Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Assassin's Creed: Revelations
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$15.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 7, 2011
I didn't really like the first Assassins Creed. Sure it was fun and had some good elements to it, but it got old very fast and the missions became more of the same monotony. Then with Assassins Creed 2, you could tell there was a marked improvement in almost every area. Brotherhood took what 2 did right and expanded further with the ability to control a group of assassins, making missions much more creative. Revelations doesn't add any new gameplay elements (unless you count bomb making, which wasn't really that important to the game), but it does continue a formula that works very well.

Being a huge history buff, i enjoyed getting to run around sixteenth century Constantinople, which is very accurately recreated. The plot, involving political intrigue among the Sultan's sons made for a good plot line, but it wasn't even the main plot line. Desmond's attempt to piece his brain together provided a very inception-y vibe. The six missions you get to play as Altair are also very cool, and give very good closure to the character. Revelations continued the dungeon exploration levels which were first introduced in 2, and they still work well here. The ending gave Ezio a very good sendoff, and the final moments have me very intrigued for the next title.

Overall: If you like open world action games with a good plot and gameplay, you will enjoy this...but I would recommend playing 2 and Brotherhood first as you may be a little confused about characters and plot in the beginning.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
I decided to do a multiplayer review since EVERYBODY typically only reviews the single player while only spending 3 or 4 sentences on the multiplayer component. I must say I became incredibly addicted to brotherhoods multiplayer as it offered a totally radically different experience from your typical FPS like COD or Battlefield. The revelations multiplayer only adds to the greatness. New game modes like deathmatch and artifact add an exhilarating new touch to your more typical game modes.

Deathmatch puts you in a very close, tight section of a map with NO compass. You are only given a picture of your target and it is up to you to do the rest.

Artifact is a basic Capture the Flag mode. Its works like this: Once you cross the "halfway" point of the map you will only be able to stun, thus you must constantly be on your toes in your attempt to get the flag/artifact and be weary of defenders hiding in crowds near the the flag or what not.

Customization plays an even bigger role. New characters can be customized endlessly with different types of weapons, belts, cloths, and you can even unlock gold weapons. You can also put emblems on the back of your cape.

The are 50 ranks, but unlike brotherhood where 50 is the level cap, you can now prestige. But get this...You don't lose anything! You keep unlocking more stuff, and here's the kicker...you can do this 99 times. And ubisoft says you still unlock stuff right up to prestige 99. Wow.

If you are looking for a fresh break and want some inject some strategy and "outwitting" into your gameplay, then pick up Revelations. You'll notice that most high standing game review sites like IGN, gamespot, and gameinformer, have knocked it. But there reviews where slanted toward single player and they had nothing but praise for the multiplayer component. Remember that the whole game must be taken into account when giving a review.
33 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 13, 2011
First things first -

If you haven't played the first Assassin's Creed and subsequent releases (or at LEAST starting with II, and going forward) - go no further. Do yourself a service and start with II as a bare minimum and work yourself forward to this, the 3rd in the Ezio Auditore trilogy. Otherwise, you'll be completely lost.

For those of you familiar with the story, you're going to find Ezio Auditore in his twilight years on a quest to find Altair's legendary, yet quite well-protected, library. The Templars have caught wind of it and Ezio is also trying to find his way in to thwart their attempts at worldwide control. This is hardly a spoiler as you're quickly brought into this within minutes of beginning to play Ezio - no further spoilers here.

From the standpoint of playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed entries, how does this one fare? Well, I finally played it tonight and I must say that it is really quite remarkable. There's a major change in the way that combat is handled - you select a primary and then a secondary weapon so that you can enter a sword fight and then throw knives at will, for example (no longer do you have to constantly "weapon wheel" between sword and throwing knives constantly). Graphic engine has been updated and it's quite smooth; I don't find it stuttering nearly as often as it used to. Even the story itself has been given a facelift - now there's more of a cohesive, unified story rather than a series of seemingly disjointed events culminating in your goal in the first place of killing "x" person because he did "y". "Eagle vision" also has some significant improvements, some subtle and some not. For example, in addition to identifying enemies, you'll actually see faint red lines indicating a guard's patrol route. This enhances the formulation of tactics. In other cases, where smoke bombs are even more effective at obscuring your enemies' ability to attack you, "eagle vision" will actually allow you to pierce the cloud and attack your enemies at will. In addition, you will be collecting materials to craft a variety of different bombs (lethal and non-lethal). The animations of Ezio kill moves are superb and some of his abilities show that Ezio, in his twilight years, is deadlier than ever. The music, as always, is very well-done and the voice acting is even better than usual. The beginning of the game reminds me of Matrix Revolutions, but I do mean this in a good way.

The environments are breathtakingly beautiful. The game has departed from Italy and finds itself in Constantinople, once the true crossroads of the world between Europe and Asia when the United States was still a mere 264 years away from declaring its own independence. Ezio finds himself with new equipment (the hook blade is fun opening a variety of attacks as well as an ability to zip line around your environment - fantastic!), friends (including a romantic interest), and actually enters into the conflict politically - it's no longer a mere Templar/Assassin conflict. There are layers to appreciate here as Ezio makes an ally and as I am starting to delve into it, I truly appreciate what Ubisoft has created here.

If there is one thing that I have to complain about, it's the mode where you have to defend your own Assassin's Keeps in addition to creating them for those of you familiar with Brotherhood. It becomes a "tower defense" game at this point...and I don't mean that in a flattering way. It's one thing that Ubisoft could have omitted (or seriously improved upon) without impacting the story whatsoever. It comes off as a silly gimmick that didn't appear to have been given a significant amount of thought in terms of how it flows with the rest of the interlocking parts. This is an oprhan 301st piece in a 300-piece puzzle; it doesn't fit and, quite honestly, you don't really need it to complete the experience.

I haven't had a chance to explore multiplayer too much, but what I've seen so far seems to indicate that Ubisoft has taken the best parts of Brotherhood and have added both modes and additional customization not seen before. I'm more into the story then the multiplayer, but Revelations has shown me enough to convince me to give it a try...later. Assassin's Creed is still, first and foremost, about continuing a quite fascinating story. And the final chapter to the overall story arc (with Ezio's presumably ending here, if rumors are believed) is to come in yet a single year, although how Ubisoft plans to bring this epic to a conclusion in the absence of such a strong character like Ezio has my curiosity piqued.

Despite the fault of "tower defense", everything else is so vastly improved that I still have to give it a solid 4.75 stars (5 stars on the Amazon scale - don't think it deserves a 4). Enough said - get it and enjoy!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
This game was a rather large disappointment for me.

It felt like it should be a DLC for Brotherhood, in terms of length, depth and new features.

Abysmally short with a comparatively poor story and the upgrade/restoration features just weren't compelling unlike II and Brotherhood (You could only get 3 sets of armor in the campaign if you weren't focused on collecting all 100 memory fragments, the rest were pre-order and retail exclusives. The game also wasn't paced so that you unlock and can afford all the best gear by the last quarter).

It also seemed like they just tried to push it out as quick as possible to wrap up the story of Ezio/Altaïr so they could get on with focusing on Desmond.
Revelations seems to be the first blunder in the series and the first sequel worse than its predecessor.

AC1 was pretty good, AC2 was awesome, Brotherhood managed to improve slightly on AC2 and then Revelations just seemed so flimsy and cheap after the last two solid titles.
1212 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
A lot of people are bashing the newest installment of Assassins Creed, I for one, love it. The hook-blade and bomb making add a little bit of freshness to the series. The bombs actually make it easier to stealthily get around if you use the, "cherry bomb" to distract some stagnant guards (as some of the completion % will rely heavily on NOT killing people) the, "rolling thunder" bomb makes a nice little mini-game in and of itself by having to blow off caps that have been placed on hiding wells.

Now granted I've not yet been able to beat the game, but I am a scour every corner type of player with kids and 80+ hours a week work schedule, but I'm at about a 75% completion and so far I've loved it. The leveling up of your assassin recruits is much easier this time around, despite having to level them to 15 instead of 10 as in Brotherhood. Once at level 15 you can assign a master assassin to a den to keep the Templars away, just keep in mind that performing 3 "Den Defense" is a requirement on the Assassins Guild list.

The historic areas you explore are grand, and you do learn some accurate, and inaccurate, information but it is all in fun. I've only played one of Desmonds "Black room" scenes, and it was confusing at first, (or I was half asleep) but got much easier once you got the hang of it.

*SPOILER ALERT*

Playing as Altiar is fun, seeing him go from young assassin to reclaiming his throne and seeing him as a family man gave more depth to the admittedly lack of depth-for-character in the first installment. Also, when you're playing as Altiar as an 86 year old man using the piece of Eden, seeing the "ghost" assassins dropping down for the kill as the Apple does its work throws some surprise in the mix for the Templars wanting it so badly

*End Spoiler Alert*

The 75% I've put into the game so far has been fun. Granted they could have added a few more puzzles or challenges, but to come up with a whole new game of this magnitude in a years time? Kudos, sirs, kudos.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
I'm writing this review because I think the overall rating for "ASSASSIN'S CREED REVELATIONS" is a bit over-weighted on the high side. It's not a bad game, just not a great game - hence my middle of the road 3-stars. Here's why:

PROS

- Visuals: One of the main reasons I play video games is to be immersed in a wholly-created environment that I couldn't experience any other way. The "Assassin's Creed" series has always delivered on this level, and continues to do so in "Revelations". Walking around an early 1500's version of Constantinople (now Istanbul) filled with period detail is the major appeal of the game for me, and was reason enough to buy it. Ubisoft delivered.

- Platforming: Another strength of the "Assassin's Creed" series, and again, well done. Climbing buildings, leaping from rooftop to rooftop, ziplines, views from high promontories - all fluid, all gorgeous. And taking out some of the guards along the way never seems to get old.

- Gameplay: In large part, decent, i.e., reminiscent of previous titles - but with some troubling additions and exceptions, which brings us to:

CONS

- Gameplay Part II: Others have remarked about the slapdash and tedious nature of "Den Defense", and I have to agree. I dreaded having to play this "mini game" so much (and it's triggered any time your "notoriety" (now called "Templar Awareness") tends too high, which it does often, which is another "Con" I'll get to below) that I spent a disproportionate amount of time leveling up my assassin recruits to impervious Den Masters, in order to avoid having to experience it again.

- Notoriety: In previous titles, "notoriety" was limited, manageable, and even fun. In "Revelations", it's irritating. Now, even renovating a shop (necessary to increase your income) will raise your notoriety level, making you scramble for ways to reduce it. Tearing down Wanted Posters is no longer an option. Instead, you must find one or two available Heralds to bribe which, as another 3-star reviewer noted, turns the process into renovate a shop, bribe a herald, renovate a shop, bribe a herald. Which gets old quickly.

- The Revelations: While the main character (Ezio) story and gameplay is largely satisfying (and thankfully comprises the majority of the game), "Revelations", as the name implies, also allows you to play as Desmond and Altair, learning more about their backstory and/or fate. This is a good idea... just not entirely well executed or enjoyable. The Altair missions are okay, but more expository than filled with drama. The Desmond "memories" are worse, taking place in an under-designed "Portal Lite" universe which serve only to keep your fingers twitching while listening to narration.

In other words, many of the revelations in "Revelations" are not all that revelatory.

That said, if you can buy the game for around $20, I still think there's value there.

Finally, since I've played all 4 titles in the "Assassin's Creed" series, I'll take a moment to list them from (IMO) Best to Worst:

1. "ASSASSIN'S CREED II": The best of the series, IMO. The beginning of the Ezio storyline, with multiple locations (Florence, Venice, and others). Ubisoft worked the "kinks" out of AC1 and came up with a title beautifully balanced between Gameplay, Story, and Immersion.

2. "ASSASSIN'S CREED BROTHERHOOD": A close second, not the least reason being that it functions as a worthy extension of AC2. "Brotherhood" introduced the element of assassin recruits, a fun addition to gameplay that made Ezio feel even more powerful. Also, the setting is Renaissance Rome, and even though the ancient landmarks are already in ruins, it's a real kick to be able to climb all over things like the Colosseum.

3. "ASSASSIN'S CREED REVELATIONS": For all its flaws, the main storyline (and gameplay) are still decent, and the graphics are beautiful.

4. "ASSASSIN'S CREED": The original. While it's odd that the game that started such a blockbuster franchise is my least favorite of the series, there are some compelling reasons why. I'll give a minor and a major. The minor would be the lack of polish on the gameplay side, i.e., having to spend an inordinate amount of time "walking slowly" so as to avoid ticking off NPC's and getting into constant (and repetitive) fights. The major would be crashes. The game was constantly crashing on my brand new PS3, with the nadir being a hard freeze just before I could perform an assassination it had taken me a half hour to set up. That was it for me. I had to give up the game...

...but not the series, which has proven to be one of the best of this console generation.

Unfortunately, "Revelations" was a step backwards, IMO.

Maybe they'll get their "mojo" back with ACIII.

But this time I'll wait for the reviews!
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
This is an incredible game. Especially if you're a fan of the series, I think this is the best AC there is. Everything about it, from Ezio's story, Altair's story, and even minor details like the scene where Ezio dresses as a minstrel and sings funny songs just makes this a game that is pure joy to play.

Of course, it has assassins creed trademark gameplay, and atmosphere only improved even more so than the past AC's. I think this has the best gameplay of the series, even better than AC 3, and I also think it has some of the best graphics of any multiplatform game.

Not to mention, there's a really cool part to Desmonds story where you get to do these interesting first person platforming levels that even make portal seem mundane.

The multiplayer is great as well. The ending was really a masterpiece, Revelations reveals more about the story than any other AC game, and the ending should have your jaw on the floor. Amazing game, and in my opinion it's even better than AC 2
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2012
Lets start with the bottom line: if you were a fan of any of the earlier AC games, you will enjoy AC:R. That said, there are some shortcomings in design that prevent it from being the best in the series.

Pros:
+ This game has the best story in the series, tying in the histories of Altair, Ezio, and Desmond. Altair's segments are a nice addition, and the flesh out a good portion of his backstory. The game lives up to its title as there are some very clarifying revelations at the ending, a feature that was sorely missing in the earlier game. For once we are left with less questions than answers. That doesn't mean everything is answered, but I think Ubisoft Montreal did well to set up whatever the next iteration of the series will be.
+ The graphics and animations are the best they've been. Locales are prettier, counters are slicker, and the graphics feel more polished overall. The temple runs looking for the library "keys" are very well done and include some impressive "set pieces".
+ The core gameplay is the same, which is a good thing. You'll feel right at home if you've played the earlier games.
+ Multiplayer is greatly improved over Brotherhood, though its still difficult to get a hang of. A small pool of players means you will get matched with experts and this can result in some very lopsided matches.

Cons:
+ The game feels much "smaller" than earlier games, especially AC:Brotherhood. Ezio is limited to Istanbul, and after having all of Rome to explore in AC:B, there seems to be less to do. Searching for books is easy. Renovating shops is the same. I didn't feel like there was much incentive to search every inch of the map like in earlier games.
+ Though recruiting Assassins is made more interesting through the use of improved story, the Mediterranean Defense system is awkward and not very rewarding. I didn't even bother "liberating" most of the cities and I don't think I missed anything.
+ The Den Defense mini-game plays like a very clunky tower defense game. It went to lengths to avoid it, it was that dull and unrewarding.
+I personally did not like Desmond's side missions. You play in a Tron-like world using "building blocks" to navigate your way around the mostly blank levels while listening to Desmond tell his backstory. I understand the thought behind them and the need to flesh out Desmond's genesis, but the levels are awkward, and you don't connect with Desmond very much. His earlier life could probably deserve its own game, and it is disappointing to see it passed over some quickly and carelessly.

Like I said at the beginning, if you enjoyed the earlier games, you'll like this one. The cons are not enough to ruin the game, but they hold it back from being as good as it could be. It is a fitting end to Ezio's story, and sets the stage for Desmond & Co. to take the next step.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2012
Ezio's story is definitely one of the best and most engaging among any current video games. I thought his character's story was well thought out and at the end of Revelations you do start to get a bit sad at the idea that your time as an Assassin in the Renaissance has reached it's end. But I was a bit disappointed and felt it did not execute to the level as the game's predecessors. I am just going to list my complaints first and then what I enjoyed since I already played through it once.

1. First and foremost there are the horses. What happened to them? Did not one person in the Ottoman Empire own a horse? I liked having the option of riding horses in the previous games and it seemed a bit odd that this is now the only game without the option to ride them.

2. The den defense. It seemed like a great concept but was poorly achieved in my opinion. Now my skills as gamer might not be as good as some other people but I lost every den defense after the first initial one. It just seemed pointless since you just spawn right back at the den you lost and can once again take out the guard and start the cycle all over. I would have preferred to defend it using melee weapons fighting hand to hand alongside my assassin recruits waves upon waves of Byzantine soldiers instead of just giving them orders from a roof top.

3. It had some glitches that were not present in the past games.There were a few sequences were my poison shots refused to fire. It almost seemed that some sequences locked me out of using some weapons. Then the switch from bombs to bullets glitched and I would get stuck in the throwing bomb position instead of firing bullets leaving me open to attack by enemies. It seemed to be more common on the sequence where 100% sync depended on not taking any damage. Another annoying glitch happened when I was tailing a target in a sequence and a stalker would try to attack me from behind but instead I would hide in a hay bale and the game would freeze and would require a hard reset. This happened twice with the same order of things happening. :SPOILER ALERT: the worst one happened towards the end when I was trying to save Sophia and then the scene froze after Ezio cut the rope to save her and then I heard Ezio and Sophia having a conversation and then there was some commotion and then skipped to Ezio and Sophia on a horse carriage. I had no idea how the transition happened.

4. Some of the sequences seemed ridiculous. The one where Ezio goes and picks flowers seemed like a waste of a sequence when they've could have added something more exciting.

5. You can't train all your recruits to the level of Assassin. Because there are only 7 dens in the game, some of your recruits will never get higher than level 10 even though their points surpass the level 10 mark. That just seemed a bit odd and annoying since when I just playfully attacked the Janissaries my higher ranking assassins were on missions to level up and 2 of my level 10 Assassins got killed while aiding me. This caused me to have to recruit more Assassins and train them again to level 10. The level 10 cap was really more of chore than it needed it to be.

6. Parachutes disappear after some missions. I hate that I would fill my parachutes inventory and after a sequence where I don't even use one, I am left with zero again. It was annoying having to run around and replenish them at one of the clothing shops I renovated while avoiding renovating more so I don't have to do the den defense thing again.

7. Altair Sequence. My biggest complaint of the game!! They were not sequences but more like semi playable memories. Altair was a very intriguing character and I was looking forward to playing some assassin missions using him again with better graphics and controls. I was so disappointed with the missions for him. They have you move and sit in a chair for one of them and then it ends. Very lame and not befitting the great character that Altair was.

What I did like

1. Training your Assassin's with a specific mission for them. Great Idea. I wish there was a way to do that with all the recruits.

2. Bombs!! The bomb element was fantastic. My only complaint is that I disliked being limited to only certain bombs in each slot. I wish you had the choice to fill all the bombs slots with sticky splinter bombs if you chose to.

3. Desmond sequences. These were great. I liked the almost Portal-like feel they had. Not necessary to the game but a great addition to it.

4. Multiplayer. Not my cup of tea but definitely builds on what Brotherhood did and it is still fun. If you liked the first one this won't disappoint.

5. More dungeon-like areas to explore but not enough to satisfy me. Wish it had more.

Conclusion:
You can tell that Ubisoft is taking some cues from other great games like Uncharted and putting in that cinematic touch to it. the Desmond Sequences had some simple puzzle elements like you find in the game Portal.
I can say as a trilogy, Ezio's story will be tough to beat. The most fortunate people right now are the one's who haven't experienced any of the Assassin's Creed 2 games. When you include all 3 games and the DLC bundled together you have a massive game comparable to something like Skyrim.
Unfortunately Assassin's Creed is not immune to the multiplayer plague that is taking over all the games that originally intended to be a single player experience. Assassin's Creed Revelations was shorter than Brotherhood and would be considered DLC in comparison to AC2. You can tell most of the game's resources were put into the multiplayer aspect. Meanwhile the single player suffered from some glitches I never saw in the previous installments.
It's a great game nonetheless and I can't bring myself to give it a lower score since I do enjoy the series and I look forward to the new installment each year. I hope Assassin's Creed 3 will be as big as AC2 and some of the glitches from this installment don't get transferred to the new game. The graphics have taken a huge leap forward and the story definitely leaves you wanting more. I would recommend keeping your expectations low on this and you will love this game. I wouldn't spend 60 bucks on it but it is worth 40 bucks at the least. 4 Stars all the way.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
You'd think after 3 Assassin's Creed games featuring Ezio Auditore (on PS3, at least) I'd have gotten tired of playing through his storyline. I didn't find this to be the case. I'm still having a blast reliving his adventures, almost as much as the first time around. This might be because the game creators advanced the story by several years and introduced us to an older, wiser Ezio. Graphics are phenomenal as always; gameplay only differs a little from the prior entries...mainly having to deal with the introduction of the new hookblade. Just a fantastic game.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.