Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Asterisk book that you MUST own.
Whether you have a passing curiosity about Asterisk or your livelihood depends upon it, this is THE Asterisk book you need on your shelf (or e-reader).

Originally called "Asterisk, The Future of Telephony", the new title is more apropos. Not only is "the future of telephony" a present-day reality, but all earlier editions have been the de-facto definitive...
Published on April 26, 2011 by Karl G. Fife

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not definitive
This book provides a useful bunch of information about Asterisk but is primarily aimed at newbies rather than more advanced users. I think that using the word "Definitive" in the title is misleading. One could take that word to mean "correct" but I would expect that it also imply "complete" and this book is not that. In my view, a "definitive guide" should be the only...
Published on May 25, 2011 by Steve NJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Asterisk book that you MUST own., April 26, 2011
By 
Karl G. Fife (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Whether you have a passing curiosity about Asterisk or your livelihood depends upon it, this is THE Asterisk book you need on your shelf (or e-reader).

Originally called "Asterisk, The Future of Telephony", the new title is more apropos. Not only is "the future of telephony" a present-day reality, but all earlier editions have been the de-facto definitive guides as well. The third edition welcomes contributions from the brilliant Russell Bryant.

Our venture capital fund uses Asterisk to bring competitive advantages to our our portfolio companies. I use Asterisk personally to build "crazy powerful" and fun telephony solutions for myself and family. With the stunning power and versatility of Asterisk, it's no wonder there are more Asterisk servers running than all the Google and Facebook servers in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good resource to have, October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Shipped fast and in mint condition. (I would not hesitate purchasing from this seller again.) This is a good reference book for a wide range of Asterisk users, it walks newbies through set-up step-by-step, but is referenced in such a way that those that are more familiar can cut right to the chase and find what you're looking for quickly. I can highly recommeded this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice intro book, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This is a very good intro book into Asterisk. It was very helpful to me. The section on Call Routing was extremely helpful and helped me solve several problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, dense information, April 18, 2011
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Asterisk: The Definitive Guide is a solid text with good information for users and potential users of the Asterisk software.

While the preface indicates that the book takes a gentle approach to the Asterisk novice, the experience will be better if the reader is familiar with telephony terminology at a basic level. Basic Linux sysadmin skills are assumed, with CentOS and Ubuntu used for the example installations.

After a short history of Asterisk and its ecosystem, the book moves on to fairly detailed installation and configuration on a "clean" server. The approach used is retrieve source code from the Subversion repository and compile, rather than rely on (probably) outdated system packages.

Subsequent chapters cover Asterisk configuration options in detail, with all the primary areas of interest represented, starting with dialplan basics, voicemail, fax, etc.

A feature which I appreciated was the use of visually distinct sections, set off by a "bear trap" icon, to warn of pitfalls that commonly ensnare users or administrators, e.g., internet access is required when running the "make install" command for DAHDI, as this will try to download drivers from the Digium site. Trivial for home users, frustrating for corporate admins running the install in a disconnected lab if an unexpected failure occurs.

Recommended addition to the bookshelf of any sysadmin dealing with Asterisk and / or telephony in general.

Disclaimer, I was provided access by O'Reilly Publishing to a digital copy of this book for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, March 7, 2013
Excellent introduction whether you're building a production enterprise PBX, setting up a small home PBX, or implementing a voice application platform in connection with a PBX. Make sure you read it all, I started picking what looked like the most relevant chapters but ended up missing out on stuff - reading it all is required. You won't regret it if you do, but don't bother atall if you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all - the Definitive Guide, April 26, 2011
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
I've been using asterisk in our company since 2006. From day 1, it would have been virtually impossible to maintain without the help of this book (though clearly an earlier edition.)

I'm a director of I.T. in a small company. Asterisk is only 1 part of all that I'm responsible for. However, whenever a telephony issue comes up or a new phone request from users surfaces, I'm almost always able to quickly solve it through help from this book.

I've also been able to suggest new ways of doing business in our company from reading this book. Asterisk is so full of features that it was worth reading cover-to-cover in order to have in mind what solutions were possible. As a result, when a business question arose regarding telephony, I'd immediately be able to recall how Asterisk could help. I'd then be able to quickly see how it's done by referring back to this book.

This book is not only useful, but I'd dare say required for anyone contemplating or already using Asterisk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Asterisk now and expert users, May 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book is great for all the people how is planing to deploy Asterisk.
It is full of useful examples, tips and tricks.
These authors helped me to better understand how Asterisk working.

I recommend this book for new and expert Asterisk users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would recommand this book., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Good book for who wants to know and do more on server set up and to know all the protocols and the security issues. Good for who wants to know about telephones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The nuts and bolts of the matter., May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterisk: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Lots of great information, and general help for seeing how things are put together within a basic installation of Asterisk.

Not necessarily organized in the best manner, but... that's what the index is for, right?

If you're considering a PBX system, using asterisk, then well... this will be helpful to get to the nuts and bolts of the that quest.
You will, at the end of the book, have a fully functioning system, and reference pages worth reading more than twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterisk, April 11, 2013
By 
Rick Lawthers (Fort Pierce, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title of this book got it right. This is the "Definitive Guide" for learning Asterisk. This book will show you every step to get all the software that you need installed on your computer and then how to use it as well. Great book for people that are just getting started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Asterisk: The Definitive Guide
Asterisk: The Definitive Guide by Jim Van Meggelen (Paperback - May 8, 2011)
Used & New from: $13.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.