Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ass goblins
Growing up, I watched a lot of TV. Nickelodeon, mostly. Ah! Real Monsters, Rocko's Modern Life, Ren & Stimpy. They were light-hearted and funny, sure, but deep-down they were kind of unsettling, and with your eyes glued to the tube, you felt like you were given a glimpse into truly twisted minds, minds that were trying their very best to warn their audience of the...
Published on November 9, 2009 by J. David Osborne

versus
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As if it were written by a 12 year old...
I'm a newcomer to this genre known as 'bizarro,' so let's get that out of the way up front. That said, I'm quite the fan of twisted and off-kilter stuff; This book has that in spades. I'll save the rehash of the other reviews and offer up my critique of the book: It's horrible. Not the content, as I've got nothing against a race of ass-creatures exploiting kids for...
Published on March 10, 2010 by Joshua Byrd


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ass goblins, November 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Growing up, I watched a lot of TV. Nickelodeon, mostly. Ah! Real Monsters, Rocko's Modern Life, Ren & Stimpy. They were light-hearted and funny, sure, but deep-down they were kind of unsettling, and with your eyes glued to the tube, you felt like you were given a glimpse into truly twisted minds, minds that were trying their very best to warn their audience of the darkness of adulthood to come. These cartoons with their drab colors and their focus on offal and snot and lint and gas were just too ugly and honest to be on the Disney channel.

"Ass Goblins of Auschwitz" is what happens when those kids, so mesmerized by the cartoons of their youth, grow up and write stories of their own. AGOA is a Nickelodeon cartoon pushed to the extreme and injected with cynicism. You're born, things are good, you start to check out girls, and before you know it a goblin has his finger in your ass and is turning your friends into cider, you're mutating and growing wings and you're becoming one of them and you're rebelling and you'd do anything to get out of the prison you're in.

I promised myself I wouldn't use the word "imaginative", but AGOA is so filled to brimming with the products of a big, Mountain Dew-fueled brain that other words fail. The first half of the book is gripping, every page contains a unique, surreal image or idea, but it does not let up for a moment, and if you are not careful, by the end it could bury you under them. I enjoyed the quick pace and the brevity, but I also found the last twenty pages to be exhausting, a wild dash for the finish could have been sharper, more fleshed out.

That said, I can't wait to see what Pierce will do next. With an imagination as fertile and frenzied as his, I'm sure I won't have to wait long to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I never thought I would like it., November 23, 2009
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Quite possibly one of the most disgusting books I've ever read and I couldn't put it down. I got it for the title, but I finished reading it for the storyline. You will get wrapped up in the story if you aren't careful. I only gave it 4 stars because of the gross factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, you want a review?, May 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
I didn't read this. It was a gift for a friend. He didn't read it ether. He just looked at the cover, read the synopsis, then we all laughed our heads off for about an hour.

Totally worth the $7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ass Goblin Awesomeness, December 14, 2009
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
After seeing the title, Ass Goblins of Auschwitz, I just had to read. I'm glad I did, while the story had quite a bizarro overtone the book was really just about the lose of childhood and the struggles of growing up. I would tell everyone to read this book, I loved every page :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inglorious Assterds, November 24, 2009
By 
Nick Cato "nickyak" (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
If you thought INGLORIOUS BASTERDS was a strange taste of revisionist history, wait till you check out the second novella from the demented mind who brought you SHARK HUNTING IN PARADISE GARDEN.

Okay, so this technically isn't "revisionism," but a wickedly surreal action-adventure set at a reimagined concentration camp (and it's Alice in Wonderland-ish underground). The entire book reads like an acid-trip WW2 escape-story, packed with dazzling creatures, disgusting villians, and a cool new meaning for the term S.S.

Otto and his co-joined-by-the-ribcage brother are our main prisoners in Auschwitz, a camp where all kinds of freakazoid children are being kept as prisoners and forced to work at a toy-making factory (the unlucky ones are used for experiments in the mysterious Surgery Lab). Their captors are Ass Goblins, a violent race of "soldiers" under the command of Adolf (who is away for most of the story) and also under the eye of The White Angel (a sort-of right-hand man to Adolf). When Otto and his brother are separated, Otto is turned into a giant spider creature by the Ass Goblin surgeons, and his brother learns to use his large wings (and aquired flesh-bike) to begin a revolt against the camp and its leaders.

Pierce once again shows off his amazing imagination and gift for non-stop excitement. The final battle is every bit as twisted and strange as SHARK HUNTING, and while I didn't at first quite know what to make of the ending, I came to find it perfect after re-reading the last two chapters.

If bizarro's your thing, THE ASS GOBLINS OF AUSCHWITZ is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As if it were written by a 12 year old..., March 10, 2010
By 
Joshua Byrd (Eufaula, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
I'm a newcomer to this genre known as 'bizarro,' so let's get that out of the way up front. That said, I'm quite the fan of twisted and off-kilter stuff; This book has that in spades. I'll save the rehash of the other reviews and offer up my critique of the book: It's horrible. Not the content, as I've got nothing against a race of ass-creatures exploiting kids for their own amusement. No, the writing is the problem. This book could have been easily written by the warped mind of any 12-year-old boy. I'm not a fan of wordy prose, and really appreciate the stripped-down writing exemplified in this book, but the ideas were so jumbled that it was a bit hard to follow. Considering that I read the book in only a few hours is a testament to the sparse writing and lack of cohesion. There is not a thing I could have possibly missed or forgotten over time, as I have done in the past with longer books. The author will often describe an event quite vaguely, then touch upon that event later on while describing huge changes which were obviously enacted but never described as such. Things like that made the events very hard to follow at times, while other times, such as the end of the book, were so out of left field that you wonder if the author hadn't started a completely new story on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange but you need to be tough to stomach it, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you think surrealistic fiction bordering on balderdash in a setting which has been cruel reality in Nazi Germany is inacceptable for you, do not read it.

If you feel uneasy with descriptions which could just as well be construed as pornographic, do not read it.

If you don't want to read a story centering on pain inflicted on children, do not read it.

In fact, I am not sure about the book myself. Maybe it is an awful book. Right now, I do not think so, right now I see it as work of a genius.

What I see is a allegory on innocence and oppression, surrealism beng used to bang the message right into your head, with no escape route for your rationality. The story is evil and dirty, you feel contaminated by reading it and especially by your reaction to it. Nonetheless it is a strange story which pulls you in, so you have something for your mind and your conscience. I love it, your mileage may vary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meaningful, emotionally-charged Bizarro..., February 1, 2013
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Let me guess? The ass with eyestalks covered in Nazi symbols is totally turning you away from this book. Don't. Go ahead, read it. It's worth it.

"Ass Goblins of Auschwitz" certainly looks and sounds like something that was written to be offensive for the sake of offending. It is not very long, the cover makes no attempts to mute the meaning of the title. One might think it is screaming to be thrown on the pyre. But don't be so quick to judge. Cameron Pierce always, whether intentional or not, has something to say with the subject matter he uses. He, like other Bizarro authors, does not write juvenile screed. They write things to make you think and entertain.

First, the Nazi imagery is not just empty symbolism. It is carefully chosen to evoke a certain emotional response. Horror, strife, oppression, fear. The Ass Goblins are a vehicle for examining something that has lost its edge because of the frailty of human memory and distance of time and geography. Namely war. I'd wager that every high school student who pays attention to World History hears the phrase "Holocaust" and attaches the "six-million Jews killed" statistic to it. But much like televised war we are numb to it. The horror we are never supposed to forget is being forgotten.

And it's not just World War II, it's any war. The Iraq War, The Cold War, The War on Drugs, The War on Terror, all of these have casualties that we don't often see and no clearly defined battlefields or open-viewed combat. Pierce's use of children as an easily identifiable victim allows this short narrative to cut to your heart, as children are still one of the last things everyone still holds sacred. Even among criminals, child molesters are the lowest of the low.

So by creating a story of alien asses of the most readily recognizable evil enslaving children for industry and experimentation, Pierce is slapping your face to remind you that there is more going on in the world than the new iPhone, or what happened on Idol last night. There are people dying over petty things and for petty men. Sometimes we need that splash of offensiveness to remind us. We need symbols to add the human element to cold logic. "Ass Goblins of Auschwitz" delivers this needed commentary in a deft and surprisingly touching manner.

Cameron Pierce has the gift of writing meaningful, emotionally-charged Bizarro. "Ass Goblins of Auschwitz" is just one more fine example of his ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Bizarro!, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
When I first learned of the Bizarro genre I thought it would be some truly weird stuff, I read some descriptions of books and some customer reviews and there seemed to be some strange and twisted books out there. One that I was intrigued by was AGOA, I had already read Abortion Arcade and knew that Cameron Pierce was a go to guy for the truly bizarre work. After having finally got around to purchasing AGOA and reading it I've got to say this book here is what Bizarro is all about. From the Goblins themselves to the descriptions of Auschwitz landscape, Pierce's imagination seems limitless. He's crafted a morbid and disturbing world for our narrator 999 and his conjoined twin, 1001. This book is perfect for anyone interested in Bizarro, it showcases how far you can go within the genre and still maintain an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted E-Zine's Review of Ass Goblins of Auschwitz, July 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ass Goblins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
The following is taken from my blog, The Haunted E-Zine:

Did you even know that books like this exist? The Ass Goblins of Auschwitz is one of the most bizarre, grotesque, and disgusting books I've ever read, but for the life of me, I wasn't able to put it down. I literally read the entire 104 page novella in an evening. It's a kick in the pants and a shock to your system you won't soon forget.

First of all, let me address a few criticisms I had about the piece right off the bat (so we can get to the good stuff). The use of Nazi imagery is tacked on in the worst way. It's quite probably a very self-aware decision by the author to provide additional marketability to his concept and add a sort of shock-rock factor. The ass goblins themselves have nothing to do with Nazi Germany. Swastikas are mentioned abundantly, and Adolf Hitler is the name of the most hideous and powerful of ass goblins, but Auschwitz is merely the city they live in, and it really has nothing at all to do with World War 2, the holocaust, real Nazism, Germany, etc. The story would've been just as strong without the additional Nazi imagery plastered on for added appeal. I might argue that in some ways it distracted from the otherwise impressive originality of the story because so many other authors have used the same trick.

Another critique many might have of this book is its use of children as protagonists in such a dark and violent world. The story makes no qualms about tearing children apart, having them being turned into "cider", subjecting them to forced cannibalism, mutation, and just about every unfortunate circumstance you can imagine (like eating your own organs). That being said, the word "Children" in this story is tacked on just as much as the Nazi imagery. The characters behave entirely unlike children in their maturity and complexities, and it's more correct to say that they belong to a species of children whose homeworld is called "Kidland". And that leads into the recurring theme of the novella: childhood/innocence lost.

At least, that's what I thought the theme to be. Much ado was made about the loss of childhood, about how the Ass Goblin scientist (the White Angel) was performing experiments to make the ass goblins happy like children were in their natural habitat, and about how the children, after undergoing certain (spoiler-free) changes, could never go back to really being children. Keep your eyes out for this theme if you choose to read the book and let me know if you agree or not.

The things I loved about this book though were what made it so enthralling. The imagery used was well-described and aggressively original and imaginative. The ass goblins are quite unlike any other thing that has appeared in fiction to date. The characters are also given just enough time to develop enough for us to understand them, yet at times I felt as though they were merely vessels of a much greater story.

The writing style is anything but amateur and there were some truly great lines scattered throughout the piece. The plot is very coherent despite the absurdity of the premise, and the ending, though maybe a bit rushed, is an epic scene that is to be read at least twice.

Do I recommend this book? Well, yes, definitely. But if you are not into bizarro fiction, cannot stomach gore and grossness in your stories (and there is LOTS of both), or are offended by the Nazi overtones or the graphic abuse and killings of "children", then you should pass. Those of you able to approach the book with a truly open mind are likely to come away either with mixed feelings or, like me, immediately searching Amazon for more content by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ass Goblins of Auschwitz
Ass Goblins of Auschwitz by Cameron Pierce (Paperback - October 5, 2009)
$7.95
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.