Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same...but that's not a bad thing!
I didn't really like the first Assassins Creed. Sure it was fun and had some good elements to it, but it got old very fast and the missions became more of the same monotony. Then with Assassins Creed 2, you could tell there was a marked improvement in almost every area. Brotherhood took what 2 did right and expanded further with the ability to control a group of...
Published on December 7, 2011 by Alexander P

versus
53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alright game in itself but disappointing after AC2 and Brotherhood.
This game was a rather large disappointment for me.

It felt like it should be a DLC for Brotherhood, in terms of length, depth and new features.

Abysmally short with a comparatively poor story and the upgrade/restoration features just weren't compelling unlike II and Brotherhood (You could only get 3 sets of armor in the campaign if you weren't...
Published on January 4, 2012 by William


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same...but that's not a bad thing!, December 7, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
I didn't really like the first Assassins Creed. Sure it was fun and had some good elements to it, but it got old very fast and the missions became more of the same monotony. Then with Assassins Creed 2, you could tell there was a marked improvement in almost every area. Brotherhood took what 2 did right and expanded further with the ability to control a group of assassins, making missions much more creative. Revelations doesn't add any new gameplay elements (unless you count bomb making, which wasn't really that important to the game), but it does continue a formula that works very well.

Being a huge history buff, i enjoyed getting to run around sixteenth century Constantinople, which is very accurately recreated. The plot, involving political intrigue among the Sultan's sons made for a good plot line, but it wasn't even the main plot line. Desmond's attempt to piece his brain together provided a very inception-y vibe. The six missions you get to play as Altair are also very cool, and give very good closure to the character. Revelations continued the dungeon exploration levels which were first introduced in 2, and they still work well here. The ending gave Ezio a very good sendoff, and the final moments have me very intrigued for the next title.

Overall: If you like open world action games with a good plot and gameplay, you will enjoy this...but I would recommend playing 2 and Brotherhood first as you may be a little confused about characters and plot in the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Multiplayer Review, December 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
I decided to do a multiplayer review since EVERYBODY typically only reviews the single player while only spending 3 or 4 sentences on the multiplayer component. I must say I became incredibly addicted to brotherhoods multiplayer as it offered a totally radically different experience from your typical FPS like COD or Battlefield. The revelations multiplayer only adds to the greatness. New game modes like deathmatch and artifact add an exhilarating new touch to your more typical game modes.

Deathmatch puts you in a very close, tight section of a map with NO compass. You are only given a picture of your target and it is up to you to do the rest.

Artifact is a basic Capture the Flag mode. Its works like this: Once you cross the "halfway" point of the map you will only be able to stun, thus you must constantly be on your toes in your attempt to get the flag/artifact and be weary of defenders hiding in crowds near the the flag or what not.

Customization plays an even bigger role. New characters can be customized endlessly with different types of weapons, belts, cloths, and you can even unlock gold weapons. You can also put emblems on the back of your cape.

The are 50 ranks, but unlike brotherhood where 50 is the level cap, you can now prestige. But get this...You don't lose anything! You keep unlocking more stuff, and here's the kicker...you can do this 99 times. And ubisoft says you still unlock stuff right up to prestige 99. Wow.

If you are looking for a fresh break and want some inject some strategy and "outwitting" into your gameplay, then pick up Revelations. You'll notice that most high standing game review sites like IGN, gamespot, and gameinformer, have knocked it. But there reviews where slanted toward single player and they had nothing but praise for the multiplayer component. Remember that the whole game must be taken into account when giving a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alright game in itself but disappointing after AC2 and Brotherhood., January 4, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
This game was a rather large disappointment for me.

It felt like it should be a DLC for Brotherhood, in terms of length, depth and new features.

Abysmally short with a comparatively poor story and the upgrade/restoration features just weren't compelling unlike II and Brotherhood (You could only get 3 sets of armor in the campaign if you weren't focused on collecting all 100 memory fragments, the rest were pre-order and retail exclusives. The game also wasn't paced so that you unlock and can afford all the best gear by the last quarter).

It also seemed like they just tried to push it out as quick as possible to wrap up the story of Ezio/Altaïr so they could get on with focusing on Desmond.
Revelations seems to be the first blunder in the series and the first sequel worse than its predecessor.

AC1 was pretty good, AC2 was awesome, Brotherhood managed to improve slightly on AC2 and then Revelations just seemed so flimsy and cheap after the last two solid titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applaud, December 8, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
A lot of people are bashing the newest installment of Assassins Creed, I for one, love it. The hook-blade and bomb making add a little bit of freshness to the series. The bombs actually make it easier to stealthily get around if you use the, "cherry bomb" to distract some stagnant guards (as some of the completion % will rely heavily on NOT killing people) the, "rolling thunder" bomb makes a nice little mini-game in and of itself by having to blow off caps that have been placed on hiding wells.

Now granted I've not yet been able to beat the game, but I am a scour every corner type of player with kids and 80+ hours a week work schedule, but I'm at about a 75% completion and so far I've loved it. The leveling up of your assassin recruits is much easier this time around, despite having to level them to 15 instead of 10 as in Brotherhood. Once at level 15 you can assign a master assassin to a den to keep the Templars away, just keep in mind that performing 3 "Den Defense" is a requirement on the Assassins Guild list.

The historic areas you explore are grand, and you do learn some accurate, and inaccurate, information but it is all in fun. I've only played one of Desmonds "Black room" scenes, and it was confusing at first, (or I was half asleep) but got much easier once you got the hang of it.

*SPOILER ALERT*

Playing as Altiar is fun, seeing him go from young assassin to reclaiming his throne and seeing him as a family man gave more depth to the admittedly lack of depth-for-character in the first installment. Also, when you're playing as Altiar as an 86 year old man using the piece of Eden, seeing the "ghost" assassins dropping down for the kill as the Apple does its work throws some surprise in the mix for the Templars wanting it so badly

*End Spoiler Alert*

The 75% I've put into the game so far has been fun. Granted they could have added a few more puzzles or challenges, but to come up with a whole new game of this magnitude in a years time? Kudos, sirs, kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good News, Bad News..., May 7, 2012
By 
Brill (Valencia, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
I'm writing this review because I think the overall rating for "ASSASSIN'S CREED REVELATIONS" is a bit over-weighted on the high side. It's not a bad game, just not a great game - hence my middle of the road 3-stars. Here's why:

PROS

- Visuals: One of the main reasons I play video games is to be immersed in a wholly-created environment that I couldn't experience any other way. The "Assassin's Creed" series has always delivered on this level, and continues to do so in "Revelations". Walking around an early 1500's version of Constantinople (now Istanbul) filled with period detail is the major appeal of the game for me, and was reason enough to buy it. Ubisoft delivered.

- Platforming: Another strength of the "Assassin's Creed" series, and again, well done. Climbing buildings, leaping from rooftop to rooftop, ziplines, views from high promontories - all fluid, all gorgeous. And taking out some of the guards along the way never seems to get old.

- Gameplay: In large part, decent, i.e., reminiscent of previous titles - but with some troubling additions and exceptions, which brings us to:

CONS

- Gameplay Part II: Others have remarked about the slapdash and tedious nature of "Den Defense", and I have to agree. I dreaded having to play this "mini game" so much (and it's triggered any time your "notoriety" (now called "Templar Awareness") tends too high, which it does often, which is another "Con" I'll get to below) that I spent a disproportionate amount of time leveling up my assassin recruits to impervious Den Masters, in order to avoid having to experience it again.

- Notoriety: In previous titles, "notoriety" was limited, manageable, and even fun. In "Revelations", it's irritating. Now, even renovating a shop (necessary to increase your income) will raise your notoriety level, making you scramble for ways to reduce it. Tearing down Wanted Posters is no longer an option. Instead, you must find one or two available Heralds to bribe which, as another 3-star reviewer noted, turns the process into renovate a shop, bribe a herald, renovate a shop, bribe a herald. Which gets old quickly.

- The Revelations: While the main character (Ezio) story and gameplay is largely satisfying (and thankfully comprises the majority of the game), "Revelations", as the name implies, also allows you to play as Desmond and Altair, learning more about their backstory and/or fate. This is a good idea... just not entirely well executed or enjoyable. The Altair missions are okay, but more expository than filled with drama. The Desmond "memories" are worse, taking place in an under-designed "Portal Lite" universe which serve only to keep your fingers twitching while listening to narration.

In other words, many of the revelations in "Revelations" are not all that revelatory.

That said, if you can buy the game for around $20, I still think there's value there.

Finally, since I've played all 4 titles in the "Assassin's Creed" series, I'll take a moment to list them from (IMO) Best to Worst:

1. "ASSASSIN'S CREED II": The best of the series, IMO. The beginning of the Ezio storyline, with multiple locations (Florence, Venice, and others). Ubisoft worked the "kinks" out of AC1 and came up with a title beautifully balanced between Gameplay, Story, and Immersion.

2. "ASSASSIN'S CREED BROTHERHOOD": A close second, not the least reason being that it functions as a worthy extension of AC2. "Brotherhood" introduced the element of assassin recruits, a fun addition to gameplay that made Ezio feel even more powerful. Also, the setting is Renaissance Rome, and even though the ancient landmarks are already in ruins, it's a real kick to be able to climb all over things like the Colosseum.

3. "ASSASSIN'S CREED REVELATIONS": For all its flaws, the main storyline (and gameplay) are still decent, and the graphics are beautiful.

4. "ASSASSIN'S CREED": The original. While it's odd that the game that started such a blockbuster franchise is my least favorite of the series, there are some compelling reasons why. I'll give a minor and a major. The minor would be the lack of polish on the gameplay side, i.e., having to spend an inordinate amount of time "walking slowly" so as to avoid ticking off NPC's and getting into constant (and repetitive) fights. The major would be crashes. The game was constantly crashing on my brand new PS3, with the nadir being a hard freeze just before I could perform an assassination it had taken me a half hour to set up. That was it for me. I had to give up the game...

...but not the series, which has proven to be one of the best of this console generation.

Unfortunately, "Revelations" was a step backwards, IMO.

Maybe they'll get their "mojo" back with ACIII.

But this time I'll wait for the reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Amazing How One Little Flaw Can Ruin An Otherwise Excellent Game, December 10, 2011
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
It's hard to believe that one small change could sap all the fun from one of the best game series out there. The change is a simple one, but basic. It has to do with the notoriety system. Once your notoriety gets in the red all the guards will attack you on sight. In the second and third (second and a half?) game when you become conspicuous you have to bribe heralds, kill informers, or tear down wanted posters to remove your notoriety. In the first one you just had to hide until they went away. They understood the idea that people don't want the guards to be permanently after them. This game has forgotten that. They removed the wanted posters and made the other two rarer. Which means that when you become notorious it is extremely difficult to lose it since you'll have to do a lot of traveling and the guards will attack you on sight, increasing the notoriety that you were trying to lose.

Far worse than that though, is what they do to punish you for becoming notorious in the first place. When you get spotted after becoming notorious the Templars attack one of your bases. When this happens you lose access to every shop and convenience connected with that Den. Aggravating doesn't begin to cover it. Anyone who's ever played the game knows how easy it is to become notorious. Now whenever that happens you have to play a silly game where you defend your base. It's all based on where you position your troops and it is a pain in the butt. I find it so aggravating that I simply let the Templars win and then kill the den leader to take back the place. That makes you notorious of course so then you have to try real hard to lose notoriety without being seen or else your nice new base is gone again. The best way around this is to simply never capture the darn things. You're only going to lose them again anyway so what's the point? Of course, if you don't capture the bases you can't recruit assassins, and once your Assassins reach Level 15 they keep the base safe for you. After you get them up that high the game suddenly becomes fun again. Of course, after you've spent all that time leveling your guys up you're probably all but done with the game already. I spent an entire day leveling my guys up and remaining incognito. Not how I wanted to play it.

Essentially what Ubisoft has done is decided that there is only one correct way to play their game and added new features to force you to play it their way. Gone is the option to simply run around the place killing people like an angel of death. On a platforming game like this where the whole selling point is the ability to run through and over the city such a limitation is intolerable. Running across rooftops is half the fun of the game but you always get spotted sooner or later. Now they want you to be low key and sneak your way everywhere. Maybe that's in keeping with the story but it isn't how I want to play and I strongly suspect I'm not alone in that. A game like this needs to appeal to as many types of gamers as it can. Limiting it now is a mistake, and one I hope they will correct in future games. If they don't they've lost a customer. C'mon guys, it's a really easy fix.

Other than that the game is fine. It's not as good as the other ones since Ezio has no personal connection with what's happening. The enemies are Byzantine Templars trying to take their city back from the Turks. Ezio doesn't know anyone there. I had thought the game would be set earlier since Leonardo was in Istanbul in the early 1500s and that would be a perfect time to stick Ezio there. But they wanted him old. And while his age is a nice touch and provides most of the interest from a character perspective it should not come at the cost of losing the other characters. Ezio spends a great deal of time writing letters to his sister, which is the closest thing this game comes to a personal touch. Of course, there's also the romantic interest who isn't bad but she doesn't make up for losing his whole family.

Speaking of character design, the characters have had an overhaul. All of the faces have changed which is kind of disconcerting. It seems like that would be something to save for the next game when they no longer have Ezio. Still, they don't look that bad apart from the strange fact that Ezio's eyes glow in the dark. Also changed are the controls. Long distance weapons have now been separated from short range ones and use the triangle button. It takes a little getting used to but I think that overall it's an improvement. Eagle Vision has become Eagle Sight which is now accessed by pressing the L3 button (ie: pushing in on the D-Pad). It's a little hard to get used to but once you get the hang of it it works fine. Eagle sight itself is pretty useless though. It no longer spots the targets instantly, you have to keep pointing at them for several seconds which is a nuisance.

Some of the new enemies are a real pain. The jannisaries are all but impossible to kill. You can attack them all you want and you'll never hit them. Kick and grab don't work on them which means that the only thing you can use is counter attack. Even there it isn't an instant kill, but takes 4-5 goes to take them out. They're also able to easily outrun you, although they can't climb like you can. I appreciate having harder enemies but I don't really like how this system works. Having to wait until they attack you just takes too long. Sometimes they just stand there, and you stand there, and they don't move, and you don't move, and it just gets really boring. Perhaps if some other attacks worked or if they were more aggressive it would work better. Like I said, not a bad idea but one that needs a little tweaking. In a lot of ways this game feels like a test for the next one. They're seeing what works so that they can make that one great. Otherwise I don't understand the reason for all these little changes.

Some new things have been added. Specifically bombs and the hook blade. The hook blade is awesome and makes for a lot of fun swinging across Constantinople. My new favorite hobby is tripping pedestrians up as I go past. One of the things that I really appreciated was that they didn't force you to start off at level one and learn everything all over again. As soon as you hit Istanbul you can use the hook blade to jump while climbing and you start off able to use all your weapons. While your health still starts off pretty low that's only to be expected. The other addition is the bomb crafting system. I can personally take it or leave it. It doesn't matter to me. I never use the things, but I can see how other people would. In exchange for this we have to give up horses. Which sucks. I don't think it's a fair trade. I loved going everywhere on horseback, but I appreciate that Constantinople isn't designed for that as well as Rome. The streets are just too narrow.

Constantinople is beautiful. As expected the design team has really excelled itself. I was surprised how much I missed having the snarky British guy narrate the locations for me but the descriptions are just as snide as ever. The design for the controls has been very simplified. The health bar is now just a series of lines instead of that plus an animated wavy line. I suppose this is meant to indicate the damaged nature of Desmond's mind, or the simplified state of the Animus. Either way I'll be glad when the old one comes back. The load screen looks much the same but you can now play demos during it which teach you the various moves. Not a bad idea.

So there you are. If you like sneaking around and never breaking cover then none of these problems will really bother you. If you don't then Ubisoft will make you comply. I know that everyone likes to play differently so this problem won't matter to a fair number of people but it will matter to enough that I hope Ubisoft takes note. The rest of the game is pretty good but I really found myself forcing my way through it instead of eagerly awaiting the chance to play it. If you've never played an Assassin's Creed game then I'd strongly recommend either Assassin's Creed II or Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Assassin's Creed is good too, but they fixed a lot of the problems from that one in the later games. I'd recommend all of those games over this one. I never thought Ubisoft would let me down. A real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed Continues To Evolve And Impress...if you ignore den defense, which IS possible, December 13, 2011
By 
Maek (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
First things first -

If you haven't played the first Assassin's Creed and subsequent releases (or at LEAST starting with II, and going forward) - go no further. Do yourself a service and start with II as a bare minimum and work yourself forward to this, the 3rd in the Ezio Auditore trilogy. Otherwise, you'll be completely lost.

For those of you familiar with the story, you're going to find Ezio Auditore in his twilight years on a quest to find Altair's legendary, yet quite well-protected, library. The Templars have caught wind of it and Ezio is also trying to find his way in to thwart their attempts at worldwide control. This is hardly a spoiler as you're quickly brought into this within minutes of beginning to play Ezio - no further spoilers here.

From the standpoint of playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed entries, how does this one fare? Well, I finally played it tonight and I must say that it is really quite remarkable. There's a major change in the way that combat is handled - you select a primary and then a secondary weapon so that you can enter a sword fight and then throw knives at will, for example (no longer do you have to constantly "weapon wheel" between sword and throwing knives constantly). Graphic engine has been updated and it's quite smooth; I don't find it stuttering nearly as often as it used to. Even the story itself has been given a facelift - now there's more of a cohesive, unified story rather than a series of seemingly disjointed events culminating in your goal in the first place of killing "x" person because he did "y". "Eagle vision" also has some significant improvements, some subtle and some not. For example, in addition to identifying enemies, you'll actually see faint red lines indicating a guard's patrol route. This enhances the formulation of tactics. In other cases, where smoke bombs are even more effective at obscuring your enemies' ability to attack you, "eagle vision" will actually allow you to pierce the cloud and attack your enemies at will. In addition, you will be collecting materials to craft a variety of different bombs (lethal and non-lethal). The animations of Ezio kill moves are superb and some of his abilities show that Ezio, in his twilight years, is deadlier than ever. The music, as always, is very well-done and the voice acting is even better than usual. The beginning of the game reminds me of Matrix Revolutions, but I do mean this in a good way.

The environments are breathtakingly beautiful. The game has departed from Italy and finds itself in Constantinople, once the true crossroads of the world between Europe and Asia when the United States was still a mere 264 years away from declaring its own independence. Ezio finds himself with new equipment (the hook blade is fun opening a variety of attacks as well as an ability to zip line around your environment - fantastic!), friends (including a romantic interest), and actually enters into the conflict politically - it's no longer a mere Templar/Assassin conflict. There are layers to appreciate here as Ezio makes an ally and as I am starting to delve into it, I truly appreciate what Ubisoft has created here.

If there is one thing that I have to complain about, it's the mode where you have to defend your own Assassin's Keeps in addition to creating them for those of you familiar with Brotherhood. It becomes a "tower defense" game at this point...and I don't mean that in a flattering way. It's one thing that Ubisoft could have omitted (or seriously improved upon) without impacting the story whatsoever. It comes off as a silly gimmick that didn't appear to have been given a significant amount of thought in terms of how it flows with the rest of the interlocking parts. This is an oprhan 301st piece in a 300-piece puzzle; it doesn't fit and, quite honestly, you don't really need it to complete the experience.

I haven't had a chance to explore multiplayer too much, but what I've seen so far seems to indicate that Ubisoft has taken the best parts of Brotherhood and have added both modes and additional customization not seen before. I'm more into the story then the multiplayer, but Revelations has shown me enough to convince me to give it a try...later. Assassin's Creed is still, first and foremost, about continuing a quite fascinating story. And the final chapter to the overall story arc (with Ezio's presumably ending here, if rumors are believed) is to come in yet a single year, although how Ubisoft plans to bring this epic to a conclusion in the absence of such a strong character like Ezio has my curiosity piqued.

Despite the fault of "tower defense", everything else is so vastly improved that I still have to give it a solid 4.75 stars (5 stars on the Amazon scale - don't think it deserves a 4). Enough said - get it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't seem up to par for Ezio's last story, January 1, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
Ezio's story is definitely one of the best and most engaging among any current video games. I thought his character's story was well thought out and at the end of Revelations you do start to get a bit sad at the idea that your time as an Assassin in the Renaissance has reached it's end. But I was a bit disappointed and felt it did not execute to the level as the game's predecessors. I am just going to list my complaints first and then what I enjoyed since I already played through it once.

1. First and foremost there are the horses. What happened to them? Did not one person in the Ottoman Empire own a horse? I liked having the option of riding horses in the previous games and it seemed a bit odd that this is now the only game without the option to ride them.

2. The den defense. It seemed like a great concept but was poorly achieved in my opinion. Now my skills as gamer might not be as good as some other people but I lost every den defense after the first initial one. It just seemed pointless since you just spawn right back at the den you lost and can once again take out the guard and start the cycle all over. I would have preferred to defend it using melee weapons fighting hand to hand alongside my assassin recruits waves upon waves of Byzantine soldiers instead of just giving them orders from a roof top.

3. It had some glitches that were not present in the past games.There were a few sequences were my poison shots refused to fire. It almost seemed that some sequences locked me out of using some weapons. Then the switch from bombs to bullets glitched and I would get stuck in the throwing bomb position instead of firing bullets leaving me open to attack by enemies. It seemed to be more common on the sequence where 100% sync depended on not taking any damage. Another annoying glitch happened when I was tailing a target in a sequence and a stalker would try to attack me from behind but instead I would hide in a hay bale and the game would freeze and would require a hard reset. This happened twice with the same order of things happening. :SPOILER ALERT: the worst one happened towards the end when I was trying to save Sophia and then the scene froze after Ezio cut the rope to save her and then I heard Ezio and Sophia having a conversation and then there was some commotion and then skipped to Ezio and Sophia on a horse carriage. I had no idea how the transition happened.

4. Some of the sequences seemed ridiculous. The one where Ezio goes and picks flowers seemed like a waste of a sequence when they've could have added something more exciting.

5. You can't train all your recruits to the level of Assassin. Because there are only 7 dens in the game, some of your recruits will never get higher than level 10 even though their points surpass the level 10 mark. That just seemed a bit odd and annoying since when I just playfully attacked the Janissaries my higher ranking assassins were on missions to level up and 2 of my level 10 Assassins got killed while aiding me. This caused me to have to recruit more Assassins and train them again to level 10. The level 10 cap was really more of chore than it needed it to be.

6. Parachutes disappear after some missions. I hate that I would fill my parachutes inventory and after a sequence where I don't even use one, I am left with zero again. It was annoying having to run around and replenish them at one of the clothing shops I renovated while avoiding renovating more so I don't have to do the den defense thing again.

7. Altair Sequence. My biggest complaint of the game!! They were not sequences but more like semi playable memories. Altair was a very intriguing character and I was looking forward to playing some assassin missions using him again with better graphics and controls. I was so disappointed with the missions for him. They have you move and sit in a chair for one of them and then it ends. Very lame and not befitting the great character that Altair was.

What I did like

1. Training your Assassin's with a specific mission for them. Great Idea. I wish there was a way to do that with all the recruits.

2. Bombs!! The bomb element was fantastic. My only complaint is that I disliked being limited to only certain bombs in each slot. I wish you had the choice to fill all the bombs slots with sticky splinter bombs if you chose to.

3. Desmond sequences. These were great. I liked the almost Portal-like feel they had. Not necessary to the game but a great addition to it.

4. Multiplayer. Not my cup of tea but definitely builds on what Brotherhood did and it is still fun. If you liked the first one this won't disappoint.

5. More dungeon-like areas to explore but not enough to satisfy me. Wish it had more.

Conclusion:
You can tell that Ubisoft is taking some cues from other great games like Uncharted and putting in that cinematic touch to it. the Desmond Sequences had some simple puzzle elements like you find in the game Portal.
I can say as a trilogy, Ezio's story will be tough to beat. The most fortunate people right now are the one's who haven't experienced any of the Assassin's Creed 2 games. When you include all 3 games and the DLC bundled together you have a massive game comparable to something like Skyrim.
Unfortunately Assassin's Creed is not immune to the multiplayer plague that is taking over all the games that originally intended to be a single player experience. Assassin's Creed Revelations was shorter than Brotherhood and would be considered DLC in comparison to AC2. You can tell most of the game's resources were put into the multiplayer aspect. Meanwhile the single player suffered from some glitches I never saw in the previous installments.
It's a great game nonetheless and I can't bring myself to give it a lower score since I do enjoy the series and I look forward to the new installment each year. I hope Assassin's Creed 3 will be as big as AC2 and some of the glitches from this installment don't get transferred to the new game. The graphics have taken a huge leap forward and the story definitely leaves you wanting more. I would recommend keeping your expectations low on this and you will love this game. I wouldn't spend 60 bucks on it but it is worth 40 bucks at the least. 4 Stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great addition to the series, December 7, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
Assassins Creed Revelations is somewhat an improvement over Brotherhood. You make better use of your assassin recruits in this game compared to Brotherhood and the new bomb feature gives you a lot more variety in your attacks. Constantinople looks like it is bigger than Rome as well but it is a letdown that you can't use horses. It takes you longer to get from point A to point B. Overall these are probably minor issues because Revelations really is too much like Brotherhood, just a slight improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revelations, December 28, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Revelations (Video Game)
I have been a die hard Assassin's Creed fan since I picked up a copy of the original for the 360 shortly after its release. That game felt original and was a lot of fun, despite several flaws. Thankfully, Ubisoft fixed nearly all of the flaws with the release of Assassin's Creed II. AC II was not nearly as repetitive and cities were more distinct and unique. I found myself much more "connected" to Ezio than Altair. Also, there were fewer cutbacks to modern times, which I found distracting and unnecessary in the first. Combat was refined with Assassin's Creed II, it became simple, but appropriately difficult. AC II is still the best game in the series and the perfect place for a newcomer to the series to start. Brotherhood made several changes and introduced several new mechanics. Limiting the game to only one city was disappointing, but it was a very beautiful, large, and diverse city. Many of the new mechanics, like killstreaks, apprentice assassins, and the crossbow were cool and exciting, but combined to make the game too easy. Killstreaks make it way too easy for Ezio to quickly slaughter a whole gang of different enemies. The crossbow and calling allies made it too easy for Ezio to get around and avoid detection, because he could easily kill guards from afar without alerting others. In AC II he had to get close and use a blade or risk the noise of a pistol. Brotherhood's campaign was probably a touch shorter than AC II, but it kept all the sorts of side missions that AC II had and introduced new ones (War machines, for instance). Brotherhood was nearly as good as AC II, but its one city and lower difficulty hold it back. Revelations continues some of the mistakes from Brotherhood, but also introduces new ones. However, it is still a great game and a must-have for fans of the series.

Revelations throws the player right into the thick of it in the beginning of the game. The part before the player gets to Istanbul is the hardest sequence in the whole series. Ezio must use all of the skills he has learned to survive, especially considering in one part he is injured and unable to climb. I found this part surprising, but pretty fun. However, it would means this game is not a good place for a newcomer to the series to start.

The plot to Revelations was pretty good, but was hampered by the shortness of the campaign; it definitely could have benefited from some extra sequences. Also, all the supporting characters from II and Brotherhood are missing (Ezio's family, da Vinci, Machiavelli, etc.).

It keeps the killstreaks from Brotherhood, which could be ok if they were harder to maintain, like by only giving a very narrow window in which to hit "square" or "x" again. Apprentice assassins are still here, but the "mediterranian defense" mini-game is introduced. It can a fun distraction, but can take way too much time and does not require much player involvement. The player will probably find himself sending assassins away before taking a bathroom break or grabbing some food. Ezio will want to rank up 7 assassins to rank 15 as fast as possible though, so he can avoid the annoying den defense mini-game. Revelations made it very hard to keep notoriety lower by eliminating the posters. Heralds can be pretty far apart and only take 25% off. The punishment for notoriety is the den defense mini-game, which is weird, awkward, and frustrating. If Ezio loses, he will have to reclaim the den from the Templars. If Ezio has a master assassin in each tower, he will not have to do any den defenses (thankfully) and notoriety becomes less important.

The hookblade and bombs feel like gimmicks because they add little to the game. Hookblades only marginally speed up climbing and ziplines are not common enough in the city. Ezio will rarely have to use bombs, despite ingredients being scattered heavily throughout the city.

Some changes to combat make it easier and some make it more difficult. Having the pistol readily available with "triangle" or "y" makes taking out most guards even easier than it was in Brotherhood. However, some new enemies are armored and very skilled in combat. These guys are tough and Ezio will need a killstreak or a good counter to get the upper-hand. Aiming with the pistol is pretty quick (~50% of the time it took in AC II) and Ezio will often be able to take out a swarm of rushing guards with it before they reach him.

Constantinople is smaller and less diverse than Roma was. The only other city in the game is a small, underground city that is only available in sequence 7. Horses are absent from the game, as they would be out of place. Ezio will probably not find Constantinople as visually stunning as the cities of his homeland, either.
Ezio will also find a lack of side quests after finishing the campaign. There are some, but not nearly as many as Brotherhood had. All together, Revelations feels incomplete from the shorter campaign, smaller city, and fewer side missions. The player will be able to tell that Ubisoft had to rush this game out to make its release date. I would have preferred a March or June 2012 release date if it would have meant the same amount of content as Brotherhood or AC II. Plus, while this game runs mostly evenly on both consoles (unlike its predecessors which favored the 360), it has a significant amount of screen tearing, more than Brotherhood had. This can be very distracting and aggravating and further hints that the game was rushed.

Also the first person platforming levels that explain Desmond's life and delve deep into his mind are weird and feel like a totally different game. 1st person platforming is rarely fun, especially when the player can't look down and see his feet. These can be skipped and don't seem to really add much. Other missions that add very little are the Altair missions. It was interesting to see what happened to Altair and Masyaf, but the missions were fairly quick and easy.

I cannot review the multiplayer because I much prefer the single-player. But Revelations is a must have for fans of the series, however it's not a good game for beginners. It makes some improvements, but also some missteps. To me, it had a different "feel" to it than the others. Maybe it is Ezio's advanced age, his gray cloak, the new city and setting, the letters to Claudia, or the different NPCs, but the game "felt" different. At Amazon's current price of $39.99, it is definitely worth it, but don't expect it to be as revolutionary as AC II. While I liked Ezio, I am glad that AC III will have a different character and setting. Personally, I'd like to play as an assassin during the French Revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassin's Creed: Revelations
Assassin's Creed: Revelations by UBI Soft (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $12.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.