Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all
If you were ever interested in what is going on above in heavens, but didn't want to trouble yourself with too much equations and other non-esential stuff, then this is the book for you. It is a textbook, and it reads as a textbook. You'll find that everything is included: from our Solar system, to the nuclear processes in the stars, to the black holes. Descriptions...
Published on May 5, 2000 by physix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A DATED ASTRONOMY TEXT
Astronomy: The Evolving Universe, 4th edition by Michael Zeilik is an older edition (1985) of a more recent text. Thus, it is very dated in many respects. There is, however, some very basic information of the cosmos and also some material concerning the history of astronomy that has not changed.

There are few color photos (if you care about those things) but...
Published 7 days ago by Robert D. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all, May 5, 2000
If you were ever interested in what is going on above in heavens, but didn't want to trouble yourself with too much equations and other non-esential stuff, then this is the book for you. It is a textbook, and it reads as a textbook. You'll find that everything is included: from our Solar system, to the nuclear processes in the stars, to the black holes. Descriptions are as they should be for the non-pros: comprehensive and simple (yet not trivial), well presented (love those many color pictures) and to the point. Great for an occasional star-gazer as well as astronomy students to revise their knowledge. And the Night Spectra Quest is a neat beginner's tool to examining star spectra. If you get more interested after studying this book, I recommend "An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics", which goes more deeply into the study of astrophysics and cosmology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starry, starry night..., May 22, 2004
Zeilik's book is one of the earliest systematic astronomy texts I ever read, beginning with the third edition back in 1982. That edition had four primary sections - Part I: Changing Concepts of the Cosmos; Part II: The Planets, Past and Present; Part III: The Universe of Stars and Galaxies; and Part IV: Cosmic Evolution.
Part I looks at the general structure of the universe, how it was conceived in the past, and how it is viewed today. Much of what is covered here falls under the general heading of cosmology. Zeilik has an interest in the history of astronomy, and it shows clearly in the text. He explores, among other topics, the Anasazi prehistoric astronomy discoveries, the Ptolemaic geocentric model, Tycho Brahe/Kepler's achievements, the discoveries of Newton and Galileo, and finally the birth of modern astrophysics. Some basic physics is introduced along the way, to make sense of radiation and optics, as well as gravitation and space-time concepts.
Part II looks at the nine planets of our solar system, including their satellites (moons), and the asteroids and other solar system objects (comets, etc.). Planetary sciences are among the fastest developing sciences around, so a lot of the information contained here is basic, and some updating is required. There is no mistake that the most current version of this text is now in its ninth edition. The final chapter in this subject looks at some of the theories of the origin and development of the solar system.
Part III looks at the universe beyond the planets, looking first at the sun as a typical small star, and then going further afield to look at the Milky Way, our local galaxy in some detail. This includes a look at other major formations and stars within the galaxy - some named stars of interest as well as celestial objects such as nebulae, and a discussion of interstellar distances and distribution (Hertzsprung-Russell diagram, etc.). The structure, kinematics and dynamics of spiral galaxies are explored, and then other types of galaxies (elliptical, etc.) and galactic clusters.
The final section, Part IV, looks at general evolution and development of the universe. Stellar evolution is the first subject, as one of the primary vehicles of universal development. The different ways in which a star dies are explored - white dwarves, neutron stars, supernovae, black holes, pulsars. The larger ideas of the origins and ultimate fate of the universe (cosmology again, at the end) are explored, including a brief discussion of the origins of life in the universe, and short discussions on topics such as SETI (called CETI here, Communication with ExtraTerrestrial Intelligence).
One of the useful aspects of this text is the 'Beyond the Book' sections after each chapter. These include information about periodicals (often the best way to find the latest information on astronomy topics), additional books and other resources. There are learning objectives listed at the beginning of each chapter, and convenient summaries, and some short exercises at the end of each chapter also.
There are several useful appendices, including lists of stars, planetary data, periodic table, and other such information. A very good glossary and index round out the book, making it an excellent text book for both classroom and independent use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic introduction, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good. But if you want to really understand the subject in as much detail as an aspiring astronomer, you may want a more challenging text. This seemed light on details. But as an overall introduction, it is very good, as any 9th edition should be. My one complaint is the number of exclamation marks used in the text. It seemed like every 20-40 lines there was something amazing to say that required an exclamation mark. It got to be a bit much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A DATED ASTRONOMY TEXT, September 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Astronomy: The Evolving Universe, 4th edition by Michael Zeilik is an older edition (1985) of a more recent text. Thus, it is very dated in many respects. There is, however, some very basic information of the cosmos and also some material concerning the history of astronomy that has not changed.

There are few color photos (if you care about those things) but many B&W drawings, star charts, photos and maps. There is a glossary and a periodic chart.

I would not recommend this book for any astronomy/science course because of its age. It is of course informative in its own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those like me who have a simple mind, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The seller supplied a text that was as described in the advert.

My review is of the book. I have not read the 9th edition but will do so soon. I did read the 6th edition from cover to cover. My PhD is in psychology but I like science (parts of psychology are science but a lot is bull sauce) and I read a lot of science and math. This is one textbook that I read from cover to cover without being bored. I gave the hardcover 6th edition to a family member who was interested in astronomy and then bought this edition for myself.

So if you want to learn something about how the universe evolved then I highly recommend this book. Note, that as I recall, it does not attempt to explain why matter exists. This is a question that I think about frequently but the why existence is beyond my comprehension. A Short History of Time has an explanation but I am not sure it really explains anything.

So just be aware that this book is science and not what I would label as metaphysics. I think I need to read more of John D. Barrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knowlegable, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Astronomy: The Evolving Universe (Hardcover)
Helps me post ultra accurate info to my Astronomical page
Has a great deal of info.
Like Hudson Astronomical Astronomical on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astronomy Book, July 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is in excellent condition and I needed it for a summer class. I haven't seen any marks or creased pages and it's just very clean-cut, as stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great condition but it was the wrong book, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book was in great condition no marks or highlights but it was the wrong book. the book was for my girlfriend that hasn't ever bought books online. she didn't check the ibn number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Astronomy: The Evolving Universe
Astronomy: The Evolving Universe by Michael Zeilik (Hardcover - March 19, 1991)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.