Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very inexpensive option for dammage
This seems to be a great option so far and have not had to use it yet and look forward to seeing it work later on.
Published 8 months ago by slowdown

versus
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T register the protection plan! I have ZERO confidence that the plan will be honored. Look elsewhere!
I purchased this 2-year Assurant protection plan on 3/31/14 with a Linksys wireless router. I received a prompt email from Assurant with my plan confirmation, which informed me to go to their site and register my plan. This is where the company fails BIG TIME!

The site is extremely slow, and constantly fails when you enter you contract # and the site searches...
Published 10 months ago by djhansensr


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T register the protection plan! I have ZERO confidence that the plan will be honored. Look elsewhere!, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this 2-year Assurant protection plan on 3/31/14 with a Linksys wireless router. I received a prompt email from Assurant with my plan confirmation, which informed me to go to their site and register my plan. This is where the company fails BIG TIME!

The site is extremely slow, and constantly fails when you enter you contract # and the site searches for the contract. I've tried to do this numerous times, and was NEVER able to register my plan. I am a technical engineer, so this is not a user issue. When you click on Search to find the contract, the site makes you wait several minutes, and then fails with a Proxy error. I used different browsers and computers, and it still failed.

I am not comfortable that when it comes time to use the Assurant protection, that they will honor it. It seems to me that they don't want you to register the plan you purchased, so that they can later claim that you did not register the plan. The site is LOUSY. I called Assurant customer service, and although the lady was very nice, she could not help me resolve the problem. She claims to have linked the plan to my Assurant online account that I created, but every time I access my profile on the site, it shows that no contracts are found.

I would not use this company again. I will definitely consider a different extended warranty provider on future purchases. It should not be this difficult to register a contract, and to have to waste my time calling customer service. In this review, I selected that the item was not as described because I could not register the plan. If I can't register the plan, I have ZERO confidence that it will be honored. Look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Customer Service Lies, You cant get copy of policy prior to purchase..., April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
Called customer service I was told coverage would protect from accidental damages. They told me they could NOT send a copy of the policy prior to purchase. So I ordered and sure enough accidental is not covered. They tell me that it has to be purchased, however they is no way to add the coverage. So in short DONT buy this product. I am an insurance agent so I thoroughly reviewed this plan and it is mostly junk unless you are covering an appliance that will not leave the home. Amazon should be ashamed for selling a product with such low integrity. Here is what is covered: WHAT ISN’T COVERED (copied directly from plan):

...IF THE TERM OF THIS SERVICE PLAN OVERLAPS WITH THE TERM OF YOUR MANUFACTURER'S
WARRANTY, LOOK FIRST TO YOUR MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY FOR COVERAGE. THIS SERVICE PLAN
EXCLUDES COVERAGE FOR ANY LOSS COVERED BY YOUR MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY, BUT MAY
NEVERTHELESS PROVIDE BENEFITS IN ADDITION TO THOSE PROVIDED BY YOUR MANUFACTURER'S
WARRANTY.
3) WHAT IS COVERED: Service performed hereunder shall consist of functional parts and labor necessary to restore
Your Product to normal operating condition.
Optional Accidental Damage Coverage Benefit – If You purchased accidental damage coverage as stated on
Your sales receipt, this Plan will cover Your Product for accidental damage as a result of handling, drops and spilled
liquid. This coverage is not available on major appliances.
4) COVERED PRODUCTS: The following products are eligible for coverage. The Product for which You actually
purchased coverage will be listed on the sales receipt.
• Major Appliances: Such as but not limited to washers, dryers, refrigerators, freezers, dishwashers, ovens,
ranges.
• Consumer Electronics: Such as but not limited to televisions (TVs), camcorders, stereos, CD players, plasma
TVs, LCD and LED TVs, DVD players, digital cameras, digital camcorders and Tablets. Remote Control - This
Service Plan provides for remote control replacement of comparable functionality once per Service Plan. Your
Service Plan remains in force upon replacement of the lamp or remote control.
• Personal Computers: Such as but not limited to desktop PCs, peripherals, laptops, printers, scanners.
• Jewelry Products and Watches: Such as but not limited to earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings.
FW1775-1112 v3-1213
5) REPLACEMENT OPTION: If Your Product cannot be repaired, You will receive either a replacement product, gift
card, or an amount equal to the original purchase price of Your Product, in Administrator’s sole discretion. You will be
required to return Your defective Product along with all accessories & batteries as a condition for receiving a
replacement product, gift card or reimbursement. If specified to mail in your Product, You are responsible for packing
the Product in the original or comparable packaging to prevent further damage during shipping. You may be instructed
to handle return of the defective Product and receipt of a replacement Product through the dealer where You
purchased the Product. Replacement will be with a product of comparable type, quality and functionality, & will be
shipped to You, postage pre-paid by Administrator. If a gift card or reimbursement is issued to You, its value will be
equal to the original purchase price of the Product as described in Section 8.
6) PARTS NON-AVAILABILITY: In the event that replacement parts needed for repair should become unavailable
during the coverage period of the Service Plan, We will either replace Your Product with a new or refurbished product
of like kind and quality or pay You a cash settlement pursuant to the Replacement Option above. Such replacement
or cash settlement will constitute fulfillment of this Service Plan and will cancel and discharge all further obligations
under this Service Plan, where allowed by law. In no event shall We or the retailer be liable for any damages as a
result of the unavailability of replacement parts.
7) NO-LEMON POLICY: If Your covered Product fails three times due to the same part(s) failure during the Service Plan
term, after expiration of the manufacturer’s warranty period, and a fourth repair for the same problem occurs, as
determined by Us, within any twelve (12) month period, the covered Product will be replaced with a comparable
product or a cash settlement pursuant to Replacement Option above. Such replacement or cash settlement shall
constitute fulfillment of this Service Plan and will cancel and discharge all further obligations under this Service Plan,
where allowed by law.
8) LIMIT OF LIABILITY: The total amount that We will pay for repairs and/or replacement made in connection with all
claims that You make pursuant to this Service Plan shall not exceed the purchase amount paid for the Product. In the
event that We make payments for repairs and/or replacements, which in the aggregate, are equal to the purchase
amount paid for the Product, or provide a cash settlement or gift card, reflecting the replacement cost of a new item of
equal features and functionality, We will have no further obligations under this Service Plan.
9) FOR COMPUTER PRODUCTS ONLY: We will provide technical assistance and troubleshooting for the operation of
Your Product. Call the Service Plan Administrator’s toll free number listed under the If You Need Service provision
for technical assistance. Software technical support shall be limited to the proper operation of the approved operating
systems and pre-installed application software programs. Software support shall at no time mean tutorial assistance.
This Service Plan does not cover customer-installed software. Laptop Screen Protection will cover labor and
replacement parts, should Your laptop screen become inoperable.
10) FOR PLASMA DISPLAY/TELEVISION PRODUCTS ONLY: All plasma televisions may have a given number of
defective pixels. This may be a normally occurring condition with plasma display technology. Pixel defects such as lit
or unlit pixels will be subject to the manufacturer’s guidelines for allowable pixel defects as verified by Our authorized
repair center in order to qualify as a covered failure.
11) JEWELRY PRODUCTS ONLY: We will repair or replace Your Product due to loss of precious or semi-precious
stones if such loss is due to defective mounting in the setting (does not include the primary center stone). Covered
repairs include soldering, re-tipping of prongs, repairing prongs and mountings, rhodium plating, subsequent ring
sizing, resetting stones, cultured pearl restringing, kinks or knots, dents, chips, breaks, cracks, thinning ring bands,
gouges, and scratches.
12) WATCHES ONLY: We will repair or replace Your Product due to broken cases, bracelets, bands or clasps; scratched
or broken crystals; bezels, broken or dented crowns, stems, and broken movements.
13) POWER SURGE PROTECTION FOR MAJOR APPLIANCES, CONSUMER ELECTRONICS, AND PERSONAL
COMPUTER PRODUCTS ONLY: This Service Plan provides protection against operational failure of Your Product if
the operational failure is caused by a power surge and a properly installed and functioning Underwriter’s Laboratory
approved surge protector is in use. You may be required to send Your surge protector to the Service Plan
Administrator for examination.
FW1775-1112 v3-1213
14) FOOD SPOILAGE COVERAGE FOR REFRIGERATOR AND FREEZER PRODUCTS ONLY: Food loss as a result
of the failure is covered to a maximum of one hundred dollars ($100.00) over the term of the Service Plan. Food loss
that results from a loss or interruption of power is not covered. An itemized list of spoiled food will be required.
15) IF YOU NEED SERVICE: To locate or arrange for service go to [...] or call the
Service Plan Administrator’s at 866-761-7379. The Service Plan Administrator will select an authorized repair center
which will contact You to arrange for Your service. You should contact the Service Plan Administrator directly if the
completion of Your repair is not satisfactory.
16) TYPES OF SERVICE AND SERVICE LOCATION: In the event the Service Plan Administrator determines that Your
Product requires in-home/on-site service, repairs will normally be performed at Your residence. In order for the
Service Plan to provide in-home/on-site service, an adult (of legal age) must be present at the location where on-site
service will be performed. If You live beyond a thirty-five (35) mile radius of an authorized service center, You may be
required to ship the Product to the designated servicer; however, shipping charges will be covered by the Service
Plan. In-home/on-site service is not available for, but not limited to, the following items: jewelry products, watches, fax
machines, external CD-ROM/DVD drives, external disk drives, and external tape backup systems or other similar
products. In the event the Service Plan Administrator determines that Your Product requires carry-in service, repairs
will be performed at an authorized repair center. You are responsible for the delivery of Your Product to the repair
center for performance of the repairs and for pickup of the Product following completion of the service work. If
shipping is required, charges will be covered by this Service Plan.
17) AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE: Service will normally be available and rendered during the regular working hours and
work week of product repair centers in Your area.
18) DELAYS: We will exercise reasonable efforts in providing service under this Service Plan, but will not be liable for
any damages arising out of delays; and in no event shall We or the Service Plan Administrator be liable for
consequential damages. In the event Your repair requires more than thirty (30) days to complete, the expiration date
of Your Service Plan will be extended by the repair time in excess of thirty (30) days.
19) PARTS: Materials furnished as replacements for parts will be drawn from Our service contractor’s inventory of new or
rebuilt parts and components. These materials will be furnished under provisions of the manufacturer’s warranty
while still in effect and then by Our service during the remainder of the term of coverage.
20) MANUFACTURER’S WARRANTY: During the manufacturer’s warranty period, the manufacturer will pay for items
covered under its expressed warranty; and We will pay for other covered items herein, not covered by the
manufacturer’s warranty. If You should call for service on an item covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, the
Service Plan Administrator will refer Your call to the manufacturer.
21) YOUR SERVICE PLAN DOES NOT COVER THE FOLLOWING ITEMS AND SERVICES: Cabinets and associated
non-operating components of Your Product, such as protective glass, frame, filters, antenna, batteries
whether or not they are replaceable by the consumer, toner and developer cartridges, drum cartridges,
stylus, needles, trays, shelves, light bulbs, consumer replaceable projector bulbs, tapes, ribbons, hoses,
knobs, bags, pre-installed, customized or proprietary software, software applications installed after Your
original computer product purchase or installation of any of the foregoing items. FOR JEWELRY AND
WATCH PRODUCTS: Inherent design defect(s) in the Product including but not limited to flaws in gemstones,
introduction of foreign objects into the product, tampering with prongs, bezels or other elements designed to
secure stones, unauthorized product modifications or alterations, any Product which contains mechanical or
electronic components normally designed to be replaced by the purchaser during the life of the Product;
This Service Plan does not cover any recall program whether the manufacturer is in business or not,
unavailable repair parts during the manufacturer’s warranty period, or, products on which required
maintenance was not performed.
This Service Plan does not cover service, maintenance, repair, or replacement necessitated by any loss or
damage resulting from any cause other than normal usage in accordance with manufacturer specifications,
such as, but not limited to loss or damage due to misuse, abuse, unauthorized repair by others, improper
installation, rust, corrosion, insect infestation, fire, water, windstorm, hail, earthquake, theft, negligence, riot,
or any other peril. IN NO EVENT SHALL THIS SERVICE PLAN BE LIABLE FOR SPECIAL, INDIRECT,
INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES WHETHER IN SERVICE PLAN, TORT, OR NEGLIGENCE. This
Service Plan does not cover any and all pre-existing conditions that occur prior to the effective date of this
Service Plan and known by You. This Service Plan does not provide for any expansion of the channel or
frequency range capabilities of Your Product, nor does it provide for cable television adjustments, hookups,
or audio-video system installation. This Service Plan does not cover preventative maintenance, except for
tape path alignment, head cleaning, CD lens cleaning and laser alignment associated with tape decks,
camcorders, CD, DVD, CD-ROM and other similar products. This Service Plan does not cover loss or
corruption of data, damage due to computer viruses, and/or the restoration of software and operating
systems to Your Product. This Service Plan does not cover radio frequency interference due to improper
installation or close proximity to other electronic equipment. This Service Plan does not cover claims arising
from any breach of implied or expressed warranty of merchantability or fitness of the Product from the
manufacturer. Initial installation or hookup of Your Product is not covered. Removal and reinstallation are
not covered under this Service Plan, except as determined by the Service Plan Administrator. Accidental or
intentional damage, cracked or damaged monitor, laptop or display screens, unless covered by optional
Accidental Damage coverage.
22) WHAT YOU MUST DO: You are responsible for backing up all electronic data, computer software and personal files
prior to commencement of any repairs. Non-technical cleaning to provide a normal operating environment as
described in the manufacturer’s instruction manual for the Product is Your responsibility. You have a duty to protect
against any further damage and are required to comply with the manufacturer’s instruction manual for the Product.
23) PRODUCTS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE: This Service Plan does not provide any service for products used for
commercial or business purposes.
24) RENEWALS: At Our option, Your Service Plan may be renewed; however, We are not obligated to offer You another
Service Plan upon termination of this Service Plan or to accept a Service Plan order, in the event You tender one.
25) TRANSFER: You may transfer this Service Plan to another person by writing to the Service Plan Administrator. The
notice must include the name, address and phone number of the person to whom the Service Plan is being
transferred. Your transfer takes effect as soon as the Service Plan Administrator receives Your written notice.
26) CANCELLATION: You may cancel this Service Plan at any time for any reason by mailing a request for cancellation
and the original copy of this Service Plan to Us. If You cancel this Service Plan within the first thirty (30) days after
receipt of this Service Plan, You will receive a full refund, less any claims paid, where allowed by law. If You cancel
after the first thirty (30) days from receipt of this Service Plan, You will receive a pro rata refund based on the time
remaining on Your Service Plan, less an administrative fee, not to exceed ten percent (10%) of the Price of the
Service Plan or twenty-five dollars ($25.00), whichever is less, and less any claims paid, where allowed by law. The
effective date of cancellation is the date We receive the request for cancellation. If We cancel this Plan, You will be
provided with a written notice at least thirty (30) days prior to cancellation at Your last known address, with the
effective date for the cancellation and the reason for cancellation. If We cancel, You will be refunded the unearned
pro rata Price of this Service Plan, less any claims paid, where allowed by law. If this Service Plan was inadvertently
sold to You on a product which was not intended to be covered by this Service Plan, We will cancel this Service Plan
and return the full Price of the Service Plan to You.
27) DEDUCTIBLE: If You purchased Accidental Damage coverage, a deductible will apply and will be stated on Your
sales receipt.
28) REPEAT SERVICE: If Your Product requires service more than once within a sixty (60) day period, it must be
completed by the original repair center.
29) ARBITRATION:
Read the following arbitration provision carefully. It limits certain of Your rights, including Your right to
obtain relief or damages through court action.
To begin Arbitration, either You or We must make a written demand to the other party for arbitration. The Arbitration
will take place before a single arbitrator. It will be administered in keeping with the Expedited Procedures of the
Commercial Arbitration Rules ("Rules") of the American Arbitration Association ("AAA") in effect when the claim is
filed. You may get a copy of these AAA's Rules by contacting AAA at 1633 Broadway, 10th Floor, New York, NY
10019, calling (800) 778-7879 or visiting [...]. The filing fees to begin and carry out arbitration will be shared
equally between You and Us. This does not prohibit the arbitrator from giving the winning party their fees and expenses of the arbitration. Unless You and We agree, the arbitration will take place in the county and state where
You live. The Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 1, et seq., will govern and no state, local or other arbitration law will
apply. YOU AGREE AND UNDERSTAND THAT this arbitration provision means that You give up Your right to go to
court on any claim covered by this provision. You also agree that any arbitration proceeding will only consider Your
Claims. Claims by, or on behalf of, other individuals will not be arbitrated in any proceeding that is considering Your
Claims. Please refer to the State Disclosures section of this Service Plan for any added requirements in Your state. In
the event this Arbitration provision is not approved by the appropriate state regulatory agency, and/or is stricken,
severed, or otherwise deemed unenforceable by a court of competent jurisdiction, You and We specifically agree to
waive and forever give up the right to a trial by jury. Instead, in the event any litigation arises...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product Registration, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
The page for product registration behaved very slowly and erratically.
The product for which coverage was purchased was not in the Brand drop down box and so the page would not
continue to full product registration. At this time I am not sure that the insurance policy I purchased is active?

Thanks
Leon McClatchey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Registration, April 3, 2014
By 
Stephen Bowers (VINELAND, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
Right off the bat when registering there is no customer service email and I couldn't find the manufacture listed in the drop down list to properly register my product, I hope this is not a tell tale sign of things to come if I ever have to use this protection plan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You'll Need the Patience of a Saint to Get Through the Process, April 26, 2014
By 
Joe K (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
So I buy a protection plan, four of them actually, one for each of four memory modules I purchased for my PC. I get, as expected, four order confirmations, one for each of the protection plans purchased. The order confirmation has a "don't forget" reminder on it to go to their website and register the plan. So I try it for the first memory module. PAINFULLY SLOW. Really frustrating. They claim to have issued over 350 million protection plans. You'd think, if business was really that good, they would have an IT system that would allow a customer to essentially enter their email address, home phone, and the product serial number. Should be easy. But nooooo. So I thought to myself... self, maybe it's my crappy network here at work that is slow. It couldn't be a crappy IT system at the big company I am trying to register with. So I go home and try it again and discover that: It's the crappy IT system at the big company I am trying to register my protection plan with. Great. If it is this hard to register the plan with Assurant, I can only imagine how painful it will be to file a claim. Fortunately, the state I live in gives me 20 days to cancel the policy. But that will probably be a painful process too that just might not be worth the effort. I should have known better - my bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't extend your warranty, April 10, 2014
By 
D. Enerson "hwystar" (Huntington Woods, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
I bought a hard drive that already had a 2 year warranty. I expected this to extend the warranty ANOTHER 2 years. When I received my confirmation email, I found that it only covered it for the first 2 years so I've requested a refund. Yes, it probably covers more during that 2 years, but it didn't meet my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Receive It, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
Never received the email for the protection plan. Wish it was just a slip of paper, so I could put it with the rest of my PC parts warranties. This was useless to me. Can someone re-send the email? Or give me store credit with Amazon at least?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars can't register, April 14, 2014
By 
Paul (Marietta, GA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
I've tried to register this plan and have had no success. Password is not registering accurately. I'd like to have a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard time, April 25, 2014
By 
Tosha Collins (LA MESA, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
I haven't had the need for using this yet, but setting up the account was difficult. I had to retry at least 5 times as it kept giving me error messages. I almost just said forget it, but remembered that I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what I bought!!, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assurant 360º 2-Year PC Peripheral Protection Plan ($50-$74.99) (Personal Computers)
i'm not at all sure I actually bought anything, haven't received any info at all. Maybe I missed something in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.