Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 7 Wonders Cities
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Price:$20.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 14, 2012
If you want your 7 Wonders games to last a little longer, or be a bit more tricky, or allow for an 8th player or team battles -- Cities has you covered. The black colored 'City' cards are expensive but powerful (e.g. an Age III card worth 5 Shields) allowing the game to swing a bit more. They add a previously lacking sinister tone to the deck, for anyone who likes to play as the 'evil genius.'

More Leaders and Guilds are added, some that interact with the new Black cards and others that don't. Conflicts can be more lucrative with the new cards, both for winners and losers -- so it's a tougher part of the game to ignore and that's good. Money is also more important. All in all, the expansion helps ensure all facets of the game are equally important, so it creates more viable strategies to try out.

Petra and Hagia Sophia are added as playable Wonders. Petra's builds require large amounts of money as opposed to tons of resources to build, an interesting twist. Hagia Sophia guarantees you Diplomacy tokens, which lets you avoid having to fight your neighbors; this affords you to mostly ignore red cards. If you like spending money, or dislike fighting, you'll find these wonders to be great additions to the roster.

Usually expansions can add unnecessary weight or complexity to a game, and while this does make the game longer, the fun it adds is well worth it. Plus, being able to have an eight player is a godsend at big parties.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
I was completely satisfied with how this expansion affected the game play of 7wonders.

Not only does it increase the player limit by one, and the draft cycle by one as well, it features a new card type: Black cards.

The black cards are much more focused on attacking everyone on the table with their coins, and even forcing people into debt (Negative coin bonus is much like losing a battle, the negative point never goes away.)

It also adds a peace token. For the round the player is holding it they are skipped over in the combat phase
EX: If attacked by a neighbor on the right while holding a peace token the combat would skip to the next neighbor (the token holder's left neighbor).

It broadens the game a little more to pay attention to more of what the entire table is doing, and not just immediate neighbors.
It also comes with three leader's for the leader expansion, two pertain solely to black cards and one is a replacement for Semiramis.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
I have have the base game of 7 wonders which I enjoy very much. i bought the first expansion (Leaders) which i also enjoyed, so I decided to give this expansion a shot. In addition to adding 2 new wonders and a few more leaders to the game, it introduces 2 new concepts to the game: debt & diplomacy. There are certain cards which force opponents to either lose coins or take on debt tokens which will count against you at the end of the game. There are also the diplomacy cards that remove you from military conflicts with your neighbors (this is a real bummer for me as I always like to go with a strong military, lol). The game also introduces the black (city) cards which can produce a variety of effects depending on the symbols on the card. All in all, this expansion adds a bunch of little stuff to the game that makes it more interesting without getting too complex. When teaching the game, I would advise just starting out with the base game first and then add add the expansions in subsequent games. When it comes to purchasing the expansions I would also advise getting them in the order that they were released (Leaders then Cities).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
This expansion really adds a new aspect to the game and also adds 10 minutes of gameplay as you get 8 cards in your hand instead of 7. I don't recommend buying the expansion if you never played 7 Wonders. Get used to the game first as the expansion adds new cards and new concepts so you better know the basics before buying it. Once you do, click and add it to your cart! It is a must!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
If you're a 7 Wonders fan, this is a good bet. We've used it and the companion expansion, Leaders, in several gaming sessions and appreciate having a little more variety to 7 wonders games. Lots of replayability here.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
I was extremely excited to get this expansion and while I do enjoy it, my playgroup does not, which is the reason for the 4 star rating. It adds 2 more Wonders, a few leaders, and the black Cities cards. The city cards are very powerful and I like the extra variety they add to the game. My friends did not like the money loss or Diplomacy mechanics which this game features heavily. Overall it is a good expansion and if you truly don't like those two mechanics, the game is slightly modifiable to where you don't have to play with them, should you choose to go that route. This is accomplished by removing all black cards that have Diplomacy or monetary loss for other players and by also not playing the Wonder 'Byzantium.' Try this game if you're an avid 7 Wonders player because it does add some extra spice to the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
The cards added by this expansion allow for each player to gain an additional card during each age, or if necessary, let an eighth player participate in the game. New rules allow for players to pair up as a team, and there are two new cities with their associated Wonders, plus new guilds to throw into the mix.

The new cards include forced peacetime during the military, forced payments to the bank potentially leading to debt, mercenaries and other variations on the original 7 Wonders game play.

This expansion gives a bit more variety and punch to 7 Wonders game play for those who want liven up a solid game that might otherwise be getting a bit tired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
I love the 7 Wonders base game and game play has improved the more my group plays it. I picked up Leaders soon after and now Cities. Neither of these change game play much and Cities adds more of the same, making it a little more interesting. We've played w/ it a few times and enjoy it but don't find it a "must play every time".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
Great extension to a great game! Our family loves to play this board game! It only takes 30-45 min to play this game depending on the time each person takes. It is a fun strategy board game, a great break for a rainy day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
The 7 Wonders Cities expands the 7 Wonders game. Unlike other reviews posting that you should buy the other expansion first, I believe that this one works fine as the first expansion.

Normally, we play two-player 7 Wonders... as it's just me and the wife. We play the third person in a switcharoo fashion according to the rules.

The black cards in this deck really add another dynamic to the game. I wanted to add more randomness into the game from what the original 7 Wonders game had. The purple cards and black cards add the most randomness. After about 10 times of playing that game, you'll start to memorize the brown, grey, green, blue, and yellow cards in the deck. This can lead to an advantage over your opponents. The black cards from this expansion combined with the purple cards from this expansion and the original add more randomness. This means a better game overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.