Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting point for a collector!
I collected Pokemon cards as a kid back in the 90's. Recently I decided to start collecting again.

I bought from the seller Cardrushstore. I cannot vouch for any of the other sellers. Here is what I found:
-Every single card was in new condition.
-I had no rares, only commons with a few uncommons thrown in.
-Out of 100 cards, only 13 were...
Published on October 8, 2010 by Casey Foose

versus
161 of 184 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tons of fake and duplicate cards. Don't buy!
***OUT OF 100 CARDS, OVER HALF OF THEM WERE FAKE***

I recently decided to get into Pokemon cards, and have been trying out all of the 100 and 50-card bundles that are available on Amazon. I figured it's a good way to get a wide selection of cards to build my deck. With other sellers, I've had a generally good experience. Sure there are always duplicate cards,...
Published on August 26, 2011 by Matthew Dunn


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting point for a collector!, October 8, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I collected Pokemon cards as a kid back in the 90's. Recently I decided to start collecting again.

I bought from the seller Cardrushstore. I cannot vouch for any of the other sellers. Here is what I found:
-Every single card was in new condition.
-I had no rares, only commons with a few uncommons thrown in.
-Out of 100 cards, only 13 were duplicates, and no energy cards were included (yay!).
-Six cards were reverse holos. Very shiny :)
-The majority of the cards were Pokemon. Less than 12 were Trainer and Support cards.
-Shipping was fast, and my package was trackable.

I do not recommend this to anyone who seriously plays the game. None of the cards had great stats, and the majority of the Pokemon were basic. I also do not recommend this to someone who has been collecting Pokemon cards for a while, as one probably will not receive many uncommon or rare cards.

I do recommend this set to someone starting a collecting from scratch. Great variety!
I also think this would be a good set to use as party favors or something similar. If purchasing this set for kids, talk to them first and figure out if they want just a bunch of cards, or are looking for rarer ones. 100 copies of cards someone already has is pretty useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, August 1, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
My son is pretty much addicted to Pokemon anything at the moment. I purchased these cards for his birthday and he loves them. There was actually a great variety (considering the site mentioned there may be dupes) - especially for the low price. I don't quite "get" the point of the card game myself, but my son enjoys playing with his friends. As far as "educational value" - I don't consider this an educational game, so hard to place a rank on that. If you play the game the way it's supposed to be played, though, it actually requires quite a bit of reading and basic math (adding scores, etc.) Can get pretty strategic, too. Overall very happy with the procudt and transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 184 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tons of fake and duplicate cards. Don't buy!, August 26, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
***OUT OF 100 CARDS, OVER HALF OF THEM WERE FAKE***

I recently decided to get into Pokemon cards, and have been trying out all of the 100 and 50-card bundles that are available on Amazon. I figured it's a good way to get a wide selection of cards to build my deck. With other sellers, I've had a generally good experience. Sure there are always duplicate cards, that's expected, but out of all the bundles, I've never received a worse selection of cards, or so many fake cards.

That's right, out of all the cards, about half the stack went into the trash. It's not difficult to tell the difference between fake and real cards. One of the biggest indicator is inconsistent colors and varied sizes in the blue borders around the back of the card. Half of the cards were orange-yellow instead of yellow, and had uneven borders on the back. You can also tell by how the cards feel in your hand, and the varied text fonts and spelling errors. I expect a couple fake cards here and there, but at least half of the cards out of a 100-card deck?! That's ridiculous.

Out of the cards I received that seemed to be legit, 3 or 4 of the cards were duplicated EIGHT TO TWELVE TIMES. Actually, I'm pretty sure I got 15 Professor Oak trainer cards! Again, I understand that duplicates are acceptable, but with the cards I received, I felt like I was getting cards that someone else didn't want. On top of it, most of these cards were not new, and had visible edge damage, scratches, etc. One final point: about ten of the cards I received were in Spanish. Granted, all of these were also fake and went in the trash, but last I checked this is an ENGLISH store front. I don't want Spanish cards that I can't use!

All in all, I will be reporting this seller for this product. Pokemon cards are a hot commodity, and it's the seller's responsibility to be honest with their description of their products. Not only that, it's the sellers responsibility to confirm the validity of their product. Very disappointed. So far from what I've seen, the other 100-card packs are fine, but stay away from this one!

UPDATE: I have been asked to list the seller I bought the cards from. He is KyleRWeber. Interestingly, it appears that he no longer sells on Amazon, but when he did, he had almost nothing but good feedback, which seems odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, February 24, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I think the phrase "You get what you pay for," applies perfectly for this lot of Pokemon Cards. I will start off by saying that I did, indeed, recieve exactly 100 Pokemon Cards with only two of them being first edition, plus an extra 6 Foil Cards. This is a good lot of cards for a relatively cheap price. Don't expect to be able to build an effective deck out of this alone, or even a deck at all. This lot works best as a small addition to someone's collection or a great start to a new one. Out of all of the cards I recieved, only two of them were damaged, and the damage on these two cards, while noticeable, was not that significant. Also, I did recieve a significant number of duplicates, 42, to be exact. That said, this is can certainly be worth the $16 it costs, depending on the person and what they're buying it for.

I will now list the exact cards that I recieved and list the Bonus Foil Cards.

Regarding the 6 Foil Cards, let me say that they are not "Promo" cards, the 6 cards that I recieved were in no way, "Promotional Cards". They were simply a few common and uncommon cards that were all Reverse Holo. This means that the area around the picture was Holo, not the picture itself. Just to clarify.

Foil Cards:

Pupitar 38/95 - Uncommon
Spearow 62/95 - Common
Kakuna 32/95 - Uncommon
Plusle 36/95 - Uncommon
Tropius 66/95 - Common
Dunsparce 29/95 - Uncommon

Energies: 10

Fire - 4
Water - 2
Fighting - 2
Earth - 1
Psychic - 1

Trainers: 16

Recycle 61/62 First Edition
Gambler 60/62 First Edition
Pokedex 87/102
Pokemon Flute 86/102
Gold Berry 93/111
Giant Stump 75/92
Switch 95/102
Poke Ball 85/100
Pokemon Center 114/130
Full Heal 82/102
x2 Super Potion 90/102
Energy Flow 122/132
Energy Removal 92/102
x2 Energy Retrieval 81/102

Total Pokemon: 74 Rare/1 - Uncommon/25 - Common/48

Lightning: 1

Magnemite 61/97

Psychic: 3

Jynx 31/102
Slowpoke 73/111
Haunter 43/130

Normal: 4

x2 Rattata 66/82
Eevee 51/64
Bagon 43/108

Water: 4

Snorunt 64/108
Marill 66/111
Sealeo 37/108
Krabby 51/62

Fire: 9

x2 Vulpix 68/102
x2 Cyndaquil 57/111
x2 Growlithe 28/102
Arcanine 23/102
Charmeleon 24/102
Monferno 41/100

Fighting: 25

x5 Kabuto 50/62
Brock's Geodude 68/132
x2 Geodude 47/62
x3 Graveler 37/62
x3 Golem 36/62
Machop 53/108
Machop 59/82
x4 Machop 52/102
Medicham 34/108
Brock's Onix 69/132
Makuhita 57/109
Mankey 61/82
Horsea (Delta Species) 31/101

Grass: 28

Nidoran (Female) 57/64
x2 Nidoran (Male) 55/102
x3 Nidorino 37/102
Oddish 58/64
Erika's Oddish 47/132
x2 Erika's Oddish 70/132
x2 Dark Gloom 36/82
Zubat 70/82
x2 Zubat 57/62
Tangela 96/130
x2 Erika's Tangela 79/132
Weepinbell 64/130
Kakuna 33/102
Sunkern 114/132
Seviper 23/108 (Rare)
Koga's Weezing 50/132
Chikorita 54/111
Caterpie 45/102
Weedle 86/112
Venonat 63/64
Bellsprout 66/130

Hope this review helped! Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, September 23, 2009
By 
Laura "lolagranola91" (Durand, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I assume that most people who buy these know that normally if you buy a pack of 5 of them wrapped in cellophane from Target or wherever that you are paying about a buck a card - ridiculous if you ask me - but my 6 year old loves them - and they are great rewards for him completing chores or homework. What you are ordering here are 100 new cards - not wrapped in cellophane - but they came in a really nice plastic carrying case - which I hadn't anticipated - and my son can't wait until he earns all 100 cards so he can have the case too. There are duplicates which I would expect - but for the price - about 10 cents a card - oh well - also don't expect too many high value cards - but there are a few and once again for the price I say oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a ripoff!, May 14, 2011
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
My son used his allowance for this purchase. He is EXTREMELY dissapointed to find out of the hundred cards 26 are the exact same as well as 39 exact same. So for 65 cards of the 100 he got essentially 2 cards. Sad to ripoff a kid of his allowance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising, May 4, 2011
By 
Steve (CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
The description is completely false. Do NOT purchase. I received 100 cards (didn't count exactly for reasons below). Out of the 100 cards, there were only 3 unique cards: about 60 of card 1, 33 of card 2 and 7 of card 3. I'm assuming they're all commons, but didn't bother to look up.

Again, you do NOT receive 100 "assorted" cards.

To add insult to injury, the 6 "Free" Bonus Promo Foils were non-existent!

My son was VERY disappointed when the package arrived. The description is totally false. Do NOT purchase this item or from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome pack of 100 cards, May 14, 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I think you should get one of these things. There were lots of cards that helped me make powerful decks. It also included some cards that are so old you can't find them in stores anymore. It even included a rare promo Mew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get an assortment as advertised, April 29, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I was expecting to get an assortment of 100 different types of cards and instead I recieved 4 different types of cards - 25 of each. I am not happy with my order and do not plan to do any more business with this seller unless my product is exchanged for a better assortment of cards, I can understand having duplicates but 25 of the same card is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cards are used, not new, September 10, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 100 Assorted Pokemon Trading Cards with Bonus 6 Free Holo Foils (Toy)
I bought three sets of these cards, thinking that I would be getting new cards that are just not in the original packaging. When they arrived, it was obvious that the cards are used and have been handled. Edges are worn or chipped, some are warped or bent. The description says nothing about these being used cards. I think this is deceptive advertising. Basically what you get are all the crappy cards that somebody else played with and then decided they didn't want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.