Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars somewhat improved over previous titles
Game play was smooth and engaging. Graphics quality was outstanding, in my opinion, but I'm not that picky about that sort of thing. The manor missions were a little gimmicky to me. I just ignored them. There was more time spent on the story progression in the present, which I really appreciated. I can't imagine where they're going to take it from there. Looking forward...
Published 4 months ago by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably fun but embarrassingly unfinished
It's safe to say that Assassin's Creed 2 set the bar very high for this series - a great mix of creative storytelling, good writing and excellent parkour and combat mechanics made it a real knockout of a game. Unfortunately, Assassin's Creed 3 falls short in pretty much every department. It's not a bad game, and there are a handful of positive additions... but it's a...
Published on November 25, 2012 by sporked


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably fun but embarrassingly unfinished, November 25, 2012
By 
sporked (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's safe to say that Assassin's Creed 2 set the bar very high for this series - a great mix of creative storytelling, good writing and excellent parkour and combat mechanics made it a real knockout of a game. Unfortunately, Assassin's Creed 3 falls short in pretty much every department. It's not a bad game, and there are a handful of positive additions... but it's a little pathetic to see it fail to meet the standards set even by AC2's expansion games.

The biggest flaw is definitely that the game feels woefully untested. AC3 on the PC has a ridiculous number of bugs, from epileptic horses to menu freezes that make it impossible to proceed, and I've been encountering them in virtually every mission and quite often while just running around. There are also a lot of bewildering things that somehow made it past playtesting; I was killing bears with a hidden blade that was apparently coming out of my bare arm for quite a while before the plot got around to letting me have it, and at one point I was wandering around and completely by accident captured a British Templar fort, which replaced the flag and all the troops there with American revolutionaries... in 1770. In-game tooltips display at very weird moments, like a prompt telling you how to lower your notoriety at a time in the game when none of the methods described are available to you, and every cinematic has a prompt saying "PRESS E TO SKIP" plastered across the corner for the duration. It's not just software bugs, basically - this game feels like it was never tested.

That extends to the writing, too. I'm not far in enough to make a definitive statement about the plot, but it looks like the story level is still reasonably in line with the series' quality so far... but the script is just horrific. Scenes just drag on, especially in the very beginning, with voice actors doing their best with lines like "what's true and what is aren't always the same." And it's not just dialog that's a problem, either; the story structure and pacing are badly out of whack. We're given no reason to care about any of the characters until several missions into the game, and when we do finally meet our protagonist, our introduction to him is watching several scenes of mediocre voice actors monotone their way through extremely lengthy speeches in Mohawk. (I can't express how bad the Mohawk acting is, it's literally like hearing someone reading a technical manual.)

Gameplay itself isn't nearly so problematic, but still suffers badly from a lack of thorough testing. The developers made a big deal about the ability to pick up weapons on the fly, but I had trouble picking them up even standing completely still with no enemies around. The new lockpicking minigame is a perfect storm of unnecessary, no fun and unreasonably picky about precise mouse movement. I had problems constantly with getting stuck on the end of beams unable to move forward, having to realign to the precise right angle to climb certain objects, and attempting to climb impassable barriers that are completely indistinguishable from climbable surfaces. Lip syncing frequently turned into muppet-style flapping with no connection whatsoever to the sound (sometimes not even opening their mouths during dialog at all). Elites deflect attacks and counterattacks pretty much 100% of the time, which makes combat pretty repetitive (counterattack grunts, disarm then attack elites... every time). Several of the optional mission objectives are almost impossible to understand unless you've already played the level once. It's just rough, basically. The difficulty is a huge mess - I had no trouble taking on entire forts simultaneously from the very beginning of the game, but failed other missions constantly thanks to pointlessly capricious layouts for stealth sequences and unpredictable cutoff points for achieving secondary objectives. Even the historical hooks are pretty lackluster, and none of the characters are particularly interesting. And it's been painfully obvious for a few installments that they didn't plan for Kristen Bell's leaving the series, and they've made no effort whatsoever to fill the gap in the narrative left by her character. One entire component of the game (the economic/crafting system) is only usable with an XBox controller and will freeze if you so much as move the mouse. Almost everything about the game feels like a rough draft, basically.

It's not all bad news, of course. The new naval sequences are outstanding. Graphically the game looks pretty great, and the new weather system is attractive (especially localized effects like fog). The nature areas look particularly good (and are massive!), which was a wise decision - colonial America was perhaps not the best choice for this series, considering its lack of gorgeous, huge landmark buildings to climb on, but the game seems to be making up for that by going for knockout natural environments instead. Although a lot of the previous installments' RPG elements are gone, the new hunting system is pretty engaging. Animation's enjoyed some high-quality additions too, especially the run cycle and a whole slew of fancy new combat flash. The world is enormous, there's a ton of stuff to play around with and climb on. And I actually did find a couple (non-mandatory) minigames that were surprisingly fun, where you play old-timey board games in taverns.

Overall, though, I'd only really recommend this game to people who are already in love with the series. It does a reasonable job of bringing us more of the free-running madness that made the first several games so much fun, so it's a good buy just to give you more stuff to climb around on once Italy starts feeling a little too familiar... but it really doesn't stand up well on its own.

Pros:
-Excellent and exhilirating naval combat
-Very attractive, albeit not (ahem) revolutionary
-Pretty much anything you do out in the woods is great
-Highly cinematic combat
-The engine can support huge numbers of NPCs simultaneously (crowds are, well, crowded)
-It is still pretty fun, when everything's working

Cons:
-Mediocre story editing and script, very poor story pacing
-Absolutely overrun with software bugs and continuity errors
-Combat, while beautifully choreographed, is essentially a combination of a reflex test and rock-paper-scissors
-Possibly the worst mandatory lockpicking minigame ever made (it's not nearly as bad with a controller, but it's maddening with a mouse, and purposeless either way)
-The setting is not well-suited to the more appealing gameplay elements
-There's a well-documented bug that completely prevents you from progressing past a certain point without an XBox controller, which wasn't fixed in the recent patches.
-Very, very slow first few hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, December 2, 2012
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Pros:

* Combat system was fun to use, although I did run into difficulty using enemies as human shields. It would not always work as it should which was incredibly frustrating.
* Town graphics / rendering were upgraded from previous versions
* It's Assassin's Creed
* Connor is a bada$$ when the combat system is working properly and that is fun to see and do.
* Desmond's missions. Awesome. Finally got to see him in live action on missions which was great.
* Weather. The added rain affects were awesome. Wish these could've existed in Italy with some of those scenes -- would've looked great.
* Climbing animation was significantly upgraded which was great!
* They developed the game in DX11 for the PC. Very happy to see them utilize the vastly superior PC hardware instead of just direct-porting the inferior console version to PC as they have in the past. I have played the game on XBOX as well, and it is no comparison. To use a common car comparison -- playing this game on the XBOX compared to the PC is like driving a Ford Taurus (XBOX) compared to a Corvette (PC).
* "Tomb Missions". These are now replaced with what are called "Captain Kidd" missions. It is basically a mystery you are trying to solve which is actually pretty cool. You get some great visuals in these missions that look AWESOME on the PC in DX11.
* Naval Missions. As part of your Assassin career, you also Captain "The Aquila", a warship you revive during the game and go out and perform various tasks (rescues, escorts, attacks, etc.). These missions are pretty fun.

Cons:

* Music. The Music is a significant downgrade from games like AC2 / ACB. The magic the music created in those games is non-existent in this one.
* Story. Very scattered and inconsistent story plot. Also the story overall was way too....sad. At every turn you're being betrayed, having family members / friends killed or being forced to kill them yourself. Bad ending both for Connor and for Desmond. Very anti-climactic. I hate the direction they are going with the series as far as the storyline. Also the way the start of each sequence forces you into a cutscene absolutely kills the chronology of the side missions and when they should be completed. Need a far better tie-in. Should have had the primary sequences just be placed on the map so you could start the next sequence when ready as far as the main storyline and have a chance to complete side missions before seeing an urgent cut scene that made you feel like you had to rush off to finish the primary story.
* Connor's personality. They made him into a robot. He has very little emotional development throughout the game. Some people say he seems "dumb". I don't want to say that, but he definitely has no personality, making it tough to get attached to him the way we did with Ezio.
* Hunting / Frontier: Waste of development time. Added nothing in my opinion.
* Mission Design. There were a number of missions that were just AWFUL as far as how they were designed. You had to perform certain tasks in a very precise manner or you would desynchronize. The other AC games provided freedom in how you wanted to complete a mission, and that's something this game missed in many instances.
* Side Quests. I miss the Courtesan, Thief, and Assassination contracts from previous games. This game had pathetic Assassination contracts (I mean really, there is literally zero backstory to them to tie in to the game), and the Liberation missions were only mediocre at best.
* Limited relationships. Connor is 27 by the time the game ends and has no female counterpart. This sort of ties in to the "robot" reference I made before. No guy is 27 and has zero romantic interest. Another part of the Ezio storyline that was badly missed here.
* The ending. Both Desmond & Connor's endings are so anticlimactic. As a Desmond fan, I *hate* how they have chosen to "close" his storyline. I don't want to give away the specifics, so I'll leave it at that. Connor's ending is also very open-ended, and so far, I'm just not attached to him at all as a character -- I am really hoping they can do a better job of developing his personality in future games, because he doesn't have one currently.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I'm pretty disappointed with the game. Given how much it was super-hyped leading up to its release, it's been pretty mixed in terms of overall reception from the fanbase. AC is an absolutely epic game series. In 30 years of gaming, it is probably #1 or #2 on my list of best game-series. I really hope the crew that did AC2 and ACB are recalled to work on future games because those guys and gals just "got it" and knew how to make a magical game. Really hoping we head to France next for the French Revolution. The backstory has been created with Lafayette meeting Connor.

You might be wondering why I gave it 2/5 eggs since I still had a good list of pros. The ending of the game is so epically bad (Desmond specifically) along with how bad the storyline flows that it's just not a good game. There are also numerous bugs in the game that should have easily been fixed before release. My hope is that the next game (the DLC is on its way, maybe it will help also) will reinvigorate the series without destroying everything that it has been able to stand for thus far because this series is frickin awesome overall.

Performance -- I've read that ATI / AMD video cards are having performance problems with the game currently. Given that I'm running a GTX 680 and NVidia released a beta driver a few days before AC3's release, I have had flawless game performance, so for you ATI guys, I'm hopeful they will release a hotfix / beta driver for you shortly so you can play the game. Performance for me was great though -- 1920x1200 with every setting maxed out with the exception of antialiasing, which I dialed down a bit.

Gaming Rig:
Vista 64-bit
ASRock 990FX Extreme4
16GB DDR3
Phenom II 955
NVidia GTX 680 (310.54 Beta Driver)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, I'm a bit letdown., August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I like the Assassins Creed series but over the years, my expectations have been raised and then slapped in the face upon the time of the release. Assassins Creed III really nails this into my head. This is the biggest change in the series with a new main character, a new setting, and new mechanics. i really don't like the beginning part and it drags on for a while to a point where you begin to grow impatient of the Kenway parts and then Connor is relevant all of a sudden. It just seemed a bit odd in the transition and I feel that Kenway was actually a more enjoyable experience. The gameplay is much more complex and things just don't work all the time. From the ways you assassinate to the ways you traverse, you run into some clunky moments. I failed the sync numerous times because of the way to execute a guard from hay kept being annoying (Was using an Xbox 360 controller) or I would get noticed for a glitch moment and have to keep restarting from the checkpoint. The foliage and traversal systems are cool and I really liked the naval combat despite it deriving further away from stealth. It's an ok game that tries to be a technical leap but sort of fails to remind me why I liked the series. I would recommend this at a lower price. Hopefully Black Flag is much better than this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crashes too often, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I just got this game and only got into the begging of the single player mode when it kept crashing. I'm going to try to play it with a better connection and see if it works then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars somewhat improved over previous titles, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Game play was smooth and engaging. Graphics quality was outstanding, in my opinion, but I'm not that picky about that sort of thing. The manor missions were a little gimmicky to me. I just ignored them. There was more time spent on the story progression in the present, which I really appreciated. I can't imagine where they're going to take it from there. Looking forward to Black Flag. The missions at sea were hard to get used to, but were a nice break from the old grind. I understand Black Flag will be primarily at sea. Should be a real challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lame, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I feel like AC is dumbing down the controls and Conor is such an ass of a character it's hard to like him. Whenever you are out of the Animus it's so confusing on what to do next or go if you leave the game for a while and come back, not to mention being useless against Abstergo agents it's so frustrating. I like the story but so far it's the second worst one I've played (AC 1-3, Brotherhood, Revelations, Liberation, and Black Flag). Side note, from the looks of it Unity will be worse than this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AC= Already Created, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It was ok. Pretty much same as every other AC game as i expected. awfully glitchy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Solid game hurt by Ubisoft's chronic lack of proper support for their PC ports., July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The game is fun standard AC gameplay with sea battles added in, though the ship combat gets a little stale quicker than I would have hoped.

Unfortunately Ubisoft refuses to properly port and support their games on the PC. Between the bugs in the game and the bugs with UPlay, trying to play this game ended up being an exercise in frustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not great, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
While it is fairky entertainingn it just doesn't compare to mkst of the other games in the series in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the game though the main character (Connor) is annoying ..., July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I haven't played AC since the first game. I enjoyed the game though the main character (Connor) is annoying sometimes. Overall, the visuals are detailed and look great. The combat is fluid with cool kill animations. Occasionally, there are bugs and problems when running along ledges but this is not a huge problem in the game.

Overall, I enjoyed the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassin's Creed III [Online Game Code]
$19.99 $4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.