Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite at the Game Shop as well as with Kids
I first played this among a Gaming Group I play with once a week, not long after it was one of the favorite "board" games among the other gamers at the Game & Hobby shop where we all play. Although it says 8+, my 7 year old daughter also took to it right away and it has since become her favorite game.

What I love about this game is it's a quick and simple play...
Published 13 months ago by Jamie Wilson

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Varies from Great to Bad depending on the group
In case you don't know how to play, look at the other reviews first. I think this game thrives in situations where most of the people don't know each other very well at all. It's not a good game for including one or two people who know the rest of the group worse than others. Doing well at the game is about thinking more like minded to others in the group than everyone...
Published 13 months ago by mr_vash


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite at the Game Shop as well as with Kids, September 4, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
I first played this among a Gaming Group I play with once a week, not long after it was one of the favorite "board" games among the other gamers at the Game & Hobby shop where we all play. Although it says 8+, my 7 year old daughter also took to it right away and it has since become her favorite game.

What I love about this game is it's a quick and simple play and for anyone and everyone. The set up is easy, deal six cards to up to six players, everyone picks a color (to represent them via Bunny on the score board and voting chips)and you pick someone to start. They pick a card from their hand, for example let's say Player 1 chooses a card with a Bunny on it and two doors before him, one red. This scene could remind the player of The Matrix (one commonly used with this card among our group), Alice in Wonderland (because of the white rabbit), Doors, Doorway or Entrance (because of the doors, obviously) or even Bunny or Rabbit (for the younger players, there are more rabbits in different decks).

Once he chooses his card, he says something that reminds him (like the above mentioned), let's say he chooses Alice in Wonderland as his phrase. The other players then pick a card from their hand, without revealing, that reminds them of Alice in Wonderland. Let's say Player 2 has a card with a cat on it somewhere that reminds him of the Cheshire Cat, so he plays this. Player 3 has a card that shows several cards stacked, the top having a Red Queen on it, reminding him of the Red Queen in Alice in Wonderland. So he plays this. Player 4 has nothing that represents the clue so he simply plays a card he wants to get rid of.

Then all the cards are shuffled up so nobody knows who played what, then revealed on numbers 1-4 (or however many characters are playing). Then each player looks at the cards and chooses which they think the first player played (not nessasarily which they think is most like the clue, but which they think that player most likely played) This game comes in handy when you play with people you know very well as you can anticipate what they chose sometimes based on their clues, their cards and who they are as a person. This makes the play funner sometimes and also challenges players to be more abstract with their clues.

Each player votes anonymously, vote card face down, for which card they think PLayer 1 played. Once all votes are cast they are revealed.

If everyone picked then right card, everyone but Player 1 gets 2 points (penalizing Player 1 by being too obvious with their card or simply nobody else had a card that also represents the clue). Bunnies are moved up according to points.

If at least one person voted for another card, then the players voting correctly AS WELL AS Player 1 all receive 3 points.

The Player whose card was chosen also receives an extra point. They receive as many points as there are votes for their card, and those who wrongly chose their card receive none.

If nobody chooses the correct card, everybody but Player 1 receives 2 points (again penalizing Player 1 but this time for not being obvious enough). They also receive 1 point for everyone who votes for their card.

The player who chooses a card this turn obviously does not vote as they already know the chosen card. You also may not vote on your own card at any time.

It's a very simple rule set up which goes quickly as points are quickly earned and everyone's bunny races to the end.

There is also a different set of gameplay for if you are playing with only 3 people, making it harder to narrow down the few cards by having opponets play two cards instead of one, providing 5 choices instead of 3 in a 3 player game.

Definitley Highly Recommended, you'll be buying expansion cards as soon as you fall in love with this game, too. I've already purchased two myself. A must have for any gamer no matter what level or type of games you love, this truly is one for everyone. Simple and Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A familiar mechanic but Dixit still shines, June 6, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
The mechanic is familiar, picking out someone's card but Dixit adds a little twist and still manages to be fun. In Dixit, on a player's turn, he/she tries to convince others to pick his/her card through clues. Easy, except the player do not want everyone to pick it, just some. That player gives a clue, puts down a card, all others, pick a card from their hand and puts down a card, trying to get their cards picked so they can get points. It's a easy game in theory, but in practice, the cards themselves are sometimes not easy to give clues for, plus one may see the "clue" in multiple cards presented. Dixit is a wonderful light and enjoyable game, no pressure, no deep brain draining thought process required. Despite that, Dixit still makes you think about connecting the clue to the picture. Great for children and adults, the kids may not "get" it but the fact that they can play along and not feel left out is a giant step in the right direction.

Please click YES if my review have been helpful to you, it will encourage me to continue writing and updating my reviews, and leave a comment if you have any questions, I will be more than happy to answer if I can be of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dixit, March 29, 2011
By 
Terri P. Tepper (Barrington, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
This is an outstanding game for children and adults alike. In fact, playing with my 6 - 10 year old granddaughters is great fun. The children are more dramatic in the delivery of their one or two word stories. The adults more laid back. I bought the 2nd deck as well and mix them together. Dixit certainly helps children to focus and to use words carefully and descriptively.

Recently my husband had a game party and we had one table of Dixit. It's a game that is easily learned and enjoyed by all who play. Terri P Tepper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic family game, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
I purchased this game to play with my friend's 5 and 7 year old kids. They both picked it up right away and really enjoyed it. Not only is it a smart and creative game, but it has a small learning curve. A great introductory game for young kids and older people who think of Monopoly when someone says tabletop gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Varies from Great to Bad depending on the group, August 17, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
In case you don't know how to play, look at the other reviews first. I think this game thrives in situations where most of the people don't know each other very well at all. It's not a good game for including one or two people who know the rest of the group worse than others. Doing well at the game is about thinking more like minded to others in the group than everyone else. As such, outsiders of a group will likely not enjoy it very much. If you are playing in a group that enjoys competition: I also suggest not allowing references specifically designed to target a single person playing. Example] "This card features an item I gave my husband for our first anniversary" while you husband is playing. This type of behavior makes the game feel very exclusive and is unfortunately a great winning strategy.

For a lot of groups it's a great game though! Just have had a few bad experiences. Also, oddly enough I've found sharing hands and guesses with a team is very enhancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful game!!, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
Dixit is a remarkable game! Simple to learn, requires thought, creativity, a little bit of luck...
The best thing is: it doesn't matter (REALLY) if you win or lose, PLAYING is what is FUN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now for something completely different., February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
I purchased this game after seeing Will Wheaton's show TableTop on the Internet.

Last night I brought it to a gathering of adults who had never seen a game like it, and were initially put off. After some cajoling, they stepped up and tried it. I won the first game, but everyone else wanted to play it again, and the second time a gentleman won who had been the toughest to convince to play.

The comments I received were like, "This is the most unusual game I've ever played," and, "I'm engaging parts of my brain that I never use!" It was a hit and a half, so if you're reading this you need to get this game.

Best with four, five, or six players. The more players, the greater the experience. Also keep one person in charge of dealing the cards, shuffling and revealing the selections, basically running the game. I filled this role last night since I owned the game. Also, find something to use for an active player token. It will cut down on some confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, fun game for families and friends - beautiful artwork!, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
Great game for groups of people. The art is beautiful and the rules are simple. It's a fun version of Apples to Apples with art instead of random topics. Great for families and groups of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
Played several hours over spring break with my 13, 11, and 8 year old. Sparks creativity and whole family can play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same Dixit - But End the "I-Know-You" Glitch, July 25, 2014
This review is from: Dixit (Toy)
My wife Mary is a public school teacher who says this game is a fun-filled game for expanding vocabulary development. S.A.T. Prep, anybody? Forget story-telling and movie-related clues. Instead, have game players provide a clue with one or two vocabulary words that describe mood or theme, e.g., daunting, perplexing, divergent, mysterious - or for primary school examples: lost, excited, pleased, help. Players identify a card from their own hands that best matches the given vocabulary word and that is the basis for subsequent voting. This clue strategy should end the critique by some that the game is not fun if you know which movies and stories other players have enjoyed. Mary loves this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dixit
Dixit by Asmodee
$34.99 $23.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.