Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting Movie!
This was a very exciting movie. There was action from start to finish. Stallone,the top hit man in the world suddenly finds that he has competition. He battles all over the landscape against his new competitor Antonio Banderas. A woman comes into possesion of an article that the bad guys want. She then becomes a target for Banderas. It falls upon Stallone to defend her...
Published on February 5, 2001 by Melvin Hunt

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Before the Matrix
Assassins is the Wachowsky Brothers film everyone forgets about, although perhaps because here the duo share screenplay credit with the variable Brian Helgeland with Richard Donner taking directorial duties. Originally intended as a vehicle for Sean Connery and Tom Cruise as the tired topdog and the precocious pretender in each others sights but settling for Stallone and...
Published on December 11, 2006 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting Movie!, February 5, 2001
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Assassins [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This was a very exciting movie. There was action from start to finish. Stallone,the top hit man in the world suddenly finds that he has competition. He battles all over the landscape against his new competitor Antonio Banderas. A woman comes into possesion of an article that the bad guys want. She then becomes a target for Banderas. It falls upon Stallone to defend her. Stallone has to fight for his life against his new younger competition. The battle is ruthless. Stallone and Banderas have a final showdown that is top notch. Be sure to see this movie.It is top of the line. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action start to finish, May 31, 2007
This review is from: Assassins (DVD)
When I put this DVD in, and hit play, action started. The whole way through the 2 hour movie, there is action non stop, clear up to the end in the "No Goodbyes" scene. This is a great movie. My favorite part was in the taxi when Robert Rath (Stallone) And Miguel Bain (Banderas) meet.

If youre a fan of either Banderas or Stallone, then I strongly suggest this movie to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desde Chile, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassins (BD) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A great movie .... has all the desirable features, impressive sound, 1080p picture quality, original audio (which was filmed), and Spanish subtitles. Recommended by 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BLU RAY TRANSFER!, December 17, 2011
By 
A. G. Dharmadasa (COLOMBO-07, wp Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassins (BD) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Pleased to inform since the release of Laser Disc in mid nineties this is the only worthy transfer. The colours and sound are amazing. Great bargain if you're a Stallone fan.

A good blu ray movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Movie Where You Can Feel The Heat Coming Of The Screen!, September 6, 2006
By 
Thor (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Assassins (DVD)
Assassins is a great action thriller starring Sylvester Stallone and Antonio Banderas.

Richard Donner, the director of the Lethal Weapon Films, has done a fantastic job as always, creating a world with characters that you won't forget that easy.

Sylvester Stallone does a good job as a hitman who doesn't wanna kill anymore, but still gets new offers he doesn't wanna refuse. While Stallone's character is on the job, a rivale pops up: Antonio Banderas. Now Banderas is perfectly cast as the triggerhappy killer who only wants one thing: being number 1 in the hitman world. For that he has to kill Stallone's character.

Not the most original story in the world, but that doesn't matter: it's pure entertainment and it gives a lot of thrilling moments and action sequences.

From the moment the two characters meet in some of the most beautiful locations and thrilling situations, the heat is on. Gunfire, explosions, sweat, thrilling conversations between the two: the heat will come out of your tv set! The atmosphere that is hanging around in this film is truely fantastic.

The action has been filmed in a fantastic and professional way and it will keep you on the edge of your seat. There are a few flaws here and there, and a few things that you musn't take to seriously, but because of the fantastic speed and feel of the film, it won't spiol the fun for even one moment!

This film is truely underrated by the media, so my suggestion is: ignore the media and watch this thriller, cause it will entertain you!

If you are a fan of Stallone, Banderas, Richard Donner's work, or just in the mood for some fun action entertainment, I would highly recommend this film!

Good popcorn entertainment with a lot of thrills and chills.

So sit back, relax, put your feet up and enjoy watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great actors, September 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Assassins [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie, but I admit I'm a little turned off by the Stallone action genre. I'm glad I did watch it. I love Electra, she's the best. A woman can be a strong character, she doesn't do what he tells her, until she trusts him. The scene in which Stallone spills his guts about liking her is even more compelling because she's not around to hear it. Great job by Antonio, he's just beautiful enough to be scary. Great movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...a cat and mouse game between [Stallone] and [Banderas], January 29, 2006
By 
S. Sarhan "matured reviewer" (Dearborn, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassins (DVD)
Assassins is a cool action drama directed by Richard Donner (Lethal Weapon), and starring Sylvester Stallone (Rocky), Antonio Banderas (Mask Of Zorro), and Julianne Moore (Hannibal).

Stallone plays our anti-hero Robert Rath, a professional hitman who is at the top of his game but getting tired of the whole thing and wants out. Before he can make such a decision, his employer whom he doesn't see but recieves jobs from on the computer assigns him to retire one more mark, a computer hacker known as Electra, played by Moore. The problem that Rath is about to encounter is Miguel Bain, played remarkably by Banderas, another professional hitman who's out to get the same mark and kill Rath to become number one. The film turns into a cat and mouse game between Rath and Bain.

Director Donner succeeds in focusing less on the action, but more on the characters themselves and the interactions between them. There is no major body count nor is there the sound of gunshots or machine guns (all the guns in the film are silenced), and nor are there that many explosions, except for the scene where Bain gets blown out of a kitchen window.

Recommended

B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assassins, January 12, 2010
This review is from: Assassins (DVD)
Robert Rath is a professional hit man who, despite his stature as the best in the business, has grown disillusioned about his work and his life. But as he contemplates a way out of the shadowy world he inhabits, Rath is shocked to discover that he himself is the target of assassination. A ruthless, ambitious young killer named Miguel Bain wants to become the number one assassin and knows he must remove Rath to do so. The two men's lives and careers intersect when both of them are sent to eliminate Electra, a beautiful "information assassin"--an electronic surveillance expert who possesses valuable secrets on a computer disk. Rath and Electra team up to make a break for freedom--but they have to get past Bain first. This movie is very interesting and keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Antonio And Sylvester do a very good job of acting opposite of each other throughout the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stallone's Best, December 22, 1999
This review is from: Assassins [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I personally think this was one of Sly's best movies, even better than the Rocky series.
Stallone plays the part of a man named Robert Rath who has been an assassin for over fifteen years. His conscience is finally cathing up to him and he wants out of the business. Before he retires he decides to do one last hit worth $20 million, enough money to live comfortably for the rest of his life.
Banderas plays the part of Miguel Bain, a young, very ambitious, ruthless assassin who is determined to be the world's best contract killer. The only thing standing in his way is Stallone.
Moore plays the part of the woman who Stallone was supposed to assassinate, but instead developed strong feelings for.
The three of them combine to make one of the best movie's of 1995 with plenty of action, drama, and a semi-love story. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want a Ruger .22, September 20, 2005
By 
shivatrance (rehoboth, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Assassins (DVD)
What a fun movie!

Stallone is horrible as he is in most movies; I still find it amazing that even he believes that he can act. But Bandaras is outstanding as the nemisis killer. He oozes sociopathic behavior that seems incredibly real. Great performance.

Not a great one though for Moore, but ok. Her character is the dullest of the three, but is still an integral part of the plot.

The gunfights are incredible. I think there are only something like three unsilenced shots fired in the whole film out of about three hundred.

Great fun for any hitman fan. Granted the story is a bit unplasable, but the actions and weaponry as well as the tactics come off as seeming to be pretty realistic, at least what I would think would be realistic.

Plus, you have to love any movie that has Portishead in its soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassins (1995)
Assassins (1995) by Richard Donner (DVD - 2010)
$5.97 $4.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.