect it will help him develop that patience. It's also a fun and fast-moving game for any two people who like playing board games; we're getting through games in 30-45 minutes. The components are solid and durable, the artwork is fun, and the overall value is excellent. I plan to buy the expansion set and the New York version after I've paid some holiday bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 2 player board game, June 2, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
This is not a toy. This is a great board game. Think of it as Clue but for two players and 10x more fun/stimulating. I bought this specifically to play with my girlfriend to get her involved in heavier board games. She loves it, and I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice filler game, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
A nice 2 player deduction game where one player takes on the role of Jack and the other is the investigator. I have played this game several times with my husband. It's a great filler for time poor parents. We've found the more we play the more strategy the game offers. We alternate roles each game to keep it fresh. The game seems to favor the investigator winning, but despite that we still enjoy it. The longest Jack has remained uncaptured for us is round 5. We usually figure out who Jack early on and then the game turns into Jack trying his best to avoid the authorities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't beat my wife at this anymore..., June 11, 2014
By 
Andrew Pungprakearti (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
This game is great for my wife and I. She doesn't play video games, but loves card games. So this is kind of the middle ground for us. At first I was beating her every game, but now she has become a criminal mastermind and I am having difficulties taking her down. Not cool. Great game for "non-gamers."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and Fun Two Player Game, April 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
I don't consider myself a very hardcore gamer. I love to play board games though and when I get a chance I jump on it. I bought this a few years ago because I figured two player games were easier to get people to play than a game for 3 or 4 players. I heard a lot of mentions of this one online so I figured what the heck and snagged it.

First impression, I love the quality. The board is pretty, the cards are nice and thick, the tokens are nicely done, the artwork is great, etc.

It's a little complicated in that I always have to refer to the rule book for the initial setup and to refresh my memory on the characters' special abilities, but things get going pretty quickly and the other player always picks it up pretty fast. I always take on the character of Jack since I have more experience and I almost always get my butt kicked but it's really fun. Everybody I play is different and every time I play them, their strategy is different too. For age-reference, the youngest person I have successfully taught to play this game is my 10 year old son who also really enjoyed it.

What I really find fun about this game is that there is a LOT to think about. You have exits and witnesseses and special abilities and time running out. Very fun game, highly reccomend it especially for people looking for a 2 player game with lots of replayability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE Mr. Jack!, August 2, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr Jack (Toy)
My husband and I are avid gamers, especially liking the European cross-over games. Mr. Jack is one of our favorites on a very long list of games in our game trunk. It is fairly quick but is challenging and oh so fun. Being Mr. Jack or the inspector greatly changes the dynamics of the game, so it's nice to have the versatility of those roles to switch back and forth. There's great satisfaction as either escaping as Jack or as capturing him as the inspector. A+ game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mr Jack
Mr Jack by Asmodee
$42.99 $31.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.