Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 3: The Best One Yet?
Assassin's Creed III is set during the revolutionary era with much of the campaign being focused upon events surrounding the war with England. That being said, this opened up a lot of new possibilities for the Assassin's Creed franchise. Many new additions made it into the game, though the game itself feels as though it stays true to its roots. All in all, I'll break down...
Published 20 months ago by XlPunishmentlX

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat dissapointing
It would have been very easy to make this a much better game. The issue I had with it was how easy the combat was, It's almost impossible to die and very easy to simple slaughter all enemies in head on combat. The game is beautifully made and the story seemed interesting but I really couldn't get over the fact that it didn't pose any challenge. Why sneak around and use...
Published 14 months ago by Nathaniel Chodosh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 3: The Best One Yet?, November 13, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed III is set during the revolutionary era with much of the campaign being focused upon events surrounding the war with England. That being said, this opened up a lot of new possibilities for the Assassin's Creed franchise. Many new additions made it into the game, though the game itself feels as though it stays true to its roots. All in all, I'll break down the various elements of the game (briefly) and score them individually, ending with an overall score of the game.

Storyline: 10/10
Being as how I have been a fan of the Assassin's Creed games since the first one, I have liked all the previous storylines; and this is no exception. The story is great, many twists and turns that you may or may not be expecting, either way, there is rarely a dull moment. Furthermore, this story can be picked up by newcomers to the series (though I would recommend playing the other games before this one to get a COMPLETE sense of the story) and returning fans alike.

Gameplay: 9.5/10
The gameplay is somewhat different from the others in regards to the way you "free-run" as well as to countering attacks and disarming and the like. However, it is simple to pick up and play, but fun enough to keep you interested. Some new gameplay elements were added such as being able to captain the ocean vessel the "Aquila" and complete privateer missions as side-quests. Overall, amazing gameplay with one notable downside. That downside being horseback riding. The horseback riding mechanics in this game are horrendous. I find it odd that in this game, sometimes a horse will get stuck on a miniscule object such as a very small rock, but then can jump over quite a large one. Furthermore, the horse does not handle as well as I'd have liked. I constantly find myself stuck between two trees or rocks because the horse doesn't want to turn properly. On another note, the horse sometimes get stuck in areas where it appears to have plenty of room to maneuver. I am not sure as to why that is, but it is nonetheless, irritating.

Replayability: 8/10
This game is great from start to finish, though there is no real reason to play it all over again. The only reason I even gave it an 8/10 is because of the vast amount of time you can spend completing the various side-quests and main quests. Sometimes there does need to be a great sense of replayability in a game if there is enough content to keep you playing for a large amount of time in a single playthrough.

Multiplayer: 9/10
The multiplayer in this game is innovative (in comparison to other multiplayer titles currently available). It is not meant to be on the same level as other popular titles such as Gears of War, Battlefield, or Call of Duty. That being said, the multiplayer is nowhere near as immersive as the aforementioned games, though as I said, I don't think it was intended to be because the primary focus in Assassin's Creed has typically been the single player elements of the game. There are various online gametypes ranging from team versus, free for all, or even teaming up with a few other players to take out designated NPCs. Overall, the multiplayer likely will not keep you excited for long, though it is a nice change of pace.

Graphics: 10/10
The graphics of the game are simply stunning. The character models are great as are the environments in which you play. Occasionally you will run in to minor graphical issues or "glitches" if you will, though they typically fix themselves promptly.

Overall: 10/10
I feel that this is a fair rating primarily due to the great story line and vast amount of options you have before and after the campaign is complete (depending on how you play). "Everything looks good, feels good, plays good, and is good." "Except for the horses, they aren't so great!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steelbook Edition Review, December 1, 2012
By 
C. Miller (Three Springs, PA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
It is an absolutely stunning setting that you are immediately dropped into. They really captured the look & feel of what it must of been like in the Colonies at the time. From the comments the citizenry make towards you, the attitudes of the soldiers instantly capture your imagination. The scenery is meticulously detailed. Ubisoft really went all out by looking at maps of the locations from the time period and built the world around them and brought them to life.

The enemy AI is very good, but not excellent...There will be times you wonder why they didn't see you, while others you will wonder how they saw you...overall however, it is very good and above standard compared to other games that are currently out. The combat system is very fluid & not sluggish and the controls in general are very easy to learn & use.

I was very skeptical about the steelbook case for Assassin's Creed III. Alex Ross, the artist, did a magnificent job capturing the setting of the game the patriotic nature just exudes from it instantly, while maintaining the mystery of the assassin. It is very sturdy & a lot better quality than I had thought it would have been. It does have a shortcoming, and that is that it only holds one disc and the game itself comes with 2 discs. It would have been fantastic had Ubisoft (the games developer) had taken this into consideration and released it was a case that could carry double discs. Aesthetically however, it is absolutely beautiful.

My initial thought was to give it 5 stars, but really the fact that the game comes with 2 discs, but the steelbook can only hold one holds back a star. Definitely worth having if you are a collector.

EDIT: A comment below asked whether or not it came with the game. There were 2 steelbook cases that were put out. One of them was by an independent company and the other was released with the game as a preorder bonus. The one that was put out by the independent company did not come with the game, and the one that was put out by the developer (UBISOFT) came with the game, but it was separate with the game coming in it's own original release case. I just wanted to take the time to point this out to anyone that comes across the review and it may help them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me a popular grandma!, January 15, 2013
By 
Karen M. (California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
I got this game for my 14 year old grandson. He was thrilled and very appreciative. It's fun making one's grandchild that happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
If you want to run through trees, and then jump down a kill a deer with your hidden blade YOU CAN. Also you can kill people this way but the heart of the series is hunting animals to provide you with loot that you can sell or use for quests to help earn 100% synch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
Gave it to my grandson for Christmas. He has the entire series. Amazing game. They couldn't stop playing to see what was next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC3 Outstanding, November 10, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
I was very excited to hear that AC3 was coming out in November and I am very pleased with what was produced. The fighting, simpler yet smoother, is just fantastic and the kill moves they put in are very entertaining to watch. The details of the colonies and just everything in the game is breath taking and the graphics have been updated and look great. As always, Assassins Creed delivers on an interesting story line, this one with some twists and turns that I certainly did not expect. The game is worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son apparently loves it..., January 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
He's been playing it for 3 weeks during his holiday break, and still not finished. Must be fun, I guess...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
Purchase this item expecting a steel book as a limited edition,when it showed up the steelbook had dents in it,will keep but did not like because of the dents.Will think twice before preordering any more games for Xbox 360 from Amazon.com !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best AC's Out, August 20, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
First off let me get this straight.Ac3 is an underestimated game.The graphics are just plain stunning and the game play is very smooth.I have played all the assassin's creed games before, and this one by far is Ubisoft's best piece of work.The game play is amazing as you can explore the frontier,hunt animals,buy upgraded weapons for Connor,and fight redcoats.If you love history then you will love ac3.The only complaint I have with this game is the main character Connor,witch has a very dull personality,selfish,and can be a jerk.But besides that this game is by far,one of the best games I've played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook (Video Game)
ive been in love with assasincreed since it came out and this is by far the best
at this point u know wat to expect from assasin creed but this game pushed it boundries
probboly did not spell that right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassin's Creed III with Steelbook
Used & New from: $11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.