Customer Reviews

509
4.6 out of 5 stars
Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood - Playstation 3
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardChange
Price:$16.57 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

106 of 121 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a fantastic game in every aspect and has brought a great amount of enjoyment. The creators put forth a great deal of work and made many improvements from previous installments. The game feels like an entirely different game even though it continues the story of Ezio. I am extremely pleased so far.

The Story
-------------------
As always, the Assassin's Creed story is exceptional. You continue the story of the battle between the Assassins and the Templars. You dive further into Ezio's life and explore the city of Rome. The story is as great as ever and the leading a group of assassins is a truly great feeling. The missions are well tied to the story. I cannot say too much about the story without spoiling it; however you will not be disappointed.

The Gameplay
-------------------
The gameplay is fantastic! It is one of the major improvements the creators made to the game. The combat system has been greatly improved to be more aggressive. No more sitting there, waiting for an opponent to make a move. Leading a group of assassins is great in combat. You can call them to aid you and watch as they assassinate, shoot, and slice your enemies along with you. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood also comes with new weapons, machines, and equipment. Now you can soar down towers using parachutes and quickly air assassinate people. Also you can now truly fight on horseback! It provides a whole new element to the game. The free climbing is as great as ever. The gameplay has been improved in too many ways to cover them all.

The Online Experience
-----------------------
Online is brilliant. It's a whole new experience that has never truly been seen before. There are several different game modes and maps to play on. Also there are over 10 characters to play as, along with unique weapons and abilities, such as the ability to sprint away, or morph into a different character. An online assassin game is truly amazing. The feeling of sweeping from the roof to an unsuspecting player is great. The online is a HUGE success and I love every minute of it. It adds a huge deal of replay to the game.

The Replay Amount
-----------------------
The game offers a great deal of replay in contrast to the past games. In Brotherhood, there is a huge amount of challenges to play through. Also, similar to previous editions, you can search for hidden items in the game. There is much more to do when you get bored of following the campaign. This isn't even including the online! The online mode makes the game have a huge amount of replay time. Brotherhood is much longer than other installments of the games due to challenges and online mode!

Conclusion
--------------
This game is truly outstanding. I love everything about it. The story, gameplay, and online make this game exceed my expectations. This game is superior to the other two Assassin's Creeds. If you even remotely enjoyed the previous Assassin's Creeds, than get Brotherhood. You will love every second of it!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
When I heard Brotherhood was coming out so close to AC2, at first I was over trilled and totally hyped up to get my hands on it... but as many have pointed out, a sequel in less than year is worrisome when it comes to quality.
Well, the doubts were completely answered with an amazing, full, and engaging game.

Story wise: It is finally being made a LOT more clear that Desmond is the face of Assassin's Creed. He is getting a lot more playtime and the first section you play with him as is nostalgically similar to the Assassin's Tombs in AC2 (only a lot easier and more latches and lifts.)
The Shrines of Romulus will be the new "assassin tombs" giving a armor that will give you full synchro with Ezio.
On Ezio's side you will see the return of "flags" that were in AC1 and the "feathers" in AC2, and getting all of them unlocks their own rewards.
In conclusion, as to not give any spoilers, the story is what you would expect from this franchise.... awesome. Graphics looks a lot better than what I remember (having played the ps3 version of AC@.)

Gameplay:
Combat-
Assassin's Creed is definitely evolving and I am liking it's progress. AC1 was basically spam the attack button and block... cool at first, right?
AC2 expanded on this with counter kill moves, but then we would be stuck waiting for the A.I to attack us for easy kills.
Brotherhood ADDS all of that and combines it with a stronger and smarter A.I, making the enemies attack you back to back (instead of in turns), and offensive gameplay is now a lot stronger than it was before. So the battles are quick and gory with even larger battles going on compared to previous ACs.

Additions to previous features-
>New Weapons
>New Armors (sadly the "armor" gotten for pre-ordering at Amazon is an outfit)
>Trade Items furthering the element of a role playing game
>Run your own city (in this case Rome) is back on a larger scale
> and of course, the ability to make your Brotherhood of assassins (it's the name of the game!)

Multiplayer-
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is the first game in series with a multiplayer mode!! We asked for it, and they answered.
The animi you see at the beginning of AC2 is the back story of the multiplayer section of the game. Abstergo templars use the animi to gain the skills of assassins with the bleeding effect, and that is us.
Each player is assigned a target (some other player), now the player has to assassinate its target without losing their cover, or they will be killed by the person who was assigned to assassinate THEM!
I haven't gotten into the story mode that much yet, but apparently the multiplayer characters we will play as are in the main story, so everything is tied in nicely, right?!

Uplay points- Assassin's Creed 2 was the first to have these and of course, every new Ubisoft game has them. Brotherhood is no exception to this. If you do not know what this entails, it is basically ubisoft's version of trophies or achievements. They unlock exclusive themes and ingame media (extra bullets skins, multiplayer character, etc). Pretty nice of them.
If you have already beaten AC2 as I have you get 20 uplay points at the start of the game.

In Closing:
As a fan of Assassin's Creed, I can't help but just praise it with a perfect score. If you have seen trailers, demos, gameplay videos... just take a dive and give it a try, it at least deserves a trial run. You wont regret it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on December 15, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
I've followed this story line since game 1. I fell in love with the original just because of the freedom in it. You always went at your pace, you chose what starter quests you did before going for the big kill, and there were almost no restrictions. You could either go kamikaze on your targets or be stealthy. You could stay and fight the guards afterward or bolt away.

The second game added to that. You still had a sense of freedom only they added so much more. The armor, the weapons, everything was customized to your own wants. You got to rebuild the villa which was fun. And the story was a bit longer.

Now Brotherhood, I had high expectations for. Based on how epic the last two were I thought this would be even better. However, I was taken aback by a few things.

First things first, this game is incredibly glitchy. For those that haven't experienced what me and my close group of friends have, you are extremely lucky. Because we've been randomly desynced, gotten stuck to the point where you have to restart the game, didn't have our targets show up a few times and more. It can be really terrible in multiplayer. The heads up factor will sometimes completely disappear in multiplayer sometimes leaving you in a weird sort of eagle vision. Sometimes you lose your kills or don't get your allotted points for them.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Borgia towers, Romulus lairs, and rebuilding Rome. For the most part you had free rein with this, you could do it however you wanted. Customizing the colors of your armor was cool because you could mix and match capes. The addition of heavy weapons to carry around like the big axe and sword was AWESOME. Also the improved mounted horse combat was excellent. I loved being able to ride a horse through the streets of Rome.

To counter that, the free rein for your major missions is almost shot. Sure most of the time you can do it your way.... if you don't want full sync. My first time through, I didn't get full sync on anything. They will actually require you in order to get full synchronization, to kill your targets or do something in a specific way. You either had to use your assassin recruits, hidden blade, smoke bomb etc. This might just be me, but when I play a sandbox type game like this, I'd like to choose how to kill my target. Also a majority of these missions you cant be detected in. I know the game is built around stealth, but the last game had a good medium with that. We all have days where we don't want to tip toe around and we want to go Leroy Jenkins on everything. You're SOL if you're doing a main mission and that's the case. You will get desynchronized if you get caught. Furthermore if a guard even sees you, you BARELY have anytime to silence him. You either need to never be seen by anyone or be right behind him. I've had moments in the game where I silence one guard and a guard beneath me who isn't even in my line of site catches me and I desync.

The multiplayer was really super epic when I first started it. I bought the game the first day it came out and I did a manhunt my first time. I came out in 4th place on my first try which isn't bad. I really enjoyed doing it. I took a break for two days, returned to it and everyone was over level 20 while I was level 2. I was immediately under-powered on every aspect which made multiplayer very unenjoyable for me. They all had the technology on their personas that I didn't have. This is probably my fault because I didn't work at it as hard and took that break, but it IS something worth mentioning. Before multiplayer can actually be something you like you have to withstand a great amount of butt kicking. It just destroyed whatever desire I had to play it, I personally like to be evenly matched with my opponents.

I will continue to play this series because of the story line. If they keep taking the things I like out of it, I will STILL play. The story line is one of the best I've seen in a video game like this. It keeps you at the edge of your seat and leaves you trying to guess and theorize what will happen next. The plot is absolute genius and I will suffer through the next one in order to know what happens next.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 4, 2011
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
The Assassin's Creed story continues with this direct sequel to Assassin's Creed 2 (AC2). Again, you are placed in the role of Ezio. Instead of going from city to city in search of your targets, you remain within the city of Rome. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood adds some new elements and changes some things around a bit for yet another great game in the saga.

Story: The story of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood picks up directly following the events in AC2. Due to various events, Ezio finds his way to Rome and seeks to undermine the efforts of the delusional Cesare Borgia and his scheming family. As with the previous game in the franchise, the story here is deep and the characters memorable. Caterina Sforza also makes a reappearance, but isn't quite as vulgar as she was in AC2, which is a bit of a disappointment. The character Lucrezia Borgia is also introduced, and, although she is an antagonist, she is one of the most compelling and tragic characters in the game. It is not quite as long or as deep as AC2, but it is certainly better than most.

The visual style of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is very similar to that of AC2, it is Italy and done within the same time period, after all. The difference here is that Rome is ancient, filled with ruins, so unpainted brick or marble is available for you to climb on. The stunning chapel climbing sequences are mostly gone, in favor of the ruins, so you rarely get to see the fine, ornate, detail that Renaissance Italy was known for, but certain areas are the city are beautiful to look at. As someone who enjoys the history of the Roman Empire, and yes Byzantium is included in that too, setting the story in Rome was a treat. As soundtracks go, this is also well done. Some of the tracks sound like they belong in the HBO series "Rome" and use vocals quite a bit.

Gameplay: Put simply, the gameplay in Assassin's Creed Brotherhood mostly mirrors that of AC2. There are several new additions that further refine the gameplay, making it even better, mostly, than the previous installments. If you enjoyed rebuilding and upgrading Monteriggioni in AC2, Rome has got you covered. You can open a number of shops to heal you, make weapons and armor, dye clothes, and paintings. There are other structures you open, like banks, landmarks, aqueducts, stables, a fast-travel tunnel system, and guild buildings. All of these provide gameplay benefits and net you cash every 20 minutes. Open every building, and you get a very useful cape. It would have been nice if, in renovating all structures in a given area, that area would become more noticeably better, but as it stands, the difference is very subtle.

In Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, there is also the new guild system. There are three main guilds, thieves, courtesans, and mercenaries, along with an additional assassin's guild you control directly. The three primary guilds give you side quests and a challenge board. Complete every challenge and the guild owner will give you a special item. Individual side quests open over time as you progress through the game. The assassin's guild is very interesting, you recruit assassin's from Rome's population to fight for your cause. These assassin's level up and can be sent out on missions or used to help you in a fight by providing backup or to rain arrows down on your enemies. Although the assassin's guild is fun, once they reach the maximum levels, there really isn't much for them to do except sending them out on the difficult "starred" assassin missions, which net not only florins but also rare items, or calling them into battle. You do not have access to your assassin's guild during certain gameplay sequences where they would be most useful, but you can use them fairly often.

The full synchronization concept is also introduced. In previous installments, you get a mission telling you to do something, it is then up to you to determine the best method to accomplish this. In Brotherhood, you still have that option, but if you accomplish the mission in a certain way, you synchronize more fully. As your overall synchronization meter fills, you gain special memories from earlier events. These memories are triggered at various benchmarks, such as 30% overall synchronization all the way up to 75%. Mercifully, the developers stopped at 75% knowing that not everyone has the patience to go much beyond that. Keep in mind that if you fail the full synchronization requirement, and the game will certainly let you know this, and decide to suicide yourself to back to the checkpoint prior to the event you failed, you will still have failed in the requirement. If you want to try it again, you have to restart the mission entirely from the beginning.

Everything starts at the Borgia towers which dot the landscape. These break Rome up into several zones, some of which are totally inaccessible for arbitrary reasons not connected to the story. To get new assassin recruits and access to buildings, you must dispatch the captain of the tower and then burn it to the ground. Each captain is given a star rating which is meaningless if you played any previous installment of Assassin's Creed. The rating is supposed to indicate difficulty, but, I was able to take down a five-star tower the moment it became available when Ezio first entered Rome without guild backup. Removing the towers removes a certain number guards or makes them weaker in that zone.

One of the most talked about additions to the franchise is the inclusion of multiplayer. There are several multiplayer game modes to choose from. Alliance is where the six players are split into three teams, all sent to hunt other teams. Team work is crucial in alliance. Man hunt is another mode, where two teams take turns being both the hunter and the hunted. Wanted is a mode where you are assigned targets, often other players, and you go assassinate them as solo agents. There is a spin-off to the wanted mode, and that is advanced wanted where gameplay is shifted forcing a more stealthy approach as the compass, which points you to your target, is reduced in effectiveness. Players can choose from a number of characters to play as, all of which are generic in appearance, allowing the players to blend in with crowds more easily, or even stand next to an identical non-playable character to throw off would-be assassins. The whole system is ranked up to level 50 with bonuses at each level, and you gain points for stealth on top of simply killing the target. This is used to discourage players from merely running around killing everything since the points gained just killing are relatively low compared to the bonuses given for actually being an assassin.

There are other minor tweaks to the gameplay. You now have shop quests which require you to scour fallen enemies and treasure chests for rare items that can be combined to make new equipment. There really is no real reason to get paintings or buy every piece of weapon and armor in the game since there are no completion benefits or trophies in doing this. The annoying flag mini-game makes a return, but with a twist. Some of the flags are hidden the Romulus lairs, which are similar to the assassin's seal quest that ultimately yielded the Armor of Altair in AC2. These lairs can be tricky to navigate, so it is likely you will miss one or two flags. Completing these lairs grants Ezio the Armor of Brutus and Dagger of Brutus, which are both the best armor and short weapon in the game, unique in many respects. The dagger is very useful, civilians and enemies sometimes cower and the animations using it draw upon how Brutus killed Cesar with vicious stabs, being both effective and brutal. Da Vinci also makes a return, giving you a parachute if you destroy the war machines he is contracted, forced, to build. These are fun mini-games allowing Ezio to take control of tanks, naval cannon's, and bomber aircraft. Brotherhood also introduces execution's. If Ezio counters or kills an enemy, he can follow through and cause a one hit kill on any nearby enemy, even brutes. The trick is to know which enemy is going to attack next and kill them before they hit you, stopping the execution. If you pull off the execution, you can follow it though to another enemy, and another, and another, without anything stopping you other than an enemy breaking your streak with a hit.

Misc.: Assassin's Creed 2 was considered my game of the year for 2009 and I believed Brotherhood would join it in 2010. Sadly, this was not the case for a few minor reasons. AC2 is a deep game with plenty of story elements to keep the player engaged for many hours. Brotherhood is similar, but not quite as deep, only going as far as nine memory segments. With few exceptions, the side missions assigned by the various guilds are very similar with little to add to the story, nor do they form small story arcs encouraging you to play them all. The rebuilding of Rome is also fun, for a while. You do gain discounts and new items in opening up shops, but, aside from this, nothing really changes all that much to the city. Hearing the populace talk about Ezio or the assassin's more, the buildings being cleaned up, or even flying the assassin's or the Auditore flag, similar to how they flew at Monteriggioni, would have been nice. This would give the feeling that the assassin's were tipping the balance in Rome.

The assassin's guild is also very useful and fun, but, Ezio's guild seems very separate from the game with none of the missions bleeding over into the main game. It would be nice had Ezio been given direct involvement in some of the missions, or if he could lead a team on special missions. As it stands now, the guild doesn't really have much impact on the story with the exception of a few memories. In fact, you could recruit people and not bother to use them at all in the game and not lose much. The guild of assassin's can be useful as backup or to rain arrows down on your enemies, but I found myself rarely needing them, especially after leveling them up, which is quite easy.

The main issue that kicked the game a few notches down on my "Game of 2010" list centers around multiplayer. I usually don't play multiplayer, it gets repetitive too quickly and there is nothing affecting the game's canon in it. Although there are a number of modes and character archetypes to try, it does get old. Moreover, unless you have several friends you can invite, you will be stuck with a least one person not acting stealthily, racing from rooftop to rooftop to get the next kill. It often seems as though many players are trying to take a multiplayer shooter strategy, which is get the most kills, and apply it to a unique multiplayer experience that discourages this type of gameplay. This makes multiplayer less fun since the whole point of being an assassin is to kill without being seen until the last possible moment. I would have liked a Demon's Souls multiplayer mode where you can bring in other gamers to help in some cases, or, have them hunt you down in the single player game should something go wrong in a mission. Instead of outright failing a mission if you are detected, a player could appear in the city and hunt you, even after you completed the main assassination. I would have found this type of multiplayer more compelling.

It should also be noted that this game has multiplayer trophies. You could squeeze every last bit out of the single player experience, even hunting down the irritating flags, and still not get the platinum trophy unless you invest almost as much time in multiplayer as you did in single player. As someone who often does not play multiplayer or find it enjoyable, this is a major let down. I probably would have gone back after finishing game to get the more difficult trophies had multiplayer trophies not been added, but since they were, why bother? For a mostly single player game in a single player franchise, these multiplayer trophies should have been removed in favor of bonuses in single player campaigns or just stripped entirely as a stand-alone feature granting UPlay points.

Overall, in the single player game, it is an improvement in terms of mechanics. Expanding the rebuilding game and adding in the assassin's guild was a fun addition, but it really doesn't do much to change the game. The full synchronization concept is interesting and there are rewards for doing it. Thankfully, the developers make it goal to get full sync, but set it up so unless the player actively ignores doing it, it is almost certain they will get the reward for completion. The war machines side missions are very fun and I would like to see more. The hecklers have also been toned down a bit and thief races are few. Overall, it is a great game and a worthy addition to the franchise, but, for me, it just wasn't as good as Assassin's Creed 2 if only by a tiny amount.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is not called Assassin's Creed III for a reason. In my opinion the game was designed for the multiplayer, which is fantastic. The campaign took me 3 days to beat, and it was enjoyable. The last two sequences seemed.... different, and not particularly in a good way; however, the campaign gets a 8.5/10.
Now the multiplayer. I am a multiplayer person, why buy a game just for the single player? Rent it if you only want to play the campaign. This game is the best multiplayer I have played in a long time. Game changing in the way Halo Combat Evolved (Halo 1) multiplayer was.
In the multiplayer you are an abstergo agent hunting down other abstergo agents. You can control many different characters you see throughout 16th century Italy in the campaign: doctors, courtesans, thieves, blacksmiths, priests etc. You have two abilities you can use and two perks. The perks are bonuses you have throughout the games and the abilities are actions you can use which will help you. Some abilities are Smoke Bomb (stuns assassins hunting you), templar vision (see through a crowd of people to zoom in on your target) and morph, changing the crowd around you to look like you. Perks are minor improvements, like resistance (less time spent stunned), wall climber (start at a slightly higher position on a wall when climbing) etc.
What is great about the multiplayer, and I can say this with confidence after playing over 150 games, is that nothing is overpowered. You have no people with cheap weapons that make the game boring and repetitive. The game is evenly balanced, and exceptionally fun.

For me this game would get game of the year, far surpassing black ops (huge disappointment) and Red dead redemption.
Campaign 8.5/10
Graphics 10/10
Multiplayer 10/10
Overall a must buy 9.5/10
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
Recently, newer games have been all hype (cough...Star Wars...cough....Black Ops...sneeze...Fallout) and just do not deliver. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood however, has lived up to all the hype and is truly an amazing game. First off, gameplay is as addictive as in previous Assassin's Creed games. It still has that feeling you get when you assassinate someone with your hidden blade. The graphics are far superior from the previous Assassin's Creed games (Not to mention the cut-scenes). Multi-player is like a dream come true. The added characters you can play as (in multi-player) is a definite plus. All in all, there isn't anything negative to say about this game.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 9, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
This newest volume of Assassins Creed takes you back into the shoes of Ezio Aldetore, though older, he still gets around! The entire game you are saving your beloved Roma, and dealing with Borgia guards around every corner. The missions are harder, rely more on stealth, and make you think and plot your next movements.

I found A.C2 more entertaining because of its overall ease and lack of frustration involved. I could play Assassins Creed 2 for hours on end and enjoy the beautiful details of the game and the cities like venice. This game is much more intense, and there's quite a bit of "RAAAAAAAAAAGH WHY DID YOU JUMP OFF THAT CLIFF" moments. It's not nearly as soothing as it once was, and that's why I give it a lower rating. If I wanted to be hardcore and bash the bejeezus our of badguys, I'd be playing Dante's Inferno or Demon Soul's. Not Assassins Creed.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
First of all let me say this, the Assassin's Creed games have always had an amazing single player campaign and this one is probably the best in my own opinion. I had always wondered how they would ever make multiplayer work but this by far blows away all of my expectations. I play my share of every system ps3, wii, and xbox 360. The multiplayer style is as diverse as I have ever played. The action in the multiplayer is really new and is a must try for any person. There is soo much going around at one time it is really hard to describe. One moment you are a priest killing a doctor and after the kill you try to run away from a harlot. Then you go to a circle of priests and disguise yourself and Boom!! the person that was hunting you has just killed a civilian and you are awarded 100 points for the lure.

The multiplayer is great but it requires a moderate amount of patience, you can not just go around running and trying to kill everyone. Those who have played this game online would agree with me. Again the single player campaign is remarkable I don't like going into detail because I would just spoil the story line lol...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard
'Assassin's Creed 2' was without a doubt my favorite game of 2009. It had great graphics and sound and a terrific variety of gameplay. While 'Assassin's Creed Brotherhood' may not be a true sequel to the franchise it's a bigger and more polished upgrade to 'Assassin's Creed 2' with even MORE gameplay thrown in!

'Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood' picks up right where AC2 left off: Ezio has defeated the pope and got a trippy apocolyptic message and must fight his way out of Rome and into another revenge/conspiracy story involving the Borgia family. Meanwhile Desmond and the gang are also on the run and must explore Ezio's old hideout (now in a modern setting) for the artifact everyone is after. While the story itself is more straight forward than AC2's, it manages to perfectly balance the gameplay between Ezio and Desmond's story. I actually enjoyed exploring modern Italy as Desmond and am now getting more comfortable with his crew as characters. All the voice actors return and give the same knock-out performances as last time, especially Roger Craig Smith who's aging Ezio nicely.

The basic gameplay in 'Assasin's Creed Brotherhood' is pretty much the same as AC 2's but is a lot more polished and refined. You can now take the offensive in combat and string together moves and instant kills (much like Batman Arkham Asylum's free-flow combat). Also you can now purchase property in Rome and take control of different 'Guilds' (Thieves, Mercenary's, brothels) and actually explore inside these structures and take part in side-quests and mini-missions. Even shops this time around have side-quests you can complete to get special weapons and armor!

Along with the basic gameplay being amped up you can now recruit different people in Rome as assassin's, train them and customize and level them up. It's not a HUGE addition to the game but a fun one that gives you a sense of power over a group of people.

One thing I want to make clear again: While 'Assassin's Creed Brotherhood' is a full game (took me around 20 hours doing some side quests) it's very much a EXPANSION of 'Assassin's Creed 2', NOT a sequel. If you didn't like 'Assassin's Creed 2' or did but are looking for the next step-up in gameplay, you should definitly save your money and wait for Assassin's Creed 3.

I love 'Assassin's Creed 2' so I love 'Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood'. It features the same excellent gameplay and gives you a chance to spend more time with these characters and setting. 'Assassin's Creed 2' fans: this is a MUST play!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2010
Platform for Display: PlayStation 3Edition: StandardVerified Purchase
When I preordered this I figured that the single player would just be some tiny tacked on campaign. I was wrong, they certainly put some time into making a full single player experience. From what I understand it's slightly shorter than Assassin's Creed II's campaign. I played the multiplayer beta for the past month, and I was so happy when they made matchmaking faster, and added more game modes. The multiplayer requires stealth, attention to detail, and patience. It gets intense, but the people who run around all the time get annoying. It's like the complete opposite of COD. I like some of the changes they did to the single player. For one thing, you can combine weapons in combat, like you use the sword and gun together during combat. They cut out a lot of the stuff where you have to find codex pages to get your equipment, and instead you start out with everything. The animations are slicker, and there's more moves, as well as more finishing moves. Also, the A.I. has improved significantly; I actually have to run away from the guards once I'm surrounded by 5 or more of them, they're more difficult, and won't stand still while you're doing a finishing move or counter-attack on one of their teammates so you'll have to be a bit more careful. I'm definitely enjoying this game, and I've been a fan of the series since the first game of the series, but I still recommend it to anyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Assassin's Creed III
Assassin's Creed III by UBI Soft (PlayStation 3)
$15.66
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.