Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TIPPING THE SCALES OF POWER WITH YOUR KNIFE
This is on of the most anticipated games to be ported to PCs. For this, the Director's Cut edition was produced, adding some content over the console versions (mostly rooftop action missions), and care was taken to make the gamepad to keyboard/mouse-transition as seamless as possible. For the most part it was successful.

This is a TREMENDOUSLY BEAUTIFULLY GAME...
Published on April 13, 2008 by NeuroSplicer

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK...
A few reviewers summed up this game very well. I just wanted to nod my head in agreement...

Excellent Graphics, Nice open ended gameplay, Good voice acting. Play control is not too bad (takes a while to get used to).

Boring, repetitive missions and slow story line. Game gets old after a few hours.
Published on May 3, 2008 by E. Medina


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please do not buy this game, September 1, 2008
By 
V&A (California, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC (DVD-ROM)
The best games have the power to take you into another world; one that is richer and stranger than your own. It may be fascintating, beautiful, or frightening, but when you enter into it you feel that you are really there.

Building this world often starts with the graphics, and Assassin's Creed cannot be faulted here. The effects are gorgeous, and the textures and details are wonderfully rendered. But if this is to be a properly immersive experience, where you, the player, become part of the world, then the interaction and gameplay become just as important, and it is here that Assassin's Creed fails so abysmally.

The basic character controls are stupidly, pointlessly, clumsy, and making the character do what you want becomes an excercise in keyboard-punching frustration. The tasks that your character has to carry out are infuriatingly hard, not out of any inherent difficulty, but because of the ridiculously obstructive game mechanics.

As well as the simple difficulty in controllng the character, many of the assignments that you have to carry out are deliberately set up to irritate you. When trying to follow a man in order to pick his pocket, beggars will accost you (but not him) and refuse to let you go. (They want money. The game system doesn't let you give them money.) Random deranged lunatics will stand on street corners and block your passage (but never anyone else's).

Many of the little details that seemed so convincing to start with soon become annoying. The street-corner preacher that you walked past in Damascus is also there in Jerusalem, saying the same thing over and over again. The suspicous guards, who are alerted when you walk too quickly, seem like a vivid detail to begin with, but when the game's ludicrous plot forces you to walk past them again, and again, and again, it soon gets tiring.

The character that you control has lots of special moves. He climbs like a cat, and can clamber up to the highest tower in the city, where he can scan the streets below for activity. The first time he does this, it is genuinely breathtaking, as the camera suddenly pans around the assassin, perched on hie eyrie. The tenth, or the twentieth time (becasue you have to do this in order to fill in your map) it become pointless and tedious.

If all of this is beginning tonsound irritating, bear in mind that you will have to do it over and over and over again, as you continually return to one of the three game cities in order to carry out yet another misison that is a bit harder, but basically the same, as the last one.

I genuinely wanted to like this game. I am fascinated by the period, and I loved the idea of mingling in the throng of a crowded Middle Eastern street. But the truth is tht Ubisoft spent a lot of time on designing the scenery, and no time (and even less thought) on designing a real game.

Yes, the game has its scenic moments. But for every time that a dusty flock of pigeons rises into the air as you crawl across the rooftops, there are dozens of stupid, contrived and frustrating exercises that will quickly drag you back out of the game world, and leave you annoyed and angry in front of your keyboard.

Ultimately, a game has to be played, not looked at, and the gameplay is so terribly, terribly, bad that nothing else really matters. It is, as I say, a shame, because I wanted to like the game, but that simply isn't possible.

Please do not buy this game. Please do not buy this game because you think you can handle a few annoyances for the sake of an interesting world. Please do not buy this game becasue the graphics look good and the trailer is spectacular. Please do not buy this game becasue you love the Middle Ages, and you think that any game set there cannot be all bad. I bought this game for precisely those reasons, and I was brutally disappointed.

Please do not buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very linear storyline with very little to do., November 25, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC (DVD-ROM)
READ THE "M" RATING, DON'T BUY THIS FOR YOUR KIDS UNTIL YOU PLAY IT FOR YOURSELF. THIS GAME CAN BE VERY BRUTAL-EVEN WITHOUT GORE. GOOD PARENTS SCREEN THEIR CHILDREN'S MEDIA UNTIL THEIR CHILDREN SCREEN IT THEMSELVES, BE A GOOD PARENT.
</caps lock>

IN SUMMARY:
-Great voice acting
-Good city navigation
-Some fun fights

-Deceptive about open endedness
-Bad control scheme
-Simplistic storyline that rags on most western religions
-Deceptive about AI, it's very simple and scripted
-No destructible environments.
-Unusually high system requirements

Pros:
-Building climbing is fairly fun,
-Some swordfights are movielike,
-Voice acting is great!
-His 'jump shank' attack is just ridiculously awesome.

Cons:
-This isn't nearly as open as it says it is, the game is entirely scripted with no chance of random, interesting things happening. The game description leads you to believe otherwise. The scripting is fairly decent though, so only -1/2
-The controls are console-ified, meaning you 'lock on' and 'fire'. This would be tolerable and only a half star off, but the lock on system is moody at best when you need it. -1
-The storyline is very stereotypical. Without spoiling it, it throws mud at every religion to the point they felt they had to have a disclaimer in the game. (no deduction for this)
-The AI isn't half as good as they say.
-The enemies respawn. -1
-Despite having no physics, scripted paths for all AI (try kicking 'em down a ladder, they come right back up for more) and only 110 maximum NPCs on screen at a time, this game requires a dual core processor. This is due entirely to sloppy programming and lack of scalability. If crysis can run on a single core, then this should too. -whatever's left

All in all, this game lasted me 15 hours over a week, most of it done while watching TV. It simply does not live up to the legacy that other PC games set, one of excellent developer content and easy user extensibility.

This game had a lot of work being put into how cinematic it was. If this game was advertised as such, I would have rated it higher for what it is, instead of what they claim it to be. If I order a steak and get a hamburger, and am told it is a steak, I'm going to rate it accordingly-as a bad steak.

Otherwise, this game is a good buy for a linear, cinematic style of gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love these kinds of storylines, February 15, 2009
By 
Dressi "K N D" (Gainesville, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC (DVD-ROM)
And because I like these kinds of storylines is probably why I gave it 4 stars.

Goood:
The game looks great. With a few tweaks in the ini file, the PC version looks absolutely outstanding, far better than the ps3 version (didn't see the 360 version but I assume it's basically the same). The difference is that the PC when used with the keyboard will lack that slow pacing the character can do, nealy tiptoeing. It's walk or run or sprint, but that's about all the differences.

Otherwise, the game looks great. It's also amazing to see how BIG the cities are. Usually, in game cities aren't that big (or weren't until gt3). Not only that, but just about everything is climbable. Also, this game features probably the most dense crowd i've seen in a game yet. It's not like a few people scattered here and there or in groups, literally there can be 80 people on the screen (or more with some tweaking). The combat is simple and doesn't bog you down, as the main objective is to sneak around, kill and get away.

As well, the storyline is something that I like. It's one of the conspiracy story lines that you have to figure things out. "You cannot stop us." "Who? Who's us?" "you will find out soon enough *bloody cough* haha." That kind. And that's what this game is full of, on the game front and the story front.

BAD:
Ok, there is a lot of shortcomings. One thing I noticed immediately. It's broad daylight ALL THE TIME. You'd think that an assassin would prefer the cover of dark? Well Altir thinks it's best to be cocky and do things during the day, either that or this is the reverse of Dark City and the sun never goes down. It also never rains. So we have no day cycles or weather cycles.

And though the crowd is big, they're pretty lifeless. The only adidtions are some people talking (merchants and crowd speakers) and the ones that get in the way (beggars and drunks/madmen). And about those annoying ones, they only annoy YOU. They never annoy any other NPC's. And the crowd, though great, big and immersive and stuff, tends to get in the way most of the time (which can be good or bad). Otherwise the crowd just walks around, pushing you out of the way and dropping what they're carrying and cursing you for it. The guards are also as agile as you are. Yep, templar, full chainmail, jumps around just as well asy ou do, though not with the same pathfinding. I'd expect them to stumble more when jumping from post to post, but nah.

The next thing that is also blaringly annoying is the camera, not just the fact that the camera CANNOT go through objects, move closer or further away from you dynamically, or even move into a first person running cam, it locks on targets during certain sitautions and won't unlock until that person is done talking. Yes, I know I just rescued you citizen, stop telling me that you're grateful and will go home and will not come out and will find somewhat to pay me back even, just let me start getting out of here already! Seriously. That part is absolutely annoying.

Also, be gentle with the controls and take things a little easy because altir won't always do what you want him to. You want him to jump up a wall, he might run up the wall next to it and then you want him to stop and he'll jump off the wall then fall to the street below and get pushed around by a drunk guy.

Also read the manual. There's tips that will really help you out, like you can fist fight in public without alerting the guards. Nifty.

ALSO, those flags you see everywhere, don't worry about them. That's really for the 360 achievement that, well, you can't get. They don't have some secret mission that is unlocked either.

So what kept me playing this game? it's story. I just had to know what was going on. In the end, it was kind of disappoitned because I had this great idea for the ending of the game (kind of immersive "bleeding effect" you'll get to know about, maybe). But no. It doesn't end like that at all. I still liked it, though, just not the ending I had imagined. Ubisoft has confirmed a sequel but has not confirmed a release date at the time of this review. I'm a Half-life fan, so I'm used to 5 or so years between releases.

Parent Warnings and other Political Correctness: This game is about killing, so keep that in mind. You can kill women in it too. There are no children in the game, however, so killing them isn't an issue. There's blood but no other gore, like dismemberments or guts. There's no other violence other than physical. There's no vulgarity either (at least I didn't notice any). No nudity or other adult content and no mods to give it any. There are a lot of religious references and slander against/from muslim, jewish and christian. The religious origin of the main character is not mentioned. The game does have an anti-religious element towards the end but then takes a step back from it. It does have some pretty deep plots and things you gotta figure out so may not be enjoyable to younger audiences.

Tip: ALT-F4 is a good way to exit the game. See Tweak guides for a good way to set up the PC version to perform at its peak on current-day equipment.

I ran this on: AMD 6400, Vista 64, 8 GB Ran, NVidia 8800gt + Widescreen monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gameplay and graphics!, June 1, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC (DVD-ROM)
First off, I have a high-end machine courtesy of pcgamer mag's dream system specs, so no problems there. Plus I have wide screen monitors which I heartily recommend. I actually was able to play this on high settings very nicely, whereas Crysis had to be lowered for it to look good on my rig.

I found using my logitech gamepad the way to go w/ this game, the keyboard/mouse was not as nice for me.

The voice acting and cut scenes are enjoyable, and in particular I really liked how you switch between the present and the past. In the present you have a meglomaniac yelling at you to get back into the machine, and once in the machine of course you take out all your anger on your targets.

The fighting is fun to play once you get a handle on the counter-moves. The sound effects during battle are excellent, and the various moves you can pull off are always fun to watch.

The cons for me are:

- can't easily exit the game
- can't skip cut scenes even after you've seen them already before
- the ending battle is ridiculously impossible! It took me something like 10 hours of attempts to finish that end battle. So the good news is you can eventually do it :)

The end of the game leaves you hanging and wanting more, so I am definitely awaiting the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Gaming Expeirence for the Mature Gamer, December 28, 2011
When this game came out a number of my friends in my Boy Scout troop were talking about this game and how amazing it was. I dismissed it for a killing era piece. I was very wrong to assume that. I picked this up for cheap on Amazon and was very impressed. This game has one of the best stories in a game I have played in recent years and was very satisfying. Not many games are willing to tread on the ground as Assasins Creed does, covering topics of faith and religion and tying them into a story. The story is based around the Crusades and the conflict between Muslims, Christians, and the Assassins which I found to be very interesting. Although the game may get repeitive, the game keeps you going by attracting you with the next part of the story.
Technically this game is a marvel to behold. I ran it on a Macbook 13" White Early 2009 at lowered graphics and it was still able to keep a decent frame rate and be playable. I know that dropped the graphical quality back to the Previous generation of gameing but it was great to see the developers catering to the lowerend machines.
If your looking for a good action game with great gameplay and a good story and are an older gamer. Give this one a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, October 7, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC (DVD-ROM)
4 1/2 stars is more accurate. It was pretty difficult to catch onto the controls for a while. i originally bought it on ps3 but didnt like the controls so i returned it to get it on pc and it made a real good difference. after a couple cities you get the hang of it. The fighting is very fun and even more fun to watch. gore!! the plot was boring at first then picks up, becomes interesting, and by the end of the game is absolutely awesome! this game is definately worth playing through. the beginning might not be that great, but the game builds a lot of momentum. cant wait for ac2!!! gonna be a more colorful scenery with more weapons! venice, italy. cant go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WAIT !!, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
BE CARRFULL>>> I purchased this product in hopes of adding it to my steam library, saddly this product is not compatable with steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth download, never crashed, May 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm sorry to hear some people have had trouble with the game, because its easily become my favorite from 2007. As a slightly older title, I found it to run buttery smooth on my mid-high range laptop (Acer 8950G). I found the visuals stunning, and I'm excited to hear we'll be returning to this setting in the upcoming AC: Revelations.

You'll find plenty of reviews for the game itself on the internet. I found it was a joy to play from start to finish. Some have complained that the missions you're sent on are too repetitive, and I can see their point. However, I found the change in locale made missions with similar goals were actually very different. I definitely did not collect all of the flags scattered around the world, but I was entertained enough to spend the time completing all of the goals in each section. The mode of traversal is fantastic, and as the game went on, I found that I'd somehow become an unstoppable killing machine.

I won't include any spoilers here, but I will say this much: fans of anything to do with the mysteries surrounding the Knights Templar, the Crusades, etc. will find so much to love here that it makes the sequels instant buys. In fact, I've got the next two titles queued up for immediate play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This game is fun and unique., February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best thing about this game is its uniqueness. You get to scale buildings, jump around on rooftops, and basically engage in parkour. The fight sequences are also great and intense. You can also choose how you want to carry out your assassinations/missions (stealth vs. going Rambo). After playing so many modern warfare games, I find the setting of the third crusade to be a breath of fresh air.

Definitely get this game if you are into sandbox games or like the historic setting. I am definitely getting the second game of the series after playing the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works flawlessly (download and game play), January 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The download took a little over an hour. There were no issues with the install. The game loads and plays without a hitch. Also, it was 12 dollars less at Amazon than at other (legal) game download sites. Overall an excellent way to purchase and play (without inserting a disc!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC
Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition - PC by Ubisoft (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
$19.99 $8.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.