Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Asterix ever written
The Great Crossing is definitely my favorite episode, the image of Asterix as the Statue of Liberty is just amazing. If you've never read Asterix, this is maybe the episode to start with.
Published on July 8, 1999

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Asterix conquers America! (a little of it, anyway...)
Rene Goscinny, Asterix and the Great Crossing (Dargaud, 1975)

Getafix is out of fish, and Unhygenix's shipment has been delayed. You wouldn't think this a problem, with our favorite Gaulish village being on the sea and all, but somehow it is, and Asterix and Obelix are off to the rescue again. Except that while they're out fishing, a storm brews up and sends...
Published on April 12, 2007 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Asterix ever written, July 8, 1999
By A Customer
The Great Crossing is definitely my favorite episode, the image of Asterix as the Statue of Liberty is just amazing. If you've never read Asterix, this is maybe the episode to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix in America!, July 15, 2002
By 
First published in French in 1975 as La Grande Traversée, it was first published in English in 1976.
Asterix and Obelix volunteer to go fishing, as Getafix needs fresh fish, which Unhigienix, the fishmonger, as usual, cannot provide.
Stormy weather blows them to a strange destination where they meet up with a strange people who they cannot quite identify (of course we have the benefit of hindsight and know that this is America and these people are Native Americans.) Before the end of the voyage they also get to run into Vikings (A slightly different breed it seems, to those we met in `Asterix and the Normans').
As usual our friends voyage to interesting places and upside down. In the Asterix albums we have met parodies of figures such as Boadicea, The Beatles, Napoleon, Laurence Olivier and 007. In this one we get to meet up with a spoof of Harold Wilson, British Prime minister when this book was published.
Of course the theme of food also comes up quite a lot. It seems the authors of the Asterix albums had quite an obsession with food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Asterix conquers America! (a little of it, anyway...), April 12, 2007
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
Rene Goscinny, Asterix and the Great Crossing (Dargaud, 1975)

Getafix is out of fish, and Unhygenix's shipment has been delayed. You wouldn't think this a problem, with our favorite Gaulish village being on the sea and all, but somehow it is, and Asterix and Obelix are off to the rescue again. Except that while they're out fishing, a storm brews up and sends them halfway around the world to a place where the boars have been replaced by "gobblers" and the Romans wear facepaint. Yes, this is the volume upon which Asterix Conquers America is (very loosely) based. Lots of Indians, some Danish vikings (so Goscinny could play with Hamlet, naturally), and the usual mix of punning and mayhem ensue. Another good one. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, July 7, 2005
By 
Peter R. (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
I won't write a plot summary here, as many people have already done that, but I will say that this is probably one of the best Asterix adventures out there. Parts of it are laugh-out-loud funny, and the artwork is beautiful. If you are new to the series, or are already a fan and haven't read this particular adventure, I highly recommend it. I have read it about a dozen times myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix in America?, February 4, 2007
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
In Gaul, Getafix needs fish, it's vital for the magic potion they use to fend off the Romans. Unhygenix the fishmonger hates fresh fish, so Obelix and Asterix go exploring on Geriatrix's boat for some. Where will they go?

"The Great Crossing" (1975) is the 22nd Asterix comic, for Dogmatix it's number 18, and it sees Oumpah Pah (a character from a comic by the same guys) make a guest appearance. I really like this one. It's funny, drawn well. Everything to like about Asterix is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brave foray for a terrific series, December 11, 2009
Another clever, funny and creative classic from R. Goscinny. Every one of the original series (with Goscinny & Uderzo) is a classic and a must read. Some of the references are bit deep and this is not really a book for young kids (although most will enjoy some of the slapstick humor) but the real "juice" is in the puns in the language which are very clever. The artwork too is beautiful, although *some* of the recent paperback editions tend to have some "bleeding" (the ink is outside and offset a bit from the sketches outline). Especially noticed this in the entire Lucky Luke and Tintin collections - a pity because the colors are really rich and the artwork quite splendid, otherwise.

Finally, once you've read the originals, which were all written by Goscinny, you will find the newer stories, which were written by Uderzo after Goscinny had passed away, quite disappointing. The humor is not that clever at all, nor are the plots very elaborate. They're really much lighter sketches. The overall "feel" of the stories by Uderzo are also more modern and less ... enchanting is the best way to put it. I stopped after reading a couple of the new ones and didn't bother with the rest. Whereas, the old series I revisit and re-read and savor each story still. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Asterix album, February 2, 2007
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
Asterix in America this album could have been called, as a storm leads Asterix and Obelix's ship out to the open ocean, and eventually to the new continent. There they met native americans, there is a clash of cultures at the beginning, but they finally are received as friends. They are finally brought back to Europe by vikings (this was centuries before the real vikings are believed to have reached North America, but one does not read Asterix to learn history). The viking's intention to hold them as slaves will not be successful, of course, as A&O have the magical potion at their side. All in all, a very good album by Asterix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun adventure but the natives are a little too flat, June 11, 2014
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
Asterix's village has run short of fish and their one fisherman has vanished, boat and all. The chief sends Asterix and Obelix in another boat to catch some fish. They are not natural fishermen (Asterix tells Obelix to throw out the net, which he does without hanging on to it!). A storm comes up and blows them across the Atlantic. They think they've landed in a different part of Gaul, but the locals speak a different language and eat birds that gobble. Things go okay until an accidental betrothal happens. Meanwhile, Danish explorer Hereendethelessen is trying to discover this new world. Or maybe just recite some Hamlet before it's written.

The story is fun but the depiction of the Native Americans includes lots of cliches. That's to be expected in an Asterix story, but I wish they'd given the natives something more than just stereotypes. A fun but not great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
Thank you! my 13 years old son love this book. he have collection "Asterix and..." And this is comics will be good gift for person who likes Asterix collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a big fan, November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 (Paperback)
Glad you had this one to i like adventures of Asterix & Obelix i like reading the adventures it fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22
Asterix and the Great Crossing: Album #22 by Albert Uderzo (Paperback - April 1, 2005)
$10.95 $8.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.