Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great imaginative play for family and friends alike
Customer Video Review     Length:: 5:34 Mins
Dixit Odyssey is all about letting your creativity juices flow. It's a card game full of cards with very abstract and distinct illustrative artwork that let players' imagination run wild.

The playing pieces you move along the score track are shaped like little bunnies - like the little white rabbit that Alice in Wonderland chased down...
Published on November 3, 2012 by Trent Howell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet again Amazon sends out the wrong item - buyer beware...
I ordered this for a group game day tomorrow and had it sent via local delivery for same day shipment. So excited to open the package this evening only to find that its the expansion. Not only that, but then the retailer changes the status to out of stock. Really - nice way to treat your customers. Amazon is now going to refund my money, give me 5 dollars credit and...
Published 9 months ago by Larcklorn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great imaginative play for family and friends alike, November 3, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
Length:: 5:34 Mins

Dixit Odyssey is all about letting your creativity juices flow. It's a card game full of cards with very abstract and distinct illustrative artwork that let players' imagination run wild.

The playing pieces you move along the score track are shaped like little bunnies - like the little white rabbit that Alice in Wonderland chased down the rabbit hole. And like Alice, players are transported to a world of wild imagination.

Even though the recommended ages for Dixit Odyssey are 8+, we think it's a great game for kids even younger and the rest of the family. Since there isn't any text to read you don't need to worry about kids being old enough to read. And we all know how creative kids can be. Open up these abstract illustrations and set their imagination free.

Another cool thing about Dixit Odyssey is that the game box is large enough and has space for all the Dixit cards available to date.

You can read even more details at our website The Board Game Family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the storyteller in all of us., June 22, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
Dixit is a fantastic party game somewhere between Balderdash and Apples to Apples, but with it's own style and flair. The "storyteller" for the round chooses a card from his hand and, without showing it to anyone else, says a word or phrase he thinks suits the card. Everyone than choses a card from their hand that they think matches what was said. All cards (including the storyteller's) are shuffled randomly and then everyone votes on which card they think is the storyteller's.

The genius behind the mechanics is the storyteller only scores points if at least one, but not all, of the other players picks correctly. This forces the storyteller to avoid being too vague or too specific.

The card images themselves are wonderfully evocative and unique, prompting creativity in choosing "stories" for them. The fact that the game boils down to a simple premise of "describe the picture on the card" makes it perfect to play with kids. I haven't played with a particularly small group yet, but it has played extremely well for us with groups ranging from 5 to 9 and players ages 7 to 45.

Odyssey is a stand alone addition, but is fully compatible with the first two releases (and the box is even designed to hold the cards from the previous sets).

Games that encourage creativity and enhance language skills while being fun for any person big or small that chooses to join in are rare. This is a great addition to anyone's game closet.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as much fun as the first Dixit! The popular family game is now a PARTY game, as well!, December 24, 2011
By 
N. Beitler "Avid Reader" (Aurora, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
I'm a proud owner of the original Dixit and Dixit 2 Expansion Set games. My family plays a lot of games, and we really enjoy sharing new games with family and friends. Last year, Dixit was the new game we were sharing with everyone, and everyone loved it. The only thing that could have been approved upon (in the original) would have been the ability to play with more players. Well, with Dixit Odyssey that minor issue has been resolved. With the addition of a whole new stack of cards (assuming you have the original two Dixit games, which you WILL want!), a newly-designed box that holds ALL of your existing cards, and the ability to include 12 players, this new Dixit is a real crowd-pleaser!

If you have ever played Apples to Apples Party Box - The Game of Hilarious Comparisons, you're going to be a bit familiar with the style of game play that this game presents. Unlike that game, however, there is no reading involved. Instead of comparing words, you're only comparing pictures. The game is easy to learn and easy to teach. Play it one time and you won't have to refer to the directions any more. Highest possible recommendation for this game! If you are "artsy" or a naturally creative person, you will especially love this game! Best game to come along in years, and accessible to a wide range of ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Beautiful of Card Games?, October 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
The Most Beautiful of Card Games?

Seldom does a board games graphics move one's heart and soul. Sure, we remember the games from our childhood with nostalgia -- Candyland, anyone? And games are often interesting and stimulating. But how often are games truly beautiful?

So here's how it works: One player is storyteller for a turn. He draws 6 cards -- each with an image. He selects one image and gives a clue about it. It could be a sentence, a story, a sound, a song, a gesture, a drawing. Anything. The rules give no restrictions to the clue.

The other players must look at the images in their own hands and guess which the storyteller chose. They each hand the card representing their guess to the storyteller. He shuffles them and lays them out. All players then bet on which card belonged to the storyteller.

However, the storyteller does not want everyone to guess which card/image he chose. If EVERYBODY gets it right, or if NOBODY does, he scores no points. But if SOME get it write and SOME get it wrong, then he earns points. Players who guessed correctly also score points.

This edition makes it easier for larger groups to play. It also provides some new images and gives you space to store the cards from other sets, too.

Again, the beauty of this game is remarkable. The images are fantastical, dreamlike, surrealistic. Which all lends to an atmosphere of mystery, expectation, and the unknown. It is only rivaled in beauty by certain Tarot decks (though these images contain no occult symbolism) and perhaps by certain handmade board games. Highly recommended for those who tire easily of the strict rules of other games.

Also check out the original Dixit and Dixit 2. For a little bit further out in left field, check out A Book of Surrealist Games. And for a ton of games that require plenty of imagination, check out THE Book of Word Games: Parlett's Guide to 150 Great and Quick-to-Learn Word Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Dixit to start with, October 16, 2012
By 
Suz in Seattle (Seattle, of course!) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
Dixit is a fabulous game for a wide variety of people. Check out Wil Wheaton's Tabletop episode on YouTube that shows a sample game being played if you are curious how the concept plays out. I find the game plays best with 4-8 people.

If you're buying Dixit for the first time - I recommend you start with Dixit Odyssey.
- Odyssey accommodates up to 12 people and uses voting boards instead of little individual chips (the original only plays up to 6 or 8 and uses voting chips) which gives you a lot of flexibility
- It includes 12 nice wood rabbits for scoring (Dixit Journey has plastic pieces, voting chips, and goes only up to 6).
- The box insert is designed to hold multiple decks of cards (holds up to 3 full decks) which you'll want because it's definitely more fun with more cards.
- The scoring track is better than the one in the original basic game too - although I find the scoring track gets a little crowded - especially when playing with lots of people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for mature adults (vs. Apples to Apples) written by immature adult, April 6, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
Let me start by saying I'm 34 years old. This game is great fun for couples nights. Comparing this game to "Apples to Apples", another favorite, Dixit leads to MUCH less fighting. Apples to Apples has a completely arbitrary judge, and in my house, can lead to some episodes of complete ridiculousness (read: ANGRY FIGHTING) . When you play Dixit, everybody is a judge, and the point system is set up fairly, leading to much less fighting. I adore this game, and highly recommend it as the perfect party game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Yet again Amazon sends out the wrong item - buyer beware..., April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
I ordered this for a group game day tomorrow and had it sent via local delivery for same day shipment. So excited to open the package this evening only to find that its the expansion. Not only that, but then the retailer changes the status to out of stock. Really - nice way to treat your customers. Amazon is now going to refund my money, give me 5 dollars credit and promises to pay the difference when this game comes back available. We will see....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game., April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
This is a fun game, but make sure you discern whether you are purchasing the stand alone game or the expansion version. The listing I purchased from was for the stand-alone version of Dixit Odyssey, but the seller sent me only the expansion pack version of the game. I am disappointed since I do not have any stand-alone version with player tokens. I will have to give a low rating to the seller, but the game itself is a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Delivery, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
Because once again amazon sent me the wrong game. It is the second time I purchased this game (the first was in a friend's account), and in both purchases, I got the wrong game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun game for all., November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit Odyssey (Toy)
I ordered this game after ordering the game for six. A group of us gets together to play games, etc. This one will have enough places for everyone. However, I would like to have had more cards. Seems a little lacking for twelve people. It is a wonderful game though. We will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dixit Odyssey
Dixit Odyssey by Asmodee
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.