Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: ASUS EeeBox EB1030-B003L Desktop (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2014
This ships with 12.04, however there is not a working driver for the cedarbay GPU in any linux distro. Total waste. If you want a cheap HTPC this isn't it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
So.... there is no more support for the linux based OS, they just sent out the email... SO now I have this box that is well... worthless that I bought less than a year ago. Tried to return it, but of course Amazon wouldnt let me (this was a while back) and now I am left with... a really cool paper weight.... DONT BUY IT DONT BUY IT
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
very nice for the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on August 25, 2014
Try to install (say) CentOS 6.5 for x86_64, and get error message "detected an i686 CPU, require x86_64". With this chipset and CPU, there apparently should be a setting to gt rid of that error message; but Acer ships a BIOS (yes, I tried the latest version, 0703) which does not allow you to change that setting. Didn't try a 32-bit Linux; not sure that'd work either. So the stock Ubuntu this fella comes with is *it*.

So, this ASUS is getting donated to Goodwill ("Say bye-bye to that $260, Billy!" "BYE-BYE!!!" ...grrrr), and I'm getting an Acer instead.

Besides that, this thing is LOUD! Which is weird, since this CPU shouldn't be using more than a miserly 10W, and most other manufacturers' Atom solutions are fanless altogether.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on this review (What's this?)
Dear Valued Asus Customer,

Thanks for providing your feedback regarding our product. We are sorry to hear that were not fully satisfied with your Eeebox. However in the future if you need assistance regarding warranty services with any other Asus product you may have, please email me at CC-Rick@asus.com and write down service # N140909541 in the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rick
ASUS Customer Loyalty
on November 2, 2014
Bought it 6 months ago , haven't opened the box yet , my older ASUS Eeepc with 20 inch monitor bought in 2010 still works well .. hope that helps you out . STEVE F.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
Very disappointing. The GPU driver issue is a pain, no way to run a recent kernel. The machine is awfully noisy, even when idle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
It works okay
Its very underpowered compared to laptops of the same price range

The graphic drivers for anything other than ubuntu 12.04.1 are a pain
Too slow for ubuntu 14.04 or most other DE's other than ubuntu 12.04 unity

Even other Distros it will struggle with the graphics ,like fedora gnome.
Streaming video included

I do not recommend
Buy something with more power instead , a celeron will outperform this by a lot

I would not buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
was very impressed right at first. used to link my "dumb" flat screen to my media server. After two year of playing converted movies from a separate hard drive this unit is shutting down due to overheating. despite being completely stand alone it developed this issue. not a good candidate for a "slave" computer. might be best as an outlook machine, don't try streaming with this one!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
lots of ports, very quick processor, running ubuntu well, right out of box. we're going to use it for some "embedded" style devices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
Running Linux Mint, 32 bit version

Very responsive as the web client. Basically, running 2 applications; FireFox and Pidgin.

Removable wireless antenna is a nice touch.

Very fast boot time, and with 2GB RAM an extremely capable PC.

Will be buying more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.