Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds a much needed random element to a great strategy game
I was taken with the 7 Wonders game from the first time I played it. I really enjoyed the progression of the game and the fact that all players play simultaneously makes the pace wonderfully fast without sacrificing any depth. However, after playing a couple of dozen times the base game can become a little stale because the available options are more or less the same from...
Published on August 14, 2011 by J. Slayton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds a little bit more
This expansion adds an extra pre round to each age. In a small way it gives players another avenue to score points. This allows for a slight improvement to the randomness of the draft system that the game relies on, but doesn't completely fix all the issues. If you play the game on a regular basis I would buy this, I wouldn't play it with newcomers to the game, as it...
Published 14 months ago by itmo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds a much needed random element to a great strategy game, August 14, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
I was taken with the 7 Wonders game from the first time I played it. I really enjoyed the progression of the game and the fact that all players play simultaneously makes the pace wonderfully fast without sacrificing any depth. However, after playing a couple of dozen times the base game can become a little stale because the available options are more or less the same from game to game, with the exception of randomly selected Guilds in the third age.

The Leaders expansion addresses this problem head-on. In addition to increasing the number of available guilds, at the start of the game the players are dealt 4 cards each from a deck of historical leaders such as Julius Caesar, Leonidas, and Plato - each with their own unique benefits. Players draft these cards and keep their set of 4 leaders hidden. At the start of each age, a player can either play play a Leader for its coin cost at the beginning of each age, discard one of them for 3 coins, or play a stage of their wonder. The number of starting coins has been increased to account for the new costs. A good set of Leaders can be the foundation for an optimal strategy that can result in some magnificent scores, but playing those leaders can advertise your intention and result in the other players harrying your efforts before they come to fruition. It's more important than ever to watch your opponents.

7 Wonders hits the table very frequently in my game group. With the addition of the Leaders expansion, I expect that to continue for a good long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New dimension for 7 Wonders, August 26, 2011
By 
D. Dale (Greeley, CO United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
This expansion adds a whole new dimension to the 7 Wonders game. Adding 'Leader' cards that have different functions (buy science cards for one less resource, 'deflect' negative battle points back to neighbors, bonus points for sets of certain cards, etc.) can cause you to completely reevaluate your strategy. It does add a little complexity to the game, but that's fun of 7 Wonders, trying to figure out which of many options on each turn will be the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adds immense depth to an already great game, September 14, 2012
By 
B. Nichols (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
Leaders makes the game much tougher to play, in that now your Leaders as well as your Wonder will guide your strategy. Sometimes they don't mesh well together, and you'll find it tough to determine what the most efficient course of action is.

This expansion adds a little more chance to the game, as some Leaders are much more powerful than others. Granted, they do have drawbacks (e.g. Ramses allows you to ignore build cost of Guilds, but is expensive to get out and is only helpful in the last age). After playing a few games, it does seem being lucky enough to have the right leaders with the right wonder might spell victory before the game begins. Still, if you want to add more depth to the game (at the cost of making game time run longer) its a great buy.

Rome is added as a playable Wonder, which focuses entirely on capitalizing on the new Leaders mechanic as much as possible. It's very balanced though a bit unorthodox compared to the other wonders - but the important thing is its fun to play as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds a little bit more, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
This expansion adds an extra pre round to each age. In a small way it gives players another avenue to score points. This allows for a slight improvement to the randomness of the draft system that the game relies on, but doesn't completely fix all the issues. If you play the game on a regular basis I would buy this, I wouldn't play it with newcomers to the game, as it would just add a bit to much information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to 7 Wonders, August 14, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
Definitely improves the replayability of 7 Wonders by making you choose strategies you would normally avoid. Good addition that adds very little time to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, August 8, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
I was really excited when I saw 7 Wonders had an expansion coming out for it, as I have a group of friends who love to play it. And I have to say that I really like the expansion! In my opinion it very nicely integrates into the game and adds a little more depth to it, while also not disrupting the rest of the game. I don't really have anything bad to say about it...sometimes it seems like some of the leaders are a little overpowered but none of us have suddenly won by a ton of points (in fact the other day we played and everybody was within 3 points of each other), so it just "seems" like they are. It also makes the game more educational, as in the instructions they have a list of all the leaders in the game and a short description of who they were. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Cities, July 5, 2014
By 
Jonah Falcon (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
I like the Leaders expansion, but it frankly doesn't add as much to the game as Cities. Leaders add a "building" in the form of a Leader once per era for the price of coins, instead of a variety of other resources. Their abilities can run from the mundane to the weird, which sometimes require even veteran players to check the cheat sheet to make sure they know what their abilities can do. Rome also adds some spice by directly affecting leaders.

My advice: buy Cities, and then buy Leaders at some future point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expands the game by adding more, November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
Adds a great amount of newness with the new Leaders drafting phases before each age. This expansion essentially adds more card drafting and more ways to generate points with the leader cards and their new effects. Also includes one new wonder and a few guild cards,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy addition, August 9, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
7 Wonders has to be one of the best games on the market today; it's playable, fast-paced, and complex all at the same time, with multiple avenues the players can pursue to achieve victory.

The Leaders expansion enhances the game tremendously, utilizing the already magnificent game mechanics without sacrificing playability at all. It does add a bit of time to the game but I suspect that even neophytes to the game can complete an entire game in under 45 minutes.

In short, I would recommend this expansion to anyone who wants an added challenge to an already challenging, exciting game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expansion done well, August 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders: Leaders (Toy)
A great expansion that adds depth without adding much additional learning requirements. Leaders basically adds another card type to the game, along with a separate draft phase. Before you start the first age, you draft 3 leaders. Once you have 3, you will start each age by selecting on of your drafted leader cards and playing it like you would a normal card (building it, discarding it for money, or using it to build a wonder). If you are going to get one of the expansions, this should be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

7 Wonders: Leaders
$29.99 $21.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.